Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bradley Service Centers

Phone: (808) 678-9099 94-1201 Ka Uka Blvd, Waipahu, HI 96797 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bradleyservicecenters.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive & tire repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bradley Service Centers meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bradley Service Centers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bradley Service Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 12, 2013 Business started: 09/24/2012 in HI Business started locally: 09/24/2012 Business incorporated 03/12/2014 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MC-8368.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-4198.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W99945959-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dereck Bradley, President Mr. Milton Bradley, Fleet Manager Mr. Brandon Etsinger, Store Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dereck Bradley, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Tire Repair Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Island Properties Invesments, Inc.
Industry Tips
CAR-REPAIR

Additional Locations

  • 94-1201 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 678-9099

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: Thursday, 11/14/2013 The 2006 Colorado ***** Truck was brought to the ********* Dealership on this date for their second opinion regarding the truck mechanical problems. According to the service representative and their certified mechanic, there were (4) areas that register on their computer after being computerize for a couple of hours. The dealership asked me if I wanted them too looked further into these problem areas and I acknowledge and gave them my permission to do so. Later that afternoon the dealership called and asked me, did anyone performed some engine worked on the truck since there were evidences of new parts installed. I informed them that Goodyear Services Center in Wapio worked on the truck for the past several months, and never fully completed all the work. I also informed the ********* Dealership that the Goodyear Services Center claimed one of the cylinder head was crack and needed to be replaced. After replacing the cylinder head, and again a second time due to a manufacturer defect there were still problems, The Goodyear Mechanic could not find the "CAUSE" for the engine problems and the service engine light still being on. After repeated computer test, the problems was never resolved and We were informed to continue to drive the vehicle, and in time the engine should reprogram itself and the engine light will hopefully shut off. The engine service light continued to l stay on without any changes. Iwas then charged for the work provided by Goodyear Services and Repairs, a total of $3,253.67. l informed the ********* Dealership with this information that was passed on to me from the Goodyear Service Manager. The ***** representative stated that their certified shop mechanic informed him that they found (4) problems areas that show up on the computer and whoever did the mechanical work did not do a very good job. I 1. Low oil on the bottom of the dip stick 2. Crank shaft was not properly installed 3. Several loose bolts were discovered 4. Engine Timing chain was damage and loose After getting the results from the ********* Auto Dealership, I called Goodyear and spoke to a ******* ********, Manager of Goodyear, at 15:11 hours. l informed him of the results and he claimed that the ********* Mechanic maybe wrong in his diagnosis of the truck and wanted me to bring the truck back to Goodyear or fax the work invoices to their shop so their Goodyear Mechanic can look over the areas and fix the problem. I informed Mr. ******** that the engine was already taken apart and there is no way I would have the dealership reassembled the engine and drive back to Goodyear shop. He then informed me to do not let the ********* Dealership work on the truck and they will come down from the stationed and tow the truck back to their shop. l asked him will Goodyear take responsibility for all the damages and repairs to my son truck, and he stated they will not and insisted we bring the truck back to Goodyear. At this time, the conversation was then cut short from me being upset, and | then told ******* that | will be contacting the Goodyear Franchise Corporation and informed them on the poor and uncompleted services l received. Mr. ********, basically stated that it was up to me, and go right ahead. So | ended the conversation. I then re-contacted the ********* Dealership and gave them my permission to fix my son truck since there was no compromise in resolving this problem with Goodyear. I was then told by the ********* Dealership they will need to order new parts to replaces the damage parts found in the engine. The estimate costs for repairs/ labor will be around $3,700.00. Update: 11/25/2013 (Monday) ********* Dealership Service Representative, ***** ********* called and stated all the parts have arrived and they can start to worked on the vehicle. He then stated he will keep me informed of the progress of the repairs, hopefully by the end of the month. 12/6/2013 (Friday) I called the ***** Dealership and was informed that the truck should be ready, Monday 9 December or Tuesday 10 December. Update with Goodyear: 11/14/2013, I have not received any verbal contact or email, text from Goodyear Service or their representative on this matter. Contacted the Hawaii BBB on this matter, and I received a complaint package with forms explaining the nature of the complaint. I informed the BBB that as soon as I received the total costs for the repairs I WiII be forwarding aII of this information: receipts, and car rental services. 12/17/2013 (Tuesday) received a call from the ********* Dealership and they informed me the truck was ready, until they notice a coolant leak from the engine cylinder head. They suggest they replacing the coolant temperature sensor switch and this will correct the problem and the truck should be ready tomorrow. 