Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Windward Dodge Chrysler Jeep

Phone: (808) 233-6000 Fax: (808) 234-0111 View Additional Phone Numbers 46-177 Kahuhipa Street, Kaneohe, HI 96744 http://jerryforthepeople.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the services of a new and pre-owned auto dealership.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Windward Dodge Chrysler Jeep meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Windward Dodge Chrysler Jeep include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Windward Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 17, 1983 Business started: 04/01/1984 in HI Business started locally: 08/29/1985 Business incorporated 04/12/1984 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20359334-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-359.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-2317.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Louis VeDova III, President Ms. Lahela Forbes, Office Manger Mr. Adam Levinson, Used Car Manager Mr. Clifton Reed, Hyundai General Sales Manager Mr. Jerry Romano, Parts & Service Director Ms. Donna Sumida, Controller Mr. Stephen Wolf Mr. Robert Wright, Dodge Chrysler Jeep General Sales Mgr
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jerry Romano, Parts & Service Director
Principal: Mr. Louis VeDova III, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Services Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Windward Auto Sales, Inc.
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • 46-177 Kahuhipa Street

    Kaneohe, HI 96744 (808) 233-6036

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been going to Windward Dodge to get my car serviced and oil changed since 2012 and they are the only people to have ever touched my vehicle. In June I took the car in for a routine oil change and was informed that the knot was stripped "by the last person who changed the oil," and needed to pay over $200 to have it fixed. Lately, I noticed that the oil has been leaking excessively so I contacted Dodge asking them to rectify their mistake. On 7/27/15 I had my uncle who is a mechanic speak to the owner of the dealership who pulled up my records and pointed out that I had been loyal to the company for 3 years and agreed to fix the car on 7/28/15 at 4:30 pm. Today (7/28/15), I arrived at Windward Dodge with my mechanic uncle to get the car repaired. When we were questioned about our appointment we were told that "Jerry," the owner that we spoke to the day before had gone hiking during the appointed time and would not be there to sign off on the repair. I was then told to leave and call him the next day (7/29/15) to make ANOTHER appointment with Jerry to repair the vehicle. Overall, this has been a nightmare. Each time I had taken the car in I was told a huge number of items needed to be changed, yet every time I got a second opinion none of the problems existed, it was just a way to scam me out of hundreds of dollars. I have no knowledge of cars, take my car in every 3,000 miles to change the oil and keep it well maintained. There is no reason I would go under the car myself to do any work! I did not cause the problem and the only history my car has had has been at the Dodge dealership and prior to the last oil change there was no history of stripping.

Desired Settlement: I want Windward Dodge to rectify the damage they did to the car. I was quoted $200 plus tax by the mechanic "Christian," on what was wrong with the oil pan and if that was the problem I expect it to be fixed.

Business Response:

I do apologize for missing the appointment. I do hope you are satisfied now that I did inspect your vehicle and have it repaired at no charge to you. Please let me know if there is anything else I can do.

 

Thank you,

 

 Jerry

 

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business keeps calling us to do surveys and come see cars we have not requested everyday. When we went there we told them do not use the number to call us for anything ever. When they kept calling we told them to cease contact and that we would file a complaint and were told it doesn't matter you have to talk to someone else about it.

Desired Settlement: DO NOT CONTACT ME AGAIN

Business Response: Aloha,

I do apologize you had to go to this length just to stop getting contacted. I did look at the customer profile and the proper steps have been taken to eliminate any further contact. The only way any future contacts will be made, is if there is an additional lead put in through our websites or through manufacturer inquiries. Both ******* *** ****** ****** have been removed from being contacted in any way.

