Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Windward Cars

Phone: (808) 479-1355 Fax: (808) 312-4955 1005 Keolu Dr  A, Kailua, HI 96734 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.windwardcars.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car retail sale and wholesale, and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Windward Cars meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Windward Cars include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Windward Cars
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 26, 2007 Business started: 01/23/2006 in HI Business started locally: 01/23/2006 Business incorporated 01/23/2006 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W91913263-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD825.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-825-1.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Frank Caliri, Owner/Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Caliri, Owner/Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Frank The Used Car Guy LLC
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • 1005 Keolu Dr
    A

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 479-1355

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the date of 2/18/15 I ******* ******* made a car purchase from Windward Cars.The purchase made was in the amount of $900 for a used ****** *******.There was also an exchange for a **** ***** *******. I decided to unwind the transaction and return the ******* for the ***** ******* from Windward Cars.Frank The owner of Windward Cars only refunded me $410 from the $900 owed. Leaving the remaining balance of $490. Frank the owner of Windward cars said, the reason why he wouldn't refund me in full is because their a/c specialist *** ******* ordered an a/c compressor for the 07 ***** *******. And that I would have to wait for them to get in contact with *** ******* for a full refund.For over the course of nine months I made countless attempts to get in contact with Windward Cars for the refund of $490 Since 2/18/15 until 11/11/15.Weeks would continue to go by as they would constantly assure me that I would receive my refund in full. Yet not once would they give me a call back or allow me to speak to their a/c specialist *** *******.In the month of November I decided to visit Windward Cars to talk to about this in hopes resolving the issue. They decided to just give me the a/c compressor and refuse to give me a refund.They even suggested to "Sell it online" as a means to get out of refunding me completely. I also made an attempt to reach *** ******* who owns Thumb Cooling Hawaii he also refused to give me a refund for the a/c compressor that I do not need.

Desired Settlement: I desire a full refund in the amount of $490

Business Response:

We will provide a refund of $490.00 to ******* ******* by Wednesday, November 18th.  The incident regarding the sale and unwind back in February was not completely as described in *******'s complaint;  but in the interest of resolving this issue without further discourse we will refund the purchase price of the compressor.

******* knew that the compressor purchase was non-refundable some time ago and we were hoping we could find another compatible vehicle to put it in.  We were not obligated to unwind his car deal in February,  but we always try to be very fair with our customers and  we did so at his request. 

******* lives right up the street from our office and I will contact him to pick up his check on Wednesday. 

Thank You for your assistance in this matter.  Let me know if you need any further information or follow up.

Aloha, Frank C*****

Windward Cars  - 479-1355

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


I would also like to thank Frank and his associates from windward cars for being professional and courteous with the refund proceedings. 

Thank you BBB for helping me get in contact with Windward Cars.

Sincerely,

******* *******

1/29/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a vehicle on Dec 23rd on Oahu even though we live on Maui. We were told that it would be delivered writhing two to three days by being shipped from ***** ******** shipping in honolulu to Kahului. We rushed the sale of this vehicle as it was needed as soon as possible. It was rushed from from the bank and our end with the verbal communication that it would be in our possession right after purchase. It has now been 18 days and we still do not have the vehicle or title/registration in out possession even though we legally own it through the bank. I was lied to and told that the car was dropped off at port on Dec 28th and have texts to show this claim. I was given an "intent to ship" booking number on Jan 2nd which was not a real shipping number. Only after I contacted dealer did he provide me with a real booking number. I was told it was finally going to ship on Weds Jan 7th. It did not ship as the dealer dropped the vehicle off too late. Then I was told again it would ship on thurs the 8th. Once again it did not ship. I contacted ***** ******** and they said that it was because the dealer did not drop the car off until the 7th and had it shipped as "space available." This contra dicta everything the dealer told to us. We were lied to about the reservation and we have no idea when we will receive this car.

Desired Settlement: I would like either cancellation of sale or reimbursement on the shipping costs after received. Would also like this shipping to be expedited and given a date that we will receive the vehicle since we have been lied to. Also, in the future the dealer should provide better shipping and explain to the customer the process rather than lying to make a sale.

Business Response:

Date: 1/21/15
To: ***** ***** Operations BBB
From: ***** ******* Windward Cars
Dba- Frank The Used Car Guy LLC
RE: Complaint #********
*****,
Thank you for your time in dealing with this matter. The above referenced complaint from Mrs. ******** has been read and reviewed. I understand Mrs. ******** frustration with the process but everything was slowed down due to the fact that they reside on a outer island.

First, Mrs. ******** never flew to Oahu to purchase or view the vehicle. The transaction was completed using US Mail and FedEx. On December 23th I submitted the ******** info to the bank ********* ********** in order to acquire financing. I was given approval from the bank on the following day. I (Windward Cars) proceeded to fax the documents to them on Maui for signing and review. The ********’s then signed the documents and mailed them back to Oahu for my review. I then FedEx’d the documents to Memphis, Tennessee for review by the bank ********* **********. At that point the bank begins to call employers and references in order to confirm information provided by the ********’s. During this point Windward Cars is waiting for the bank to give final approval on whether the deal is fundable. Upon approval Windward Cars pays off the vehicle from our bank ******** ******* in Carmel, Indiana (they hold the title as lien holders until Windward Cars pays for said collateral) and they proceed to mail the title to Oahu. This process takes up to 7-10 business days typically. Upon receipt of the title, I (Windward Cars) take the title to Satellite City Hall in order to transfer ownership into the ******** name along with the finance company ********* ********** as lien holder. I then fax a copy of the new registration to the bank ********* ********** as proof that they are the lien holder. Windward Cars then wait for a faxed response from the bank ********* ********** stating that the deal would be funded. During this latter portion of the process Windward Cars set up a shipping request for the vehicle and a date was scheduled using the transportation department of ******* **** ********. On Friday January 2, 2015 I was given a booking number for the vehicle. It was scheduled to ship Wednesday January 7, 2015 booking # *******. On Monday Windward Cars dropped the vehicle at ******* Offices and turned it over to them for shipping. At that point Windward Cars has no control over the vehicle. It is Windward Cars understanding that for some reason ******* was unable to get the vehicle on that boat due to a back log of cars and goods that took priority. It was then bumped to the following boat and scheduled to ship. At this point Windward Cars had no control of the process and was like the ********’s, at the mercy of ***** ******** and their schedule.

The ******** family never came to Oahu to test drive or view the vehicle. Everything required by ******** ********* was slowed considerably due to the fact that business was conducted via phone, US Mail and Fed Ex. Windward Cars did everything possible to complete the transaction in as timely a manner as possible. Windward Cars was in constant communication with the ******** family in order to convey information and keep them up to speed on the process.

Windward Cars feels they did everything possible make the deal happen as fast as possible. I hope the BBB can also come to that conclusion with the above facts regarding the transaction.

Thank you for your time,
***** *******
Windward Cars
**** * ***** **
******* ** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Windward Cars
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)