BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers buying/selling/leasing of new & used motor vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ohana Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ohana Motors, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ohana Motors, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 2000 Business started: 11/15/1996 Business started locally: 11/15/1996 Business incorporated: 11/15/1996 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W20524478-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is MVD562.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russell McCluskey, President Mr. Scott Herbon, Sales Manager Ms. Susan McCluskey, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Herbon, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Russell McCluskey, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 2391 Ulu Maika Street

    Lihue, HI 96766 (808) 245-4003

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent over an hour negotiating a contract for a red 2007 Toyota Tundra. When we reached an agreement, they sold it to someone else behind my back. I had already told the dealership I was going to trade in my new 2014, fully paid for, Toyota Tacoma, plus cash towards the purchase of a red 2007 Toyota Tundra. I spent an hour and a half at the dealership negotiating a deal. When we had reached a deal, I had agreed to the terms and said I would go home and get my 2014 vehicle and clear title, and bring them back to finalize the transaction. When I returned, the dealership had negated the agreement, and turned around and sold the vehicle to another party, without informing that party that the vehicle was already in the process of being sold. The dealership never called me to inform me that they intended to negate the agreement reached with me. They undermined and broke the agreement that I had confirmed and complied with, and sold the vehicle behind my back without my knowledge. I want the "sale" to the "new owner" negated, and the contract and terms of the vehicle reversed. I had the right to purchase the vehicle per the contract terms that the dealership and I had agreed to. I feel abused and violated, and I demand justice. Transfer of new ownership must be negated and restated to me per the terms of the contract that was agreed upon between the dealership and myself.

Desired Settlement: I demand that the red 2007 Toyota Tundra that I had already agreed to purchase be taken out of the false sale that was arranged behind my back, and given back to me to complete the terms of the contract that were discussed and agreed upon between the dealership and I. What Ohana Motors dealership did to me was illegal, unethical, and a total and complete breach of contract. I have first rights to purchase the vehicle that was ultimately sold to someone else while I was going to retrieve the trade-in vehicle and title that were at my property. The dealership undermined my trust, and breached an absolutely valid contract to purchase the vehicle.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/09/16) */ The company actually went out of its way to communicate with me on an honest level, and apologized for the miscommunication. If there had been better communication, maybe things would have turned out better. As it turns out though, I may be buying another vehicle from them because of the customer service they are showing me now, which I do appreciate.

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a truck that they knowingly had issues with and was not informed it had been in a previous accident. They cashed a voided check Often we buy cars from dealerships for the financing help! Another reason that people tend to use dealerships is peace of mind! That they are buying a good used vehicle. Ohana motors prides them selves on customer service! Well, my experience with them has been a total nightmare. I have spent over 6 days in that office countless phone calls and yes, I even cried in front of their manager. When I purchased my truck, a 2005 Nissan frontier, from them less than a year ago, Oct. 16th 2013,I was pleased, for about a week. After the first week the AC stopped working! I was a little shocked but bit the bullet and had it fixed. Very soon after that the truck started having a new issue every day it seemed. It over heated a few times, stalled out in intersections and some days just wouldn't start!! I was very upset, seeing how I had just bought it!!! I reached out to ohana motors and was given a "what do you expect us to do about it" disappointed I took my truck to **************** to see if they would take it as a trade! They informed me that the truck had been in a bad accident and all the airbags had been deployed!!! They couldn't believe I had been sold a truck without being made aware that it had been in a accident! They couldn't help me understandably. I then had the truck serviced at ******, they informed me the truck needed a new radiator and new transmission from a pre existing issue! The repairs would cost upwards of $3,000.00. So, I took it back to ohana motor with a car fax report in hand, it not only had been in a accident, but had a number of recalls on it! I understand i should of done the report myself before buying. But honestly. I trusted them!!! Again, they offered me no help!!!!! I have tried and tried to somehow trade in the truck with them to get a Working vehicle but they don't want the truck! The truck THEY SOLD ME!!!!! Tuesday, July 22nd I spent 6 hours there trying to work out a deal for a trade scenario, they asked if I could put $1,200 down on a used vehicle and they would give me 10,000 for my truck, after writing a check they changed their mind on the deal and decided to not take the truck. I inquired as to what happens to my check and they assured me it would be voided. One week later, they CASHED the check! July 28th 2014.Resulting in a overdraft to my bank account, I never intended for the check to be cashed so I hadn't transferred money into that account!!!! No effort was made to amend the situation when I called, they simply said, come down and we will write a check for you. I work full time and won't be able to make it down till after work! Using my gas and time to get money that was stolen from me! it's amazing to me that they won't own up to their lack of research on a truck they took in. That they can knowingly cash a check for an item never purchased!!! I'm a single mom who works hard For everything she has, and have a unreliable vehicle that I pay for every month.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Ohana motors to either take the truck back and refund my money. Or cover the costs of the repairs partially or fully. They need to be held accountable for selling vehicles that are in poor operating order and they need to be held accountable for cashing a check that supposedly had been voided!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/11) */ We met with ******* and her father on July 30th. We agreed to help her out with $1500 of the repairs to the truck that purchased last year. Nissan agreed to offer factory assistance also . ******* and her father were happy with the outcome.