Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Island Auto Exchange

Phone: (808) 486-7177 Fax: (808) 488-9247 99-022 Kamehameha Hwy, Aiea, HI 96701 http://islandautoexchange.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a used car dealership.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Island Auto Exchange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Island Auto Exchange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 22, 1988 Business started: 07/03/2000 Business started locally: 07/03/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W05554008-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is CS-16355.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-315.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Wesley Tomlinson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wesley Tomlinson, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Tomlinson, Wesley
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Island Auto Exchange has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    99-022 Kamehameha Hwy

    Aiea, HI 96701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Told vehicle would be repaired, got loan, picked up car and problems starting to show up. Told, "you bought it AS IS". So I'm sucking it. Test drove the vehicle, during the test drive notice the shaking of the vehicle due to cupping of front tire. Was told that the tire would be replaced along with a new battery. I was interested in the vehicle but wanted to go through my credit union. Being only 22 years old and this being my first large purchase I was swindled to come in another day, before securing my loan from my desired credit union to pay $5000 downpayment and sign the paperwork before he sells it to someone else. After hearing from my credit union that I didn't not apply for the full amount and the dealer would have to lower their price by less than $1000 for me to get the loan. Wes, the manager/owner, "strong arms" me saying that I signed the contract that says he can get me a loan from anywhere. After looking over my paper work it said nothing of that sort. I did find another credit union but not at terms I wanted. I obtained the loan and was ensured that the vehicle was in proper working order before I picked it up. Within 24 hours a few warning notices showed up on the dash, tire sensor and suspension light. I informed Wes of the notifications and he brushed me off talking about TPMS sensors going bad and that it happens and reinforcing that I bought the car AS IS. That's all he says everytime I call, AS IS. The tire that he agreed to change is fine but less than 200 miles later, the other 3 tires have the same "cupping" problem and all Wes can tell me is you bought the car AS IS and all I can do is help you get it cheap for $327 a tire. I bought the car AS IS on the ASSUMPTION that it was in working condition and not fall apart IMMEDIATELY after. The ink has not even dried on my loan papers before issues started arising. It's like they used a Solus to clear the error codes so it appeared to not have any issues until the vehicle's computer picked up the issues again once it was in my possession. The vehicle only has 59,479 miles on it (2008 Chevy Avalanche). When I bought it I was told it was a V6, they didn't even know that it's a V8 and they didn't even know what model it was. I signed the loan for the vehicle on March 30, 2014 and picked it up in the ASSUMED working condition on May 1, 2014. Not even 10 days and the vehicle is having problems and I am being brushed off by the dealer.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the vehicle.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this complaint as our company has been in business for over 30 years and have sold over 10,000 vehicles, many to 2nd & 3rd generation kamaaina families. We are sorry that the customer is not satisfied. ***** (Buyer) is a well-informed young man who was being assisted by his very good friend who is well-versed in vehicles, car buying and modified vehicles. As requested by the Buyer, we also included a special provision for financing to protect him. The vehicle was represented as a V-8 as the Buyer was given a Kelley Blue Book print-out which states that. Two days after signing the original sales agreement, he demanded that we lower the price below our advertised special otherwise he wanted to cancel. To appease him, we adjusted the price by another $500 and he test drove the vehicle a second time for approx. 15 mins. after the promised work was completed. Now that he was totally satisfied, he continued to arrange the financing on his own and on 5/2 was ready to take delivery of the vehicle. At that time, it had come to our attention that the check for down payment was returned due to a stop payment order and the Buyer had a third opportunity to drive the vehicle to his bank to retrieve the funds for the returned check. With zero money in to us for a period of days, why didn't the Buyer just walk away from the sale if he wasn't satisfied? Nobody took advantage of the Buyer. Not only did the Buyer sign an "as is" addendum but he signed a Release of Liability Agreement with additional disclosures which also states that he agrees to release the Seller from any and all liability with regards to the sale of said vehicle. This complaint breaches the Release of Liability Agreement and this adverse action by the Buyer is inappropriate. Under the circumstances, we (Seller) are not obligated to do anything more for this Buyer. However, we are sorry that the Buyer is not happy and we are willing to offer the Buyer a couple of additional customer courtesies as follows: 1. The Buyer needs to honor the Release of Liability Agreement he signed which means no further adverse action by the Buyer. 