BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.



Additional Locations

  • 3251 N Nimitz Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 833-7575 (808) 833-3767

  • P O Box 1082

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 833-3767(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

BBB's Business Review on this business is currently being updated. Therefore BBB cannot provide you with any information at this time.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Please forward to someone in charge; management. A-1 Economy Rental Car, On July 14th I was pulled over by Honolulu Police Dept. for having expired safety inspection on this vehicle (rented by me from the Honolulu A-1 rental car (Economy rental car)) by over 6 months overdue. The officer told me that this is a towable offense (******* was the license plate) and he could tow the car immediately due to the extensive delay in the safety inspection mandated by the state, thus leaving me stranded without a car while on TDY state for the US Army. I was immediately shocked and concerned as I had places to be for work. When the Officer and I called the Honolulu rental car office (************) on speaker phone the person who answered (A-1 rental car in Honolulu) the phone didnt seem to really care and just said ok and hung up. The officer informed me that, next time I was to be pulled over in this vehicle that it would be towed. So I then proceeded to the rental car office; greeted rudely with my request I might add. So I asked to speak with a manager. He informed me that they could do an exchange at no additional cost. So I agreed. As you can see from he attached pictures, the car was not safe for back seat passengers. (You can clearly see the back seat is taken apart!) I told then told them that I would like to opt out of my contract that is through the end of the month (I know this against your policy and I did sign the agreement) considering that they (the rental car company) did not provide me with a street legal vehicle (First car) where the car is towable and did not have the up-to-date safety inspection and I was pulled over for this. As well as the fact that they then tried to give me another car that was not safe for back seat passengers. I was then denied my request to break the contract. I am writing this letter to you to reconsider my request as I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau as well as the Hawaii Dept. of Transportation to report this direct violation of my consumer rights to be given a safe, legal and operable vehicle. Product_Or_Service: 2011 Toyota Yaris Order_Number: ***** Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to return my rental car and get a rental car from another agency.I want out of my contract as of 7/14/2014

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/04) */ This customer rented a car from us that was issued to him with a current safety inspection sticker and registration tag. While in his possession, the sticker was removed from the bumper. Not implying that our customer would have removed it, but it was there when we checked the car out to him. It is common knowledge that Officers in the state of Hawaii find outdated safety checks among the most minor of offenses and often do not even bother to pull people over when they see them. They usually use them as add on charge to a moving violation. We did in fact change the car per the customers request with another vehicle that also had a current safety sticker still on the bumper. Addressing his concern about the rear seat that in the picture he provided was lifted up, I personally inspected the vehicle and found that yes, if I did forcefully pull the corner of the rear bench up out of it's mounted position and jammed it against the rear back seat I could make it look like it did in the picture as well. Every car is capable of removing the rear bench seat for service or disassembly. The manner in which he forced the seat corner into is not normal. If the customer had any legitimate concern, he could easily have addressed it upon his inspection before taking the vehicle. We always strive to accommodate our guests. As per the rental contract and inspection sheet that every customer is required to read and sign, there are no refunds on early returns. There was no legitimate problem with our vehicle when he took it off of our location and none of our vehicles have ever been towed period. If he has any issue with the car he currently has, we encourage him to contact us. We will be more than happy to address any concern. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) How the mis-truths just keep pouring in from this office ad company. "This customer rented a car from us that was issued to him with a current safety inspection sticker and registration tag" FALSE: Please contact the Hawaii PD, the cars license plate was in the picture. They will tell you that the safety inspection was 6-7 months past due. Not sure why the manager is telling this same story over and over again, the sticker was never missing it was/has/is on the car. IT WAS EXPIRED.... I'd call them... ******************************************************************************************* When safety inspections are completed by inspection stations, safety inspection forms are sent to Honolulu for updating and inputting into the Statewide data base "While in his possession, the sticker was removed from the bumper." FALSE, the sticker was on there and was still on there when I returned it. Not sure why the manager is telling you a story about stickers being removed. The issue is not the supposedly missing sticker. IT WAS EXPIRED, AND THE MANAGER is telling un-truths... The sticker was not removed or missing. Did I state this in my initial complaint, NO.... "Not implying that our customer would have removed it, but it was there when we checked the car out to him." FALSE, that is exactly war you are implying... I had no idea what this sticker was until I was pulled over. I come from the state of colorado which does not have this. I had no idea what it (sticker) was UNTIL I WAS PULLED OVER... "It is common knowledge that Officers in the state of Hawaii find outdated safety checks among the most minor of offenses and often do not even bother to pull people over when they see them." Really, lets see the proof???? THEN WHY WAS I PULLED OVER????? He (the officer) saw the expired sticker, pulled me over and then informed me that it had EXPIRED, and then he and I called the rental car agency with my phone, and it was apparent that whoever answered didn't really care, because they just said "ok" and hung up.. "They usually use them as add on charge to a moving violation." I was unaware that the manager "*****" at this rental car facility was a certified police officer with in depth knowledge of police operations and tactics. For him to make this statement is purely and assumption. No citation was issued, hence there was no moving violation.. I can make assumptions to, but I stick to the facts. "Addressing his concern about the rear seat that in the picture he provided was lifted up, I personally inspected the vehicle and found that yes, if I did forcefully pull the corner of the rear bench up out of it's mounted position and jammed it against the rear back seat I could make it look like it did in the picture as well. " THIS IS HOW YOU GAVE IT TO ME.... I never accepted this car because how could one put in a child car seat in this condition??? As I was clearly holding it in my arms... "The manner in which he forced the seat corner into is not normal" I DID NOT DO THIS, YOU/THE COMPANY DID THIS. This is why I never took possession of the car to begin with..... This was the way you presented the car to me... I was clearly carrying a child seat for my three year old daughter, and you wanted me to have her sit there? You talk about customer service, what about inspecting the car prior to having me inspect it? "We always strive to accommodate our guests." HA... I am literally laughing.... I was treated with the utmost disrespect and treated like a third rate citizen because I am not from Hawaii.... (My opinion as I have dealt with many people based on the color of my skin (as I am part Native American Indian) "As per the rental contract and inspection sheet that every customer is required to read and sign, there are no refunds on early returns. There was no legitimate problem with our vehicle when he took it off of our location and none of our vehicles have ever been towed period. If he has any issue with the car he currently has, we encourage him to contact us. We will be more than happy to address any concern." I AGREE. but you gave me a car that was not legal to drive in Hawaii. 6-7 months past due on the safety inspection and the sole reason I was pulled over and informed to return this car to the place I rented it. "There was no legitimate problem with our vehicle when he took it off of our location" REALLY? The safety inspection was out of date 6-7 months!!!! "If he has any issue with the car he currently has, we encourage him to contact us. We will be more than happy to address any concern."" Really? And be treated with the massive amounts of disrespect as you and your employee did to me? Why would I return or even keep my rental car with you? That is why I returned it early. They provided low quality cars, with high mileage, missing hubs caps, many dents and scratches, takes two times to turn over the engine. Lets also discuss the car my wife has with you. Her key fob docent even work after the first day. Don't worry, we will be filing another complaint about this vehicles key fob. WORST RENTAL CAR EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED, bottom line. All I ask is to be re-inbursed for the remainder of my contract 19-30 July and an OFFICIAL APOLGY LETTER from management A-1/Economy Rental car (Not from the honolulu office). I even returned the car full of gas, when I was given it NOT FULL OF GAS. (as the contract annotated)

