Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Auto X-change, Inc.

Phone: (808) 593-0599 Fax: (808) 593-0588 1391 Kapiolani Blvd #104, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://autoxchangeinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Quality Used Car Sales with Excellent Services at Great Prices.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto X-change, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto X-change, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto X-change, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2009 Business started: 08/23/2000 Business started locally: 08/23/2000 Business incorporated 08/23/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40779514-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is CS10778.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD659.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sen Ming Lin, President Mr. Shaun Condry, Operations Manager Penny (Yin - Peng) Tham
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Shaun Condry, Operations Manager
Principal: Mr. Sen Ming Lin, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • 1391 Kapiolani Blvd #104

    Honolulu, HI 96814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto X-Change is selling an eight year old ****** for $27,000. They advertise that this car is in good working order, but upon having a mechanic look at it, you're told it needs a few thousand dollars worth of repairs. Auto X-Change knows this, refuses to return the $5,000 deposit, and will only help to repair the car. Not only will they not fix the issue they lied about, they will not return the money. So much fraudulent activity happening at this dealership. They should not be a BBB accredited company. Look at their Yelp review for others who have had to deal with the same problems!

Desired Settlement: The $5000 should be returned. The company is saying a lawyer cannot be involved because that right was waived. It seems as if they know they're stealing and deceiving their clients.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

The person that wrote this complaint is not even a customer of Auto X-change. This person had nothing to do with that deal.

7/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They're crooks. The owner only cares about the money. I went to get a car, yes spur of the moment. The sales man Charles was extremely nice (at first) tells us while I'm test driving this **** ****** *** "everything on this car is stock." Yeah, no it's not... I asked him "Everything? This touch screen, the rims, the canon exhaust?" Apparently, yes everything is. LIES! I negotiate the prices as much as I can. 69K miles, $27K? Way to much! They're extremely pushy. I deal with it, leave my $3K partial down payment to take the car home to see if I really want it. Immediately when I take it to a shop, every person told me what is wrong with the car. I took it back, but they refuse to give me my down payment back. They even said that I would have to give them my full down payment of $5K! They offered to fix the car, but I'm slowly getting information out of them. "Our lot technician did say they noticed something..." Um, were you going to tell me that you this car was unsafe to drive around? "we bought it from ****** & they do the 21 point inspection..." Ok, I asked them for it "Oh, we PROBABLY have it somewhere around here." At this point Charles is being extremely rude & is telling me "I never said any of those things..." Wow, what liars! AND I STILL DON'T HAVE MY $3K!

Desired Settlement: I would like to call this even, I had the car for only 42 hours & nothing has been done to it. It sat in my garage for 35 hours+ not touched probably more protect then their lot at the dealership. I want my $3K back. That is too much money to waste on a car that I will never have/own!

Business Response:

To whom this may concern,

This transaction has been resolved a while ago. After two days of trying to resolve the issue we ended up unwinding the deal and gave the customer back their down payment and took back the car less a $150 restocking fee.

7/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January 2015, I purchased a used **** ***** from Auto X-change with sales representative Bradley Chong. At the time of purchase, I specifically asked Bradley if this van can be made into a legal cab. The purpose was made clear at the time of transaction. Bradley said "yes." As it turns out, the van cannot be made into a passenger cab. I was on an urgent time frame, so in good faith, I took the word of the sales person. Since I cannot use this van for business purposes, I needed to return and get money back so I can buy a proper van for work. When I returned to Auto X-change to to return van and get money back, they refused. Furthermore, the store manager spoke with the owner of the company and he refused to refund money and offered a much cheaper and worse condition van, causing me a loss of $7K. This has caused financial hardship on my family all because I trusted the integrity and work ethic of the employee and the company. This company does not reflect good ethical business practice with moral integrity or care for customer well being. Being a local resident, this is sorely disappointing to have a business like this in the community.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the van and get the money refund in full amount.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,

      In January 2015 we sold a used **** ***** to a customer named ******* ******.  He specifically came in to purchase this vehicle that he saw on our website. Mr. ****** asked my salesman Bradley C**** if this can be used as shuttle van with no specifics on what kind of shuttle.  Bradley agreed with the customer and said “I’ve seen these used as commercial shuttle vans”. Turns out you can use it as a shuttle. Mr. ****** used the wrong wording and instead wanted to use the vehicle as a "taxi" which requires a PUC license and the vehicle does not qualify for.  Mr. ****** came back to our dealership saying this vehicle won’t work and accuses us of misleading him which was not the case, so we tried to switch him to another van that would work and he did not want it. In my opinion it’s the customer/buyer responsibility to do research before purchase. It is not our responsibility. Further, we did discuss that this purchase was all sales final and even then, tried to help him further by offering another vehicle which he refused.  If you have any further questions or concerns please don't hesitate to call us.

