This business is not BBB accredited.

Kalawe's Auto Repair

Phone: (808) 969-1199 80 Pohaku St Ste C, Hilo, HI 96720 http://www.kalawesautorepair.com/ ! BBB Business Review on Kalawe's Auto Repair is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    80 Pohaku St Ste C

    Hilo, HI 96720

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Kalawe's Auto because my old shop closed down and I saw a sign that said they specialize in ****** and ***** cars. I brought my car in for a rattling noise at the front wheel. Two days later they informed my that my tie rod and lower ball joint needed to be replaced and that I could come pick up my car until the parts came in. They charged me over $80 just for telling me what was wrong with the car and required a $200 dollar deposit for the work. This should have been a hint that I wasn't in the right place. I had them order the parts anyway because I had family coming in a month and didn't want them to have to rent a car. The receptionist took a $200 deposit from me and said the parts should be in within the week.I called a week later, as I hadn't heard back and the receptionist informed me the parts weren't in yet and that they'd call me.A second week went by so I called again. The receptionist told me she'd have to look for my information and asked if she could call back. This was close to closing time at the end of the week and I never received a call back.The next week I called the last number that called me from this business, I called at 430, during operating hours. The woman informed me this was her personal cell phone and she was not at work anymore. I apologized and said I'd call the next day. I called the next day and she again said she'd have to look it up and get back to me. The call never comes...The following Monday (almost a month from the original appointment) I called early in the morning. She again had the nerve to say she would have to call me back. I let her know that this was unacceptable and she apologized and said she'd call right back. As I was waiting for a ride to get there, it took me about three hours to show up at the shop (still no call). She looked surprised and I asked her what the heck was going on with my car. She said she was sorry that it would be a few more days because they never ordered the part. I inquired 4x and they never checked once.

Desired Settlement: This is the worst customer service I have ever received. I described the problem and they did not have to do much work to deduce the problems the car had. I believe a partial refund is warranted and everyone should know of their poor customer service.

Business Response:

From: ***** ****** ********************************
Sent: Friday, April 03, 2015 3:48 PM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: RE: ********

 

The customer was charged $83.34. For which is an hour of diagnostic time + tax to check for a rattling sound and to check squeaking sound from vehicle. The rattling sound was from an exhuast heat sheild which was mounted over the    Muffler on the right rear of the vehicle . It was moving around causing the rattle because the mounting screws were all rusted and had only one screw holding it to the vehicle .  The squeaking was from the worn out ball joint and tie rod from the left  front suspension and steering systems . Therefore an estimate was generated  and the customer was contacted which was 1/22/15 . The customer  gave the ok to order the parts. A deposit of $200.00  was required to order those special order parts, which did not include the freight.The employee that handled that situation no longer works for Kalawe's Auto Repair  LLC.

 

Sent on a ****** ******* ****** ***** **


Customer Review(s)