Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gary's Service, Inc.

Phone: (808) 245-2221 Fax: (808) 246-9182 4469 Kolopa St, Lihue, HI 96766 http://garysserviceinc.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gary's Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gary's Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gary's Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2003 Business started: 05/06/1980 Business started locally: 05/06/1980 Business incorporated 05/06/1980 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20328944-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD1908.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MC5728.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Glen S. Konishi, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Glen S. Konishi, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 7:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
CAR-REPAIR

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car into Gary's Service Inc. on June 6, 2016 for the first time ever after someone recommended them to me over the weekend as a place to go for the annual Safety Check. After calling Gary's in the morning for an appointment, they told me they don't take appointments, to just come in. So I drove straight there after loading my car with all of my recycling and stuff I was going to use during the day. I gave the receptionist my car keys, registration, and insurance card. Shortly later she came inside and said the light bulb for my license plate was out. I said I had a spare bulb in my glove box. I went out to my car which was already in the garage. It turned out the light bulb was not the correct one. I agreed to have them fix it for $15.99. I went back to the waiting room until a few minutes later I noticed my car was moved to the front of the reception area. I assumed it was done and I walked to the counter. As I waited at the counter, lazily looking out the window towards my car, I noticed a massive dent on the front driver's side fender. I went out to my car thinking maybe they parked it in front to tell me they had an accident. When I brought it to their attention, I was told they didn't do it and there are dirt/rain spots on the car and the damage is under the dirt/rain spots, meaning it wasn't from today. The damage is on the driver's side, it's huge. I don't know how I could have missed it before. Those dirt/rain spots appeared Saturday because I thought they looked unique; they caught my attention. There was no damage to my car at that time. I made several trips back and forth to my car this morning while loading my car and did not notice any damage. Last night I fed a feral cat on my drive way along my driver's side, and I tried to keep the neighbor dog from eating the food, and I didn't see the damage. I wonder if Gary's Service Inc. has a surveillance camera for their shop. Please show me I am wrong. I don't know how I could have missed it if it was there prior to this morning.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see if they have any surveillance cameras for their shop. Seems like it would be a smart thing to have considering all the valuable products they have stored in their shop. If I am wrong I will be fine and pay my insurance deductible which will be $500 since the damage is most certainly more than $500 worth. But if the damage was caused by Gary's Service Inc. then I would expect them to be held responsible for the damage. Also an apology would be nice.

Business Response:

All evidence indicates that Gary’s Service should not be held liable for damages to this customer’s vehicle. Our employees who were involved in the safety inspection all stated that no bumping or scraping occurred during the inspection. No other vehicles, no equipment, and no part of the building showed any signs of damage that would have been caused by a scrape similar to the one on the customer’s car. Two police officers also came to examine the customer’s car in direct and immediate response to her complaint. Both reported that the damage to the car must have occurred prior to the customer’s visit to our shop because the scratch was covered by the same mud and debris over the entire car. It was not a fresh scrape; if it were, the scratched area would not have been covered with mud.

We run an honest business and would pay for any damages we feel we are responsible for. We are definitely not responsible in this case.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I don’t know what happened to my car. I don’t know when it happened. I don’t know where it happened. I don’t know who did it. All I know is that there is damage to the driver’s side of my car that I did not notice prior to patronizing Gary’s Service. I do know Gary’s Service had a full shop with many cars, equipment, staff and customers within a crammed area. One would assume a reasonable person would not find it unfathomable that an accident could occur in such a tight location. What I do know is that I typically am a fairly detailed oriented person. I tend to notice things or errors that others don’t, let alone a massive dent on the driver’s side of my car. I do know I typically enter my car from my driver’s side. I do know that I coincidentally noticed those unique looking dirt, “mud” spots, the Saturday before I went to Gary’s. The spots are over just the hood of my car, not all over my car as stated in Gary’s Service’s rebuttal. I thought they looked unique and that is why a random detail caught my attention. I did not see damage to my car at that time. Therefore the allegation that the damage happened before the mud spots appeared is doubtful.

When I first noticed the damage I went outside to inspect it and Glen was already outside. I called him over to my car. His instant response was defensive and he immediately claimed they didn’t do it. He was not the one who worked on my car. He did not go to investigate, he did not check with any of his employees about the damage. He just said they didn’t do it and I should call the police, so I did. Maybe it was his poor customer service skills, or cultural differences, but one would think a typical response would involve something along the lines of, “Oh, I am so sorry. You’re saying this happened here? Let me go check and consult with the associates who worked on your car.” Not immediately dismiss me. He could have gone and talked with his employees and then returned and told me his staff knows nothing of the damage, instead of immediately denying any liability within seconds of me showing him the damage.

As for when the damage occurred, I took my car to an auto repair shop my insurance carrier told me to go to in order to get an estimate for repairing it. I asked the employee when the damage happened. He told me you cannot tell when it happened, but you can tell the damage is newer because there is no rust, but it’s not something you can specifically say if the damage happened that morning or night before type of thing. I pointed out the dirt spots with the scratches from the damage and asked his impression of it; he said you can’t tell which one happened first.

It is true both cops said the damage wasn’t from that morning, but I didn’t realize they were experts in damage assessment. Especially when they were unable to answer any of my follow up questions, such as, “Why wouldn’t I have notice it before since it is on my driver’s side, not the passenger’s side?” “Why did I notice the random dirt spots two days before I notice the significant damage to my car, especially since they are claiming the dirt spots happened AFTER the damage?” I also pointed out to the officers areas where there were scratches on top of the dirt as well. The only thing the officers were able to respond with was, “I don’t know.” But I thought they were experts in CSI car trauma? They were able to tell me the damage did not occur that morning, but nothing else? At least tell me that it is very common for people to not notice significant damage to their cars for days, or even weeks! Come on, they should have really delved into their role as knowledgeable car damage specialists, not give up so easily.

I was brushed off as if was not their problem and Gary’s didn’t do it. As if I am just an inept girl from the Mainland, which don’t get me wrong, is very possible I am. But the thing is, it just doesn’t quite make sense. Maybe if the damage was on the passenger’s side or the back of my car that I don’t approach as often I could see the damage going a few days without me noticing it. But it is near my driver’s side door and I enter that door daily. Maybe if by happenstance I hadn’t already noticed the dirt spots on my car prior to it being harmed, I could be less confident about when the damage did or did not occur. But I did notice the dirt spots and took a close inspection of them because of the oddity of them. Also, I often use the keypad on my driver’s side door to enter my car, so I bend down in close proximity to the damage to press the code in order to enter my car. Seems odd I would have missed it on more than one day, let alone not notice it because it allegedly happened before the dirt spots appeared. Gary’s Service could be totally innocent; I don’t know. I do feel like they handled my initial concern inappropriately, as if I hit a nerve with him. His response that morning did not feel like an innocent person’s response when I reported the damage to my car. 


Sincerely,

***** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Gary's Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)