Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Voyager Auto Sales

Phone: (808) 454-9999 Fax: (808) 454-9998 96-1185 Waihona St C6-C8, Pearl City, HI 96782 http://www.voyagerautosales.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Voyager Auto Sales offers used vehicles. This company also provides servicing of all its vehicles, assistance to consumers in financing with major banks and ships vehicles to the Neighbor Islands.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Voyager Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Voyager Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Voyager Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1995 Business started locally: 01/01/1995 Business incorporated 01/01/1995 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20480846-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD526.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Azad Tirgardoon, President Mr. Rick Alexander, Admin Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Azad Tirgardoon, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Voyager Auto Repair Voyager Corporation
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Voyager Auto Sales has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 96-1185 Waihona St C6-C8

    Pearl City, HI 96782 (808) 454-9999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car I wanted to purchase was sold from undernieth me because the Sales Manager neglected to send me purchase proposal. I called to purchase a car for sale and was instructed to take my trade in to be appraised. Once completed the dealership told me I would need to register and safety the car in HI. After price negotiation, we agreed on the car and the price on the phone since we are on different Islands. The Sales Manager requested I send a copy of my Drivers License for the paperwork, which I sent on March 19th at 2pm. The Sales Manager was to send me the proposal that afternoon or the next morning and we would have a done deal. I offered to put cash down on the car to hold it and was told "no need, Ill send the proposal and we will take care of it." I never received the documents because he went into a meeting in the morning, and then allowed his Assistant Sales Manager to sell the car he had promised us, at a higher profit to another customer. After a 30 minute phone call with the Sales Manager about what went wrong and how this happened, he told us " We buy cars from all over the Nation I can find you another" and "we messed up, we dropped the ball and are very sorry". I asked if he buys private party to sell to us and he said "Absolutely, we can do that. We do that all the time. I can get one and sell it to you for a 5% markup or I can find you another car for the same '$19925' out the door price." We sent 6 choices from Craiglist, and only one was still available. The Sales Manager said on Monday, the 24th of March, he was having the owner bring the car to his dealership for evaluation. When I called him Wednesday he informed me they bought the car and it needed some work. He said he would let me know what and how much the repairs would be, but never did. On Friday when I inquired again about the status of the car, I was sent a sales proposal for a car pricing it at the KBB suggested price. The Car was listed on Craigslist for $19400, and was sold to the dealership as a trade in at KBB low trade in value,(much less that $19400) per the owner of the car. I was told $2000 worth of parts were put on the car which should bring the approximate cost close to original selling price of $19400. I am now being told the car to purchase will $22,942. They also reduced the original agreed trade in value by $500. They are now asking in excess of $3000 more for a car they bought specifically for me and did not consult me on the repairs needed. I was promised a car, that was sold behind my back for more money. I was promised a different car at the $19925, or 5% mark up from purchase price. I was being mislead by the Sales Manager so the business could increase profit from the first car, and am now being misled about how they will reconcile the situation. The Sales Manager is now telling me he wants to sell it to a Kauai car dealership, at a lower cost, so I can test drive it and buy it from them. This is more time, and more paperwork on my part. Voyager Auto Sales has misrepresented its services and misled me as a consumer, in an attempt to make additional money off a United States Armed Forces Member. I would like this Business to keep their word, or to reduce the A+ rating as they do not practice honest techniques. I chose this business in part of their BBB rating, and am disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to Sales Manager to honor our verbal agreement, and sell us a 2005-2006 Subaru WRX STi for the amount we agreed upon. $19925 including tax, doc fees and shipping. I would also like him to honor the original trade in amount he offered for my vehicle as nothing on my vehicle has changed to warrant a lower amount. I'm not asking them to lose money, just to consider not making AS MUCH to settle this dispute. Thank You

