Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Artesian Auto Repair LLC

Phone: (808) 947-3011 Fax: (808) 947-3011 1012 Artesian St, Honolulu, HI 96826


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automobile repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Artesian Auto Repair LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Artesian Auto Repair LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 23, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2012 Business started locally: 01/01/2012 Business incorporated 03/07/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W03510786-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W67760334-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD3751.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MC-6744.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Kristeen K. Bates, Member John K. Medeiros, ASE Certified Mechanic
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Kristeen K. Bates, Member
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Bates, Lee J.
Industry Tips
CAR-REPAIR

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1012 Artesian St

    Honolulu, HI 96826

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: never was told what the diagnostic test problem code was. then charged $120,00 and never solved the problem. which was a timing belt.

Desired Settlement: would like the $120,00 fee back for lack of information to customer as well as not saying what the diagnostic test showed.

Business Response: Dear **** ********,

Thisis a response to ********  RE:  ***** ********
Please let ***** know that we are sorry that she did fully understandthe diagnostic chargeof $120.00. We hope all is well with her and would like only good relationswith her.  We are happy to refund the
$120.00 diagnostic fee to her.  Please let ***** know that she call me at ******** to make arrangements for a refund or that I can write a check and mail it to her.




Sincerely,        ..J I .-,        .....-:---.
Kristie G****  

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my 1995 Camry to Artestian and asked if they could find and fix a serious oil leak I had. They agreed, kept my car for 4 days and claimed it was fixed. A week later there was no oil in my car. I called and spoke with female there who agreed that they had not done their job and that they would repair it for free. Took car back; they kept it another three days then said it was fixed. At that time they said I also had a fuel pump leak but that it didn't need repaired 'right away'. A week later I checked my car and found NO OIL. Called them again. Man who answered suggested that I "check my oil every day" but agreed to see car. Took car in and took a male friend with mechanical knowledge. They told him that I had an OIL LEAK from oil pump gasket and did not offer to fix it. My friend then agreed to fix my car. The part was $80 and when it was replaced my oil leak was fixed. I called ARtesian and let them know how displeased I was and asked that they reimburse me the $80 part. I also requested that they reimburse me for parts replaced that were not part of the original problem - oil leak. I had agreed to the other repairs with the understanding that it included fixing the real, original problem - a serious oil leak. I called them today and was informed that they would not reimburse me for the $80 oil pump gasket nor the other parts that they replaced not connected to oil leak.

Desired Settlement: Artesian needs to reimburse me for the $80 oil pump gasket. Also, because they did not do what I originally requested and that they agreed to do, I would like to be reimbursed for the parts replaced unconnected to the oil pump leak. This includes: spark plugs and wires, timing belt kit with water pump, thermostat, thermostat seal, coolant/antifreeze, ac belt, power steering belt. These parts (without including the labor portion)total $584.94. My total bill was $1449.45

Business Response:

In this recent BBB document dated on November 3, 20I4, the customer admits and stated," When I first took the car in that it had a "serious" oil leak".

Once again,  Artesian Auto Repair explained to the customer that before any work was initiated, the customer was informed that we begin repairs from the most prominent leak which was the valve cover gasket. I, along with the master mechanic and the service writer explained to the customer that her vehicle had various oil leaks.  Engines do not leak from only 1 place. Artesian Auto Repair did fix a second unrelated oil leak for free (parts and labor) to try and maintain customer satisfaction. Artesian Auto Repair did offer to fix the small leak coming from the oil pump gasket. However, the customer's friend interjected and said that he would fix the leak.  Artesian Auto Repair acknowledged his response. The customer's friend was unsure where the oil pump was located and Artesian Auto Repair's Master Technician explained to the friend where it was located. About a week later, the customer called Artesian Auto Repair, she was apparently irate, yelled and demanded all her monies to be refunded or she would consult an attorney and take further action.  ******** listened to the customer for about 4 minutes.  Then, ******* asked if she could speak.  The customer stated, "You have 5 minutes."  However, after 30 seconds of explaining again about the condition of the vehicle, the customer hung up abruptly. It is impossible that the customer spoke to ******** at Artesian Auto Repair. ********  has not been employed at Artesian Auto Repair  since.July of 2014. Artesian Auto Repair is unclear of what the customer wants because the customer made different demands on 3 separate occasions.  The first phone call was a demand of her moniesrefunded for her car repair.

The second phone call (which the customer stated was being recorded) was for the money for the part purchased by her friend. The third request was for $584.94
through a complaint made through BBB dated on October 27, 20I4. The customer stated," I would like to be reimbursed for the parts replaced unconnected to the oil pump leak. This includes:  spark plugs and wirestiming belt kit with water pump, thermostat, thermostat seal, coolant/antifreeze, ac belt, power steering belt.  These parts (without including the labor portion) total $584.94. My total bill was $1449.45.
The customer contradicts herself because according to a statement made by the customer on November 3, 2014, through BBB, the customer states," When they sent me (via email) quote of work it supposedly
included FIXING the oil leaks and suggested other work.  As the total price for fixing the oil leak and the other suggested work was less than  $1500 (which is what I had budgeted to fix oil leak), I said o.k. " The customer admits in giving permission for Artesian Auto Repair to perform these repairs on her vehicle.

1) The customer signed and preauthorized the repair work done for the vehicle.

2) Artesian Auto Repair informed the customer about the numerous oil leaks and issues that the vehicle was experiencing even before any work was done.

3) Artesian Auto Repair repaired only the work that the customer authorized in writing. Furthermore, Artesian Auto Repair repaired an additional oil leak the vehicle had for free (no charge on parts and labor)

4) ******** gave the customer a ride back to her working place and gave the customer  money for the oil she spent out of pocket 

5) Artesian Auto Repair informed the customer that her vehicle had a small leak near the oil pump and offered to repair it for the customer.
 The customer declined services from Artesian Auto Repair for this issue. The customer claimed that her friend would fix this additional oil leak.

6) Artesian Auto Repair does not warranty repairs, labor, or parts done by friends.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  1. I did not request that my car "run as good as new" at any time. I did explain when I first took the car in that it had a "serious" oil leak and that is what I wanted fixed. When they sent me (via email) quote of work it supposedly included FIXING the oil leaks and suggested other work. As the total price for FIXING THE OIL LEAk and the other suggested work was less than $1500 (which is what I had budgeted to FIX OIL LEAK), I said o.k. However, the oil continued to leak and when I returned car to Artesian Auto, ******* stated that the continued leak was THEIR problem, that they should have fixed it the first time so they would not charge me for fixing the OIL LEAK again. When I picked the car up after second attempt to get OIL LEAK fixed, I was informed by both ******* and mechanic that OIL LEAK was fixed but that I had a leak around my FUEL PUMP gasket. Mechanic stated that this did not need to be fixed immediately. However, when I returned the third time because I still had an OIL LEAK, mechanic stated that he had misspoke and that he "meant" to tell me earlier that I still had an OIL LEAK. If I had known on my second trip that they still had not fixed the OIL LEAK, I would have discussed it with them then - not waited a week until I was out of oil. When I did return the third time and was informed by them that they really meant to say that I still had an OIL LEAK, they did NOT offer to repair it. So my friend agreed to fix it for me - which he did. Evidently he is a much better mechanic than those employed at Artesian Auto. 

In addition, I received three phone calls last week from **** at Artesian Auto acknowledging that my car had not been repaired properly and he initially wanted to offer me coupons, gift certificates to get future work done in exchange he requested that I remove my review of their service from ****. I informed him that I would not be bringing my car back to them for any reason and was not interested in coupons, certificates or promises for future work. He then called back and offered my $400 to remove my review from ****.

I did not take the money nor did I remove my review from ****. I was treated very poorly, car not repaired as requested and service provided was unacceptable.

Sincerely,  ******* *****

******* *****

Business Response:

The vehicle was neglected for many years. We literally had to use a substantial amount of engine degreaser to break up the caked on grease.  The customer requested to have her 1995 Camry to run great as new.
Timing Belt and a tune up (spark plugs and wire set) are suggested maintenance from the manufacturer to be done at 60K. The customer may check the owner's manual for the exact mileage suggested.  The vehicle's mileage was at 1OOK.  Her neglected vehicle was well overdue for numerous repairs, which we explained to the customer.  The drive belts were cracked and had oil leaking on them and the thermostat housing was leaking as well (among other things) EVERY repair that was done to the car was recommended, OVERDUE, needed,  and was PREAUTHORIZED BY THE CUSTOMER AND SIGNED BY THE CUSTOMER.

Before any work was initiated, the customer was informed that we begin repairs from the most prominent leak which was the valve cover gasket.  I, along with the master
mechanic and the service writer explained to the customer that her vehicle had various oil leaks.  Engines do not leak only from 1 place. The vehicle was repaired for the specific items listed and were charged only for those specific items.  When, she brought back her vehicle for another oil leak, it was about 1 week later.  I explained to her that this was not an area that we worked on previously.  The customer
stated, "I am not going to pay another F-n dime."  I don't believe any other repair shop would do this, but we repaired the leak at NO CHARGE-
parts and labor. This was for the Oil Pan Gasket and Oil level sensor. We also informed her that there was a small leak coming from the oil pump. It was not leaking when she initially brought the vehicle in the first time.  The customer declined repair and said that her friend was going to do the repair. The next time I heard from the customer was when she called me on the phone and demanded her monies back for the parts for repairs. I again explained to her that the vehicle had MULTIPLE oil leaks and we took care of 2 of them, one of them at no charge. Then the customer hung up on me before I could tell her we would be happy to inspect the vehicle.

In reference to the settlement request:

1) The customer signed and preauthorized the repair work done for the vehicle.

2) Artesian Auto Repair informed the customer about the numerous oil leaks and issues that the vehicle was experiencing even before any work was done.

3) Artesian Auto Repair repaired only the work that the customer authorized in writing. Furthermore, Artesian Auto Repair repaired an additional oil leak the vehicle had for free (no charge on parts and labor)

4) We informed the customer that her vehicle had a small leak near the oil pump and offered to repair it for the customer. The customer declined services from Artesian Auto Repair for this issue.  The customer claimed that her friend would fix this additional oil leak.

5) Artesian Auto Repair does not warranty repairs, labor, or parts done by friends.