Bobby W
Sales Manager
Windward Auto Sales Inc 

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB,My name is ***** ******, and I recently had my vehicle serviced with Windward auto in Kaneohe HI. First I would like to say that the customer service representatives were extremely professional and polite. The two I conducted my business with was Kimo and Kelly. I wanted to start this letter on a positive note. Secondly I am writing this in fact based format because I want to be as accurate as possible with little to no emotion involved so that you may draw your own conclusions utilizing honor and integrity. FACTS ABOUT COMPLETED SERVICE1.03APRIL15 Member drops off vehicle for Rear Main Seal replacement and Transmission system flush. 2.Member provided the service department with 6Quarts of ****** *** Full Sythetic oil one OEM oil pan drain plug and one quart of *** **** ***** ************************* it is a anti ware additive formulated for flat tappet motors like the motor in my ** ***** ******** ****** **** 300cuin in-line 6 cylinder motor.3.04APRIL15 member arrives to pick up vehicle and crawls under the vehicle to assess the work. The member noted a little oil collecting on the bell housing and requested a rag from Kimo and also noted that the oil plug the member provided was not used. The member deducted that the oil could be residual from the job competed or maybe a little spillage from adding the oil to the vehicle. Kimo adjusted the price to take the cost of the Oil pan plug off the total cost of the service. Member pays $776.024.29APRIL15 Member drops off the vehicle the day before his 0930 service inspection apt. vehicle was to be inspected for continued leak (continued rear main seal leak) and new leak of the *** *** check valve on the transmission cooling line (possibly resulting from the transmission flush). 5.29APRIL15 Member very politely explained to the service department that he had a competent level of mechanical knowledge, and that the member has completed the rear main seal job on previous jeeps owned a total of 3 times, and that the member checked the valve cover gasket, and oil filter housing prior to brining the vehicle in for a re-inspection due to the fact that those are the most common places for oil leaks on this model jeep. 6.30APRIL15 after the re-inspection the service technician (dont remember name but do remember face) recommended that the oil leak in the members vehicle was coming from the valve cover gasket , and that the leak was NOT from rear main seal. The technician quoted the service @ $435.00. 7.Service department took the patch that the member placed on the *** *** valve to keep it from leaking off and did not inform the member thus causing the transmission to loose fluid on the 18mile drive home and the next two days until the member reassessed the severity of the leak. 8.Member told service Technician that he would change the gasket himself. Service Tech looked at member and said you can do that job? Member replied its an easy job. Service Tech had a concerned look on his face and stated that if the leak was still present after changing the Valve cover gasket, to bring it back in and they would fix the rear main seal. Member Purchased *** *** trans cooler valve @$29.19 From service department. 9.03MAY15 Member changed Valve cover gasket utilizing proper pre-cleaning and torque sequence and torque values of 35inlbs with a calibrated 0-150inlbs torque wrench. 10.Members vehicle continues to leak from the area of the rear main seal and bell housing. 11.Member sent pretty much this exact letter to every manager of the dealership on 08May2015.12.72hrs later Member was contacted and set up another service appt. to have the leak re-inspected again with Jerry R***** the Service manager. 13.Mr. R***** was very short with the member and tried to de-value every job the member had done to the Jeep himself. Stating that he had been a mechanic since a young age. 14.Mr. R***** said that dye was added to the motor so that they could pin point the leaks origins (which was fine with the member due to the fact he knew where it was coming from) . 15.The service tech took the jeep for a drive to try and work the dye out of the leak. He was gone roughly 10mins (which did not seem to be long enough for the dye to come out of such a slow leak) Average of 1 drop per 10-12 hours of sitting in the drive way. 16.Jeep and service tech return jeep is placed on a lift , black light finds no dye Mr. R***** request that member drive it for a week and schedule another appt. for a re-inspect (now the 3rd assessment) Member agrees it seems fair they shake hands and member departs. 17.On the drive home the member takes mental note that the jeep is running rough.18.13May15 The member crawls under the jeep to inspect with his own black light and finds that there is now no oil leaking from the rear main seal (which gives a possible reason for the rough running of the jeep which would be Stop Leak added during the inspection). 19.On 15May15 the member buys 6 QTS of FULL SYTHETIC MOTOR OIL and a ***** FILTER due to the rough running jeep, and the belief that the dealership did not use the full synthetic oil provided by the member and suspected leak stop added to the motor.20.16MAY15 member drains oil into a clear container to capture the oil from the motor to have it inspected ( if Leak Stop or seal was added it would collect at the bottom) 21.Member has photo proof of the stop leak in the oil and firmly believes that the oil was not full synthetic due to the lack of viscosity and the apparent anti ware additive that he provided, Member did notice the grainy feeling consistent with that of fine sand or stop leak in the motor oil. FACTS THAT CAN NOT BE VERIFIED1.Member verified before bringing the vehicle in for service that the leak was coming from the rear main seal, and not the valve cover gasket, oil pan gasket, or oil filter housing, by doing a very thorough visual inspection of the areas in question.2.01MAY15 After the service dept. re-inspection of the leak,

Desired Settlement: Refund for the cost of the service plus the full synthetic oil and filter change. Also a written guarantee that if I experience any issues with my motor as a result of the unauthorized stop leak put in my motor that the dealership will cover the cost at a place of my choice.

Business Response:

RE:CASE #********


In regard to Mr. C******'s vehicle, ie: his oil leak concern,I did meet with Mr.C****** and did identifyoil collection underthe bell housing. We did have a technicianclean all excessoil off of the engine,add engine oil dye and had the technician roadtest the vehicle, fromthe dealership to the *******Shopping center and back.
We recheckedthe vehicle with an ultra violet black light and no leak was found.
Mr. C****** and I agreed thathe would drive thevehicle for about a week and return to recheck the exact location of the suspectedoil leak. At no time was there any'' stop leak" put into Mr. C******'s engine.
Perhaps the sediment he sees in his oil is a result of the" ******" he asked us to addto his engine, so we did that at his direction.
We would be glad to re-inspect the engine again to determine if indeedthere is an oil leak.

Should you have any other questions you can call me directly.

Sincerely,

Jerry R.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 

  The picture provided was taken after the oil was drained from my jeep

due to  the noticeable rough idle and rough running after the dealership did
their inspection and supposedly added just engine dye to it. The yellow
color at the bottom of the jug is the particulate that settles at the bottom
of the oil from the stop leak that dealership claims to have nothing to do
with or no knowledge of it being added. The *** **** additive (oil
Treatment)  that Mr. R***** claims could be what is settling in the oil  is
a laughable statement.  That  a anti ware agent that super lubricates your
motor, would have particulate matter contained in it. A person that is a
Service manager of a dealership and they extensive knowledge and ***
certificates that Mr. R***** holds, would obviously know better. *** oil
treatments do not settle or have any particulate you can feel even after
being ran for 5-7,000 miles in a motor and Mr. R***** knows this. I have
included the MSDS (material Safety data sheet) from the *** website as
scientific proof of its ingredients. I will gladly pay for a polygraph
examiner to come to the dealer ship to provide a lie detector test to Mr.
R***** the service technician  and myself to fully resolve this issue.  I
have looked into the cost and it is around $350 dollars for the day. I will
however expect to be reimbursed if it is found that Mr. R***** is found to
be untruthful in his knowledge of what was put in my vehicle and also
reimbursed for the service that I paid for that the dealership failed to
properly fix. If I am found to be in the wrong I will gladly provide a
written and verbal apology to each person in the dealership that has been
involved in this issue. And I will also pay Mr. R*****'s wage for the hour
or two it takes for the polygraph exam to be administered.  