12/18/2013 (Wednesday) received a call from the ********* Dealership stating the truck is completed and ready to be picked up. No service engine light on and truck is running excellent. *Invoices from the ********* Dealership to show the extensive repairs on the damages engine, and replacement parts to correct Goodyear Service Center workmanship. Total cost for entire repairs, $4,264.83. *Invoices from Goodyear Service Center for their repairs costs and labor, a total of $3,253.67. *Receipts from Enterprise Car Rentals for three months, $1,391.49 | have also included text messages that were sent to Goodyear Services, and their response to this matter. *Recommend solution; be compensated for the new engine parts and repairs, and the costly car rentals. Repairs parts/ labor $4,264.83. Additional cost for car rentals, $1,391.49. Total costs for repairs and car rentals, $5656.32. 12/27/2013: | responded to the Goodyear Services Center Website to lodge my complaint and on 1/3/2014, an individual name "Jennifer" for Consumer Relations, 1-800-322-4682, responsible for Property Damages Claims for Goodyear returned my called. Jennifer stated that since this only an independent corporate franchise for Goodyear, and they deal with only selling their brand name tires; they cannot do anything since they are not employed by Goodyear Services Corporation. Sincerely, Reply Text message to IVIr. ******* ********: ll November 2013 l apologize for not responding earlier, but due to the recent government furlough shut down, l was not exempt and was on duty throughout the furlough. Mr. ********, there is definitely a misunderstanding of this matter. First, are We talking about the same thing? The quote of $800.00 is the first time, i have heard about this dollar figure! The service i was charge for, and paid was $3,253.67 for a replacement engine cylinder head and labor costs. Questioned: You mentioned about a tune-up being waived? ls the vehicle tune up automatically done after replacing a major engine part? son originally had his truck brought to this Goodyear Shop about the second or third week in AUGUST. son was having engine trouble and asked if they could check the "ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT" and the 'ABS' light being on. It was determined (not right away) that he has a crack cylinder head and this needed to be replaced. We were told that there was no cylinder head available on this island and they will have to order one special from the mainland. Little over a Week the cylinder head arrived and was installed. After being installed, this engine cylinder head was still malfunction and giving the truck engine problem, and We Were then told that it was a manufacture defect and another head would be reordered. Again, another week or two Went by before the new engine head arrived and was reinstalled. Even after the new replacement cylinder head was installed the "ENGINE SERVICE LIGHT" was still on, and the "ABS" light was corrected. We were then told to drive the Vehicle and see if the :fe-programing from the shop computer will make the adjustment and the engine service light will shutoff. This did not correct the problem. My son brought the truck in several more times for check-up and informed the shop that the engine service light is still "ON", and now there was a coolant leak from the engine. The shop mechanic could not figure out the cause or Why! The light is still on, and he stated they corrected the coolant leak by tightening a few boits. Again, the truck was left over night in the shop several times to be recaiibrated on the computer, but Without any success. On September 3, 2013, (Saturday) my son was told to pick up his truck and that a replacement stock part (exhaust manifold) was being ordered to replace the exhaust manifold he has in his vehicle, which "MAY" be the causing the engine problem and the engine light being on. He was also told he can drive his truck and do not Worry about the engine light. A month had past, and on October 5, 2013, "I TOLD **** ***" to text ****** at the shop and asked what is going on with the ordered part, and is the shop still going to fix his car? A simple and direct question! Apparently, this was misinterpret and this upset ******, and he reply via a text message to my son stating that he will cancel the engine part he had ordered, and stated if my son can find a part on his own then bring it in, if not he could not help him. Yes, | assumed the technician did ask my son if he still had the original stock intake, and if he could bring the part in to see if this was causing the problem. We did check at the house with no success, and was told by ****** he will order a part from his friend and will get back to us when the part comes in. Time had passed, and | had told my son to check with ****** on the part and if the shop is still going to fix his truck since it has been awhile and We have not received any call. This entire phrase was taken out of context and shortly after, there was a misunderstanding. I was informed from my son of this matter and was upset regarding this issue. The "TIME SPENDS, MONEY INVESTED FOR REPAIRS, and CAR RENTALS". l am also disappointed this could not have been resolve sooner. Being a loyal Goodyear Customer for the past 20 years, | have always received excellent service, till now. Hopefully, soon | will get an update on the vehicle maintenance diagnosis report from the ********* Dealership, and then make my determination if l need to contact the corporate BBB. This company is an independent franchise of "Goodyear", and hopefully we can resolution this issued. Yes, how do We resolve this issue? You tell me! With my advice, | told my son to get a second opinion on his vehicle before We pursued this any further. Request you contact all parties involved and get the facts straight on this matter. We are in the process of getting a second opinion from an authorized /certified mechanic to find out what is causing the engine problem. I will contact your office after l get the results. Text message to IVIr. ***** *******, President, CEO 10 October 