Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ohana Motors, Inc.

Phone: (808) 245-4003 Fax: (808) 245-9020 2391 Ulu Maika Street, Lihue, HI 96766 http://www.ohanamotors.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers buying/selling/leasing of new & used motor vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohana Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ohana Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ohana Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2000 Business started: 11/15/1996 Business started locally: 11/15/1996 Business incorporated 11/15/1996 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20524478-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD562.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russell McCluskey, President Mr. Scott Herbon, Sales Manager Ms. Susan McCluskey, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Herbon, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Russell McCluskey, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • 2391 Ulu Maika Street

    Lihue, HI 96766 (808) 245-4003

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stopped by ohana motors last evening and viewed a vehicle. Set up appt today to test drive. Both Ben and Scott drove my trade in and iIwas sitting at Bens station awaiting trade value and pricing. Ben returnedand ask me if iIknew what my credit scores are, iIsaid yes, but iItold you iIhave my financing aarrangedand NEVER authorized you to pull my credit . He blamedscott, so iIwent to sScottand he said Ben said i was okay with it and showed me a signed paper . I replied that was from 4 months ago. I requested Scot notify both ******* and ******** and reverse the inquiry . Scott didn'tknow how . I just went thru expensive credit repair and would NEVER authorizea person to pull my credit without my explicit knowledge. I want this investigated and inquiries reversed. I will file allegations with credit agencies and dispute this

Desired Settlement: Credit corrected

Business Response:

***** came in to OHANA MOTORS INC to trade in his truck on a newer one. He test drove the truck and the salesperson Ben filled out a worksheet.

***** stated that if we could take his truck in on trade and payoff the existing loan that he would buy our truck if the payments were acceptable.We had his signed credit application on file from four months ago, I gave the application to Ben to review it with ***** to ask if there were any changes to be made, ***** said that his income had increased and that everything else remained the same. In an effort to meet his payment criteria we needed to get a recent credit score to find the best terms available.

Ben then returned to my office to present the documents to me. It was my understanding that we were to obtain financing for the purchase, requiring a recent credit check.

***** then became upset that we ran a credit inquiry, I apologized for the misunderstanding.. ***** asked to have the inquiry removed form his credit report.

We are in contact with the credit reporting agencies involved and will follow up on this matter until it is resolved.

Sincerely, Scott H*****

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  of these missing components

Ben was my salesperson and I was extremely clear with him that I was in the process of working with my Loan officer, ******, at ****** on my payoff and I would arrange me own financing thru either ****** or **** and ALL that i needed was the "numbers from today...my trade in value and their costs of their truck".  I was in their business for about 1 hour with my son alongside and both Ben and Scott took individual test drives of my truck to determine trade in value.  this seemed odd to me as i am not used to a salesperson driving a vehicle on trade in, but as i told my son, maybe they are just trying to keep us here longer to build more interest in their vehicle".  Ben did come back to his office area and provided small talk, while Scott was driving my truck, and simply asked me if i still worked at the same place and if my income had changed this year.  there was NO request, implied or direct, that they even wanted to pull my credit, i had been very specific that i would arrange my own financing.  at one time, i was asked about interest rates and terms so they could provide me "closer numbers" and i said i have a calculator on my phone and i can estimate monthly payments.  I did become outraged when i found out they pulled my credit and asked for my keys, which were not immediately returned.  it was only after i walked into the general manager's office area and moved Ben's hand that i secured the keys to my truck which is my personal property.  i did ask for an immediate notification to the credit bureaus to remove the inquiry and Scott wasnt familiar with this request.  i phoned after i returned home, looked up FTC guidelines and filed this complaint with BBB, and asked to speak with the owner of Ohana Motors, initially Scott was reluctant and said, "that's what i get paid to do, handle problems, so the owner is not available.  only after i gave an ultimatum of legal action did Scott contact Russell who called me back about an hour later.  I explained that i paid thousands of dollars last year to "clean up my credit report" and did not request, approve or desire an inquiry from them, did Russell take my information and know how to submit a 'mispull'.  Russell was very nice to me that day and the following day and is supposed to follow up with me when he recieves written notification from the credit reporting agencies of the corrected inquiry.  I have heard nothing since the day after this incident and my credit score dropped 9 points from this inquiry.  I have photographical proof from ****** that this occurred. 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response: ***** ***** ****** *** ***********************************  ***** ******* ****** *** **** ***** ** *** ***** ** ***** *********************** ******** *** ******** ***** ******
I am attaching a copy of Mr. ******'s credit application and *******'s "soft" inquiry per your request.

I appreciate your assistance in this matter.

