Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tony Volkswagen

Phone: (808) 680-7170 Fax: (808) 483-5443 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd, Waipahu, HI 96797

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers Selling new and used cars, repair service and selling parts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 in HI Business started locally: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 04/25/1990 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is MVB-774-1.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is RD-3888.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is MVB-774-3.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20425988-01.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant Mr. Reggie McCaw, Social media/Internet sales
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd.
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 680-7170


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have my **** ** ****** taken to Tony Volkswagen for service repair of the fuel pump, after 6 day in the shop(originally was supposed to be 3 days), when I picked up my vehicle I notice that my rear end bumper was scratch and hit. The Service rep, that drove my van to me was not happy that I saw the bumper. He told me to talk to the Customer Rep inside, which I did I also talked to one of the seller there and they saw that needed repairs do to the fact that it happened while it was there on service. I was told that someone was to contact me the following day, and no one did. I had to call after work the next day. I a rude way I was told that the Manager would be handling my case and that I would be receiving a call in a week or so, because the Manager was on leave.After a week the Manager called to setup and apt, and when I when to the appt. the manager was telling me that there was no way that was them even though I show him a picture of the vehicle in the flat bed truck with no scratches or damages to the van. He assure me that the vehicle had many damages which is false and that I'm never happy with them and their service. At the end the manager said that I needed to claim this trough my car insurance and that was it. During this process the Manager was rude and did not care about me or my needs as a customer.

Desired Settlement: I want my Van repair to the original specs. I'm not looking for money or anything I just want them to fix the damages they made to the Van.

Business Response:


August 22, 2015



Better Business Bureau of Hawaii

**** ****** ****** * *** ********* ** **********


RE: Case # ********


To whom this may concern,


We appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ****** ********* concerns once more as it t is certainly never our intentions to provide our customers with products and services which do not meet their expectations and we do apologize for any inconveniences incurred.


Both my staff and I have made several attempts to address this issue directly with Mr. ****** ********* over the phone and in person to explaining our position. 


As Mr. ****** ********* alleges in his complaint, we did not perform the repair to his fuel pump as indicated nor did we perform any repair in the alleged area of concern.   Our repairs were limited to the front engine compartment and an electronic control ignition module.  It may be possible that another repair facility may have performed these repairs prior to us receiving his vehicle. 


Furthermore, after re-inspecting his vehicle and the damages first hand, they appear to be caused by wear and tear associated with someone loading or unloading goods or cargo in the rear compartment as it has sustained scratches on the top surface of the bumper close to the latch or striker plates and not the vertical face of the bumper.  These damages are not consistent with damages caused by vehicle to vehicle contact or by operating the vehicle and striking foreign objects.  


Since Mr. ****** ********* did not accompany the vehicle to our facility and it was dropped off by a third party towing company with no one was present during the vehicle drop off   there is no absolute way of knowing its overall condition.  Our record also indicates the vehicle was too dirty to complete a visual inspection during the check in process and we are also unable to determine what transpired while in the hands of the third party carrier.  This is why we suggested Mr. ****** ********* work with his insurance carrier directly for further assistance. 


It is our belief that our staff and I have addressed Mr. ****** ********* concerns professionally and timely and are saddened he feels differently.  Again, we apologize for any inconveniences this may have caused. 


Please feel free to contact me directly if further assistance is necessary.



Gary H*

Service Manager

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rattling noise coming from driver’s (left) side door is heard often. We have addressed this same complaint since Jan 2014. Service Advisor Jarvell J****** examined and determined that the noise was coming from the lower window regulator nut inside the door panel and, therefore, the nuts were tightened and the noise discontinued temporarily. The same noise began to reoccur. We called Tony VW to schedule maintenance along with repairs for other issues and asked to fix this same noise problem at the same time. Car was brought in for service & repair on May 2015 and we requested to resolve the same problem with the noises. When we picked up the car, we were told that the noise was coming from the roof and no other noises were heard. We have repeatedly asked to have the door examined again since it was repaired previously and the noise was coming from the exact same location. Service Advisor  Brian O** and Service Manager Gary H* insisted that there was nothing wrong as they heard no such noises coming from the door, therefore, refusing to further examine without leaving the car at the Service Department for several days (duration unknown) . Service Manager insisted that our car be test driven numerous times during several days. We did not agree because we have left our car at the Service Department previously and had one of the technicians ride with us.  Unfortunately, the noise was not heard during the ride. We are asking Tony VW to take the initiative and research the root of the problem to alleviate the noise issues as this has been a continuous unresolved issue. Requested to the Service Manager that at least door be first examined to determine if cause of this problem was the same as previous which takes only a few hours to repair but Service Manager would not agree.  Service Manager instead complained about how costly these procedures were for the dealership each time vehicles were examined by technicians/mechanics. Amount of money in dispute $ n/a (warranty)

