Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Transmission Technology, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 331-8310 Fax: (808) 331-8268 View Additional Phone Numbers 74-5546 Kaiwi St Ste E, Kailua Kona, HI 96740 http://TRANSTECHHAWAII.NET



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers rebuilds and repairs as well as services automatic & standard transmissions, drive train/drive line, clutches, differential & transfer case. Basic auto repair and service is also offered.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Transmission Technology, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Transmission Technology, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Transmission Technology, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 2004 Business started: 05/01/2001 in HI Business started locally: 05/01/2001 Business incorporated 04/16/2001 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MC-7732.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20585942-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3628.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3929.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MC-8025.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MC-8638.

DCCA Business Registration Division
335 Merchant St STE 201, Honolulu HI 96813
www.businessregistrations.com
Phone Number: (808) 586-2727
breg@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is 7349 C5.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Vic D. Comesario, Manager/Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vic D. Comesario, Manager/Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips
CAR-REPAIR

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Transmission Technology, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20 Lanihuli St

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 74-5546 Kaiwi St Ste E

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (808) 935-1600 (808) 331-8310

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought vehicle in to have a transmission replaced paid $5000. They said it would take about 2 weeks finally got a call vehicle was ready for pick up 6 weeks later. Car had problems starting at repair shop they said probably battery from it sitting so long took it 1 mile up road let it sit and run at gas station before getting gas after 5 minutes turned it off and it would not start back up. Went and bought a new battery installed it car still would not start. Called shop they sent a tech out he said he was sorry for the problems and they would look at it again. Few minutes later a woman at the shop called me back said I would have to pay for the tow after hours of arguing they said they'd work something out. Got car back up there they said it was the starter and they would need to replace it went to pick it up today owed another $320.00 Then they said they won't give me any warranty unless I have them fix my ignition as well. The car did not have any problems with starter when I brought it in. They said the ignition was the cause because you have to push the key in to start the car. Almost every car I've ever owned you have to push the key into the ignition. After talking with my mother and father in law they said they had the same issue here brought a car in for transmission replace starter went out when they got home.

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursed for the starter. Nothing was wrong with the starter before they took it out to replace transmission.

Business Response: From Vic C********
Transmission Technology LLC
74-5546 Kaiwi Street #E
Kailua Kona, HI 96740

To Better Business Bureau
Attn: ***** ******
Complaint Dept.
 

Aloha ***** ******,

Thank you for your email on 9/4/15 regarding complaint #********. In response to this complaint, our business transaction was always done with Mr. ****** **** and not ******** ******.  Mr **** who is the contract holder gave all the authorization and was given updates, information and had communicated with me throughout the length of the repairs. Customer complainant ******** ****** whom I’ve never met only came into the picture the day the vehicle was picked up and the starter failed. The vehicle was brought in with a starting problem from the beginning.  Prior to the transmission repair, the vehicle couldn’t start.  Mr. **** was informed of the starting problem.  Mr. **** was aware of this problem and had instructed us to push the key harder into the column and that the vehicle should start. We followed the customer instructions and intermittently the vehicle did start.  After repairing the transmission, the vehicle would not start again. It drew a concern and certainly we were not confident releasing the vehicle because we hate for it to come back.  A preliminary test was performed and the diagnostic onboard scanner indicated an Ignition Open Position Circuit Error- a poor continuity from the key ignition to the various control systems, computer and starter. Our tech had complimentary cleaned and degreased some of the electronic connectors, added dielectric grease for better continuity and the vehicle did start consistently thereafter.  No electronic components had to be replaced at that time. The customer picked up the vehicle with no starting problem. The customer was informed of the battery being weak and may need to be recharged or replaced.  The vehicle wouldn’t start at the gas station. Because we take pride of our product and workmanship, I’ve sent 2 of my lead technicians to assist the customer sacrificing there busy schedule and productivity to help this customer out. There prognosis indicated a faulty starter and that the vehicle will need to be towed to the shop, have the starter removed and tested. We were also nice enough to comp the towing even though no warranty or repairs was done to the starter and certainly it is a separate component and no relations to the transmission repair. The starter has an internal electric solenoid that eventually goes weak and a bandex gear drive that will not last forever and eventually burnt out like batteries and unfortunately you’ll never know when they go out.  And just because we were the last ones who have repaired this vehicle we are the subject to blame. The starter was removed and sent to ******* ******* ********** to be  bench tested and was confirmed faulty.  We had recommended to replace both the ignition switch and starter but the customer request and authorized to replace the starter only.  The ignition switch is the main resource that operates the entire vehicle and sends power to all the controllers.  A faulty key ignition switch can cause lots of problem like short circuit electronic devices, computers, components and will cause premature wear due to poor continuity, insufficient signals, lack of voltage and power.  We had informed the customer to have the key ignition problem addressed and repaired.  The starter warranty is null and voided until this electrical issue is resolved.  Complainant ******** ****** complained of going  beyond the ETA completion time and that it took us 6 weeks.  She probably was not informed by Mr. **** that it takes approximately 2 weeks to repair the transmission after it enters the rack and baring no complications. She also didn’t know that the vehicle was not worked on until the other projects in front of their vehicle would be completed so that we would have a rack open, but Mr. **** was informed of all this information via phone calls and had been given updates and progress reports. He understood and acknowledges the concerns.  So if anything, if we have failed to meet the customer’s expectation, it would’ve been Mr. **** filing this complaint and not ******** ******.  We do appreciate ******** ******’s concern but  based on the facts and testing, we believe that our workmanship was done accordingly and professionally.  In concluding this report, it is in the best interest of our company to retain the $309.32 and not $320.00 which is an error she had written down. Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact me personally at *** ********.

