BBB Accredited Business since

Motor Imports Parts & Service

Phone: (808) 564-1550 Fax: (808) 564-1585 View Additional Phone Numbers 609 South St, Honolulu, HI 96813

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers servicing of motor vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Motor Imports Parts & Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Motor Imports Parts & Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Motor Imports Parts & Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 08, 1995 Business started: 04/01/1921 Business started locally: 04/01/1921 Business incorporated: 04/01/1921 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20269628-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD987.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cameron Camara, Parts & Service Manager Mr. Mark Fukunaga, Chairman of the Board Ms. Sandra Wong, Corporate Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cameron Camara, Parts & Service Manager
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandra Wong, Corporate Secretary
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Services Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Motor Imports Parts & Service (Servco Pacific Inc.)

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 564-1570(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle in for a recall repair. It was recommended I replace the drive belt and timing belt based on the mileage. I decline Hello, I declined based on the fact I had a 90k mile tune up at a NM Toyota dealership. The car mileage was 85,371 (5/20/05) the drive belts were replaced at that time (see attachment). When I went to pick my vehicle up I was told I declined only the timing belt and the drive belts had wear and tear that would warrant replacement (vs previously mentioned due for mileage recommendation). The work had already been done and the belts were not offered for review. I belied the belts did not warrant replacement.

Desired Settlement: (Above comment space "froze" and will not allow additional characters). Refund of unnecessary belt replacement in the amount of 29.52 and 33.70 plus tax. Please note that the car was previously inspected at Firestone on base for its 120k tuneup. Date was 3/08/13 113,549 miles and belts were NOT recommended to be replaced during the full inspection (see attachment). Thank you

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/02) */ Upon investigation by our Service Manager, the timing belt was recommended for replacement because of the mileage. Our technicians routinely looks for the label that is applied on the timing belt cover after it is replaced, and will only make the recommendation if they don't see it. The accessory drive belts were recommended for replacement due to signs of wear and they were being removed as part of the campaign and the alternator replacement. The Service Consultant received an approval for the alternator and accessory belt replacement though did not receive a request for us to retain his old parts. Our Service Manager has attempted several times since 6/26 to contact Mr. *******, leaving messages, but we have not received a returned call as of today. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/07/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Hello, I spoke with ******* on July 2nd 1715L x 10min. Beforehand we played phone tag due to our work schedules. Every phone call was returned and I left a best number and time to call me back at. I disagree that I approved anything in addition to the alternator and crank shaft pulley recall. This should of been realized during the above phone conversation, as it was the second time I voiced my opinion on replacing the extra belts. From his response they seem more concerned about the timing belt, which was documented correctly as declined; but Servco failed to transcribe that I declined "all" belts. If the dealership was truly concerned with wear and tear on the accessory belts they should have spent more time explaining that they understand the belts were recently replaced 30months/30k, AND asked me if I would like to see/keep the replaced belts. But, I don't think it was realized at the time, mostly because I declined the service and determining the need for replacement wasn't a concern. Further I believe the replacement recommendation was based off "time/mileage" versus "wear and tear" and if it was the later Servco consultant would have been more then willing to OFFER the replaced parts be available to me. It should also be noted when I reviewed my cars maintenance records Firestone ASE technician's independently checked the said belts in Mar, at its 120k tune up, and again in *** during a noise inspection. Both times the belts were noted to be in "good" condition. I find it difficult to believe that the belts went from "good" to "fair" in one month from Firestone's service. Also noted, is that the car was at the Servco dealership > 7 days awaiting the shipment of the alternator and there was ample time for us to contact the previous NM dealership to confirm the previous work was done to the belts. If I was aware that they still wanted the belts replaced I would have requested that the belts be given to me and told them that my records indicated they were in good condition one month earlier. (It is typical for me to request previous belts to keep as a spare in case they are needed to get the car to a nearby service station. This is mostly a mainlander mindset because you never know when your traveling 100's of miles without access to automobile services). At the end of my conversation I told ******* that the belts are already in the car, they tossed my previous belts, and there's not too much I can do to exchange the belts back. I noted on the phone I understand the car has new parts, that I did not authorize, and theynwere replaced on a clerical error from the service consultant to the repair technician. I agreed to both taking a store credit for the belt cost, but noted it was more convenient to have a cash refund. He stated it may take a few days for a cash refund due to the use of a credit card, and that he also wanted to speak to his service consultant beforehand. Big picture I declined "all belt" replacements, no belts were given to me, and Servco replaced the accessory belts. V/R, **** Business' Final Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/07/08) */ On 07/02/XXXX XX:XX PM, After our Servco Manager spoke with Mr. *******, it was decided that Motor Imports will be issuing a refund to Mr. ******* for the parts, as no additional labor was charged for the accessory drive belt replacement.