8/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reserved a rental car on **************. ************** had several rental companies that fit my needs, I selected ******************, because their rate looked like a great deal. When ****************** sent me a confirmation email, it then stated that my rental would be available through 'A-1 rent a Car Hawaii'. When we arrived in Honolulu, the 'airport shuttle' was a junker old van, and we were taken to a used car lot. The rental sales agent then told us because we were using a debit card that they would have to place a $1000 hold on my card. We agreed to the hold, as long as we would get the money back. The rental rep then informed us that we would also need to pay an additional $30 per day for the rental because we were using a debit card. None of these policies were on the website, or email, and I specifically remember checking the box that specified visa debit card. We walked out of the rental agency without a car because it was a scam, and their originally advertised price was not available with a debit card.When we returned home, we found that our Debit card had been charged a 'late cancellation fee', and they refused to remove it when I called.************* should know that that A-1 Rental Car Hawaii is a shady company that they don't want representing them. I plan to contact them as well. A-1, has a website (*******************************/) and claim to be BBB accredited.This company is dishonest, and rude. I plan to write many negative reviews, and tell as many people as possible to protect others from this scam. Product_Or_Service: weekend car rental Account_Number: **********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the late cancellation fee refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/19) */ All of our policies are displayed on every website that we are advertised on. Our debit card policies are clearly stated. I will gladly send a screenshot of where this is visible. Here is a link to our policies as viewed on ************** where our customer reserved. ********************************************************************************** It clearly states: Thank you for choosing ****************** represented by A-1 Rent a Car Hawaii. If you need airport pickup please call ************ once you have collected all your bags and we will pick you up curbside at your baggage claim. We accept debit cards and cash payments with a $1000 deposit. There is a daily service fee of $20/day. We can lower the deposit to only $300 if the customer signs up for one of our Collision Damage Waivers at the counter. All major credit cards accepted. A credit card guarantee is required with all reservations. Customers who do not show up to rent their reserved car, or do not cancel their reservation at least 72 hours prior to arrival are subject to being charged a one day rental fee. Before the website allows you to make your reservation, you must submit your card number into the field clearly marked "CREDIT CARD NUMBER". There is no box that exists to check "debit card" as the customer claims. After entering all required information for the reservation, the customer is then able to click on the "Reserve Now" button. As stated on carrentals.com right above that button, "By selecting Reserve Now, I acknowledge that I have read and accept the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy." Our policies are again displayed there as well regarding the debit card deposit requirement and service fee. By the customer clicking "reserve now" they agreed to have read and understood. Being so forthcoming and detailed about all of our policies, it is ridiculous to call our company a "scam".

6/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/11/2013-I rented 2 cars with my cousin ***** ********** being the 2nd person. I rented a white 7-8 passenger van and a ford Escape. The van I paid with a credit card and the ford escape i paid with cash. both cars were to be rented only for the a week. (Per ***** all we had to do was return the car because it was already paid for) I returned the van on 10/18/2013 and i extended the ford escape using cash. ***** who was our salesperson said, we didnt need another contract being that we are still in the same car and paying cash. The only reason he lets us rent the car with just cash, we had to pay full coverage for insurance with no deposit. so we gave him $247.60 for another week. We extended the car 3x's paying cash. the last extension (10/28-11/4/2013) i returned the car a day late 10/5/2013), leaving me a balance of $87.51. ***** was not working, so i spoke with the car from the car sales department. I informed him that i did not have the money but i will have it on Friday when i get paid. He was not happy and said, He will let ***** deal with that. That Friday came i received a call from them stating that there was something wrong with my card and that the amount was not going through. The van I paid $294.72 which was taken out of my card on 10/15/2013. On 11/15/2013 they withdrew $82.54, 11/19/2013 withdrew $15.66, 11/28/13 withdrew $2.58 and on 12/24/203-withdrew $104.71 totaling= $215.49-which i only owed $87.51 dollars. I've called many times in which they said, they will look into and never got back to me. my last attempt was 3/12/2014. I called and spoke with *****. He said everything seems cool and his books is in order. I told him that he took too much from my account and i want it back. He said, that i brought the car in 4 days later which is a lie. Then he said im not going to sit here and argue with you and hung up the phone. I tried to explain to him, if i bought the car back 4 days later, How can my balance be $215.49. but he hung up anyways. They are swiping my card for other Product_Or_Service: rented a car Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund because i owed them $87.51 from 11/5/2013 the day i returned the car they can have that. All i want is 108.56. If you times $87.51 by 4 it equals to: $350.04 but all that he deducted came out WAS: $215.49. if the books were straight, he wouldve asked for more. I just want my money back and for them to stop swiping my car to pay for there mistakes with their other accounts, because thats what it looks like. They dont even let the consumer know that they are going to use the card, 3 mos. pass

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/02) */ Having completed our investigation of this case, it is confirmed on our end that we did not receive any of the cash payments that this customer is claiming to have made. This account has been delinquent since the first rental extension. We were told by our customer that they were in a very tight spot and needed our help. They requested that we extend their rental and promised to deliver a cash payment on a later date when there would be more funds available to them. This would normally not be allowed by company policy and was only allowed with authorization from ***** to help them. Unfortunately, the customer did not hold to their end of the agreement and did not make payment to us. In regards to their claim that they were advised by ***** that they did not need to re-contract for their extended time is false.Our customer is claiming to have made multiple payments in cash which we have no records of and their account is still in collections as of this date. Our customer was never advised that their account was clear. We have made dozens of calls to the numbers provided to us in attempt to collect and clarify. We either get no answer or a male who refuses to identify himself and says that Maulupe is unavailable. We will deny our customers request for a refund to her card as we are still owed hundreds of dollars. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all we paid cash up front. we never in a tight spot as they claim. we paid for a week. i have bank statements stating that they took the money from my account. we were only one day late and we paid that one day late. we gave the cash money to *****. everytime we extended our car we paid cash before even driving off the lot. i dont any rental car company would give us the car and take a word of a customer to pay later. that means they would lose business. When i spoke to ***** he said, our case was close and paid in full. but then they kept taking money out opf my card as far as december and my transaction with them was from October. using my card without my authorization and i paid cash with the 2nd car. the car i paid the credit card with was for a week and turned in on time, that shouldve been close-because the other car was paid with cash and my credit card was not assoicated with 2nd rental-bottom line we extended our rental with cash everytime we went in to renew and panda took the cash-he said, we didnt have to renew the contract on the 2nd car because we are not turning in the car and it should be good. I dont owe them nothing, i need them to stop running my card. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/04/22) */ As previously stated, our customer's account is still delinquent and is currently in collections. We have checked our records multiple times and show no cash payments being made to us. It is our company policy to issue receipts for every single cash transaction we perform so we can accurately track our balances. We extended a form of credit to this family to assist with their transportation needs being promised that the bill would be paid at a later date when they had the money to do so. The car was returned days past the scheduled due in time and when we approached them regarding the balance they claimed to not have the money to pay us yet. This account has been in collections ever since. We have not charged and will not charge any more than we are due. Our company has already taken a loss on this contract and we are being taken advantage of.

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This last February my boyfriend ****** and I went to Hawaii and decided to choose A-1 Rent a Car because the quote online was very cheap considering we're only 21. We arrived on time to pick up our vehicle and the manager (his name is *****) informed us the charge was extremely higher than the quote online and suggested that we check with Alamo Rent A Car just down the road because he thought they would give us a better deal. We thanked him and left. A few days later on 2/19/14 A-1 Rent a car charged my account $74.23 and on 2/20/14 charged my account another $75.73. When ****** called asking about the charges ***** told him it was because we didn't show up for our scheduled rental. This was ridiculous as we had spoken in person to ***** when we arrived on time for our scheduled pick up and he had informed us we would get a better deal somewhere else! ****** told him this and ***** was extremely rude, yelling and swearing at ******. ****** called him numerous times and ***** finally said he would refund the 2/19 charge. That was about a month ago and it has still not been refunded. Pleas look at http://www.yelp.com/biz/a-1-rent-a-car-honolulu you will find 22 negative reviews of this company. Most others had random charges to their card for asinine reasons, terrible customer service, and almost all said the cars were in terrible and dangerous condition. Product_Or_Service: Rental Car Order_Number: NA Account_Number: NA

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would appreciate the $74.23 and the $75.73 refunded back to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/30) */ Customer was due only 1 of the refund amounts. The other was for customer reserving the car and not picking it up. We already refunded the amount that was due.