Very Respectfully , 

Very Respectfully,
*** ******, ***** R.

 

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

 

      As I stated previously, no stop leak was added to the engine oil. I offered to recheck the leak with a black light after a week of driving the vehicle. The offer is still available.  

As far as the polygraph test, if Mr. ****** would like to spend the time, effort and money I would have no problem taking it .The time  and place would have fit my schedule.

 

Thank you,

 

Jerry R*****

6/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Late March - radio abruptly stopped working - no display, radio or climate controls. Took in to dealership, they didn't have time to look so made appointment for following weekend. Diagnosis - needed new radio (none in stock on-island so had to order from mainland). ~2 weeks later - got call radio was here, made appointment to have installed. *****13APR15 SERVICE APPT - 1 week later (following weekend) - had new radio installed - drove off & realized the radio display & climate controls worked but the radio wouldn't tune to any stations. Drove it back - they said I had to make a new appointment. We discussed the importance of operational checks after performing maintenance. *****18MAY15 SERVICE APPT - 6 days later (after about a half hour) they called back & said the radio needed to be replaced...again. I asked them if they realized it was a brand new radio. Response - happens all the time. The service adviser pointed to a truck & told me it was on it's 4th radio replacement. Was told they would have to order another radio from the mainland but that it would only take 3 days. We discussed inventory control & customer service after screwups. *****23APR15 - 5 days later - received a text message from a friend who works there telling me the radio was in. However, didn't get any notice from service dept (they do the scheduling). Decided to wait & see how long it would take. *****1MAY15 - 9 days later - finally got the call from service. Scheduled an appointment for next day to install. They called back within a few minutes & said they would have to reschedule as my service adviser wasn't working on the day they had scheduled. I said I didn't need (or want) the same adviser & was told it had to be the same person so they could get the commission. A heated discussion ensued. *****5MAY15 - total elapsed time = 1.5 months - no communication from the dealership. *****NOTE: This is not the first rodeo. We purchased this vehicle new last year & they refused to issue the registration for 4 months b/c they were having internal trouble transferring title. We had to keep coming in to pick up temporary registration. This dealership will never get my business again.

Desired Settlement: 1. Call from manager. 2. Ship radio to another authorized dealership for installation.

Business Response: To Who it May Concern:
RE: CASE #********
We want to apologize for the malfunction of Mr. *****'s radio, unfortunately ******** has an exchange program for audio untis which we have no control over.  We do have the radio here and have made several attempts to contact Mr. *****, however, we have had no repoinse back from him.
Please feel free to call me directly for any further discussion on this matter.
Sincerely,
***** ******

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Windward Dodge Chrysler Jeep (WDCJ) has been very dishonest and has openly admitted about lying to get me to purchase a vehicle and come back for service. WDCJ lied to me and my wife on at least 6 separate occasions, which resulted in multiple wasted trips across the island and tricking us into paying more for the vehicle than we realized. When questioned, their lies became someone elses mistake then covered up with another half truth at best. WDCJ was willing to say any lie to get me to sign the documents to include one that reads we have made no verbal promises to protect themselves. There are more details and specifics attached as a word document.

Desired Settlement: I ask that WDCJ refund the difference between the original deal at the published price and the contact, refund the service plan that was purchased, pay reasonable compensation for time and travel and a hand-written apology.

Business Response: Case# : ********

Dear Lorie Sides:

My name is *******Bobby* W***** and I am the General Sales Manager at Windward Auto Sales.  I was forwarded the email of this complaint on the afternoon of March 13th.  After being made aware of this complaint and reviewing the complaint the consumer made, I took the weekend to review the paperwork and discuss with our staff involved to see what they also did. 

I attempted to make contact with the consumer the following Monday the 16th in the attempt to reconcile their dissatisfaction and hopes to retain them as a consumer.  We ended up getting in contact with each other early evening of that Monday to discuss the details and to see if it is even possible to retain his business and clear up any confusion about how we do business. 

After a long and detailed conversation, I was able to clear up all of the confusion on what was discussed and was able to work with the consumer and come to an agreement on what will make them happy. They did agree that they will be okay to use our service department and also have overall positive things to say to anyone they come across that asks them about us. He did make it clear to me that he will have to admit to them that there were some hiccups, but we responding well to his concerns and really to care about our customers being satisfied. 

We ended up agreeing on giving the consumer a soft top for their Jeep Wrangler, since that was one of the features he would have preferred the vehicle to have. It would normally cost the consumer over $2000 to buy and install the soft top. We decided to do this, since there was a breakdown in communicate between our staff and the consumer about what was being submitted as an “offer” to management, versus the customer viewing that initial discussion as an agreement. There was a similar breakdown of communicate between both parties on the price. 

The initial complaint by the consumer stated the price was a $1000 off, but it was actually 500 off. I also reviewed all documents and everything with writing did state the price and the agreed upon price, which is on multiple documents reviewed and acknowledged by customer. There most definitely was nothing “shady” going on, but clearly there was an honest misunderstanding between what the dealership was willing to agree to versus what the consumer thought he was agreeing to. Although the consumer did agree that we did go over it multiple times, giving them more than enough opportunities to make us aware of any misunderstandings. They did not tell anyone about the price being wrong and mentioned he thinks because it was evening time and just wanted to leave.  We do understand customers don’t like to be at a dealership, but we try to slow it down a little to make sure what happened in this case, does not happen. Even after all of this, we did decide to still credit the consumer $500, since according to the customer, he would not have purchased the vehicle had he realized the price wasn’t what he thought it was. 

In summary, we decided to give the consumer a Soft top for his jeep valued over $2000 and a $500 credit back to them. We do understand that a lot can happen and can go on during the purchase of an automobile, which we why we have a thorough process and make attempts to follow that if consumer allows for it. We do also like to complete the entire transaction the same day and have all vehicles prepared for delivery at the time of sale. I am happy that we were able to do something and help this consumer out and I do wish it did not have to come in the form of a BBB complaint. The consumer did make me aware that he did that, because he assumed we wouldn’t do much or anything about it as most dealerships tend not to lift a finger unless these things are done. I did assure him that I wish he just came to us directly and similar result would have occurred. We will be making the arrangements to get all these things to the consumer as soon as possible. 

Sincerely,

******(Bobby* W*****
General Sales Manager
Windward Auto Sales Inc.  


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because it does not match what we verbally have agreed to.  I am waiting for Bobby to call me back once he has approval for the terms we have discussed.  I had agreed to significantly less than what I asked for because I have enjoyed the Jeep so far and want to move on from the terrible car buying experience. Before reading his response to you, I agreed to $500 instead of $1000 for the error in the contract, $2000 cash instead of $2500 in dealership incentives, NOTHING for time and gas compensation and the service plan I purchased can be used at any Jeep dealership. After reading his response I know that a written letter is going to be heartless and condescending, the last thing I want. 

There are more details in the attached word document.

Sincerely,
****** *****

Business Response: Case# : ********
This is a response to update what was agreed to since it did get updated after initial email submitted.
The customer did decide to go with receiving a check for $2500 instead of receiving a soft top. After
discussing the scenario with his wife, they elected to not receive a soft top due to lack of storage. The
hardtop is too bulky to take off and on. They may end up getting one when they leave the island or at a
later date. Customer came in and collected the check from us March 21st. Our phone and in person
contact seemed to be very positive even though the situation the customer went through ended up
being an unpleasant one, although this complaint doesn’t seem to portray that. We do appreciate the
opportunity to work with the customer to come to some agreement, in the attempt to retain their
business. I do hope they still are willing to service with us and mention overall positive things to say in
response to people they come in contact with when our dealership is brought up in conversation. I was
under the impression that would be a possibility after my discussion with the customer and after
reaching our agreement.
****** W*****
Windward Auto Sales

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've purchased a certified vehicle from them nearly 3 years ago. They motto is for the people. It needs to be changed because its for the money. The last trip my vehicle was there it was trashed from the front to the back and my children's coin cup went missing as well. Called the manager before the start of the day and returned my call walking out at close of business that day. Very unproffesional and never received another call after to follow up on the issue.

Desired Settlement: I've been having the same issues with my vehicle. This would be the 3rd time I will be taking it in for the AC. I don't believe how much time I would have to take this vehicle in until the problem is fix. On top of it I keep have to pay the diagnostic fee or deductible that applies.

Business Response:

I apologize for not getting back to Ms. ****** ******* as I promised I would. No excuse, but I got tied up with other issues at the dealership and I did not get back to her in a timely manner.  We have had some problems on our lot at night and we are addressing those problems right now.  Please have Ms. ******* make a list of the items that were taken from her vehicle and I will be glad to replace them.  We are a dealer for the people and regret when issues like this slip through the cracks.  Again I apologize for this incident and hope we can remedy it to the satisfaction of the customer.

Sincerely,

Jerry R*****

Parts and Service Director

************

 

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Oct I went to speak with ****** (internet rep) about looking at a vehicle. Unfortunately she wasn't there so I was assisted by her colleague ******. I explained what I was looking for and although in their inventory they didn't have what I wanted he went to their used car lot and spoke with ****. **** came and explained they were looking at obtaining several 300s but it wouldn't happen until Mon 3 Nov. I said I would be interested and to call me and let me know when they have it and we can go from there. I left that business and was headed to work when ****** phoned saying his boss wanted to get some information from me. I have him the information he requested and explained I had to get back to work. He then text me asking permission to run my credit but I was already in a meeting and never responded. After work I forgot he even asked and as usual erase my messages daily. Monday, 3 Nov came and I never got a call so I never thought anything of it. On Friday 5 Dec I received a letter from a report agency notifying me that my credit report was ran with all the information on it. To my surprise it was Windward Auto Chrysler Dodge Jeep. I phoned them on Monday, 8 Dec and spoke with ****** and explained how upset I was and how they illegally ran my credit report. She replied that she was going to let ****** and ****s Boss ***** know and that he will phone me later that evening. After we hung up about 20 min later **** phones and says they thought I authorized them according to ******s statement but I immediately told him everything I jus wrote down earlier. And he was shocked and surprised and tried to persuade me to possibly consider another type of vehicle such as a Charger or a hybrid Escape and assures me he can get me approved. I explained I do not want a vehicle because of the shadyness that has been done to me by illegally running my credit report. And that I want them to somehow fix this hard inquiry. He then said he will have ***** call me the next day, Tuesday 9 Dec but no luck

Desired Settlement: Removal of the hard inquiry from all credit bureaus and possible compensation for the illegal running of my credit report.