2013 IVir. ****** *******, | am informing you regarding a problem my son had received from your service center. Several months ago my son had an engine problem and was referred to your center. The problem turns out to be an engine failure and major parts were needed to be replaces. We were told that there were no parts on this island for this particular vehicle and all parts will need to order from the mainland. The truck was "PARTICALY" completed and on 9/3/2013, and we were informed to pick up the truck at the Wapio Service Center. We were then informed that that "ENGINE LIGHT" is still on, and the mechanic cannot figure out why it does not shut off. We were told my son can used the car and iViilton will contact us when they have research the problem. ****** then stated they will order a replacement exhaust part to see if this will correct the problem. On 10/5/2013, | asked my son to call ****** and asked him if they did not forget about him and his truck. My son text message ****** and mention it has been over a month and We have not received any Word on the truck part. My son simply asked ****** are you still going to fix my car! He also asked him that We have been patience long enough and Want to know what's happening. 10/5/2013, my son gets a reply text message from ****** and he stated: l'OK...THAT'S HOW IT ISI I TELL U WHAT! I'LL FINISH THE WORK, CANCEL THE PARTS FROM FRIEND. WHEN U FINDS YOUR PARTS BRING IT IN IF NOT THERE'S NOTHING I CAN DO". Honestly, this is not the reply | expected. l have been patience throughout this ordeal. The time invested, costs for repairs, and car rentals were very stressful. | am very disappointed that this matter could not have been settle or resolved. You leave me no alternative, but to contact the Corporate Franchise of Goodyear to express my dissatisfaction with the unfinished work performed by your independent company. | regret in having to take this type of action. iwili not cali your company from this day on or forward any text messages. We will be taking

Desired Settlement: Request compensation for engine repair, new parts and labor work paid to the ********** Auto Dealership,and the cost for 3 months of rentals for a grand total of 5,656.32.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/02/24) */ We at Bradley Service Center’s (BSC) agree that this is an extremely junk situation for the ********, however, there’s more to their concerns than what has been stated. BSC truly understands the situation and empathizes with them for the time and the amount of money they spent to get their vehicle repaired. This is an isolated incidence and we’ll try to clearly communicate a timeline from both Bradley Service Center’s and a technical point of view. The ******** 2006 ******** was referred to BSC, buy another repair shop that had received the initial concerns and delivered the vehicle to BSC to repair a SPECIFIC concern that their shop could not facilitate. When the vehicle was dropped off, the only concern stated was to perform a head gasket replacement because there was a coolant leak in one of the spark plug tubes. We did notice that the “engine light” and the “abs light” were both on, but no request was given to BSC to repair those concerns. Before starting any work, the Fleet Mgr called *** ****** to give him an estimate. He was given his number by the previous repair facility. *** asked the Fleet Mgr to contact his dad with the concern and estimate, being that his dad would be paying for the repair. The Fleet Mgr called Mr. ****** and although he was hesitant to spend north of $3k for the repair, he agreed it needed to be done. At this time he was also informed that rental cars were not part of our repair policy. After BSC got approval to try and repair the leak on the cylinder head to eliminate cost, BSC received word a few days later from the machine shop that the head was un-repairable. After informing Mr. ******, he approved to have the head replaced and the next step was ordering a cylinder head from Napa, via a parts manufacturer in the continental US. As you can imagine, shipping a cylinder head isn’t cheap due to the weight and it’s not quick, hence some of the lengthiness of the repair. Once the head arrived in shop, our technician start to put it back together. After the long process of re-installing the cylinder head, we found that there was lack of compression due to a faulty valve on the new cylinder head. We informed Mr. ****** of the bad news and ordered a 2nd cylinder head from a GM dealer and agreed to install the 2nd cylinder head at no charge and Bradley Service Centers would absorb the labor cost. On a side note, the reason BSC incurred the cost of the 2nd cylinder head is because the manufacturer of the original cylinder head had nothing else available and we needed to purchase cylinder head from a GM dealer. While waiting for the 2nd cylinder head, BSC removed the defective cylinder head and prepped the vehicle for 2nd cylinder head installation. When the cylinder head arrived, the technician installed the new one. Immediately after installation, the truck started up, however the technician noticed that the engine light was still on. After double checking our repair, it was concluded that the initial step to turn the engine light off would be to recalibrate the on board engine computer. After numerous attempts to recalibrate computer, we contacted a certified GM technician and he recommended having all stock engine parts be re-installed before proceeding. The vehicle had several aftermarket parts, such as induction system that made it impossible for our computer to recalibrate. Given the expertise of the GM tech, we requested that *** ****** have his OE engine parts installed, however, *** stated that he didn’t have his original parts available. Out empathy for the customer and their situation, the Fleet Mgr offered to make a few calls to friends that own the same year/make/model vehicle and borrow their OE parts to complete engine calibration. At that point, *** was ok with it. Although the contacts had agreed to let BSC their OE parts, the wait became a little lengthy as BSC waited