Aloha,

Shaun *. C*****
Sales Manager

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because of false claims:

1.  I did not see or have any knowledge of the vehicle being online.  This is a false claim. I was driving on Kapiolani and saw the van on the lot, so decided to stop in and take a look
2.  Salesman Bradley C**** was specifically told that the intent of the van purchase was to be made into a taxi for a tourists going to Hanauma Bay. This is the sole intent of purchasing the vehicle. Using the word "shuttle" and not disclosing the reason is false.
3.  Yes, Auto X-change offered to switch to another van, however the exchange was $5,000 deficient in exchange value.  More specifically, I paid $15,000 cash for the **** ***** AND traded-in a ***** ** worth $6,000.  $15K +$6K = $21K value.  The trade in that was offered was for a ********** ****** **** (asking price $14,000) plus additional $2,000.  $14,000+$2,000 = $16,000.  Therefore, $21,000 -$16,000 = $5,000.  Losing $5K in this exchange that was NOT acceptable.  Therefore, I wanted to return the **** ***** and get the entire $21,000 back. 
4.  In response to Mr. C******'s response, "it's the customer/buyer responsibility to do research before purpose...", I know for a fact (not only opinion), it is illegal to have a Breach in Warranty based on fitness of particular purpose and to demonstrate negligent misrepresentation on the condition for sale.  The law supercedes opinion. 
For those reasons above, the response is rejected.

Sincerely,
******* ******

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service and repair of the vehicle that I had purchased from AutoXchange was not honored or fixed by the company. I had purchased a 06 mercedes benz CLS from AutoXchange in mid January. After a week and a half of driving it with less then 500 miles putting on it a "Visit Workshop" and a picture of a car came up on the digital dash along with jerky downshifting from transmission when slowing down, the parking sensors going off randomly, the A/C wouldn't turn on and along with the radio. I had called and text the salesman that had helped me out and told him the situation and he told me to come in. I then scheduled an appointment to come in. When I had brought the car in, they had said they had fixed the problem with the A/C and the radio along with the jerky downshifting. a Few days later it had started to still have a jerky downshift. I called again and made an appointment. I was then handed off to another worker who would help me out more. I had told him that I still had a problem with it having a jerky downshift, parking sensors, and the "visit workshop" picture with the car still comes on. After scheduling an appointment with them to come in for them to fix it another problem had come up. While driving on the freeway going 60mph, my breaks all of a sudden gave out. The break pedal sunk to the ground and I couldnt stop at all. luckily it was mid day and I could coast to a stop on the side of the freeway without smashing into anyone. I then turned off my car and waited for about 30 min and then turned it on. It worked normal again. I had then brought it back to the dealership and told them what happened. They took it in and bleed the breaks. Gave the car back to me but without fixing the rest of the problems that I actually had an appointment for. I then brought it back numerous times to get the jerky downshift problem fixed along with the parking sensors and the "visit workshop" picture. When their master Mechanic looked at my car he had reflashed the computer and also said that the "visit Workshop" picture means there is something wrong with the air suspension. Even though he had diagnosed it, his main concern was to work on the jerky downshift. After getting my car back, the jerky downshift problem he said was fixed and I would have to go back to get the rest looked at later. All together I had brought the car in over 5 times to get it fixed and worked on to which only 1 thing was actually fixed. That is the breaks not going out on me again. Come to find out I had actually had a leak in my air suspension. That is the reason for the "visit workshop" picture that comes on. I had brought my car back to the dealership and told them my car is inoperable because it is too low. The rear suspension has a air leak and it drops to the ground. when driving the dash has a big RED warning saying "STOP CAR, TOO LOW!". This is in result to my car not being fixed from when I first bought it. Now another worker there who is now taking care of me had sent my car to another shop where the mechanic there diagnosed the problem to my rear suspension having a air leak and the downshift jerkyness. My car is not being fixed because the owner of AutoXchange doesnt want to honor his repairs that I was promised when I had bought my car. I am down 22,000 dollars with no car to show for because I had been getting problems with it after a week and a half after buying it. I was promised that these problems would be fixed they weren't. Now the owner doesn't want to pay and I am left catching the bus. Also not 1 invoice or service record was given to me when requested every time I had brought in my car even though I had repeatedly asked for service records and an invoice. Now with my car in the shop and a quote to fix my car, the owner will not cover the cost.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for the business to honor their promises in fixing the problems that occurred with my car. -"Visit Workshop" picture ( fix the rear suspension) -jerky Downshifting -parking sensors -Supply me and a loaner so I don't have to catch the bus everyday my car is out.

Business Response: First of all, we always try please customer needs on their purchase. He has purchased a used vehicle and this vehicle has out of warranty. He has signed all the As-is documents and he has understood the sale is final. When we had the vehicle,  we had our mechanic checked the vehicle and it was in fine condition.  After this incident happened, we have come to conclusion with the customer and we have took care
the problems of the vehicle. The customer has satisfied with our result. He has also agreed to withdraw the complaint with the BBB. This problem was taking care and finished in September of 2014. My manager forgot to response back to you.



Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Unfortunately not all the agreements that were promised was met.  My bumper sensors, jerky down shifting and rear bumper that had a scratch which went under the paint and a few inches long are still not taken care of.  My rear suspension air bags and suspension compressor was taken care of after numerous of visits to the shop and countless verbal disputes me telling them they need to keep their promises.  The reason I am not accepting their offer is because, only a quarter of their promised agreement was met and the rest is still left with on my car.

              I had taken my car to another mechanic car shop, one of my choice so I would know exactly what is wrong with my car and not have anything hidden from me with prices, parts, labor, or problems.  The reason why I had taken my car there was because after the promised repair service that Autoxchange had promised me on the rear air suspension and air compressor there was rattling noises coming from the front and rear of the car.  When the mechanic at the shop I took it to had put my car on the car lift he had spotted numerous problems. Attached is the whole work order estimate that was given to me with an itemized parts, problem, cost, and labor.  

              Along with the promised agreements not met, I have had the worst customer service from the owner himself literally saying “ I will take care of this if you will stop crying about it.” I was also handed over to 4 different people to help me out within over a 7 month span which really had got me nowhere until I had went to the owner himself when he had tried to avoid me over this period. I had also discovered other suspicious transactions going on with the business and the shops that they are taking it to get it fixed and the stories they are telling the owners of the car.  With all of this said, I am rejecting this response because AutoXchange had not held their full end of the deal.  I want to also thank the owner for leaving me with a nice $3,943.54 bill in order to fix my car in the shape that it was promised to me when I had purchased the vehicle.  

****(operations) or *** (AutoXchange owner) Feel free to contact me with any concerns regarding this response letter

***** ******* *************

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto Xchange took my car as a trade. I owed approximately $4,500.00, they are suppose to take care of the owed balance. They have not taken any action On July 6, 2014, I traded my 03 BMW 525I in with Auto Xchange for a 2005 c230 Mercedes. Auto Xchange took the trade in exchange for taking care of the balance on the loan which was approximately $4500.00. It is now August 1, 2014 and my old auto loan is still idle. It's still under my name and accumulating late fees and being reported to my credit. I can't afford to pay for 2 auto loans, that wasn't the deal. I have contacted Auto Xchange numerous times and they have told me all the necessary paperwork has been done and put into the mail on July 24, 2014.They are not being honest. I have also contacted my old auto loan company let them know I have traded the vehicle on July 6,2014. They have stated as long as the loan is under my name I'm still responsible for the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I'm seeking to have my old auto loan taken care of completely just as they promised. Late fees are accumulating and my credit is going to take a hit because of this. I feel Auto Xchange needs to take care of this a.s.a.p or return 03 BMW 525I back to me, and I will return their 05 c230 Mercedes.

Business Response: Business left a voice mail advising the complaint has been resolved. 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this specifc resolution is satisfactory to me for this specid issue. There has been many more since then.