Business Response:

From: ***** **** [mailto:*****@****************]
Sent: Monday, January 05, 2015 1:49 PM
To: ***** ** *****; ***** ****; ***** ******
Subject: ID # ********

On 12/29/2014 I attempted to contact complainant by phone to discuss possible options to resolve problem but got no answer, left message.  I made another attempt to contact complainant on 01/02/2015 and again no answer,left message.  Since my attempts to contact consumer, I have not received any messages from her since we received the letter from the BBB.

On 12/31/2014 I sent a request to our credit reporting agency requesting the removal of all hard inquiries from complainant's credit report for all three bureaus (Experian, Transunion, Equifax) due to the fact that the reports were run in error.

On 01/02/2015 I was informed by the credit reporting agency that they had emailed the consumer a dispute form to be filled out and returned.  Our company was also instructed to complete a statement of events on company letter head and submit to reporting agency.  Once both forms are received by reporting agency the inquiry should be removed.

Sincerely,

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service department estimated $350.00 to cut off lug nuts. They didn't give the option of a replacement lug nut lock to take them off. My wife had a flat on the H3 Highway. The tow company took the locking lug nut. She took the truck to dodge and they tried to scam her into a $350.00 service fee to cut off the lug nuts. They know they have the ability to replace the locking lug but they didn't give her that option. The replacement lug is $14.50. My wife has now been driving on a spare for a month, filed a police report against the tow company, and made an insurance claim. I am currently deployed to ********* for 6 months and it isn't making it any easier to deal with a company trying to take advantage of my wife. She found replacement lugs through the same company that Dodge uses for the lug nuts they put on their vehicles on the internet. This is upsetting that a dealership is trying to scam people into spending more money to fix a vehicle vice giving them the honest truth. An honest answer to a simple problem would've solved a month's worth of issues and time.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to be held accountable for their unethical decisions as a business. To give customers honest assesments to their vehicle issues. I would also like them to get our tire mounted on our truck so my wife can drive safely not worried about her spare tire that is meant for temporary use.

Business Response: From: ***** ****** (mailto:************************)
Sent: Friday, September 26, 2014 12:46 PM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: case ******** MR ******* ******

To whom it may concern,

In response to Mr. ******'s complaint I do understand his frustration. We did not have a key to fit his wheel locks the day of the service. The only solution we could find that would give Mrs. ****** immediate results was to cut the locks off the vehicle. It would take time, equipment and skill to cut the wheel locks off. Our shop repair rate is $132.50 per hr. The estimate which was given to Ms. ****** was 1 hr. of labor which is $132.50 plus $65.00 for a new set of wheel locks. We did replace her tire the day of the service which the total cost is $165.00. Mrs. ****** only paid $23.00 because of thecoplimentry benefit we provide to our customers' during oil changes. I feel as a long time professional in this industry there was no unethical decision being made. Since then we did purchase a master wheel lock set for those trucks, so in the future we can provide a faster more convenient option for the customer who loses their wheel lock key. Mrs. ****** can reach me at ***-****. I will have her tire and spare swapped.

Thank you

*****

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Came in for a car safety inspection, charged an additional $95 labor fee to disable part of the alarm that had malfunctioned during the inspection. On Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013, my husband brought his 2010 Dodge Charger in for an annual state-required safety inspection. We always take our vehicle to Windward for our maintenance, oil change, and repair needs since we purchased the vehicle here. *****, a technician, conducted the safety inspection. After the inspection was completed, ***, a service technician supervisor, approached my husband and stated that there was a problem with the gearshift-it was stuck in "park"-and that they would look at it further when they had time. My husband waited almost two more hours while the technicians put our vehicle on the side and worked on other vehicles. ***** then showed my husband that there was some sort of electrical/voltage problem with our alarm module in the steering column, and how my husband could use a screwdriver to remove a compartment near the gearshift and override the gearshift problem. Then he showed my husband that the key was also stuck in the ignition. ************, the Parts and Service Manager and "for the people" media spokesperson, approached my husband and *****. ************ jiggled the exposed alarm module, rattling the module and starting the engine by shaking the module (the alarm system is equipped with remote start). The alarm is a Clifford model, not a factory alarm. It was purchased at and installed by ****************, a reputable business that specializes in alarms and stereos. My husband and I have never experienced such a malfunction with our alarm system. ************ then suggested that the problem could be caused by the alarm system or something else, but the only way to find out would be to disable the alarm for a charge. My husband was told that he could pay $130 for mechanic's labor to disable the alarm and, if it was another problem that was covered by our warranty, he would not have to pay for the labor. At this time, it was getting late and my husband needed to leave for work. He did not feel comfortable driving the vehicle with these serious problems unresolved. My husband called **************** and they stated that it is not possible for such a problem to occur with the alarm system at random, especially with an alarm that was only purchased two years ago. My husband called me at work to discuss the charges and I spoke with ***. I confronted him about the problem and stated that we merely came in for a safety inspection and had entrusted the vehicle to their care, as a reputable dealer, and questioned why we should have to pay $130 for labor when the alarm was working fine earlier that day and at the time that my husband brought the vehicle in. His response was that someone had previously "tampered with" the electrical system on our "after market alarm" and he couldn't control when it would malfunction. I also told him that we don't have that kind of money right now (we came in for a $25 safety inspection in preparation for our vehicle registration renewal next month). In response, he stated that he would charge us the "employee" price for the labor at $95. It was getting late and my husband felt that he had no choice but to leave the vehicle overnight for them to troubleshoot and/or restore to a drivable condition. They disabled the alarm module, taped it inside the steering column and charged my husband for the labor plus the safety inspection fee, taxes, etc. The receipt for the labor charge states that "customer states there is a problem...." In reality, my husband went there for a safety inspection and following the safety inspection, *** approached my husband and stated that there was a problem with the gearshift. Clearly, there is miscommunication between the 3 people involved and a clear lack of willingness to accept responsibility, despite logic.