for a convenient time for the parts donors to deliver parts. While waiting for the parts to be brought in, our Fleet Manager received a text from *** ******. The text writes exactly: Eh bro I have been patience for over a month now..are you guysstill gonna fix my truck and finish the work??? Or not???...I need to know thanks!!! This text was in follow-up of two previous phone calls. Keep in mind that it’s obvious the Fleet Mgr is doing this family a favor, if the customer has his personal cell phone number to be able to text at their convenience. That is not a standard business practice. The reply from the Fleet Mgr was in the defense that we have we already spoke by phone and he informed *** ****** that the timeline that we get the donor OE parts to recalibrate his vehicle was out of his hands. IF, he wanted to move the calibration up sooner, he would need to provide his own parts. After the text, the next phone call BSC received about the truck was to inform them that the truck was taken to a GM dealer to finalize repair, however the Mr ****** refused to release where the truck was taken for a second opinion. After receiving the information from BBB, and reviewing the invoices, I am convinced that BSC did all they could to repair the customers vehicle, as requested on day one. Let me explain. The original customer complaint when brought to BSC was to repair a coolant leak in the spark plug tubes of the OE cylinder head. After a diagnosis and a report from the machine shop, it was evident that the cylinder head would need to be changed to repair the coolant leak. Although the first cylinder head turned out to be defective, the second one, repaired the customers original complaint. Out of courtesy for the customer, BSC did try to solve the additional concern of the engine light, however after reading the report from the GM dealer, it’s obvious that the engine light was not caused by the cylinder head repair. Although the timing chain needed to be replaced to turn the engine light off, there is no way that it could have been damaged during the repair at BSC. The technician’s comments by from GM in the invoices provided states that the chain needed to be replaced because it was “stretched.” Any technician will know, that a chain (metal) will not stretch by a short-term repair. This timing chain is made to handle over 200ft lbs of torque, which are normal operating conditions by GM standards. However, the chain will stretch over a matter of time. The vehicle is first 7 years old and has just over 70k miles on it. BSC will not remain liable for the chain being stretched. While the car was in BSC’s possession they also did some complementary repairs as good faith towards the customer. 1. First Cylinder head replacement: Discount on labor-10hrs only=$1100 (normal hrs 19.8=$2178.00) Inv 14035 note: view Cutter Chevrolet’s invoice for comparative labor. 2. Second cylinder head replacement: N/C parts and labor (BSC absorbed the entire cost of second repair) Inv 14694 3. Extensive troubleshooting for engine light-N/C Inv 14732 4. Replaced Camshaft sensor, crankshaft sensor, VVT solenoid and water outlet at N/C Inv 14767 5. Repaired ABS light concern at N/C Inv 14767 6. Initiated conversation with primary cylinder head manufacturer to compensate customer with a rental car. Unfortunately, they denied our request for the rental car. In fact BSC hasn’t received any financial compensation for defective parts or labor either. We at BSC, feel that we went over and beyond to prove our integrity, and to support the ******** well to repair more than the original requested repair on their vehicle. With that said, we are unwilling to compensate them in any way. While BSC was still in efforts to work a solution to diagnose engine light fully, the customer took it upon himself and approved a non-related repair at separate repair facility. BSC is also fully prepared to engage action with the GM dealer as well, for stating false and/or hypothetical accusations about previous repairs performed by BSC. Sincerely BRADLEY SERVICE CENTERS Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2014/02/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am very disappointed in the respond from Bradley Service Center. In good faith, my son car was referred to this establishment to received there auto repair services. The repairs started back in August and lasted for almost 4 months, without a final completion date for the repairs. In the response there were some inconsistency: 1. REQUEST WAS GIVEN to check on the service light/ abs light being on. 2. The company manager stated he will try to see if I can be reimbursed for the car rentals. 3. The correct text message sent to ****** stated from my son was "HEY BRO" and not "EH BRO" as stated. After several months of patiently waiting for the final repair completion date, time and money for car rentals, I was force to get a second opinion on my own from the ********* Dealership that specialize in ***** Truck. Hopefully, the Dealership will give me some answer on the truck problems, and why! it was taking so long. To my surprise from Chevrolet Dealership, they discovered from their mechanic diagnosis was several mechanical engine problems. I was told that who ever work on the truck did not do a very good job. I was also told from the ********* Representative to repair all the mechanical problems will cost this a very large amount. I gave them my permission and then informed Bradley Services on the repair costs and was told they will not taken responsibility. I have enclosed all the invoices and car rentals receipts. After an unsatisfactory responses from the Bradley Services Company, I will continued to pursue this further. I will take the advisement recommend to me and the next steps in this process, and if it a take a judicial decision to resolve this matter. I will also advise all my family and informed all my fellow co-workers what I type experience i received and highly suggest they take their business else where.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bradley Service Centers
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)