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized Credit Card Charges by A1 Rental Car in Honolulu, Hawaii A1 Rental Car Charges Dispute I made a reservation for a rental car through ******* on Saturday 3/22/2014. The reservation was for a midsize rental and there were no cancellation or fee policies noted on the ******* reservation confirmation attached to the itinerary that was emailed to me. I also went online to the reserved itinerary and again there no cancellation or fee policies noted on the reservation (Screen shot of policies noted on reservation in ******* is attached to this complaint). Here is what happened: Upon arrival to the rental car location, my spouse was told that there would be $1000.00 fee in order to use a debit card. At this point we told them, we would not be picking up the car and no credit card was given to the rental car business. I immediately contacted ******* on Wednesday 3/26/2014at 4:46pm (PST) or 1:46pm (HST)to confirm that I would not be charged and was informed by ******* that I would not be charged any fees, however my account was immediately charged $77.23 by A1 Rental Car in Honolulu and cleared my bank on 3/28/2014. I contacted ******* again on 3/30/2014 at 1:08pm (PST) or 10:08am (PST) about the charges and was told that A1 Rental Car was never authorized to make any charges and that I should have never been charged. ******* advised that I contact A1 Rental Car as they never authorized A1 Rental Car in Honolulu to make such charges. I immediately then called A1 Rental Car in Honolulu and here was the response and the professionalism I received. I called A1 Rental Car on 3/30/2014 at 2:08pm (PST) or 11:08am (HST). I spoke to a gentleman named ****** to dispute $77.23 that had been charged to my bank account. ****** told me that they had a 72 hour cancellation policy, which was on my reservation and that was why I was charged. I explained to him that the car was only cancelled upon arrival as the reservation never noted a $1000.00 fees for debit card and that the car was never picked up. I then politely asked him if he would refund the fees as there was nothing noted on any of my reservation paperwork from ******* (Screen shot of policies noted on reservation in ******* is attached to this complaint). ****** immediately stopped me in mid sentence and said, "You need to shut the **** up and listen. You were given two ears and one mouth, so you should know you are supposed to listen twice as much as talk." I stopped speaking and listened to him continue his vulgarity saying, "You are ******* stupid and need to learn to read, because it is written on the reservation." I again tried to correct him and say that there was nothing on my paperwork from ******* (never once cursing in return at him), but now ****** who told me I should be listening wouldn't listen himself and said, "why don't you look again you ******* idiot" and hung up the phone. I am filing this complaint immediately upon hanging up the phone with ****** as this business has many shady practices that other rental companies don't have and have a severe lack of professionalism. I hope that by making this complaint that not only my $77.23 will be properly refunded to me, but more importantly other renters will read this complaint and choose not to use this company as they really need to re-evaluate their practices or better yet be put out of business. Everyone and anyone with any sense of good business practices or self respect should steer clear of A1 Rental Car in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the $77.23 charged and the immediate termination of Adonis.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/01) */ Fact number one.....Cancellation fees are noted on ******* and all other websites, for our company as well as every other company. Fact number two.....Customers without a major credit card are subject to a $1000 deposit (NOT FEES)which is refundable at time of return provided car is not damaged. Also noted on ******* and all other websites, for our company as well as every other company. Fact number three.....Many rental agencies will not rent to anyone who does not have a major credit card. Those of us who will rent to a customer without a credit card may have additional stipulations such as a deposit. All these policies are noted on ******* and all other websites, for our company as well as all other companies. Fact number five.....Customer failed to provide credit card at time of pick up and was offered to complete the pick up with the $1000 refundable deposit...(NOT A FEE). Customer chose not to pick up the car and was only charged the cancellation fee, not the entire rental duration. To be clear, if a customer cancels 72 hours PRIOR to the pick up time, there are no charges. This allows the customer to avoid any charges and allows the rental agency to release the car and have the potential to rent it out to someone else. We fulfilled our responsibility by HOLDING the vehicle for the customer to pick up. Customer has the responsibility to read any and all policies prior to booking. This is no fault of ******* or our company. We will not be responding to customers personal and vicious comments, but will only state that he was very rude and made several untrue statements. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is completely untrue and a bold face lie. It is a shame that this business is unable to take any responsibility. 1. The cancellation fees are not noted on any ******* documentation I ever saw or was emailed. I even attached this information to the original report to show proof of what fees were noted on the ******* reservation. 2. I understand it is their verbal policy to be charged $1000.00 deposit without a major credit card. This was only disclosed upon my wife's arrival to the place of business. Again no written documentation was noted on an paperwork received via *******. Even ******* themselves stated to me that it was not in the contract when I contacted them about my situation. 3. I have yet to encounter (I have called all major car rental agencies, such as dollar, hertz, and avis) and none of these businesses require an additional deposit. They simply take a deposit for the full rental contract amount. This is why I switched directly to dollar after my wife's arrive to this place of business.or our company as well as every other company. 5. It is correct that a credit card was not provided at the time of pickup, because the office manager who goes by the name "*****" verbally stated that we would not be charged, since we were unaware of the $1000.00 policy for using a debit card and since we never picked up the car and fulfilled the reservation. 6. I am now aware of the cancellation policy (72 hours) after the fact because it was yelled into my ear via the phone by ******. Again I have attached all the documentation stating any possible fees or policies provided by ******* once this was booked. It makes complete sense that this business should not have to eat the cost of HOLDING a car for me, however if ******* failed to disclose this information (which they didn't as it is not in any paperwork provided to me by *******) then it is not my responsibility to pay such fees and this is something that the place of business needs to address with *******. Therefore, I believe since no information was provided to me properly via ******* I should be refunded the full amount of $77.23 in which I was charged. 7. These are not personal or vicious comments, but simply the truth of what was said to me. I was completely cursed out and yelled at on the phone. This even occurred via speakerphone within ear shot of my 5 year old daughter who heard every word and was crying, telling my spouse (who called shortly after I hung up) the words in which ****** said to me. This is shameful and embarrassing that a grown man could speak to someone in this manner and take no responsibility what so ever. To follow-up on this matter, my spouse stopped by the office on her way home (as she prepared to catch her flight back from Hawaii) and spoke to the manager named "*****". He apparently had no idea or acted as though he had no idea this happened, but did acknowledge that ****** had just left all upset as my wife had asked to speak to ****** directly about what he had said and the fact that my 5 year old daughter was affected by such inappropriate talk and speech. Again if ****** was a man, he would man up and take responsibility for how he spoke and cursed me out via the phone. Lastly, the only acceptable response that I will take is a full refund and the immediate dismissal of ****** from this place of business. He is not a man who should be working in any business of customer service and I fear this may happen to another client who won't be as nice as I have been by simply submitting my complaint to the Better Business Bureau of Hawaii. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/14) */ Here are our responses to customers concerns.... 1. Cancellation policies are posted on *******. 2.Customers without a major credit card policies are posted on *******. 3.Each company has its own policies concerning customers without a major credit card, Therefore is irrelevant. 4.Customer skipped? 5.***** never made such a statement. Customers statement is completely untrue. 6.******* does have policies posted. Customer is inaccurate regarding his statements. 7.These comments are completely untrue. Also they are personal and vicious in nature.

3/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Better Business Bureau of Hawaii 1132 Bishop Street # 615 Honolulu, HI 96813-2822 Dear Sir/Ms., Hello. I am writing you because of a dispute I am having with the A- Rent-A-Car Company of Honolulu (3251 N. Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96819; telephone# (808) ***-****.). Attached please find a letter I just sent the A-1 Rent-A-Car Company reviewing the reasons for my dispute with them. Please read it. You will note that the company is engaged in what I must call un-businesslike, unethical, & possibly even illegal activity. Specifically, they are charging me $523.56 for something called "diminished value" {plus a Hawaii GE tax) when there is nothing in the contract that gave them the right to charge me for "Diminished Value". Additionally, agents of Liberty Mutual Insurance & VISA Card Benefits Services have stated that this is an invalid charge. Moreover, A-1 Rent-A-Car Company has not documented the amounts that they claim is owed them. Also, since when does a company have carte blanche to charge someone's credit card WITHOUT THEIR PERMISSION? Yet that is what they did to me. The fact is that they have claimed money from me with an invalid charge & took the money from my VISA account without authorization. I would like your help in regaining the money they have taken from my VISA account & feel strongly that their business practices should be investigated. Regards, *** *. ****** Telephone: ***-***-****

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/19) */ Customer directly resolved complaint with our company. Thank you.

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried buying a car that broke down coming off the lot. asked for a refund and was denied. they took the car back and are trying to keep my money. the car I tried buying had a shot transmission, and a faulty clutch that broke as I was driving it off the lot. I was not notified of this defect. I gave the keys back and the owner took the car voiding the sale, and now refuses to refund my money as well, I gave a 500$ down payment.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my 500 dollars, that I used to buy the car, I now have neither the car or my money.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ This person worked for us less than 30 days and had issues continuously. Shortly after he started he claimed his sister, aunt and he were homeless and wanted to buy a car to live in and transportation to come to work. He was familiar with our inventory and asked to purchase a 98 Honda Civic. He acknowledge and signed that it would be an AS IS sale. He agreed and the keys were given to him. He started complaining shortly after since he was not very proficient at driving a manuel shift. He did in fact cause damage to the clutch. Because he was an employee here we offered to exchange the vehicle for a different one. The second car was an automatic which seemed to be a better choice. He drove the car home. The next day he complained again and once again we offered to change the vehicle. He then notified us that he was going to move off island and no longer wanted a car anymore. He also resigned from his position as an employee. He left and we owe him nothing. We will be contacting him to collect the balance of the vehicle.

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business charged me $98.50 "no show" fee but I wasn't a no show. I reserved and rented a car from this company. My flight into HNL was 2 hours late, so I called ahead to let them know. They said no problem, we will make a note in the computer and you can come pick up your car tomorrow. So I did. 5 days later, I noticed on my credit card statement that they charged me $98.50. I was not made aware of this. I called the company and they told me it was a "no show" fee. They claimed they had actually done me a favor by not only charging me this fee and not telling me, but by renting me a car for 6 days for the "same rate" which was a full weekly rate. These people are ridiculous. What a complete rip off and backward mentality. Flights are late all the time, and this place closes at 7 pm. What kind of car rental closes at 7 pm? And what kind of car rental charges customers a hundred dollars and never tells them? This is a shady business. People should stay away from this place. It's not worth it.

Desired Settlement: They should refund my $98.50 immediately, apologize for their mistake, and change their shady business practices if they want to stay in business. Otherwise, your days are numbered A-1 auto.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ The customer was in fact a no show on 01/18/2014 and was charged for the minivan he reserved and we held for him. Although the daily rate was over $300 per day, we only charged the customer $98.75. Please note he was not charged the entire rental period but only one day which is the rental reservation agreement. We did allow the customer to rent the vehicle on 01/19/2014 and gave him a significant discount during Pro Bowl week. Since it was a fact he was a no show on 01/18/2014 due to no fault of our company and was caused by his airlines, we had no obligation to even rent the customer a vehicle. The rates were significantly higher but we still gave this customer a rate which was about one third the going rate. We offered to call his airlines who was responsible for his travel and were tols they would get back to the customer directly. We would appreciate a THANK YOU for saving the customer over a thousand dollars on his rental instead of a complaint and offensive comments about our business. Perhaps he can revisit his circumstances and realize we went out of our way to save him and that the airlines was at fault. Delta should be his target, not us! Consumer Response to Business Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The facts in this case are simple: 1. I am a frequent flyer and I have rented literally hundreds of cars from all the major companies in the US (*****, ****, ******, ********, *****, ******, **********) as well as the lesser known companies (**, *******, *********, ***, etc). NONE of them charge a "no-show" fee for a delayed flight. 2. The fact that this business charges a "no-show" fee at all already makes them sketchy. 3. The fact that they charged me this fee even after I called ahead, and didn't tell me they were charging me, borders on criminal fraud. 4. The fact that they argued with me when I called to inquire indicated that this business is unethical. They were unable to admit that they were wrong. They argued and argued, claimed it was my fault, etc. The representative ****** was belittling to me, telling me that he was a world traveler and suggesting that I didn't know what I was talking about. Then ****** told me twice he would call me back and never did. The next day when I went to return the car, ****** was not there and the girl accepting the car told me ****** would call me later that day. Nobody ever called me back. It is clear they were just lying to me, waiting for time to pass, and hoping I would forget about it. All of these facts together clearly indicate that this business is a shady, unethical business. Consumers should STAY AWAY from this business at all costs. They will rip you off and then tell you it's your fault. Flights are delayed all the time. When I learned my flight was delayed, I called ahead to let them know. And yet they still charged me a "no-show" and didn't tell me. That is the definition of shady. Your days are numbered, A-1 auto. Next time I come to Oahu, you will probably be out of business. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/02/24) */ Thank goodness the customer provided the no show policy. That information is always disclosed. We held the van and the customer did not show up. Our business hours are also clearly posted. Even though we did not have any extra vehicles to rent the next day we did offer the customer a vehicle out of a gesture of good will. The rates were significantly higher but we offered the customer a vehicle which was still priced way below the market rate. So now instead of getting a thank you, we undestand it was not the rental agency fault, we are grateful for helping us when everyone else was either sold out or at a much higher price, we get a complaint. We are grateful that the customer provided proof of the no show policy and we are grateful we were able to get him a vehicle to rent which was significantly lower than the competitors. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 22, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Once again, I wasn't a no show. The airplane was late. A no show is somebody who makes a reservation and then disappears, not someone who calls ahead when their airplane is going to be late. This business is obviously impossible. Their service is horrible. Their ethics are even worse. It is no wonder that their reviews are horrible everywhere you look. Their hours are horrible to being with. What kind of rental car company at an airport closes at 7PM? In addition, what kind of rental car company charged people $100 when their plane is late. The bottom line with this company is do not do business with them. It is not worth ruining your vacation to try to save a little money, then get stuck with poor service and rude people. A1 is the WORST.