Desired Settlement: Much time was wasted and we suffered loss in function of our vehicle's alarm system as a result of bringing our vehicle in to this dealership for a safety inspection. We are asking for a full refund of the labor charges, tax, and shop charge ($101.47) AND reimbursement for the cost to repair and restore the alarm (to be determined).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/23) */ Mr. ******* came to our service department for a state safety inspection. We performed the safety inspection which is a visual inspection. When the technician, **********, went to move the vehicle, he found that, intermittently, the gear shifter would not come out of park. Our service advisor *********** informed myself and Mr. *******. I had **********, who is State licenced, and is certified Master Level by Chrysler, as well as Master ASE certified, to diagnose the concern. He determined that the aftermarket alarm was defective. The module for the aftermarket alarm had a voltage drop. I informed Mr. ******* of the problem. I gave him a solution of removing the alarm and reconnecting the circuit back to factory specification. Mr. ******* was given an estimate of $95.00 to cover the labor time involved to remove the module and reconnect the wiring. He was not happy about the situation but did agree to proceed with the repairs. ***** completed the repairs. The shifter now operated correctly. I agree, it was an unfortunate situation; but it was a coincidence that the aftermarket alarm failed at our shop. If any fault was ours, we would have not charged Mr. *******. His aftermarket alarm failed and we charged him a fair price to repair his vehicle and get him back on the road. As a goodwill gesture, I would like to offer Mr. ******* his next oil change at no charge, when he uses our express lane. If you have any questions you can call me at ********. Thank you, ************ Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you for your response. However, your offer of a complimentary oil change is not sufficient to compensate for the loss of time, money, and function suffered as a result of bringing our vehicle in to your Service Department for a mere safety inspection. Your service employees wasted nearly 5 hours of my husband's time, caused undue stress and the loss of the use of the vehicle overnight, charged an unreasonable amount for labor to solder a wire, and left the alarm partially dysfunctional. You state that the problem that we experienced is an "unfortunate" "failure" or "coincidence." We purchased the vehicle new from your dealership less than 3 years ago and have always entrusted the vehicle to your Service Department's care for regular maintenance, oil changes and repairs, and my husband takes excellent care of the vehicle and regularly visually inspects it; thus, there is little opportunity for someone else to "tamper with" or otherwise trigger these problems. In addition, the alarm system is a Clifford model, a well-recognized brand, was purchased new from an authorized dealer and installed by its factory-trained technicians (according to their website). My husband is the primary driver of the vehicle and has never experienced these types of failures of its alarm system, ignition, or gearshift. In fact, the vehicle was working properly when my husband drove to your Service Department, placed the vehicle in park in your Express Lane, removed the keys, exited the vehicle and handed the keys over to your service representatives, who presumably successfully moved the vehicle out of the way and to dock it for the safety inspection. You state that my husband reluctantly agreed to proceed with the "repairs." My husband felt that he had little choice other than to agree to the repairs so that he could safely drive the vehicle, avoid further problems with the vehicle and so that the problem could be resolved and he could go to work. Of course, he would have preferred not to surrender the loss of the use of the vehicle overnight; however, safety was more important to him. You violated good business ethics by failing to take responsibility for these problems, which are not random and occurred while the vehicle was under your control, and manipulatively charging us for "repairing" it without restoring the vehicle to its prior condition. Your invoice for the labor charges falsely states that the "customer states there is a problem..." when, in reality, your staff actually discovered the problem and notified my husband following the conclusion of the safety inspection. You, personally, acted destructively towards the vehicle by shaking and rattling the alarm module, causing the engine to turn over, while evaluating the situation (I witnessed the sound of the engine turning over via phone when my husband called me while this was happening); then, my husband was asked to pay up to $130 for "repairs" with the contingency that it may be covered under warranty, which amounted to labor to re-route and solder a wire; and, finally, when I questioned the charges for the "repairs" and the origin of the problems, your self-proclaimed service manager unprofessionally blamed the problem on someone previously "tampering" with the vehicle and a "random" timing of the malfunction of the alarm. At this time, our confidence in your care of our vehicle is faltering and we have no desire to bring the vehicle in to your Service Department for complimentary services, nor is a complimentary oil change sufficient to cover our losses, as stated above. Again, we are seeking a cash or check refund of the labor, tax, and shop charges of $101.47 for "repairs" related to the alarm problem, and reimbursement for the cost to restore the alarm system to fully-functional.