Respectfully,
Vic C********
Owner/Operator

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Business was done through my Fiance ****** **** because his boss was helping pay for repairs, however his mom ***** **** sold me the vehicle in question before it was ever brought in to the shop. ****** had asked me to contact you all instead of relaying messages after we went to pick up the vehicle and was stranded a short distance from repair shop. The vehicle did not have starting issues and did start fine before being brought in for repairs other than yes you do have to push key into ignition. Your comment about vehicle not starting prior to transmission repair is false. He did receive a call asking him how to start the car from the shop as I stated in first complaint letter. You have stated that after transmission repair the vehicle would not start and you all preformed diagnostics and then did work on the electronic connectors however after the tow back in you stated that you all could not preform diagnostics and do no electrical work or repairs at your shop. We were never made aware of any work done on starter or connectors before the vehicle broke down you actually told us the opposite. You did state that you did have to remove starter to get to transmission when asked by ******. I did ask you when you claimed the ignition was at fault if you were sure and if you preformed diagnostics and you told me no. You are claiming that when we picked up vehicle it had no starting problem again this is a false statement. I immediately had issues getting vehicle to start while at the shop I told ****** who was standing next to your mechanic and he was informed the battery was probably to blame. We were asked to charge battery which is why we parked at gas station to let battery run and why when vehicle failed to start again we bought a new one and installed it into vehicle it was only after that we contacted your shop again. The mechanics did come out looked at vehicle apologized said it would be taken care of grabbed the keys said they would get it towed. ****** then received a call from a pretty unfriendly woman saying we were to pay for the towing back into the shop. It was only after I called and complained for at least 10 minutes that we were told you all would work something out. It wasn't until we went to pick vehicle up for second time we were made aware that you would indeed pay for the tow. We did elect not to have ignition replaced by your shop after speaking to ***** **** and being told she had the exact same issue with your shop back in 2011. She brought this same vehicle into your shop for a transmission replacement. I had spoke with you about this and you told me the only record you have is a solenoid replacement. This is the same part we had to have replaced on our starter after transmission replacement. I have attached a copy of the receipt for transmission replacement she had done through your shop prior to your record of solenoid replacement for her. I have been very informed through ****** of every thing your shop had spoke with him about and how upset he was getting at the lack of professionalism your shop has shown. The transmission was called in and scheduled a week before vehicle was brought into your shop. It was at that time ****** told me it would be 2 weeks. For the next month every week he was told something came up and it would be another week. We were both trying to be understanding but given the circumstances we feel your shop has not only taken advantage of us but considering this has happened before others as well.

Sincerely,

******** ******

Business Response: A lot of the information we are receiving from ******** is all miscommunication because we were not dealing with her directly.  The bottom line is, the starter was faulty and was taken to ******* ******* ********** to have it tested and was verified that it was faulty.  We will not respond anymore to HER accusation and are WILLING to take this to the court system.  ******* ******* ********** are WILLING to testify.  It is by no mean that our shop is trying to take advantage of this customer.  We are only here to replace what was necessary, besides, she had authorized to have the starter replaced and when time to pay she mentioned it is was too expensive and wanted us to discount it under $200.00.  This is a prime example of BUYERS REMORSE.  

MAHALO,
Vic C********

Business Response: A lot of the information we are receiving from ******** is all miscommunication because we were not dealing with her directly.  The bottom line is, the starter was faulty and was taken to ******* ******* ********** to have it tested and was verified that it was faulty.  We will not respond anymore to HER accusation and are WILLING to take this to the court system.  ******* ******* ********** are WILLING to testify.  It is by no mean that our shop is trying to take advantage of this customer.  We are only here to replace what was necessary, besides, she had authorized to have the starter replaced and when time to pay she mentioned it is was too expensive and wanted us to discount it under $200.00.  This is a prime example of BUYERS REMORSE.  

MAHALO,
Vic C********

Consumer Response:

From: **** ** ************************* 
Date: 09/15/2015 9:06 AM (GMT-10:00) 
To: ********************** 
Subject: #******** 

Hi my name is ******** ******, I had filed a complaint against transmission technology and I did not get to respond before the case was closed. They actually contacted Mr. **** sand left a voicemail a few days ago stating if I did not drop my complaint they will void the warranty we do have for the transmission by refusing to do the check up on the vehicle that they require for the warranty. The warranty for the starter they already voided because we did not have them replace ignition as well. 

We did not record previous phone calls from them in regards to starting the vehicle they called my fiance while he was at work several weeks after vehicle had been brought in not knowing that you couldn’t just put key in vehicle and turn but had to push key into ignition while turning. Its not an ignition problem the vehicle starts and runs just fine. They tried to say vehicle was not running when it was brought to them for transmission replacement when in fact the vehicle was actually drove down there to have it replaced. 

The only time they did admit fault for starter was after call was made to them from gas station after we picked it up they sent a mechanic to look at vehicle who apologized said they would take care of it right away, picked up the keys and said a tow truck would be on its way. About 10 minutes after he left we got the call from the woman at the desk saying we would need to pay for the tow.

We do not have any other paperwork other than what we have attached from the company from services they preformed. That is all the warranty information they gave us.

We do not have anything in writing stating time period. Everything was done through phone calls. They were called 1 week prior to sending in car and they said it would take 2 weeks after being dropped off. After the two weeks is when calls started coming in saying they had to wait on parts, then they ran in to issues etc for 6 weeks. Their mechanic also went on vacation during this time so when we tried speaking with him he said he knew nothing about what went on with the car.
Their response about the starter being faulty is true. After transmission work starter fried it had no issues before transmission repair. I'm not sure what transmission technologies was meaning by their response. I have spoke to several other mechanic shops about what could of happen. Everybody has said ignition had nothing to do with it and my ignition is fine. They said it’s a common problem that can occur when replacing a transmission if battery is still connected.