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This statement is to formally dispute the charge dated 13 Dec., 2013 by A-1 Rent A Car, in the amount of $209.42. I rented a vehicle from the A-1 Rent A Car Honolulu office on 10 Dec. 2013 and authorized the single transaction of $52.84 total for 3 days of rental, paid in full. I did not participate in the aforementioned transaction of $209.42 and the credit card was in my possession and the car and keys had already been returned to the lot in satisfactory condition and checked-in by the staff. After I rented the vehicle on 10 Dec., I noticed that the Nissan was poorly maintained inside, not sufficiently clean and more basic than advertised with no power windows/locks. Nevertheless, at the bargain price of $52.84 for 3 days (in a tourist destination) I was not terribly bothered but said to myself I would not rent from this company again in the future. When I later reentered my vehicle after it had been parked in the sun with the windows rolled up, I noticed the interior smelled of stale cigarettes and stale body odor no doubt from lack of company maintenance; the car had been heavily used but never cleaned. I also noted crumbs in the back seat that were not vacuumed. I considered exchanging the car but I didn't want to ruin and waste my day driving all the way back to the airport, complain, wait in line, etc. Since the stale smell wasnt that bad and I wasnt going to use the car much, I rolled down the windows and drove a short distance to the mall. On 13 Dec. 2013, I returned the vehicle before 9:30 a.m. A-1s female staff inspected the vehicle and checked me in with her clipboard. I asked her, Are we done here? and she said, Yes, your good. And she handed me an unsigned copy of a contract. I later saw a cc charge of $209.42 on Dec. 13 from A-1 Rent-A-Car. I called the A-1 office & they argued saying the car was sent out for "extensive cleaning" due to the car's smell. Apparently, other customers have experienced similar bogus charges http://www.yelp.com/biz/*********************** Product_Or_Service: Rental Vehicle

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I am demanding an immediate charge-back in the full amount of $209.42. As I have stated, the car already had a stale odor long before I rented it and the company is trying to pin the car's odor on me. Furthermore, this company has a documented history of applying similar charges to customer (as seen on YELP: http://www.yelp.com/biz/***********************) after they have already returned their cars and left the premises. Also, A-1 never provided a receipt or contact info of the cleaning compan

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/23) */ Thank you for taking the time to hear our side of the situation. On December 10th, 2013, Ms.******** ******** entered into a rental agreement with us for a 2011 Nissan Versa. Prior to her leaving with our vehicle, a full inspection of the car was performed by the agent with Ms. ******** to ensure the car was in good condition and was satisfactory including the notation of pre-existing body damage, if any, fuel levels, interior damage, if any, and cleanliness. No issue was found with the car upon delivery. Ms. ******** reviewed both the car and the check-out sheet and signed. On December 13th, 2013, she brought back the car to us and the same agent that performed the delivery inspection with her on the 10th, went to check Ms. ********'s vehicle back in. Upon inspection, our agent found that physically, the vehicle came back in the same condition, but noted that there was a strong offensive odor coming from the inside of the vehicle. When our agent inquired with Ms. ******** about the odor to see if maybe she had left food that spoiled in the car or some type of dairy/yogurt product, Ms. ******** brushed her off and insisted she was in a hurry to get back to the airport. The driver that got in the car with Ms. ******** and drove her to the airport immediately came to get the rental manager after he returned to report the odor that was so foul, he was gagging in the car. The manager who came to investigate immediately had the same experience. After spending several days vacuuming, shampooing, scrubbing upholstery, and airing out the vehicle, it was returned to the rental fleet. However, several customers rejected acceptance of the vehicle because the horrible odor still existed. The vehicle was again returned to our detailing department and was given a cleaning process several more times. Our expenses on this vehicle are significantly more than the $209.42 that was charged between all the hours of manpower, cleaning supplies, as well as the loss of use on this vehicle. We feel that the amount we charged is extremely fair. Consumer Rebuttal Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/02/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A-1 has incriminated itself in writing this statement. My bank records the charge $209.42 on Dec. 13, If, as you write, "After spending SEVERAL DAYS vacuuming, shampooing, scrubbing upholstery, and airing out the vehicle, it was returned to the rental fleet..." AND "after several customers" rejected the vehicle and then later it was "again returned to our detailing department and was given a cleaning process several more times..." then why was the charge posted Dec. 13? I.E. IF indeed it took SEVERAL days for "all the hours of manpower, cleaning supplies, as well as the loss of use on this vehicle..." then those amounts (of which you say totaled to even more than $209.42) could have only been assessed and totaled AFTER Dec. 13. My bank has evidence of the time/date of cc charge and is disputing it as fraud. For A-1's argument supporting the charge to be valid, A-1 would have had to charge on a date "several days" after Dec. 13. And for the record, it is also perjury for manager ***** ******** to write that the agent "noted that there was a strong offensive odor coming from the inside of the vehicle. When our agent inquired with Ms. ******** ..." I already stated that the agent never mentioned anything to me. Had she even brought up damages or further payment, I never would have "brushed her off." That would be absurd. And I had plenty of time to make my short inter-island flight. I had already dropped off my luggage earlier at the airport before driving back to A-1's lot to drop off the car. A case has also been filed with the Office of Consumer Protection, Dept of Commerce & Consumer Affairs against A-1 regarding this matter and is currently under investigation. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/04) */ We stand by our original response. The cleaning of the vehicle was much more intense and caused much more time and labor than we estimated at the time of the charge. As such the customer still owes significantly more money when you consider loss of use. At the time of the charge we estimated a fair and reasonable amount. At this time we will have to consider recovering additional charges to more accurately recover our losses. To clarify the customers statement regarding the timing of the charges was addressed due to the fact that it was in hindsight a very low estimated amount. If we would have waited until all the time and losses were calculated then the customer would have been billed much more. Its not rocket science. This was by far the worst smell any of us have ever experienced. We expect an apology from the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/02/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business has not proposed any resolution. My bank and VISA International are dealing with it.

12/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The reason I am writing a complaint about A1 Rent A Car is because I received an unwarranted charge on my bill. I rented a car during a short stay in Honolulu, at my first stop after leaving the lot I went to open the trunk and the key broke off. When I called the company to ask for help, they stated they cannot help me and I would need to get myself back to pick up a replacement key. This cost me $100 in taxi fares. They never mentioned a word about a charge for a replacement, because, I assumed they accepted that it was a faulty key. When I returned the car, again, there was no mention of any extra charges. After I had returned home to Hilo, I received a bill with an additional $193.72 charge to replace their defective key. Keep in mind that this was not a modern car with a computer-chipped key... it was an old Chevy Aveo that didn't even have power locks or windows. I contacted my credit card company to dispute the charge and I had a conference call with them and the rental company, where ****** was representing A1. They stated that they would send me the invoice for the replacement key and a copy of the rental agreement that I signed. They said they would send it first thing on Monday and I have not received as of Tuesday afternoon after 3 phone calls where someone assured me that the email would be sent immediately. The reason my credit card company will not dispute the charge is because A1 states that I signed an agreement to pay that much for a damaged key.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund $193.72 that I was charged for a defective key.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/06) */ The customer left with the car and a perfectly good key. The key does in fact have a programmed chip in the key to prevent theft and is synced with the cars computer and ignition.The key was broken off in the trunk which customer may have used the key with force to close the trunk. Normal use would be to remove the key before closing the trunk. Customer may have left key in trunk and used it as leverage to close the trunk, In any case the car was not returned with the original key in tact. In fact the key was retuned broken. When the customer called to report the key was broken, she stated that she was not with the car and had used a taxi to run some errands. We offered the use of a spare key so customer could either return the car or continuing the rental duration. At that time she was advised that there would be a charge to replace the lost or broken key. She stated that the secondary key would be fine and she would continue the use of the car. At the end of the rental the car and the second key were returned. At that time we ordered a replacement key which required a double sided cut and a programming to the cars computer. We have invoice for those services. We had to hold the car with loss of use since the new key had to be synced with the second key and computer. We did not charge the customer for the loss of use or admin fee which totaled another couple of hundred dollars. We only charged to purchase, cut and program the key. We explained this to the customer but she insisted the key could not have a computer chip in it since the car did not have power doors and locks. We explained to customer that the car still had a computer chip in it and was not related to the equipment of power locks and mirrors. She did call her credit card company and we had a three way call. The credit card company did reject her claim for a refund due to her returning the car with a lost or broken key. Either was the customer had possession of the car and key, and is responsible to return both in the same condition as they left in. Once again we did not charge for loss of use or admin fees at this time which we are entitled to. Paying for a replacement key was the minimum the customer was responsible for. We may be seeking further compensation of $$325.00. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This response is untrue and I was never informed of the replacement costs at any time. I was billed after I returned the car and only found out about these costs when I looked at my credit card statement. I was promised to be emailed a copy of the replacement key invoice and the original contract that I signed. This was a part of the agreement with my credit card company. After multiple follow up calls and reminders to the buisness I have still not been sent this information. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/12/10) */ We will be happy to resend those documents.