Desired Settlement: First, examine if the cause of this problem is the same as previous taking only hours to correct. If vehicle cannot be repaired within one day 

Business Response:

June 24, 2015



Better Business Bureau of Hawaii

**** ****** ****** * *** ********* ** **********


RE: Case # ********



To whom this may concern,


We appreciate the time Mr. and Mrs. ****** have taken to express their concerns with their past service experience with us.  It is certainly never our intentions to provide our customers with products and services which do not meet their expectations and we do apologize for any inconveniences incurred.


It is always our goal to fix our customer’s concerns accurately and timely.  I, along with our customer support staff and technical service team have worked closely with the ******’s since their initial concerns of this alleged rattle noise.  We have diligently attempted to duplicate and identify this noise in question and have made numerous technical inspections and extended road testing of the vehicle without ever hearing an abnormal sound.  Along with this, we have directly involved the ******’s and performing several extensive road tests with Mrs. ****** only to have the vehicle operate noise free and as designed by ********** ** *******.  The alleged noise has never been reproduced by us or in the presences of the ******’s. 


In July of 2014 we adjusted the left front door glass to correct a streaking condition on the window.  If Mrs. ****** feels that this has corrected her concerns in the past then we would be happy to look into it once again and she is welcome to schedule an appointment with our location to do so at her earliest convenience.  This operation is expected take approximately two hours of working time and she is welcome to drop off her car or wait while it’s being repaired. 


We encourage the ******’s to coordinate a service visit and road tests when the alleged noise is readily present and during our regular hours of business Monday through Friday when our full technical staff and the technical support of our manufacturer is available.  The appropriate amount of time to fix their vehicle is also appreciated along with making arrangements for alternate transportation if the vehicle requires an extended stay as these services are not provided by us or as part of her New Vehicle Limited Warranty offered by ********** ** *******.


It has always been our desire to resolve the ******’s concerns once and for all.  We will continue to honor their New Vehicle Limited Warranty as outlined by ********** ** ******* and repair any identifiable defects in the product or its workmanship. 



Please feel free to contact me at ************ if you have further questions.






Gary H*

Service Manager

2/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On may, 2013, my wife and I purchased a used 2011 Chevy Malibu at Tony Volkswagen. When we closed the deal, we requested Salesman ***** **** a record of the maintenance performed on said vehicle; he promised to email me a copy of such records. Subsequently, since **** did not keep his word, I called several times, being told that someone would take care of my request.On November, 2013, my family and I moved to Austin, TX, and, naturally, we transported the vehicle to our new city of residence.Lately, I went to local Chevy dealer to have our Malibu checked, due to some engine issues. However, in order to claim the 5-year powertrain warranty, I need to show the complete maintenance records.I declined to buy a brand new Honda CRV at Tony Honda, and opted to buy my Chevy Malibu, because I trusted the Tony Organization,which usually sells used cars in good condition, and its prestige in Hawaii and the USA. As a consequence, I feel very disappointed to be treated as described.

Desired Settlement: I want Tony Volkswagen to produce and send me by mail a complete copy of the maintenance records of my Chevrolet Malibu since the car was purchased by Tony Volkswagen and until it was sold to my wife and I. Additionally, I want the identity of the person or company that owned the vehicle before it was purchased by Tony Volkswagen.