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/07) */ Voyager Auto Sales' response: Voyager Auto Sales would like to make some minor corrections to the customer's statements and misunderstandings in the customer's attempt to purchase 2006 Subaru WRX and then a 2005 Subaru WRX STI from us. The customer said that they had a loan approved from **** in the amount $19,925 but this was not enough to cover the $2,313 in "negative equity" in the valuation of the customer's trade in to complete the deal. Unfortunately, the $19,925 loan from **** was not enough to pay for the car due to fact that the customer did not want to pay the additional $2,313 or get another loan for $22,238, the amount required to complete the deal. At that time the customer declined the deal. After a few days, the customer called back inquiring if the car was still available. We replied yes. At that time the customer said that they were willing to pay the full $22,238 but they said they needed to go back to their bank to apply for the additional financing. We provide customers a quotation in the form of a Bill of Sale to take to their bank so that the bank has all the information to approve the customer's loan. We follow a common practice in the industry of giving prospective buyers a quote in the form of a Bill of Sale which identifies the vehicle and shows the purchase price. There may be several buyers inquiring on the same vehicle, so this quote is not a promise to sell or to buy. Neither party, buyer or seller are bound by this document. Another customer came in with approved financing and purchased the car which was still being advertised. The customer in this BBB Case understood that the vehicle was sold to a different customer then proceeded to ask us to find another similar vehicle on Craigslist and purchase it so that they could buy it from us. We found another similar car on Craigslist with the customer's help. This car had 35,000 less miles on it and was in much better condition, but it needed mechanical repairs. We performed the repairs and reconditioned the car. Since this particular make and model of vehicle is in high demand, it often sells for more than the standard Kelly Blue Book price. So we offered to sell it to them at no more than the Kelly Blue Book price of $22,942 plus negative equity on their trade-in of $2,313 plus documentation fee $198, transfer fee $10 plus G.E. tax $951.49 for a new total of $26,414.49. Then they refused to buy the second car that we bought from Craigslist for them because its selling price was more than the original car they were interested in buying because its valuation in Kelly Blue Book was higher. After performing the mechanical repairs and reconditioning on this second car, we still held the price down to the Kelly Blue Book price for them. Then, they accused us of reducing the value of their trade-in on the new Bill of Sale, but, in reality, the trade-in value is the same on both Bills of Sale because we never reduced the value of their trade-in on either Bill of Sale. While the customer is insisting in their desired resolution of this case that we sell them the second car for the same price as the first car, the truth is that we cannot do that because of the fact that we have to pay for the Lien on the second car which is almost the same cost as they expect us to sell it to them for. In addition, we paid for the repairs and reconditioning on the second car which would actually make us lose money. While the customer alleges that they don't want us to lose money, that is precisely what they are asking us by insisting that we sell them the second car for the same selling price as the first car. Our mission is to make every customer satisfied and have a positive experience with us. This matter is still open to some sort of correction or accommodation. We are still willing to find a similar vehicle to fit the customer's budget. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) More than half of this statement is untrue or misleading once again. The first car was a 2006 Subaru WRX STI, not the base WRX. I did inquire about the car once first, and then again a little over a week later. At that time I told him I had all financing set up and I had already received my loan from ****. Final loan approval was for $21927. I had not told the dealership that my loan was approved for more than the original amount of $19925. I was prepared to cover the negative equity in the loan or on a credit card, but did clearly state that I had full funds and wanted the car. On March 19th at 2:07 pm I sent a copy of my Drivers License to the Sales Manager who was then suppose to write up our "bill of sale" or "proposal". I was NEVER sent a "bill of sale" or "proposal" to purchase the 2006 Subaru WRX STI because they NEGLECTED to send it to me. When I called the next day to inquire where my promised documents were, I was informed the car had sold. I was also told by the Assistant Sales Manager that " That's why we have signed proposals" and "that's why people put cash down". Keep in mind my Wife and I offered to do both and were told no need to put money down and the paperwork was being emailed. The paperwork never arrived, so this business's statement regarding trade in value never changing from the "original" proposal is a lie. And there we have the basis for the rest of their statement. I would ask this business to provide date/time stamped correspondence to support their claim of this "original proposal" that supposedly reflects the lower trade amount. The Sales Manager (who is also the General Manager) apologized thoroughly when the original 2006 Subaru WRX STI was sold because he knew he was suppose to be sending us the documents. He was attempting to reconcile THEIR mistake by offering to buy another vehicle, (private party or auction) and sell it to us for the same price as the original 2006 Subaru WRX STI ($19925) or a small 5% mark up if the car was newer or purchased at a higher amount than the $19925. The facts have not changed that this dealership purchased a car for me and did not honor their agreement as said above, but instead insisted on a HIGH Kelly Blue Book value on a vehicle 1 year older. The car was purchased from its owner at low Kelly Blue Book trade in, less than the $19050 it was advertised for on Craigs List. I believe this dealership did not hold their side of the agreement because they thought they could make more money selling it to someone else. As they mentioned in their response, this car is much nicer than the first, and with the stigma of it being a "Highly Desirable" vehicle, he though he could sell it for a higher profit, just like the first car. I called to discuss the proposal showing a lowered trade in value, and the agreement of 5% markup price or original $19925 because the amount they were now asking was over my budget. I received an email on April 1st, at 1:41 pm from the Sales Manager stating the dealership would not be willing to sell us a car at all anymore. I can only assume this is the business trying to get rid of the problem they have by ignoring us and not offering solutions. He was offering a trade value on my Mazda RX-8 of $6200. This was the amount we negotiated on the advice of HIS Friend who test drove and appraised my car. The ONLY proposal I've received to date is showing $5699. I want this record to show as a complaint for the business because they did not keep their word and I feel that other customers have the right to know that this business only works in favor of itself, and does not provide the Customer Service an A+ BBB rating should. I used this rating as a guide to choose a business that would put "ethics" and "high values" first in my purchase of a new car. I feel it is misrepresenting that this business can default on its agreements. It was unfair and very upsetting. I lost my interest rate on my loan because of this situation and chose to purchase a car from another dealership. I do not want to attempt to do business with this company again. Sincerely, ************************ ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Voyager Auto Sales
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart