BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used car sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Garden Island Auto Sales LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Garden Island Auto Sales LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Garden Island Auto Sales LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Garden Island Auto Sales LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 15, 2011 Business started: 02/28/2011 Business started locally: 02/28/2011 Business incorporated: 12/13/2010 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W53588612-01.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The license number is CS-6234.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is MVD-948.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Victor Lawson, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Victor Lawson, Member
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • 4302 Rice St

    Lihue, HI 96766 (808) 246-2588

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a used vehicle in August 2011. The air bag light was on. asked why was the light on--response was it was recalled: the problem was fixed but they didn't have the equipment to turn light off. Sent me to their mechanic to help me with problem. Mechanic sent vehicle to dealer. Dealer couldn't turn light off because computer says vehicle was in a collision.Car fax said no accidents reported. I later found out that the recall was only for the cover of the air bag. The light on must be another problem.I was told that a business cannot sell a vehicle if any of the safety lights are on at time of sale. (i don't know if that is true, but I know a legitmate service station will not safety check my vehicle if air bag light is on)Dealer tells me it will cost over a thousand dollars to fix computer in vehicle, then another cost to check it out.I don't want a vehicle that is not safe. Product_Or_Service: 2005 huyndai Order_Number: stock #1692

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) If vehicle was indeed in a collision, refund plus a refund of trade in.I know there was an "as is" clause, but if it is illegal to sell an unsafe vehicle with one of the safety lights on, I did not know at that time it was unsafe nor illegal to sell a vehicle with the air bag light on. I was told the problem was fixed, just didn't have the equipment to turn the light off....but that is what I was told. I am so gullible...Sincerely,****** ******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (****, 11, 2013/03/14) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@msn.com) Sent: Thursday, March 14, 2013 10:25 AM To: ************** Subject: RE: Case #XXXXXXXX Hi *****; No need for me to go into all the details on how the car was fully serviced, car fax certified and how I took it to ************ for the recall on the air bag & how I feel they are the ones putting the screws to my client. Plus the fact she has had the vehicle for a year and a half. I will be happy to pay $******** to my client for the headaches she is getting from ************.. ****** ******/Owner GARDEN ISLAND AUTO SALES SERVING KAUAI FOR 26 YEARS Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 23, 2013/03/27) */ From: ****** ****** Sent: Wednesday, March 27, 2013 9:55 AM To: ***** ******** Subject: 10 day ans. Aloha ****, I replied on the website on March 22 because I had a deadline of March 24. I did copy my reply incase the website did not "record" it. Today, I went on the site and once again did not see my reply. I had checked not accept offer and the following was my reply. I see today that the case was closed. why does it say to reply on site, then the message is lost!??? My reply on March 22, before deadline of March 24! 10 day reply to offer of $**** I want to thank ****** ****** for the offer of $****. Per ************, it would cost me more than $**** to have the Air Bag work properly. It is a defective safety feature now. If ****** doesn't agree to my original settlement, then I am willing to settle if Garden Island Auto Sales would have my vehicle air bag problem repaired at their expense. I have contacted Actionline and have been referred to Dept of Commerce & Consumer Affairs. The Department suggest I file a complaint with them. I hope ****** can end this by having my vehicle repaired at Garden Island Auto Sales expense.