10/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Internet ad price of used car at $13,639. Upon presentation of ad on smartphone, dealer said ad wrong & they had to make some money. Wouldn't honor ad We saw a used car for sale on the internet with a "retail Price of $13,639". Got to dealership, test drove the car. When we started talking price, sales person immediately brought in a lady who was the sales/internet manager who said car price was now $19,000. When I told them about the ad on the internet listing the car at $13,639, they both looked flustered and said that ad wasn't the correct price. We then showed them the ad that we had on our smartphone. The VIN was the identical on the ad on our smartphone as the car we had just test drove and were trying to negotiate a price. Even when shown the photo and clip on the smartphone with the same VIN, the lady said it was not the correct price. She then goes to get the "manager". When he came in, he said the price on the internet was not correct. The $13,369 price was their dealer cost price. He said they (the dealership) had to make some money. He said he would not honor the price on the internet and the car price was $19,000. They have since reposted the ad on their web site for the car with the identical VIN for $19,932. We drove from Mililani to this dealership specifically because of the car advertised at a specific price, only to be baited into test driving the car, then we will talk price. When we started talking price, the car with the identical VIN as the ad is now priced at $19,000.

Desired Settlement: Letter of apology admitting "bait and switch" or error and posted on their web site for 90 days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/01) */ Ms. ********** statement or account of her experience with our dealership is correct. She came into our store to purchase a car she had seen on the internet. The price of the car was not discussed until after she had taken a test drive. Once the issue of price was discussed, Ms. ******** showed the salesperson and floor manager the car's price was listed as $13,639 on our website on her cell phone. She was then told by the floor manager that the listing on the site was incorrect and that she would get the store manager. I then went out to speak with Ms. ********. I tried to explain that the actual price of the car was around $19,000 and that the price showing $13,639 was a mistake. I could not sell the car for that price. However, I was willing to work out a very fair price for her. She told me that if she could not buy the car at the $13,639 price, she was not interested. I again offered to make her a very good deal but she again declined and left. Regarding Ms. ********** request for a letter of apology admitting "bait and switch", this was not the case. We use a third party service to maintain our vehicle prices on our website. Unfortunately, they had posted our vehicle cost instead of the retail selling price. This has since been corrected. There was no attempt to switch the customer to any other vehicle. The following disclaimer is displayed on the inventory pages "All prices, specifications and availability subject to change without notice. See dealer for actual details and pricing." This is an unfortunate situation and I would have no problem sending Ms. ******** a letter of apology stating such. ************ General Sales Manager Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The manager did not say that he would make a "very good deal" with this car. The manager stated that the listed internet price of $13,639 was "his cost" and that he "had to make a profit". The manager should have honored his published price that was on the internet regardless of who's fault it was that an incorrect price was published. The price was published on the world wide web! Regarding "bait and switch", I am referring to a "bait" price of $13,639 on the internet for all to see, we are lured by this price to drive many miles to see this vehicle, and then switching the price to $19,000 when someone shows interest in the car. This dealership does not subscribe to a "better business" standard. For a resolution, I do not need a letter of apology, it is useless. This complaint should be published on the BBB web site for all to see how this business works.

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon a request from the dealers to return their vehicle to get my refund down payment, the dealers gave my refund to someone else known to us both. On 07/09/2013 a friend of mine asked if I wanted to get a new car from Windward Dodge (WD) because he is friends w/the head man there. I agreed and we went together to do the deal. Upon completing the deal a down payment of $600.00 was needed of which I didnt have, so my friend offered to lend me the money to pay half the down payment required. The dealers made me sign a promissory note to pay the remaining amount later. That day I went home w/the new vehicle . The next week, I paid my friend back his money and went to WD to pay the remaining payment only to be told that the loan did not go through and that I should return the vehicle and get my refund back. I agreed to return the vehicle and awaited for my refund and was told that they would either mail or call me when it is ready. I returned home disappointed about the vehicle arrangement and not getting my refund as they said I would. Two days later I called WD about my refund and was told that my refund was given to my friend because he lent me the money for the downpayment and they tried to tell me that the receipt for the down payment was in my friends name which is ************. They told me that if I wanted my refund down payment, I should go and talk to **** about it. The salesman **** and *** said that their boss Mr. **** gave the money to Mr ******* and they don't know why. I should mention the shoddy business practice which had me signing a legal contract and taking home a vehicle that was never mine, but I just want my money back from Windward Dodge, I believe they had no right to give my down payment to anyone but me, especially w/o my consent. The friend that they gave my down payment to has left the island and is giving me the runarounds, but I shouldn't have to go after him for a fault that was basically against Windward Dodge.