2. Seller will reimburse to the Buyer the cost of 1 tire in the amount of $327.50 as the Buyer only mentioned 1 tire to us after the sale. OR 3. Seller offers to consign the vehicle on behalf of the Buyer to try and sell it at the Buyer's net sales price he purchased the vehicle for provided that the vehicle is in the same condition as when he took delivery and upon availability of lot space. This consignment will be subject to other conditions as well. If we do not hear from the Buyer on or before June 5, 2014, we will assume the Buyer is not interested in our consignment offer and a check for $327.50 will then be mailed to him. Thank you.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept Island Auto Exchange's willingness to reimburse me $327.50 for the one tire that this whole complaint was started on. I would also like to add that I was unable to walk away from the deal as I was informed by Island Auto Exchange that even though I was unable to get the loan through the bank I preferred that I had signed some hand written addendum to my sales contract stating that "they" Island Auto Exchange would find me a loan. In other words, they said it to me making me feel like I was stuck. At no point was I told I could walk away which is why I put a stop on my $5000 check. At 22 years old, I am not well informed, this was my first major financial transaction. I will keep the said vehicle, I will not consign it. I have put enough money into it after the sale to bring it up to par.

8/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an offer for a vehicle, the response was, "deal", and later was told they were using a method to get me to their facility, & there was no deal. I'd called this business and began to assure them that though this was over the phone I had every intention to purchase this vehicle. ***** told me the listed price, but then told me if I came in he could get me a few thousand off. I insisted on dealing over the phone and he kept telling me they don't do so because I might not be serious. However, I assured him this was not the case. Eventually he told me to make an offer. I vocalized the KBB "Fair" price, and then made an offer. ***** then replied, "Deal." I attempted to ensure this price would stand and ***** continually replied, "deal." I then brought up the possibility of them purchasing my truck, and ***** told me they were interested. I was told to e-mail him the pictures (I'd sent a link to my Craig's List ad instead), and that he'd call me back. I was never called back so I decided to call the business's direct line. The representative on the phone was *** who later identified himself as a type of manager. He laughed at the deal ***** agreed to and told me this would not happen. *** wanted me to come in to their location rather than over the phone because he felt I wasn't being serious and would not go through with this. I assured him this would not be the case. That makes twice that I was discriminated against for handling business over the phone by the same company. I was told it was not their policy to discuss price over the phone. *** continued to tell me I would not be able to get the vehicle for the previously agreed upon price. *** told me it was *****'s job to get me to their location where prices were discussed and that's why he did that. Eventually I spoke to ***** again and he confessed that he only said "deal" to get me to come in and that they would not sell me the vehicle for that price and were never planning on doing so in the first place. ***** confessed that it was just a tactic used to get people to come to their dealership, and apologized. I attempted to receive the deal that we had made, and ***** kept telling me it was not possible, and that he could loose his job by discussing price over the phone because it was not their policy to do so. I then stated that policies can change because they are the ones who implement them and that I am one who is willing to purchase this vehicle (previously I'd been told once that there was "three people on top of this vehicle", and later that "two people" were "on top" of the vehicle). After a while ***** finally said, "Ok, let's get serious, make me a reasonable offer and I'll go talk to my manager." I corrected him saying that I'd already been serious and that it was not "let's" but rather it was he that was getting serious. I then pointed out that he was now willing to discuss price over the phone when I was previously informed that he wouldn't and couldn't do that. I'd reminded him that the establishment's reputation was on the line as well as his reputation as salesman. He did not appreciate that, told me they'd had good standing with the community for either thirty or over thirty years, told me the vehicle was not for me, to which I interjected and said that it was for me and that's why I've been trying to ensure this deal would go through, but he kept talking and then hung up the phone while I was still attempting to engage in a conversation. Never once did I raise my voice, cuss, or call anyone names. I did, however, repeat often that I did not appreciate the fact that they kept telling me I was not serious in my attempts purchase a vehicle because I was talking with them over the phone and not in person. I was repeatedly discriminated against over the fact of phone usage rather than being physically present regardless of the fact that I'd assure them over and over again that I had every intention of purchasing this vehicle if I could get the price that was agreed upon by ***** and myself.