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: Please see attached correspondence to A-1 Rent A Car with attachments. My spouse and I experienced this terrible rental situation at Rent a Car, Honolulu, HI. Our rental was purchased via Airport Rental Cars website. We also picked up collision damage insurance $11.00 (3 days rental: $33.00). Rental agent, *****, A-1 Rent a Car charged us another $25/per day (3 days rental: $75.00). We were unaware of the $75.00 charges until the next day. I called and spoke to ***** who assured me that the charges would be reversed to my spouse's credit card. However, Priceline.com contacted us via email and said that A-1 Rent a Car will not give us the credit as ***** mentioned on (19/07/ 13. This kind of deception is really uncalled for and especially to senior citiziens!" Preying on the elderlyl!!! Shame, shame, shame! I hope justice will be served. Thank you, kindly, for your attention. (Mrs.) ***** *. **********

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/06) */ We have no knowledge of products a customer buys on the internet from a third party. In this case customer reserved a vehicle with our company using Priceline. If a customer chooses to buy additional products online, that would be between the customer and that third party. We offer CDW to all customers who can either accecpt or decline. This customer acknowledged and accecpted the CDW and that is it. The customer is responsible to know what they may have purchased through a third party. The customer is responsible for their decision on weather they want to purchase any products at the rental counter. We only explain and offer optional protection and products at the rental counter. If customer did not want to purchase the CDW then they should have declined it. There was no deception involved and we are offened by that statement. Once again we have no knowledge of products customers buy online from third parties. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/19) */ Dear Sir: Thank you for the update re: my response. I am appalled at how A-1 Auto Sales, LLC, handled my 2nd response especially when I DID RECEIVE a verbal commitment from their rental agent on 09/07/13 10:15am. As I mentioned earlier, my spouse was in the office with this particular agent and was swayed into purchasing their "collision damage insurance". This particular agent knowingly added-on" this $25/per day collision damage insurance". How could he (rental agent) not know what we purchased via Priceline.com when they (A-l Auto Sales, LLC) received our confirmation via computer. This is really ridiculous! We know that "times are hard" but to prey on senior citizens? This is really bad!! I am not trying to shift responsibility of knowing what I had purchased... I am merely trying to make A-1 Auto Sales LLC (rental agent) understand that the rental agent verbally committed to me via phone that the collision damage insurance was going to be reversed AND my spouse heard it too! I had my speaker phone on when the call was made! Therefore I am not giving up on this complaint whatsoever! A verbal commitment should HOLD STRONG! Infact, I would appreciate your assistance to post this complaint on your BBB website so that other Hawaii residents/tourists will know how A-1 Auto Sales, LLC does business. Thank you for giving me this opportunity to communicate with you second time around. If you need to get in touch with me again, my email address is as follows: ********@hotmai.com Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/20) */ When we receive a reservation from a third party vendor we receive the name of the customer and the dates of the reservation. We do not receive any information on additional products or services that a customer may purchase from a third party vendor. Customers assumption to the contrary is incorrect and baseless. When a customer arrives we do offer additional products and services. The customer may decline or accept. Clearly the customer acknowledged and accepted the CDW. We flatly reject the customers statement that we were going to modify a WRITTEN CONTRACT with a VERBAL phone conversation. We request a written apology from the customer regarding the untrue and unfounded statements that we prey on senior citizens. These comments are not only untrue but are offensive. We will take legal action for slander if they are not retracted and discontinued. May we suggest that the customer take responsibility for their decisions and not blame others. That is the right thing to do. They have failed to show any wrong doing on our part and we stand by our continued services to thousands of happy customers. We only wish the customer a happy life.

10/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was over charged for gas when I dropped off this car. I would like a refund of $83.77. I rented a car on 9/5 from A1 rentacar. Confirmation # *****************. I was given a car with less than a full tank (3/4 tank) and told I could bring it back the same and didn't need to fill it up. I drove to Kailua and back (put on less than 100 miles i would estimate) and added some fuel in Kailua. I returned it with roughly 3/4 tank of fuel. When I dropped it off, nothing was said. I then got a charge of $83.77 on my credit card. I called and asked about it and was informed it was for gas charges. I don't believe I should be charged anything for gas. I was within a gallon or two of what they left it for me. At the most it should be just for that. I would like a refund of $83.77. They can't expect me to guess how much fuel was in the car when it is not full when they give it to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $83.77

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/13) */ CUSTOMER LEFT WITH A FULL TANK. CUSTOMER RETURNED CAR WITH LESS THAN HALF A TANK. CUSTOMER SIGNED AND ACKNOWLEDGE THAT HE WILL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR GAS. CUSTOMER IS NOT ACCURATE WITH HIS FIGURES. WE HAVE WRITTEN DOCUMENTATION WITH CUSTOMERS SIGNATURE. THANK YOU Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 46, 2013/10/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A letter was uploaded on 10/14/13. If two more of the exact same letter signed by the two other occupants will help my case, I will get those too. But at this point I don't see any valid arguments coming from the business or willingness to listen to my complaint. I have produced many facts compared to only a piece of paper that wasn't even signed by me at the time of return. Final Business Response /* (4000, 48, 2013/10/21) */ Case closed

10/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Myself and friends rented a 12 passenger van from A-1 car rental on Sept 13, 2013. We were advised to purchase the CDW (Collision Damage Waiver) because it covers for all damages to the car as long as we file a police report. Unfortunately, our van got broken into due to theft on the driver's side door. We reported the incident to the police and made a police report and I called A-1 car rental to inform them of the incident. When I called to informed them of the incident, I was told by the manager not to worry because we purchased the CDW and that the damage done to the vehicle is covered. When we returned the car on the following day, September the 17th, 2013, during inspection we were once again told by a worker there that since we purchased the CDW, the damage was covered. After the inspection of the vehicle was done,we proceeded inside the office and there the person that did the inspection of the vehicle than told us that they would have to charge us for the damage to the vehicle and the worker made me sign a hand written piece of paper stating I would authorize them to charge me a total of $314. 14 in order for them to drive us to the airport. I had to sign because all of our identifications were stolen from the van and in order for to leave, we had to talk to TSA to get through security at the airport. We had no money, no ID's, I had no choice. A few days after returning home, I discovered that my credit card was charged 3 separate times for different amounts! When I called A-1, I was given some lame excuses of the charges to my card. This was the first time hearing any type of explanation from them. They never got my authorization to charge any of the amounts after we returned home. This is consider fraud and this place should not have a license to run any business. After reading reviews on yelp, I found that other customers have been charged for random fees after their return from Hawaii. Hawaii is a place for tourist and without tourist, where would they get their money?