Aloha,
Scott


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  ******* is satisfied, although my credit alert program has not triggered 'credit' of inquiry and score has not reflected negative impact yet.  also, ******** has not updated it standing, so this is only partially satisfied and i will not sign off of the claim until both credit agencies are updated and my score reflects such.  score remains 9 points less since the pull and ****** has specific 9 point drop triggered ONLY by this action.

Sincerely,

***** ******

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had purchased a vehicle from this company, and unfortunately we decided to purchase an extended warranty. Specifically, we agreed to purchase the warranty under the explicit condition provided to us that the warranty was refundable and that we could cancel at any time whether it was because we just wanted to cancel, or if we sold the vehicle. We sold the vehicle to another dealership and informed Ohana Motors that very same day that we sold the vehicle and that the warranty needed to be cancelled, with a refund check made out to us. We were told by Ohana Motors that there would be no problem fulfilling this request, and that we would get our refund check within a month. It has been almost two months now and we have received nothing at all. We have purchased vehicles from other dealerships before, and when we cancelled extended warranties, we got our refund check back within a month, never more than 3-4 weeks tops. Something is definitely wrong, and we are not being informed as to the status of this refund check in any way, shape, or form.

Desired Settlement: We have waited almost two months for a refund check that is to be in the amount of almost $2800.00, and we deserve to be paid immediately. Two months is too long to wait for something that was promised by the dealership to be delivered to us within a "month." Something is definitely wrong and there has been no explanation provided to us that legitimately explains the absence of this refund check.

Consumer Response:  

From: ***** **** ****************************
Sent: Saturday, April 11, 2015 7:29 PM
To: BBB Complaints
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB of Hawaii Regarding Complaint #********

Aloha,

Can you please remove this complaint. I do not stand by it anymore, and I don't want it filed against Ohana Motors.

Mahalo,

***** ****

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TOLD TO INITIAL PAPER WORK AND I BECAME THE CO-SIGNER OF A CAR ONLY WORTH $7000 WHICH SOLD FOR $20,000. THREE TIMES ITS WORTH. I ONLY MAKE $875 PER MONTH AND MUST PAY $579 PER MONTH. THE ONLY PAPER WORK I HAVE IS THE BILL FROM THE CREDIT UNION.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY OFF THE BILL OR CANCELLED, BEFORE THE FIRST PAYMENT DUE ON 1-4-2015. I WILL PAY ANY PENALTIES IF THEY HAVE TO REPO THE CAR. WHICH SOMEONE ELSE HAS.

Business Response:

**** *****

id # ********

Mr. ******* ****** wanted to purchase the 2004 Toyota Tacoma. He was informed that he needed a co signer in order for him to buy this vehicle.

Mr. ****** ***** (Grandfather) agreed to sign for him. They were informed that there is no 3 day cancellation. They are both responsible for the loan.

The price of the vehicle is determined by the Market Value.

The selling price was 18995.00 which they both agreed on. The price was 18995.00 plus tax, license and doc. fees. They did not give any down payment.

Mr. ****** ***** income is 1265.00 net. and Mr. ******* ****** makes 1200.00 per month.

Copies of the sales contract was given to Mr. ******* ******. We were informed that Mr. ******* ****** was making the payments.

Mr. ******* ****** and his step father came to Ohana Motors yesterday 12/18/2014.  Mr. ****** told us that he was very happy with his Truck.

and that they were trying to get it refinanced, due to his grandfather was upset at him.

Hope this helped.

Sincerly

***** ******

 