Desired Settlement: I just want my refund back, if I have to stress anymore about this situation which is causing me to sink into depression, I will seek other settlement means for damages from Windward Dodge. Please help, thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/08/27) */ A refund check for $300 was issued to *************** & ************** on 8/13/2013. On 8/14/2013, the check was picked up by Mr. ********. Due to a misunderstanding, the original refund check was issued to Mr. ********'s friend in error. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The financing employee is unable to produce accurate and quality customer service. On Nov. X XXXX We purchased a 2011 Dodge Nitro from Windward auto sales. Everything was fine on the sales end, however on the financing end it was bad. The employee ******, seemed confused, angry (making harrassing comments about our sales guy.stating he's old and a "nut"), and unorganized. ****** did not print an interest rate on the 1st contract, then he ripped it up and came up with 24% on the 2nd contract, which we didnt see. He said we could go to a bank and get a lower rate.My husband and I financed the Nitro as joint, with both our names on the contract. ****** requested I fax my husbands pay stubs, and our insurance card with Santander as the lender. Automatically I assumed Santander was our lender. On NOv. X XXXX, I faxed my husbands pay stubs and our insurance card with Santander as the lender. On Nov.X XXXX ****** finally returned my calls to confirm he recieved the paperwork, however ****** said he did not. So i had to re-send them. On nov. 12, 2012 ****** left my husband a message saying our interest rate was lowered and to please come down to sign new papers. We were on our way from Pearl City to Kaneohe, i told my husband to call and find out how much it was. when he did ****** sounded confused as to who my husband was, paused for a moment, then said "oh never mind, wrong person". I asked my husband to call the Sales Manager, ***, but Sean said he doesnt handle the finacing, and if thats what ****** said then it was probably a mistake. On Nov 16, the lener called my husband, he was at work so I called the lender to verify our info. When I did, they said I was not on the loan, only my husband and I could not verify the info. I called the GM of Windward Atuo ******, and asked him if there was a problem and if they needed to re-do the contract with only my husband. ****** said he would call me back. That same day ***** the financing Manger called and said he resolved it and I should be on the contract, they should be calling soon. The lender called me on NOv. 29, 2012 to veryify our info. Our first payment is due on Dec. 10, 2012. On Dec 7, 2012 I still did not receive and invoice or billing info for my vehicle. I called ******, and asked him what the contact info was for our lender. He said the lender was Santander and gave me their web site and phone number. I contacted them only to find out our app. with them had expired. Stressed and confused I called the dealership, and spoke with another ****** the used car manager, who looked into my profile and found out GMfinancial was our lender. Upset I asked for the GM ******. ****** listen, but would randomly cut me off as I was explaining how upsetting it is that the person handling my financing doesnt know who my lender is, and was lazy to double check. I reminded him of all the mistakes ****** had made so far, and demanded for them to take the Nitro back, because I refuse to do business with them. ****** explained that ****** was suffering from a condition which requires him to take daily medication, that impares his work preformance, he said he would talk to ***** and get back to me. Later that say ***** called an said the best they can do to remedy the situation is offer 3 years of free oil change, he also stated there was no way the dealership will buy back the Nitro. I pondered about it and eventually said no. On Dec 10,2012 I called ****** about the "remedy offer" and asked for some other solution. On Dec 11, 2012 ***** called and asked if Windward Auto Sales paid for my 5 year GAP insurance if that would be good enough, being I already have 5 years extended warrenty. We accepted the offer, just to get it over with. We still want to return the Nitro. ***** said Aaron my husband would have to be the person to sign the contract. On Dec 14, 2012 I called ***** and asked if i could sign the contract. ***** asked if I was on the Loan, irratated I told him, thats the reason we first got into this mess. Embaressed he said yes. Today is Dec 19 and there still is no contact for me to sign.

Desired Settlement: We would really like Windward Auto Sales to buy back the 2011 Dodge Nitro. Although they made it clear that that is not an option. We are to settle with an offer from Windward Auto Sales, of 5 years of GAP insurance to be paid by the dealership. But we are still hoping they will buy back the vehicle.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 18, 2013/02/15) */ From: ****** ****** (mailto:*****@************.com) Sent: Friday, February 15, 2013 3:41 PM To: ************** Subject: Re: Case # XXXXXXXX: Mrs ****** ****** Ms. *****, Thank you for your patience, there was some confusion on my part as to who would respond to your request. I must apologize as I was involved in handling the ****** complaint at the dealership level. I did look into the complaint from Mrs. ******, apparantly several weeks after the purchase. There was only one issue in her complaint, she wanted to know where to send her payment and she wasn't sure. Our finance manager sent their application to a few different lenders that specialize in sub-prime credit scores and got an approval a some days after they took delivery. This bank, as others do an interview with the customer before final approval. This interviewer was requesting to talk to Mr. ****** as he was the wage earner. Mrs. ****** said she asked if she could do the interview because her husband was not going to be available because of the time difference. The interviewer told her she could not as she only had Mr ****** information. She called very upset. I spoke to my Finance Director who looked into it directly. He reported their application had been submited with both husband and wife and also with only Mr.******, per their instructions "if that's what it requires to get approved". He told me he got an approval with them both and assured me she would be on the loan. He gave Mrs. ****** a 2 year oil change maintenance agreement free of charge. Mrs. ****** called a few weeks later asking for a contact number because she was concerned about the payment due date was approaching. She called me again very upset because the bank she called did not have their loan on file. The manager on duty looked into her file and told her the bank we sent their loan to was different than she asked for. We got her the correct information and she made her payment in time. She wanted something for her inconvienence so I authorized a GAP insurance contract fee of charge, $695 value. I thought she was happy with this until we received this complaint. Sincerely, ******** ******