Desired Settlement: I am unsure at that this time.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/10) */ Obviously the potential customer went online to file his complaint prior to him calling my office again the same day requesting the manager to complain about the phone discussions between him and my salesman ***** because he never mentioned our long conversation, resolving the matter and leaving him satisfied in his complaint to the BBB. He told me he had no problem with another employee *** but his BBB complaint says otherwise. He initially said that he just wanted to inform me that he will file a BBB complaint and other complaints with other organizations sounding very threatening to me. I thanked him for calling and I would appreciate listening about his phone experience with my salesmen to insure that this type of situation does not happen again. I told him that we do not use tactics to get customers in and that we do not tolerate employees doing these things. I also told him I will have a very serious discussion with ***** after hearing his complaint. I listened to him for approx. 15 minutes and apologized. I also told him that we do not discriminate against anyone and that I know he is a serious buyer. Even though I never met him or did any business with him I told him it was my goal to make him happy. I offered to sell the vehicle at what he said was his offer of $10,800, plus sales tax & doc fee which was below our cost and I offered to hold this special deal offer open for 4 hours until 6:00 pm. I told him we are in business to make a profit but to make him happy I authorized selling the car at a loss and I would show him our purchase invoice confirming the profit loss. He mentioned something about his wife is probably not happy and he would have to check on his finances and I told him we can probably assist him with financing and please give us a chance and take advantage of this fantastic deal. I also offered him a $50 food reimbursement at his favorite dining place even if we do not sell him the car. He thanked me for being fair and making every effort to satisfy him. He asked me only for one favor which was that I show ***** grace when I talk to him. He asked me to give ***** a second chance at his job. I did talk to ***** and reprimanded him for the non-sale phone incident. I told ***** I will give him a second chance as per the potential customer's request. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The manager stated, "He initially said that he just wanted to inform me that he will file a BBB complaint and other complaints with other organizations sounding very threatening to me." This is correct, but while it may have sounded "very threatening" it was a courtesy call in order that he be aware of the fact that the businesses I'd listed would be getting ahold of him. Like he told me over the phone, he probably never would have heard of this situation unless I'd called him to let him know. So rather than him being blindsided (which I'd assumed was going to happen) I figured I'd let him know. I never thanked him for being fair, rather I only thanked him for doing all he could to appease me. The manager is correct that he did all he could to offer me the car at a loss. His statement of "Obviously the potential customer went online to file his complaint prior to him calling my office again the same day requesting the manager to complain about the phone discussions between him and my salesman ***** because he never mentioned our long conversation, resolving the matter and leaving him satisfied in his complaint to the BBB." was made out of a lack of knowledge. It was only partially true in that I typed up a complaint on Microsoft Word with the intention of submitting it to the BBB, but giving myself some time to think it over before submitting it that way I didn't act hastily and out of anger. It was true, however, that I submitted it after we'd spoken on the phone, but again it was typed before we'd even spoke. I'd not called to complain to the manager, like he'd stated, but called solely to inform him that I'd be filing a complaint. The matter was never resolved and I was not satisfied, like the manager stated. Though the manager feels he did his best to resolve the matter I feel it wasn't resolved at all. He certainly tried, however the fact that I never purchased a car from him shows that the matter was not resolved. If this were the case no complaint would have been made. My wife and I felt we couldn't trust his company regardless of the attempt to appease, though it was appreciated. The manager said, "He told me he had no problem with another employee *** but his BBB complaint says otherwise," but if you take the time to read what I'd stated about *** you'll see that I only recited the story and how he was involved. I never complained about ***, nor did I speak badly about him. Overall I agree that the manager did his best, and the things he said he offered me are true, as well as the fact that I asked him to show ***** grace when he talked to him, but parts of his story are incorrect due to a misinterpretation of what was going on.