10/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ohana Motors rushed me throughout the process. They moved my personal belongings from my car to the truck I was interested in without my consent. On 09/14/14 around 3:00PM, I went to Ohana Motors with a friend of mines to take a look at the vehicles for sale. As ***** assisted me, I explained to ***** that I wanted to see if I could trade in my 2011 Toyota Camry for a bigger vehicle, preferably a Toyota Tacoma. I got to test drive 2 Tacoma's in which I was interested in. I asked ***** what was the price of the 2008 White Toyota Tacoma, he responded "$30k." I informed him that I wanted to know what the monthly payments would be. He brought me inside of the shop and started going over the details on the monthly payments and how it is roughly $550 a month. He asked if I wanted to put money down, and I said $500.00 but not at the moment because I needed to see if I would need to help out my mother-in-law with expenses. ***** made a comment saying "Wow! You're easy!" In which I felt uncomfortable. As he was conning me about a "Sunday Special" that they would provide me if I put money down that exact moment. I felt pressured and again responded "I need to talk to my mom guys and ask for their help and advice." ***** then gave me time to think and till then I was confused as to what I was doing, almost ready to back out. He then referred me to one of the managers, ******, and then he too was persuading me to take the truck home. As I was filling out the loan application, we played with the down payment amount to see how much of a difference my monthly payments would be. I told them I had $220.00 ****** continued with the application and asked for my insurance policy number and my pay-stubs to provide the loan officer. I went out to the parking lot to see *****, the initial salesperson, physically removing my personal belongings from my Camry to the truck that I was interested in. I was confused as to why he was doing that, so he tried to get me off subject and was asking about how I liked the 2008 Tacoma. I proceeded to get my old insurance cards and gave it to ******. As I signed the agreements, he explained that if I get declined and the bank would require more of a down payment that I could not provide, then they would give me my car back and the truck would go back to them. But if the bank accepted the loan, then it would be as is. ***** stated that he would let me know the next day as to what the bank responded. As I walked out, my 2011 Camry was gone and I was left with the 2008 Tacoma. I did not know what to say. Of course ***** was trying to make it seem as if it was a good deal, and that everything was okay. I was excited to see this truck but confused on the process. 09/15/14, No call from Ohana Motors. 09/16/14, around 10:00AM, ***** text me asking about my Tacoma, the insurance binder that State Farm was suppose to fax them, and that the bank required a down payment. I told him I was in class, insurance binder should have been faxed that morning, and that I will give them a call. I call ****** that afternoon stating that I was not going to give a down payment and asked for my truck back. ****** continued to con me about how the loan officers always does him good favors and he would ask the loan officer if I could have the loan with no down payment. I did not want that! I called him once more around 2:00PM and begged him for my car back but he insisted I wait for the loan officer. I went back with my parents, and they couldn't even provide us with a refund, trade of my 2011 camry, or exchange of parts! 09/18/14, Spoke with a representative at ***** Community Federal Credit Union, to see if the bank could reverse/cancel the loan process. They response was to see Ohana Motors since they would make the decision to do that. Bottom line is that they tricked me, rushed me, and I was confused. I went from one salesperson to another. They took advantage of me by conning me into this sale that I did not want! They took my belongings without my consent! My thoughts were scattered since I spoke with two different people. A young lady, by herself, of course they ripped me off!

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for a refund of my deposit of $220.00 and a trade of this 2008 Tacoma for my 2011 Toyota Camry back.

Business Response:

From: OHANA MOTORS INC [mailto:**************************]
Sent: Friday, October 10, 2014 10:41 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: Re :case #******** / #********

 Hi ***** ,

                Please assist me with my response to this claim.

                                                                           Thank you ,

                                                                      ***** ******

                                                                 General Sales Manager

                                                                  OHANA MOTORS INC

         On Sunday September 14 2014 , **** drove on to OHANA MOTORS  INC  used car lot to find a truck to replace her Camry.

***** assisted her and helped her find a Tacoma 4x4 that she liked . They test drove two trucks and **** picked her favorite one.

**** and the salesperson went in the  office to begin the paperwork to review the details.

 
**** signed the worksheet stating that she would like to own the Tacoma truck if OHANA MOTORS would take her trade in and $500

cash down payment with payments that she would be comfortable with. After negotiations , **** and OHANA MOTORS agreed on

 the terms of the sale . 

 

**** provided all of the required documents to the salesperson to consummate the sale.

****** the finance manager assisted **** with all of the legal documents to complete the purchase. ****** told her that if the lender 

required additional down payment he would let her know.

 
At this time on Sunday evening the sales person *****  began transferring ****'s belongings to her new truck. ( Salespeople routinely 

assist customers with moving property from their trade in to the next vehicle).

 

**** appeared to be  very happy as she drove off with her Tacoma 4x4. 

 

On Tuesday September 16 2014 , ****** left a message on ****'s voice mail that the loan was  approved as agreed. At 3 pm on that day 

****** received a text from **** that read " Hey ****** , I just got your message . Thank you for everything and your hard work . You da Bomb "

 

Wednesday September 17 2014 , **** came in to the dealership with her parents to discuss returning the Tacoma that she had purchased 

3 days earlier.

 

I reviewed all of the paperwork in the file and listened to ****'s parents recall what had happen on Sunday ( even though they weren't 

present that day ).  I showed each signed document to them and her parents seamed  surprised that from the first document **** was 

trying to buy a truck at that time.

 

OHANA MOTORS INC did not do anything wrong during the sales process.