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund These were the charges they made on my credit card to date. $314.14 on 9/17/13$300.00 on 9/22/13$377.92 on 9/22/13$150.00 on 10/01/13TOTAL: $1142.06 (This is the amount I want refunded on my card)

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/04) */ The collision damage waiver or CDW that the customer purchased at the counter covers for 100% of Collision Damage. Collision damage does not include damage caused by theft or break-in. We offered the CDW to the customer when they inquired about what additional coverage we had. It is made very clear that the Collision damage waiver only covers damage to the rental in the event of a collision but does not cover all instances of damage to the vehicle. After the break-in, one of the several people in the renters party called our office to report the break-in, she was instructed to notify the police and make a report. At no time did we say that the Collision Damage Waiver would cover her in a break-in scenario. The customer paid $314.14 to us when they returned the vehicle to us at the end of their contract as a loss deposit. Standard procedure is to charge $1000 against any damage or loss during a rental should they not be covered by any waiver until a repair estimate with exact amounts is obtained from a licensed and bonded auto-body shop. We agreed to take a lesser amount from the customer at the time given the circumstances of the theft. It was explained to her that she would be billed for all loss and damages after obtaining an estimate for repairs and totaling all losses to the vehicle. Once we had compiled all instances of loss and damage to a total of $1119.42, we began billing her card in installments. As of 9/29/13 she is clear of any due balance. The customer made an inquiry to us by phone during the billing process requesting all documentation which we provided immediately. These documents include the front and back of her rental agreement, the estimate from the body shop for repair breakdown, and a loss totals breakdown which she did not attach to this case. I would be happy to provide it. We acknowledge the unpleasantness of being a victim of a break-in. It is not our intention to make this difficult for the customer. We have responded immediately to every inquiry they have made and provided them with all documentation to submit to their insurance company to help them get reimbursed. Please understand that we are doing our best to make this as easy as we can for them. We recommend the immediate submission of all documents to their insurance company if they have not already done so. Please feel free to contact us if you have any further questions or concerns. We will be more than happy to address them for you. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I just want other customers to know that this is not the place they want to waste their money on. From the beginning, when we asked about insurance, they offered us the CDW, never once highlighted or stated that that it does not cover for "certain" damages. From the beginning, they stated that it covered for everything and that all we needed to have was a police report. Even on the day of the break in, I called to inform them of the break in and told them what happened, again the manager said everything was covered, not to worry! WOW, we were wrong, if they had given us a warning, we wouldn't have felt so blind sided by this so called company. If this is how they run their business, everyone should know. We should have done our reviews and I hope future visitors do that as well so they don't get blind sided by this company. As stated by other yelpers, they were charged for fees after they had returned home so it's obvious this was just another opportunity for them to make more money off of tourist. If from the beginning they had stated that it covers for everything except.."etc etc" and if it doesn't cover for certain things, they should not lead their customers to believe so, they did not make it clear that it only covered for collision damage. They DID NOT high light this fact until after. If we they had once told before the fact then we wouldn't have felt so cheated. If this is their "procedure" then it should be the first thing they tell their customers. Hawaii is a huge tourist area and obviously they knew theft was one of the biggest thing in Hawaii, so for them to tell us that everything was covered esp when we called to inform them of the incident, that's very dishonest. Another thing is, they never said the $314 was an initial charge. I came home and I even called to asked for an explanation of why we were charged. I spoke to the manager but he never once inform me that this was only the initial and that more was to follow. If he had, I would have been more prepared for it but nope, nothing was said. We were disappointed that we found out the CDW did not cover but we thought okay, we can pay those $314. BUT TWO days later, I log onto my bank account to find two more charges. TALK about being cheated! This was never communicated to me that my card was being charged after the first "initial" payment. Why, so because they had my credit card on file, they did not feel the need to inform me of any charges that came after? If they were an honest business, they would have called me, or emailed me but no, they did not do either of those. Instead they charged me and I had to call them to find out why and that was when I requested for a statement and then that's when they sent me one...NOT BEFORE they charge me but AFTER they already charged me. THIS IS NOT HONEST BUSINESS. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE! Another thing is they charge me for a late fee because we originally reserved two cars but ended up with one van instead. THEY never told me i was being charged a late fee for the 2nd car reservation. When I spoke to the manager, he said he would refund it right away, it has been almost a month now but still no refund! They owe me those $44 of "late" fee that they claimed to have refunded. Another $23 from the last charge. On the statement that they sent me, it stated that there was a balance of $127.xx left but instead they charge me $150 on my credit card. Isn't that cheating? Why $150? Again, no explanation. According to the statement they sent me, they over charged me for $23.xx.. SO where is my $44 refund for the "late fee" they claimed to refund? Where is my $23.xx over charged from the remaining balance? I just need other people to know to stay away from this business if they don't want to get scammed. Trust me, I probably won't ever be back in Hawaii and i will be sure to let everyone know that. Unfortunately, we did meet some awesome people in Hawaii but people like this, stay far away please!

8/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After turning in my rental car I noticed I on my CC statement I had been charged $115 dollars plus tax for "tire repair". I emailed the company and told them I did not authorize them to charge my card unless I was provided a receipt. They said they would furnish a receipt. They did not provide a receipt and charged my card anyway. I consider this an unauthorized charge to my credit card and have turned it over to my credit card co. This company is a used car lot providing sub standard used cars as rental cars. Product_Or_Service: Car rental

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the tire charge reversed as I did not authorize this charge to my credit card. As far as I'm concerned this is a fraudulent charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/19) */ The vehicle came back with a spare tire on it and the original tire was damaged and had to be replaced. The customer has a rental contract which states his credit card will be charged for damages to the vehicle. He acknowledged and signed that rental agreement. we sent him a copy of the bill for the tire. If he wants to make the payment for the tire in another form we will be happy to facilitate it. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/08/23) */ We mailed receipt and copy of check per customers original request. We also emailed a copy to customer. Thank you.

7/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my car reservation online, well in advance of their posted deadline but was still charged a 1-day no-show fee of 108.71. On Feb 2, 2013 I placed a reservation to rent a F-150 truck with A-1 Rent a Car on March 10, 2013. The rental site and my confirmation email specifically stated that cancellations must be made 24 hours in advance to avoid any no-show charges. The reservation was cancelled through A-1's online portal on February 2, 2013 (see attached cancellation email confirmation). In March, I was then charged a 108.71 USD 'no show' fee, despite the cancelled reservation. Management at A-1 was non-respondent to inquiries that I made by phone on May 24, 2013 and Jun 13, 2013, and to email inquiries I made on May 24, 2013, Jun 13, 2013, and Jun 20, 2013.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund for the amount charged to my credit card: 108.71 USD.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/06) */ Aloha Mr. *********, We have already issued you credit back to your Visa Card as of June 14th, 2013. Please review your account transactions within that time frame. We apologize for any inconvenience. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Refund posted to credit card account. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/07/25) */ Mr. *********, Your refund confirmation number is *************** Refund transactions can at times take 3-5 business days to reflect in your account. Feel free to call us directly at 808-******** if you need to reach us.

7/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: payment issue I went to A-1 Auto Sales and traded in a 2005 Ford Focus SE 2-Door Hatchback for a 2000 Acura Integra LS 2-Door Hatchback in Feb.2012 , got into some finance problems and was unable to continue making payments, returned car voluntarily June 2013. I was recently sent a letter of past due payment for the month of June 2013 which by then I had voluntarily surrendered the vehicle back to the dealer.I feel I should not have to pay for a delinquency or future delinquencies when I don't have the vehicle in my possession. I called and spoke with Calvin on July 16th 2013 regarding the letter of a due balance. I was told that I'm still under contract with the car, and will be sued if a payment is not made. They are currently advertising the same car in question at the following link with false vehicle mileage: http://honolulu.craigslist.org/oah/ctd/3938782266.html keep in mind the mileage on the vehicle advertised is 69,xxx when i had this it had 100,000+ miles on it

Desired Settlement: All delinquencies to be dismissed

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 5, 2013/07/18) */ -----Original Message----- From: *** (mailto:**************.com) Sent: Thursday, July 18, 2013 8:15 AM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case#********(Ref#**************************) Thank you, we have come to an agreement, and would like this case closed.

