Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Precision Auto Repair Corporation

Phone: (808) 329-7223 74-5622 Alapa St Ste 3, Kailua Kona, HI 96740 http://www.precisionautokona.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Precision Auto Repair Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Precision Auto Repair Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Auto Repair Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 19, 2013 Business started: 10/01/2009 Business started locally: 10/01/2009 Business incorporated 08/07/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

GET-Hawaii District Office*
75 Aupuni St #101, Hilo HI 96721
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 974-6321
The number is W28881003-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MC7389.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD4102.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Raymond Ciriako, President/CEO Ms. Shelly Ciriako, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Raymond Ciriako, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Shelly Ciriako, Vice President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers auto repair services

Industry Tips
CAR-REPAIR

Additional Locations

  • 74-5622 Alapa St Ste 3

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (808) 329-7223

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November of 2014 I had my *** ****** **** diesel truck towed to Precision auto repair in Kailua kona. My truck broke down on the road side, I called Precision Auto Repair and asked if they repair diesel trucks they said "yes" so I had it towed there and left for diagnosis and subsequent repair. They notified me that my truck had been vandalized, soil had been placed in the fuel tank and there was extensive damage but it could be repaired. I notified my insurance and made a police report. Raymond the owner of Precision Auto repair called me with a quote to repair the vehicle which consisted of cleaning the fuel tank and replacing the fuel pump and fuel transfer system, the estimate was approximately $1,700, I authorized the repair. Raymond next contacted me stating the repair was unsuccessful and would require additional repairs. The next quote was to replace the Fuel injector pump, the estimate was for approximately $3,000. I authorized the work. Raymond contacted me stating the repair was also unsuccessful and would require new fuel injectors, estimate cost of $ 1,200, I authorized the repair. Raymond contacted my stating the repair was unsuccessful and now the truck would not even start or move that is the repair made the problem worse. I asked Raymond for my money back or even a portion as this was my back up work truck and my primary work truck had just blown its transmission. He said he was on vacation in California and could not help me. He additionally stated he would only be willing to give me portion of the money I paid but not all of it. He has now turned off his cell phone and will not return my calls or text messages. I was very patient with Precision auto as they had my truck or over 7 months.

Desired Settlement: Precision Auto repair assured me that they could repair my truck and get it running again and they have not been able to after 7 months, I require a full refund of all the money I paid them.

Business Response: In response to **** ******** complaint:

There are very significant incorrect  facts that was not stated.  Vehicle did get towed in, November 2014. After performing diagnostic testing we found that vehicle was tampered  with. We found fuel lines and fullf!lleneck full of mud. An estimate was given to the customerof what needs to be qone and an estimate. Customer then informed me that he will be filing a police report and notifying his insurance company.

We had to wait until we heard something. During this time no work was
a wroved till **** or his insurance gave us an approvaL  When his insurance company called I informed them of my technician diagnosis. What needed first is to just get fuel to injector pump, and that it is possible injection  pump may be
. •I
bad. We will not know till we get fuel to pump. Insurance corf!pany then stated
•I
that either they will just pay it off or perform  repairs. We reclj!ived a check from
" .
the insurance company and it bounced because the insurantcompany decided
.''
.   to. pay **** off for the.vehicle.

I
We were then notified to proceed with repairs by ****,and tp start with getting
,,1 1
fu.el to injection pump. **** was also informed  that injection  jpump may be bad, thatwe won't.know till we get fuel to the injection  pump.
Te>ch replaced transfer pump. Removed fuel tank and cleaned and removed all debris. Technician cleaned out lines up to the injection  pump:  After reinstalling all
 
components, vehicle now getting fuelto filter and injection pump. Vehicle still
 
does not start. Customer was then informed of our finding, tt)at we need to rflplace injection  pump. I gave the customer an estimate of injection pump
replacement  and informed customer NO.GUARANTEE. Customer approved repairs and I proceedin a timely manner. Part was specialordered.

When injection  pump was received and Iproceeded in repair;:;.Upon removal I found that wires were burnt, bolts were brokenand improperly installed by previous owner. I correctedall problems that I had encountered with no extra charge. After installing pump,vehicle ran fine. Good power and acceleration.

Customer was calledand vehicle was picked up. I informed customer when picking up venicle that it neededfuel. Customer drove off.  After a 1hour cJstomer  informed me right after putting fuel in vehicle. Vehicle started and ran fiF)e then acted up.

I I::Jrought vehicle back to shop and did other repairs.AT NO CHARGE. I called
other shop to see if they are able and willing to take a look at this vehicle.Nobody wanted it.' I informed **** and told him the last thing to do is just to replace injectors.  Approval was given. I informed the customer that I will be goneon vacation for 3 weeks. And I get back I will be able to changeinjectors.

M6y 13 is when I got a call from **** stated that he wanted his all his money
b ck.  I informed the customer that I will not give him a full reimbursement, BUT I was willing to work with him on a total. Ialso informed the customer that I'm not in :Hawaii,and that when I get back I will settlethis. The customerkept on calling el(ery 30 min..and I kept on informing him not till I get back and yes I finallydid blpcked his phone call on my personal cell phone.
When I arrived back at the shop on. The customer and I did sit down and came to a .mutual agreement. **** was given back 90% of the total repairs.
'                                                                                                                                                       .

Please see attached     all issues are resolved


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Precision Auto Repair Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)