Sincerely,

******* *****

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told when I traded in my 2011 bmw I would be refunded the difference between the estimated payoff and the actual payoff. I was told to come down and pick up the check, when I arrived he sales manager who asked me to come by then said he did not have the ability to cut checks, even though I clarified with him prior to my leaving work that he would be able to cut a check. I was told on June 2nd a check was mailed to me, I have not received the check, I have emailed and left messages for *** *** president, **** ***** Sales Manager and **** ****, Finance Manager. Not one person has had the courtesy to return a call or email. This has been going on since April, I have been very patient. 530.00 is not small amount to ignore. I feel they have very deceptive practices. They changed loan paperwork after I had signed and provided the changed paperwork to the finance company. I was unable to obtain a copy of the finance paperwork from them as well. The finance company had to request the paperwork and forward to me.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a check overnighted to me for the 530.00 plus interest. We are going on 30 days since I was told I would have my refund. This was originally my funds I allowed them to hold until the payoff cleared, I would like my money back. I charge 20% interest. I will be willing to waive it if I receive the funds within the next 7 days. Starting June 10th, 2014.

Business Response: We have issued a check to Ms. ****** in the amount of $504 and have arranged with her to come and pick it up. She has also agreed to no longer pursue the complaint. Any questions you can reach me directly.

Thank you


Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not see any response to agree with. I was able to pick up a check for 504.00 on 7/23/2014. I guess they wanted to charge me interest for holding my funds. 504.00 it's better than nothing. Please close the dispute.

2/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle on November 29, 2012 and since this purchase I have numerous issues with the car. I am acting on this under Hawaii's Lemon law. On November 29, 2012 I purchased a 2006 BMW 750I from the dealership in question. Since purchase I have had several issues with the car which I have in fact given them the opportunity to repair. The first incident happen on December 14, 2012. A message came up on the cars computer of steering hydraulic fluid lost contact BMW. I called *** the sales manager at the dealership I purchased the car from he told me to bring it in and they would fix it and do the scheduled maintenance they promised me. I took the car in on the 18th of December and received it back the same day *** told me there were no leaks and everything checked out to be fine and my maintenance was up to date. I was unsure of who was working on the vehicle because they would not tell me what shop was doing the service. So I took it upon myself to have BMW look at it the next day on the 19th of December. BMW findings came up with 4 oil leaks two off of the issue I had reported to the Auto X-change. I never brought this up to the Auto X-change but I did start research on hawaii lemon law. The car does not get driven much because I live less than a mile from base so I walk to work or me getting underway on the ship my only opportunity to drive my car is on the weekend. On the 2nd of January 2013 I start to notice hesitation in the acceleration of the vehicle. I called down to Auto X-change and they told me it is because of the various transmission selectors the car has and that is normal. Then on January 9th 2013 at 1847 in the Commissary parking lot I started my car and it went into a violent idle state and then shut off completely. I called *** at 1850 and told him exactly what happen with the car and I had a tow truck coming to get my vehicle. On the phone he told me he would talk to the owner but he doubts that he will fix it. Now i am upset a car a had driven a handful of times was non operative with less than a 150 miles I put on it myself and he is telling me that he does not think the owner will pay to have it fixed. This is an outrage because i have not even had the car 60 days or even driven it a 1000 miles and now it seems like I am out of 28,763.92 not including interest I pay to my credit union. I have been lied to over and over again and i am seeking legal action as we speak. I want to let the BBB know I used your website to find this accredit business and I am shocked. This is the first time a referral by the site has failed me and I seek justice. I have all documentation to provide facts in relation to everything I have spoke of including a recorded conversation between me and *** trying to settle this at the lowest level possible without bringing legal representation to the forefront.

Desired Settlement: I want the Auto X-Change to pay BMW Honolulu to repair all the major damages to my vehicle or refund me my money so I can get a reliable car for me and my family, or we settle on cash payment towards me for the actual state of the vehicle and I walk away as is.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/02/01) */ Auto-xChange has acknowledge the oil leak and they are prepared to settle with me in the form of a payment so I can take the vehicle to BMW to be repaired. I have requested a line item estimate from their mechanic to compare to the price given to me by BMW. I will submit everything for review to the entities requiring it on my behalf. I am ready to close Tha book on all these events dealing with the dealership the Auto-xChange.