Business Response:

Aloha Mr. ***** *********,


Please accept my apology regarding this matter not being resolved in a timely manner,  ***** no longer works for Tony Group and has left Tony Volkswagen some time ago and  ***** didn’t communicate or shared this information with anyone .


We have enclosed a national Car Fax report for the 2011 Chevy Malibu Vin#***************** ,on this report you will find all the previous owner’s and the inspection that has been done, May 03,2013 we (Tony Honda) have done pre-delivery inspection along with State of Hawaii safety inspection.


please contact me if you need additional information regarding this matter, I will try and provide you the information you need.




****** ***

General Sales Manager

Tony Volkswagen

******* ** *** *****

******** ** *****

Office:************ Fax:************

Email: ******************



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

However, if possible, Can you ask Tony Volkswagen to clearly identify the company that leased my vehicle prior to Tony's ownership?


Cesar Velasquez

9/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received email: VW Synthetic Oil Change for$49.95 after $20 mail-in rebate. I was charged $69.95 but the form said the $20 was for next oil change. Problem 8/13/14. The $20 rebate is to be applied on next service not cash. This I learned after my car was serviced and upon reading the rebate form. The next service regular cost is $99.95. I don't get one oil change for the $49.95 advertised,but two oil changes for $149.90 with the $20 rebate coupon applied. The rebate coupon cannot be used for special oil services; which maybe down to $59.95. I talked to service manager ******* on two occasions, the 2nd and final after consulting with higher management, and he said that I was lucky that Tony Volkswagen charged me a special $69.95 for the oil change. He said that I could only use the $20 rebate coupon only on regularly priced services. My invoice #****** and I paid $76.38 which also contains a $3.00 charge that should have been included in the promotion price. The $20 coupon in the advertisement is worth a 28.59% savings, from the $69.95 price I paid, to arrive at the $49.95 price advertised. The value of the $20 coupon as to be recognized by Tony Volkswagen $20/($69.95 + $99.95) is a savings of only 11.77%. Much less than the return of $20 in cash. This is clearly misrepresentation of the price of service.

Desired Settlement: Tony Volkswagen to charge me $49.95 plus state tax for the service after I present Tony Volkswagen Service Department with my $20 Castrol rebate coupon which I will have sent for and received. The new charge would then be paid with the $76.38 initially paid for the service credited to my charge account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/22) */ August 22, 2014 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii ************************ Honolulu, HI ********** RE: Case # ******** To whom this may concern, We appreciate the time Mr. *** has taken to express his concerns with his past service experience with us. It is certainly never our intentions to provide our customers with products and services which do not meet their expectations and we do apologize for any inconveniences incurred. We have made several attempts to address this issue directly with Mr. *** explaining that the coupon and promotion he has chosen is a national promotion directly from Volkswagen of America along with a rebate offered directly from Castrol Oil Company and is not originated from Tony Volkswagen. While we participated in this promotion and adjusted the overall cost of our oil change service by approximately $30.00 to match the national offer, he would need to follow the coupon as outlined to receive a voucher directly from Castro Oil Company. Together, we reviewed the program rules and restrictions advising him to follow them to receive the maximum benefits of the promotion. Unfortunately the offer does not allow for any type of cash redemption. On behalf of Mr. ***, we have also directly contacted Volkswagen of Americas national adverting division to share his concerns and review the promotions and disclaimers to assure him it that this has been administered in accordance to their programs rules and guidelines. It is our understanding that he has also been in contact with them directly and they too have reviewed and explained the parameter of this promotion. While we are unable to provide Mr. *** with any additional monetary offers, he is invited to complete the promotion as outlined and will honor the $20.00 voucher in question towards further retail purchases of merchandise or services within the next 12 months. Restrictions will apply to all advertised promotions or national offers by us, Castro Oil Company or Volkswagen of America. Sincerely, ******* Service Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are taking the same position they have previously taken and not addressing the fact that the $49.95 offer for the oil service cannot be obtained in anyway. The offer is not possible and their answer does not in anyway explain how anyone can obtain the oil service for $49.95. This is exactly the same poor service I have received from Tony Volkswagen in my last interaction. I have been doing business with Tony Volkswagen since 2002 and this service team is the first one that I have found unsatisfactory.