Sincerely , 

***** ******

 

9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent over an hour negotiating a contract for a red 2007 Toyota Tundra. When we reached an agreement, they sold it to someone else behind my back. I had already told the dealership I was going to trade in my new 2014, fully paid for, Toyota Tacoma, plus cash towards the purchase of a red 2007 Toyota Tundra. I spent an hour and a half at the dealership negotiating a deal. When we had reached a deal, I had agreed to the terms and said I would go home and get my 2014 vehicle and clear title, and bring them back to finalize the transaction. When I returned, the dealership had negated the agreement, and turned around and sold the vehicle to another party, without informing that party that the vehicle was already in the process of being sold. The dealership never called me to inform me that they intended to negate the agreement reached with me. They undermined and broke the agreement that I had confirmed and complied with, and sold the vehicle behind my back without my knowledge. I want the "sale" to the "new owner" negated, and the contract and terms of the vehicle reversed. I had the right to purchase the vehicle per the contract terms that the dealership and I had agreed to. I feel abused and violated, and I demand justice. Transfer of new ownership must be negated and restated to me per the terms of the contract that was agreed upon between the dealership and myself.

Desired Settlement: I demand that the red 2007 Toyota Tundra that I had already agreed to purchase be taken out of the false sale that was arranged behind my back, and given back to me to complete the terms of the contract that were discussed and agreed upon between the dealership and I. What Ohana Motors dealership did to me was illegal, unethical, and a total and complete breach of contract. I have first rights to purchase the vehicle that was ultimately sold to someone else while I was going to retrieve the trade-in vehicle and title that were at my property. The dealership undermined my trust, and breached an absolutely valid contract to purchase the vehicle.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/09/16) */ The company actually went out of its way to communicate with me on an honest level, and apologized for the miscommunication. If there had been better communication, maybe things would have turned out better. As it turns out though, I may be buying another vehicle from them because of the customer service they are showing me now, which I do appreciate.

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a truck that they knowingly had issues with and was not informed it had been in a previous accident. They cashed a voided check Often we buy cars from dealerships for the financing help! Another reason that people tend to use dealerships is peace of mind! That they are buying a good used vehicle. Ohana motors prides them selves on customer service! Well, my experience with them has been a total nightmare. I have spent over 6 days in that office countless phone calls and yes, I even cried in front of their manager. When I purchased my truck, a 2005 Nissan frontier, from them less than a year ago, Oct. 16th 2013,I was pleased, for about a week. After the first week the AC stopped working! I was a little shocked but bit the bullet and had it fixed. Very soon after that the truck started having a new issue every day it seemed. It over heated a few times, stalled out in intersections and some days just wouldn't start!! I was very upset, seeing how I had just bought it!!! I reached out to ohana motors and was given a "what do you expect us to do about it" disappointed I took my truck to **************** to see if they would take it as a trade! They informed me that the truck had been in a bad accident and all the airbags had been deployed!!! They couldn't believe I had been sold a truck without being made aware that it had been in a accident! They couldn't help me understandably. I then had the truck serviced at ******, they informed me the truck needed a new radiator and new transmission from a pre existing issue! The repairs would cost upwards of $3,000.00. So, I took it back to ohana motor with a car fax report in hand, it not only had been in a accident, but had a number of recalls on it! I understand i should of done the report myself before buying. But honestly. I trusted them!!! Again, they offered me no help!!!!! I have tried and tried to somehow trade in the truck with them to get a Working vehicle but they don't want the truck! The truck THEY SOLD ME!!!!! Tuesday, July 22nd I spent 6 hours there trying to work out a deal for a trade scenario, they asked if I could put $1,200 down on a used vehicle and they would give me 10,000 for my truck, after writing a check they changed their mind on the deal and decided to not take the truck. I inquired as to what happens to my check and they assured me it would be voided. One week later, they CASHED the check! July 28th 2014.Resulting in a overdraft to my bank account, I never intended for the check to be cashed so I hadn't transferred money into that account!!!! No effort was made to amend the situation when I called, they simply said, come down and we will write a check for you. I work full time and won't be able to make it down till after work! Using my gas and time to get money that was stolen from me! it's amazing to me that they won't own up to their lack of research on a truck they took in. That they can knowingly cash a check for an item never purchased!!! I'm a single mom who works hard For everything she has, and have a unreliable vehicle that I pay for every month.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Ohana motors to either take the truck back and refund my money. Or cover the costs of the repairs partially or fully. They need to be held accountable for selling vehicles that are in poor operating order and they need to be held accountable for cashing a check that supposedly had been voided!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ We met with ******* and her father on July 30th. We agreed to help her out with $1500 of the repairs to the truck that purchased last year. Nissan agreed to offer factory assistance also . ******* and her father were happy with the outcome.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ohana Motors, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)