4/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This place of business rented a 2001 Toyota Camry to me that had check engine light and brake light sensor on. I rented this vehicle initially for 2 days, upon leaving, after signing the agreement, I noticed that the check engine light and the brake sensor lights were on. I used the vehicle but did not feel completely safe in it. I returned the vehicle later that evening at around 8:30 pm. I informed the employee of this upon return. His answer was that they were aware of this problem and had other people complain of this same thing. He informed me I would be charged for the 24 hour period, and I told him I was okay with this. I was still charged on my credit card for both days, and later when I called to inquire about this, the manager informed me that I would not be reimbursed. He did offer to give me a rental for the extra day that I was charged. I declined and explained to him that I did not feel safe renting from them in the future. He also stated that they continue to rent out vehicles that have service light engines on because they are service vehicles and even if they reset the check engine light on the vehicle, it would come back on.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a refund for the following day that was not used and would like the company to not be allowed to rent vehicles that are have safety issues such as the "check engine" or "brake light sensors."

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/06) */ Customer rented vehicle for 2 days. She returned after using the vehicle for 1 of those days. The check engine light did come on. We offered the customer a replacement vehicle but she declined. At no time was she told that she would be refunded. That same day we checked the vehicle and it was determined that it was an O2 sensor. This was not a safety issue at any time. Also there was never a brake light on nor any other lights. We are still willing to give her a one day rental at no additional charge. This offer will expire in 7 days.

2/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: did a return of a vehicle and have not recieved any documentation for it. they have been taking out money from my account monthly without permission I did a volunteer return due to financial problems back in May 2012. I was told that the company was going to sale the vehicle and contact me with the remaining balance. After I returned the vehicle I was told by numerous people that my vehicle was spotted at a company's parking lot at Ft.Shafter Aug 2012. I then verified with the VIN number and license plate that it was the vehicle I returned back in May 2012. I contacted the company and asked them if they still had the vehicle and the status of the payback I had to do. They informed me that they sent out a letter to my home which I never received and requested another copy. I was also told that the vehicle was on their lot. The vehicle stayed parked on Ft. Shafter until Nov 2012. I recently contacted the finance department at A1-Auto regarding charges made to my account. The finance department informed me that she was not able to speak with me and that ****** (Manager) will be left a message to contact me. I still have not received a call from A1-Auto or documentation regarding the return vehicle and repayment plan. When I do speak with ****** he insists on me paying back the vehicle slowly so he can return the vehicle to me. When I inform him that I am not interest in that he goes on saying that he is trying to help me out. So I should do what he says. I have every intent on paying of the balance after he sales the vehicle but the company is not releasing any information to me. I have also driven by both of their lots and have not seen my vehicle parked in it. **** ****** *******. purchased date 10/2011 amount owe is 13,000 sales rep: ****** payment amount 500.12 returned vehicle may 2012

Desired Settlement: stop deducting funds from my account. and provide me proof of the return and sale of vehicle so i can make payment arrangements to take care of my debit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/07) */ ******** ****** HAS PROMISED TO COME IN SEVERAL TIMES TO SET UP AN ALLOTMENT SO SHE COULD RECOVER THE VEHICLE. I HAVE CALLED HER SEVERAL TIMES AND LEFT MESSAGES ON HER VOICEMAIL. I ALSO HAVE PROOF OF SENDING A CERTIFIED LETTER AND POST OFFICE RETURNED IT. UP TO THIS POINT CUSTOMER REQUESTED THE OPTION OF RECOVERING VEHICLE SO WE WERE WILLING TO WORK WITH HER EVEN THOUGH SHE DEFAULTED ON CONTRACT AS SHE ADMITTED. NOW SHE IS SAYING TO SELL THE VEHICLE AND THAT SHE WILL PAY DEFICIENCY BALANCE. WE ARE HAPPY TO GRANT HER REQUEST. THE VEHICLE IS HERE ON OUR PROPERTY AND HAS NOT BEEN RESOLD. WE WOULD LIKE CUSTOMER TO COME IN AND VERIFY VEHICLE IS IN FACT HERE. WE WOULD ALSO LIKE CUSTOMER TO PROVIDE UPDATED CONTACT INFORMATION SUCH AS NEW ADDRESS HOME AND WORK. UPDATED PHONE NUMBERS HOME AND WORK. MOST IMPORTANT IS FOR HER TO MAINTAIN CONTACT WITH US. WE ARE HAPPY TO RESELL THE VEHICLE AND PROVIDE HER DOCUMENTATION OF HER BALANCED OWED AT THAT TIME. ALOHA, ****** Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 19, 2013/01/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Perfect to what sir?. Selling the vehicle asap or waiting for a better higher offer. Please let know so i can make arrangements to make sure i recieve all docuements Business' Final Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/01/24) */ We will send car to auction this wednesday and advise customer of highest bid. Then we will send customer another certified letter with the balance she owes so she may begin payments on deficiency balance.

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I don't know the exact amount of the refund. The car was rented by *** ***** for 10 days but we only used it for 1 day of the 4 days. Some time before October 12, *** ***** arranged for a rental car from A-1 Rent a Car in Honolulu. The GPS unit belonging to *** ***** did not work in Hawaii and we returned the car to A-1. The rental agent, **** said he'd credit my credit card for the 6 days not used. We neglected to take the GPS out of the glove box, but next morning the man, who I belive is **** said he found it and when I asked if he'd send it to our hotel, he said "Absolutely." He did not. My daughter called to ask again, but he wanted verification that the GPS found in the glove box was ours. He said it wasn't but would send the correct one if found. He did not. There was only one GPS in the glove box. We used the car 1 day out of the 4 days we had it and returned the car 6 days early. There's no refund on my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for 6 days as promised and a return of the GPS unit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/04) */ Customer did not return car early. Customer never left gps unit in car, perhaps he lost it somewhere else. Customer was never promised anything. There are no factual truths about this complaint.

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had made an online reservation thru a online travel group Wednesday, 5 December, and selected the local rental group to do business with. The reservation was from 5-8 December 2012. My debit card was used to obtain the reservation with no disclaimer of the fact that one days rent would be obtained. Had contacted the vendor by phone only to be told that I would lose the one days rental. Asked to speak to a manager who was not in so I decided to go to the company in person. Spoke to the manager and asked what he could do about the fee charge and he mentioned that I could use it to rent a car. Then he proceeded to add on rediculous fees for the car rental from which I declined and asked if a refund was possible and his answer was no. I mentioned to him that I would take action on this and he shrugged his shoulders and said ok. Across the board, this experience was not what any consumer should have to face. The holidays is upon us and this scheme to hook and bait customers is apparently how this company wants to be known for. Product_Or_Service: Online Car Reservation Account_Number: Online Car Reservati

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund One days rental fee for an online reservation is outright criminal. Have done online reservations with other local companys and they do not charge a one day rental fee. Would settle for a complete refund from this local company and/or would like to warn all consumers about the practice they have with online hooks.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/11) */ Customer did not show up to pick up rental on date he resereved. He called the day after and apologized that he forgot to pick up the car and got the dates confused. He was charged only 1 day rental for no show and was not charged when he made the reservation, he was charged the day he was suppose to pick up the car and failed to show up. It is clearly stated in our reservation policy that you will be charged one day rental if you fail to cancel the reservation 24 hours prior to the pick up date. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2012/12/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dispute the reponse from this company based its stand to charge customers for no show on a reservation. This is the only company I am aware of that charges its customers for reservation no-show. I believe that policy is criminal and the people should know this. Tried to explain that I had made several reservations that day and lost the one I had made with them. When I got to their station to speak to their manager he tried to upsell me on a rental. I asked him if a refund was possible and he said no. I told him I would take this matter further and so here it is. This company is a used car sale and car rental. Beware of these guys!

8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues