Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Harper Car & Truck Rentals of Hawaii

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 969-1478 Fax: (808) 961-0423 View Additional Phone Numbers 456 Kalanianaole Ave, Hilo, HI 96720

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers car and truck rentals. They are the only company allowed to go to the summit of Mauna Kea.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Harper Car & Truck Rentals of Hawaii meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Harper Car & Truck Rentals of Hawaii include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Harper Car & Truck Rentals of Hawaii
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 20, 2001 Business started: 12/29/1992 Business started locally: 12/29/1992 Business incorporated 09/07/1972 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20291654-01.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Gerald T. Kodama, President Wendy Karimoto Lisa Kepoo Mrs. M.J. Kodama, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gerald T. Kodama, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. M.J. Kodama, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Renting & Leasing

Alternate Business Names
BATS, Inc.
Industry Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Harper Car & Truck Rentals of Hawaii has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visitors to Mauna Kea are not advised that they will not be allowed to travel to the observatory after 7PM at high cost to the visitor. On 27 May 2014 my wife and I rented a 4 wheel drive truck from Harpers for the purpose of driving to the summit of Mauna Kea with a stop at the Visitors Center. We told the rental representative that this was our express purpose as we already had a rental car for the week. AT NO TIME DID THE RENTAL REPRESENTATIVE TELL US THAT WE WOULD NOT BE ALLOWED ON THE SUMMIT AFTER 7PM. We visited the The Mauna Kea Visitors Center website to plan our trip. There were many cautions on the website, but at no place did the Visitors Center state that visitors would not be allowed on the summit after 7PM. We proceeded to the Visitors Center on 27 May and arrived at about 6PM. I watched a video inside the center at 6PM and my wife stayed outside. At no time before, during or after the presentation of the video did the park representative make an announcement that no one would be allowed to drive to the summit after 7PM. Outside, my wife states that at no time did any park representative announce that 7PM was rapidly approaching and that no one would be allowed to drive to the summit after 7PM. At 7PM we watched the park presentation at the Visitors Center and then at about 7:20 we attempted to drive our Harper's rental to the summit. The guard on the road stated that no one would be allowed on the road after 7PM to the summit because light pollution interfered with work at the observatory. We confirmed this inside at the visitors center desk. WE HAD IN EFFECT LOST THE $112.54 WE HAD PAID FOR THE TRUCK RENTAL BECAUSE WE HAD A REGULAR RENTAL CAR FOR THE WEEK WHICH WE COULD HAVE DRIVEN TO THE VISITORS CENTER. We totally understand the need to protect the need to protect the observatories from light pollution. We do not understand 1. Why the rental representative at Harper's did not warn us that we would not be allowed to drive to the summit after 7PM? 2. Why the Visitors Center does not state on its website that summit visitors will not be allowed up after 7PM? 3. Why the Visitors Center does not make announcements at the site between 6PM and 6:55PM that no one will be allowed to drive to the summit after 7PM? A full reimbursement of $112.54 is requested. We consider the Visitors Center equally responsible for this negligence. In submitting this complaint we hope that adjustments will be made in communicating policy to the public so that no one else is hurt financially in the future.

Desired Settlement: $112.54 refund for May 27 rental.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ This is in response to BBB Complaint Case #********. Harper Car & Truck Rental rents multi-purpose vehicles. We provide vehicles for most any need. To reach the summit of Mauna Kea does require a 4 wheel drive vehicle. This is a requirement administered by the State of Hawaii, not a Harper rule. Harpers rents 4 wheel drive vehicles allowable for use to the summit to anyone who wishes to do so. However, we would not know the hours of operations or provide such information unless a customer asks for help. If asked, we would have called the summit and accommodate any questions the customer may have had. This was not the situation. It seems as though the customer thinks that we work in conjunction with the Visitor Center. We do not. If the Visitor Center at the summit did not advise him of the summit operation hours, how can he assume that we would know how the summit operates their operation? The customer should have researched or should have called the summit himself for the hours of operation prior to renting a 4 wheel drive vehicle. The terms & conditions for a rental are stated in his rental contract for this type of vehicle. Harper's assumes no responsibility for whatever personal activity a customer pursues. The customer rented the vehicle for 24 hours, perhaps he could have gone back to the summit the following day and still be within his 24 hour rental period. However, he chose not to. The rental contract for this vehicle shows that the customer used this vehicle for a total of 138 miles. The customer did use this vehicle for whatever purpose and is seeking a refund because he was not allowed to go to the summit at a specified time. Not because our vehicle was unable to perform or was mechanically incapable. The seeking of a refund is unjustifiable and it is unfortunate that the customer choses to blame Harpers for his misfortune. Harpers rents vehicles and does not endorse or promote any type of business or activity outside of its own. It is unfortunate that the customer did not get to go up to the summit but our vehicle did provide him that opportunity and use. Therefore we are denying his request for a refund. Sincerely, ****** ** *** Manager Corporate Office: