Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tony Nissan

Phone: (808) 680-7150 Fax: (808) 483-5443 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd, Waipahu, HI 96797 http://www.tonynissan.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers selling new and used cars, service repair and selling parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 1976 Business started: 10/25/1988 in HI Business started locally: 10/25/1988 Business incorporated 10/25/1988 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20406440-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-405.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-2539.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Pacific Nissan, Inc.
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR CAR-REPAIR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We *****d a new **** ****. When we were going through the financials/contracts with the Finance Department, one of the many 'packages' we were offered, was the VSC or Vehicle Service Contract. We were told that if we added this option and we returned the car (b/c of the *****) we could get a prorated amount back (about 1/2 since the VSC contract was for 8 yrs & our ***** was for about 3-1/2 yrs). At the end of the *****, I got the contract & followed the instructions to get part of my purchase price refunded to me. I mailed the required information to Tony Nissan. 5 months later, I wrote another letter because I did not hear from them at all. A few days after I mailed the 2nd letter, Tony Nissan called. They said they refunded the amount to Nissan. 1-Why did it take 5 months & a follow up letter to get back to me? Not good customer service at all! 2-Why was the check given to Nissan? and not the customer? The woman said because we *****d the car, the amount was financed through Nissan, therefore the refund was given to them. If we paid for the package with cash, then we would have gotten the refund. I fulfilled my ***** obligations, therefore 'paid' the entire purchased amount of the VSC. Why am I not entitled to the refund? Although I am very upset about the refund given to Nissan,I am more upset that my husband & I were misled. We were told that we, the customer, would be given the refund. It was never mentioned that the refunded money would go to Nissan. Why would we purchase an 'option' that cost us $2,698 if we were told of a possible refund that would not even benefit us? If the Finance Department told us that this VSC contract refunded (prorated) amount would be given to Nissan, we would have never purchased it. The car was brand new & the contract supposedly covers mechanical failure. It doesn't make sense for a customer to get this protection on a new car (majority of problems would be covered by warranty)..unless they were falsely told about the 'benefits'

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the amount that was given to Nissan ($1541.82). I would also like Finance Departments, especially at car dealerships, to not sell 'packages' by misleading customers. I know this is a very difficult thing to regulate and control, but I believe that many people have been taken advantage of & do not say anything.

Business Response: Dear Mrs.  ***** ********, 
When Tony Nissan received your cancellation request on January 28, 2016, apparently your letter did not mention that the refund was to be issued to you.  Therefore, we just followed the standard procedure and issued the refund to the bank on the record which was Nissan ******** ***** *****.   We mailed the check to them on Feb 18, 2016 in the amount of $1541.82.   Since this is the normal procedure that  there was any overpayment made to the bank, any and all refunds would be issued to you by Nissan ******** ***** ***** after their examination.  After receiving your second letter on June 21, 2016 , with  further research, we reached out to Nissan ******** ***** *****. We have since confirmed that they have issued a refund check to you on July 5, 2016 , which you should be receiving this check shortly. In the event you do not receive the refund within the next 7-10 days, p***** feel free to call  me at 808-******** and I will be glad to contact the bank again  on your behalf.


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

6/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I receive emails from Tony Nissan with offers to trade-in my vehicle, buy a new vehicle or service my vehicle with them. I did buy my current vehicle from them. However, I have clicked their "unsibscribe" option on these emails at least twice now and I still receive emails from them. The most recent email was sent to me on June 23rd, 2016. I have chosen to "unsubscribe" again but fear this is useless as I have done this multiple times already. This is bordering on harassment.

Desired Settlement: I do not want any more marketing offers from this company. Whether in the form of email or paper mail. I also do not want any phone calls with any future marketing offers.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****,

 

We have reviewed your case and have found that you were only opted out of our service emails.  We have four different marketing categories:  campaigns; sales follow up; service follow up; service reminders.  It is possible that for whatever reason you only opted out of service emails.  We have now removed you from all four categories and you should not be receiving any emails in the future.  We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.  Please contact us if you have any further concerns.

 

Thank you,

 

The Tony Group


Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

Although I "accept" the response from the business, I find their practices deceiving.  They claim I only opted out of emails regarding certain marketing campaigns.  If I opt out from ANY campaign from a business, they should discontinue emailing any further marketing offers regardless of intent.     

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ****

6/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I *supposedly* closed a deal today--to include with the salesman, floor manager, and general manager. We agreed on an "OTD" (OTD) price IN WRITING. I signed the agreement, then left to pick up my wife and a check. When I came back, the supposed "floor manager" (Cal D.) tried to jack up the price by another 6%. I met with the supposed "general manager" (Mike D.), and he just said sorry, no can do. Absolutely dishonest. Maybe they made a mistake, but a deal is a deal--the fact that they could back out of it without blinking is simply stunning. I'm hoping they'll realize how bad this is and call me back, but I'm not holding my breath. Yes, I do have a photo of the original negotiation paperwork with my initials next to Mike DeMello's approved offer.

Desired Settlement: Complete the deal, as agreed to in the original paperwork. Any apology would be nice. Compensation for my wasted time (I took off work today to complete this deal) would be restore my faith in the Nissan corporation and Tony Nissan in particular.

Business Response:

6-1-2016

Re: ****** ** *****’s BBB Letter

Dear Mr. ****** *****

We have reviewed your concern and have done extensive research into the matter. We collected all related documents and produced a time line of events. After our managerial review we have determined that there was no written price commitment at your offer. We have also interviewed the salesperson and the manager involved at the time of engagement and have confirmed that there was no verbal or written commitment at your offer. We appreciate your offer and an opportunity to earn your business however unfortunately we are unable to accept your offer for purchase.

 

We pride ourselves in customer service here at Tony Nissan and have an excellent track record at providing it. 

 

Please contact me, Debbie A****, if you would like to discuss this matter further or if you can provide any documentation that you received from us that supports your concern.

 

Thank you,

 

Debbie A****

General Sales Manager

Tony Nissan

680-7150


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Tony Nissan's response states “there was no written price commitment,” which disregards the attachment I provided in my original complaint. The attachment was a photograph of the original agreement, the final amount as depicted in the photo was written by the floor manager himself (Cal).  After the manager wrote the amount shown in the photo, he had me wait while he obtained concurrence from his general manager (Mike).  Cal then returned and confirmed with m that the amount was approved; we shook hands on the agreement, and I asked if I could pick up my wife to close the deal.  As an experienced car buyer, I am quite aware of the difference between ongoing negotiations and closing a deal—it is quite normal to wait for the general manager to have the “final say.”  To claim that this amount was never agreed to is a blatantly false statement.  I am disappointed that Nissan's "extensive research" failed to notice the photograph of their own agreed to price. 

Sincerely,
****** *****



Sincerely,

****** *****

5/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is my belief that Tony Autoplex service department made unnecessary repairs to my vehicle in order to charge the highest dollar amount possible. I have saved invoices from the business that show that two of the spark plugs from my vehicle were not operating correctly, but the maintenance technician chose to replace all four. In addition to that, the technician also chose to replace all four coil packs, despite the fact that none of them appeared to be malfunctioning. I spoke to several automotive mechanics in my area, asked them what their professional opinion would have been if this vehicle was brought to them for repairs, and I was told from each of them that these were unnecessary repairs made to charge excessively for work that did not need to be performed. The price of one spark plug was marked at $26.91 per item. The price of the coil assembly was $176.88 per item. The total amount for the replaced parts were $107.64 and $707.52 respectively. In addition to the unnecessary repairs made to my vehicle, I received a listing of other recommended repairs that Tony ****** offered as services to be performed in the future. One such listing was "TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT IS ON AND FLASHING ($140.00 DIAGNOSTIC CHARGE)". After leaving the automotive repair center at Tony ******'s dealership, I immediately checked the air in all four tires to adjust air pressure as necessary. All of my tires were at the manufacturer recommend pressure of 32 PPI, with the exception of the passenger front tire, which was set to 40 PPI. While it would be understandable that my tire pressure might be lowered across the vehicle due to use or environmental effects, the only plausible explanation is that a mechanic would have added air to that tire to "create" an error that would be no less than $140 to diagnose. There's no way to tell how much I would have been charged had I returned to ask them to "diagnose" the excess air added to my vehicle. The air pressure warning light was not illuminated prior to to my service.

Desired Settlement: I would like a partial refund from Tony ****** in the amount of $929.34. That is the total cost of the coil assemblies, two of the spark plugs, and one-half of the labor cost, considering that the majority of parts installed were not necessary. As much as I am convinced that Tony ****** exhibited fraudulent business practices, I am only concerned with the refund on part of the unnecessary repairs made. I will not seek further contact, business, or litigation/arbitration with them.

Business Response:


Response to BBB Complaint filed by ****** ******:
We have the following response to the claim by ****** ****** that we “made unnecessary repairs” to the **** ****** ****** VIN: *****************.  
The vehicle was checked into our repair shop with the following concerns:
1.SES Warning Light (Service Engine Soon)  on and engine runs rough
Upon inspection the vehicle was found with diagnostic trouble code of P3000 which indicates a misfire from multiple cylinders.  The technician was able to verify the misfire from cylinders 1 & 4 with physical evidence of electronic arching on these (2) ignition coil assemblies.  With evidence of arching damage to ignition coils 1 and 4, and the presence of diagnostic trouble code P3000 for multiple cylinder misfire the technician recommended replacement of (2) ignition coils (1 and 4) to remedy the misfire and (2) additional ignition coils (2 and 3) as preventative maintenance.  4 spark plugs were also recommended as they were original and recommended by ****** to be replaced at 60,000 miles (the vehicle had 66,811 miles on the odometer).  The customer was not charged for labor to replace the spark plugs as the ignition coils were being replaced.  We provided the customer with an estimate to address (2) ignition coils and spark plugs with the understanding that the vehicle’s existing original ignition coils may fail soon causing the customer to have to return for essentially the same repair.  The customer elected to replace all ignition coils and spark plugs for this repair.  The repairs made completely resolved the concern of the Service Engine Soon warning light and engine running rough condition.
Also, to address the claim that we increased the tire pressure to 40 PSI to induce a false Low Tire Pressure Monitor warning light is inaccurate based on how the ****** Low Tire Monitoring System operates.  The Low Tire Pressure Monitor warning light will come on with a solid (non-flashing) warning if the tire pressures vary by 25% with relation to one another.  40PSI of tire pressure on one tire will NOT cause a flashing Low Tire Pressure warning light.  The flashing Low Tire Warning Light generally stems from a tire pressure sensor failure.  The diagnostic fee quoted would be to determine what sensor is failing.
In summary, Tony ****** provides repair recommendations based on the current mechanical evidence but also considers future mechanical failures that may be related to the current condition.  We will make the recommendations for a complete and lasting repair. We allow the customer to define how they want the vehicle repaired based on our recommendations and their personal situation.   In this case the customer elected to replace components as recommended.  Subsequently, the vehicle was repaired properly and no longer displays the symptoms it was checked in for.  The customer was given additional observations on needed maintenance and opted to decline additional work.  Tony ****** has conducted this repair visit within ****** guidelines for repair and maintenance.  The request for refund is denied.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The policy described by the business is disingenuous at best. They claim to make recommendations and act on the advise of the customer, but the technician I spoke to on the phone informed me that these repairs were necessary to make the car operate normally. I explicitly asked, "Are all of these repairs absolutely necessary?" to which he responded, "Yes, if you want your car to run normally again, those are the repairs that need to be made." I was outright lied to about of the urgency of these repairs. 

In general, if the checks and services performed on the vehicle were truly ideal, two perfectly functioning pieces of equipment would not have been needlessly repaired. In the most simplistic example I can provide, I offer this: how did a tire get air added to it, when it was already at the manufacturer's recommended air pressure? Was it by carelessness through the maintenance staff? Or was it intentional malfeasance in an attempt to garner money for fabricated work that did not need to be done? This entire repair is exemplary of shady business practices and the complete denial of wrongdoing or mistakes made on part of Tony ****** are egregious and very disappointing when coming from a business that is rated so highly by the BBB.

Sincerely,

****** ******

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle in May 2015, (**** ********* *******)after 2 weeks the car would not start do to a bad battery. I called the dealership and was told "Its because you must of left the lights on and we can't cover battery replacement." After charging the battery and it still not starting, I called Tony Nissan and only after threating to return the car they agree to replace the battery. Recently the check engine light came on and I took it to ********* ********** for that and oil change. I was informed by the ASE certified technician that the check engine light is do to a hose that has come undone and the reason for it is because electrical tape was used to secure the hose and not the proper way to connect a hose. Tony Nissan Is the only place that has done work on my vehicle. Tony Nissan also informed to me that a vehicle inspection was done on my vehicle. This finding makes me feel like nothing was done and I was sold a vehicle under false pretenses.

Desired Settlement: To pay for the repairs and to performa second inspection to ensure the vehicle is in working order. Or what Tony Nissan feels is proper compensation for the problems caused.

Business Response:

This is to inform BBB that Mr. ******* ******* *****  will be bringing in the car on Tuesday 1-26-2016 at 9am. Tony Nissan will diagnose the check engine light. If it is due to a defective hose, we have agreed to replace it. Once the work is completed , we will re-inspect the vehicle. We will also provide alternative transportation for the customer while the work is being done.  Mr. ***** states that if all of this is done, he will be satisfied and the issue will be resolved.

Sincerely,


Debbie A****

Sales Manager

Tony Nissan

******* ** *** **** ******** ** ***** *** *** ****

9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last fall, Tony Nissan failed to repair my vehicles Air Conditioning unit as agreed upon. After four unsuccessful visits, the service manager, Kale K*****, declined to follow through on a commitment to repair the A/C problem and stated that he would refund my expenses to that point, approximately $1800. He has not followed through on this commitment either.Ultimately, I went to *********. They did an excellent job repairing the Air Conditioning Unit.

Desired Settlement: Since ********* has already resolved the problem, it would be appropriate for Tony Nissan's service manager to follow through on returning the funds I expended on a repair that was not successfully completed by his team.

Business Response:

 

September 22, 2015

 

BBB Case:            ********            

Customer:           ***** *********

We have received the BBB Case filed by ***** *********.  In March of this year we had come to an agreement of refund with Mr. ********* for the amount of $1,658.25.  We issued a check for that amount to Mr. ********* (check#******-dated March 25, 2015).  The check was not received by Mr. ********* due to a clerical oversight on our part.  We apologize for the error.  A check for the amount of $1,658.25 has been re-issued for Mr. *********.  We have left (3) messages on Mr. *********’s voicemail at the ************ contact number.  We left one message on the alternate contact number we have for him at ***** ********.  We also sent an email to Mr. ********* notifying him of the availability the refund.  He did not respond to any of our contact attempts.  We would like to meet with Mr. ********* at his earliest convenience to settle this matter.

Sincerely,

Kale K*****

Service Manager, Tony Nissan

7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 4 new tires and I wanted the cheaper one since I didn't need all 4 and received the more expensive ones without being told. Brought my 2012 Nissan ****** into them on 7/22/14 to have my front left head light replaced and to check tire sensor light that has been blinking for a month. Come to find out back left tire sensor was bad and they had to change it out. Plus the tire warped so he suggested it get changed out but both back tires. So I shopped around to get a better deal & talked back & forth with **** *******. He told me for 2 goodyear tires they were $505 and the continental tires were $535. At first I said I suggested we put the same tires on the back that was in the front and **** said "I believe they are goodyear" and I said so put those on. Never once called me to tell me what kind of tires were already on there. Later I then thought about getting 4 brand new tires to have all the same & asked **** if Nissan had any deals on 4 tires. He stated buy 3 get 1 free. I called around before accepting his offer & took that deal and told him I was trying to save money since tires are exoensive. Later around 5 PM when I went to pick up my vehicle **** went over the charges on a sheet and I paid while he left for the day. I received my keys and walk out to my vehicle to find scratches on my front bumoer along with the more expensive Continental tires. I got someone to assist me as I was unhappy to find the wrong tires on but more upset to find my bumper with scracthes. They kept my vehicle so they could send it to the shop for repair and put me in a rental. They also needed to talk to **** about the tires to get his side of the story. I spoke with **** on 7/23/14 and he stated that I told him to put the same tires on that I already had on. I told him that was prior to purchasing the 4 and just if it was going to be the back 2 changing out to have it match. I specifcally told him I was trying to save money in all areas. He said we couldn't do anything about it since tires were already mounted on when I asked him to put the tires I wanted which were the goodyear tires. I don't want to pay for anything more expensive when I didn't even need 4 tires. He basically blew it off. The customer service there is lacking and I have not heard back from a manager since the incident happened.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to refund me the difference in price from the tires if they are not able to change them out to the ones I wanted. I still don't have posession of my vehicle but I paid for everything in full. Something needs to be done regardless of them taking my vehicle to get repairs since they scracthed it up, left the grease on my vehicle from changing the tires out. Basically not cleaning up their work and putting pride into what they do. Also for getting and paying for the tires I did not ask for.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2014/07/25) */ One of the lady managers named ***** helped me on 7/24/14. She is very professional and handled my situation very we'll as well as on the day it happened when I asked for a manager. She assured me everything will be taken cared of. I want to thank her for having great customer service and for helping me during this time.

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mechanical work that I thought was going to be done never got done In April of 2013 I took my 2005 nissan pathfinder in for some issues my car had a oil leak one of my reservoir containers were leaking and I still had warranty so I dropped it off later tony nissan service advisor ********* called me to let me know that my warranty asked for a tear down on the engine she informed me that if they were going to pay for it just let them do it she calls me back with bad news my warranty wouldn't be covering the tear down due to lack of maintenance that they had someone come out and look at the engine because they found sludge I asked if I could come down and take a look at there findings and I would not be paying for the tear down either she agreed that they would take care of it went down to tony nissan looked at the car the engine did have sludge I asked her does it cover all of this gesturing the whole engine she said yes picked up the car after nissan had it for about 2 weeks come February of 2014 the car has issues again reading low oil level on the gauge and some lights on the dash also car pulling to the right we drop it off later they call the tie rods need to be changed and the oil pressure gauge is not doing what we said it was they inform us that the parts need to be ordered and when the oil gauge does it again to bring it back not even half way home the gauge is reading low next day before going to work i stopp by and show them the oil gauge ***** brings his technician out to look at it he informs me that it's normal for trucks to do this I ask for another pathfinder to test drive so I could see if it was normal technician tells me there isn't one I can test drive two of them are telling me to leave the car so they can check the oil pressure again I said again they inform me that they tested the oil pressure that it was reading up to spec I told them that I did not care what it was reading my gauge is telling me low is that not a problem I tell two of them I can't leave the car because I need to go to work I'll bring it back when the parts come in 1week later take the car back for the back ordered parts get a call from ***** about the car they put the tie rods on and they found sludge I then tell him u found sludge how soon does sludge form in the engine I tell ***** that your department just did engine work u guys we're suppose to have removed all of that sludge he couldn't give me a answer he would have to go look at my history on the work they did he wants to drop the oil pan I tell him that I can't leave the car any longer but we could bring it back another day and if they just checked it when I dropped it off the last time we wouldn't be in this situation march 18 im taking the car back again because it's pulling to the right there's a thumping noise now and back for the oil gauge when I'm there ***** lets me know about my visit in April 2013 we're talking back and forth he tells me when they did work I did a timing chain replacement I then ask so u guys just left all that crap in the engine meaning all the sludge he says yes because I didn't ask for a engine flush they just did what was specified I told ***** I thought that I was getting sludge removal with wat I was paying he asked if I wanted to talk to the manager I said yes I wait a little while for kale the service manager I go with him to his office talk to him for a bit he's trying to tell me things I already know I am asking why was I recommended brake flush battery change but not told that they were going to leave sludge in my motor I then ask why I wasn't recommended to remove the sludge I thought wasn't going to be there he has no answer for me I tell him that I don't feel like I want to leave the car there lack of what they should be doing and what they didn't do all said and done he wants to offer to look into it free of charge told him I wasn't comfortable leaving the car with them that I needed to leave

Desired Settlement: Refund for not getting what I thought I was yeah they did my timing chain but they left all the sludge in the motor that could potentially cause damage to the car and timing chain job would have been for nothing gas reimbursement because I went there I don't know how many times to still end up with a car that still has issues maybe a apology for not informing me that they left sludge in the engine had to find out a year later

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/03) */ On March 29, 2013, ********** checked the 2005 Nissan Pathfinder (102,257 miles on the odometer) into Tony Nissan Service Department since the vehicle needed the multiple repairs. During the repair of the whine noise from the engine, signs of engine oil sludge were found. The customer's service contract declined to pay for repairs to the engine timing chain and guide system due the existence of engine oil sludge. The service contract declined to pay the repair since they considered that this type of engine oil sludge is caused by lack of the maintenance. The customer was invited to witness the engine sludge and damage to the engine timing chain guides by personally meeting with our technician. Our technician explained that as part of the timing chain tensioner repair, the engine sludge would be removed only from the timing cover area. Tony Nissan never promised nor quoted to the customer that all the sludge in the engine assembly will be all removed with this repair. The customer authorized the repairs and the work was completed as stated on Repair Order ******. One year later in March, 2014, the customer brought this vehicle to repair low oil pressure concern. When advised the low oil pressure may be caused by engine oil sludge the customer claimed that this problem was caused because Tony Nissan did not remove all the sludge from engine during the last repair. Tony Nissan only removed the sludge from the timing chain front cover area. However, as the goodwill gesture, Tony Nissan offered to perform a more detailed evaluation of the engine oil sludge at our expense. The customer declined our offer. We strongly feel that the repair in March 2013, was completed with customer's authorization and Tony Nissan is not obligated to refund the cost of the repair preformed in 2013. However, Tony Nissan values every customer we service. Therefore, we will cover the customer's portion of $100 deductible which is not yet paid by the customer on her service contract for the March 2014 repair, the order No. ******. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not agree the service manager explain to me that they did not recommend me anything because it would have cost about 8000$ to do the motor sludge job i called a few places and they thought that I was joking on how much he said it would cost to remove sludge how do I know they did anything to the car they we're suppose to do a alignment after they put the new parts in I had good year check my alignment and the alignment tony Nissan said they did was a joke got the specs before and after and alignment was off before ******** did another alignment so what are they paying 100$ for how do I know if they did anything to the car have paper work from ******** specs before and after wish I had paper work from Nissan on there alignment cause alignment was still off after Nissan said they did one claiming tires were worn I really don't know if you were looking at my car or someone else's all said and done how do I really know if Nissan did what they say they did for all I know they did nothing to the car a year ago they told me they did a alignment ******** says different still want my money back and I don't think I owe 100$ if they didn't do what they we're suppose they owe me 60 something for the alignment I had to pay for from another company because tony Nissan did not do the alignment after they supposedly put in new parts there words are hard to believe after ******** performed the alignment the car no longer pulls to the right thank you ******** someone is finally doing something rite on the car want my money back I think tony Nissan tries to make a buck off of idiots but I don't want be one of them want my money back

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My 08 Nissan Altima has squeking wiper noise. Nissan service dept recommend to replaced wiper blades and wiper motor. Squeking noise was not resolved. I am writing this email to inform you that I was not satisfied with the windshield wiper repair that was done on my car by Tony Nissan Service Dept. When I brought my 08 Nissan Altima on 12 Jul, the main purpose was for oil change service. I asked *************( Nissan Service Advisor) to have the service technician look at the wiper since It has been squeking noise since I bought the car from a private party last year. **** asked if I replaced the wiper blades. I told him that I've just replaced both wipers with a COSTCO brand about 3 months ago. He recommend a Nissan brand wiper for $34.88. I agree to replaced the wipers with a Nissan brand. After the wipers have been replaced and the squeking noise was not resolved, **** informed me that the problem might be the window wiper motor and to check the motor, the cost will be $79.95. Again I agree to have the wiper motor checked. **** informed me that the window wiper motor was broke and the cost for a new motor was $194.74. The part is not in stock and will take 5-10 days. The cost to installed the new wiper motor is $67.50. Since I really wanted to fix the squeking noise, I agree to replaced the wiper and wait for 5-10 days. I drove my car out from the service dept without a winshield wiper and luckily it did not rain at all until my next appointment on 24 Jul. The wiper motor was installed and before I left the service dept, I test the wiper and I did not hear any noise. I was satisfied. Since it seldom rain since Jul 24, I used the wiper maybe twice and start hearing little noise but did not pay attention to it. Last 22 Aug when it rained really hard in Pearl City/Aiea area, the squeking noise become louder. Almost the same noise level when I brought the car on 12 Jul. I called the Nissan Service Dept on 23 Aug (Fri), the lady who answered the call said all Service Advisor were busy and someone will rerturn my call. Nobody called me back. I called the Service Dept again on 26 Aug (Mon), again I was told that all Service Advisor were busy and someone will return my call. No one return my call. The third time I called on 27 Aug (Tue), I complained to the lady that answered the phone that no one was returning my call. She was able to connect me to a service advisor and was told to bring my car on 30 Aug at 2:00 pm. ************* was my service advisor again on 30 Aug. I explained to him the problem. After about an hour, **** told me that the problem why the wiper have squeking noises was because the windshield. The driver side of the windshield was uneven due to a prior damaged due to a collision accident. I told him that I bought it from a private party and was not told that it has prior accident. Since the wiper squeking noise was not resolved after installing a Nissan wiper blades and new wiper motor as suggested by your Nissan teachnician, and after paying for the labor costs to check the old wiper motor and installed a new one. The total is closed to $400. I strongly believe that the original COSTCO wipers and wiper motor were not defective. My best guess was Nissan technician mistakenly misdiagnosed the squeking noise. I've sent an email to Mr ****** (Nissan Service Manager) and Ms ***** (Cutomer Service Manager) last 02 Sep (Mon). In addition, I've sent another follow-up email to Mr ****** and Ms ***** again on 03 Sep (Tue) becaused it rained that same day in Kunia Road/Fort Weaver area. The squeking noise was worse than when I originally brought my car last 12 Jul. Very irritating. I told both thay whatever their repair technician did, it was totally unsat. I asked for expeditious resolution on this matter. I expect at least a quick phone call or email telling me that they are looking at it. But up to today, 08 Sep, no one is calling me or replying on email. The worse part, it rained yesterday and again the wiper noise was worse and very irritating. Looking forward from hearing from you on how to resolve this issue

Desired Settlement: I have copies of all receipts and invoices. I would like a full refund (almost $400). I am also requesting for Tony Nissan Service Dept to repair the wiper noise without additional cost to me. I am aware that the squeking noise will not be totally iliminated. But I want them to fix it that the noise level will return to the original when I initially bought the car last 12 Jul. The original noise was manageable compare to the squeking noise after Tony Nissan Service Dept replaced the wiper blades and wiper motor.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/12) */ We have reviewed your case and request. We will be refunding the total amount of the repairs for the wiper issue ($411.85). We apologize for not correctly diagnosing the wiper noise from the beginning. We recommended wiper blade replacement on RO ****** to address the noise. The noise persisted and our technician recommended the wiper motor assembly. On RO ****** Tony Nissan paid for the windshield to be replaced. We replaced the windshield at our expense because it sustained damage during the replacement of the wiper motor assembly. When the windshield glass was removed we discovered the root cause of the noise from the wipers to be a pre-existing body corrosion issue. The metallic body frame where the windshield glass mounts to the vehicle shows signs of rust corrosion. This condition is preventing the windshield from sitting flush to the vehicle's body. The wiper blades will not sit flush against the windshield due to the uneven surface of the glass caused by the rust corrosion. The rust corrosion will need to be addressed at a body shop. The evidence of the corrosion damage was concealed. The glass shop vendor noted the glass and body showed signs that it may have been previously removed or that a repair may have been previously attempted in that area. We referenced the vehicle's rust warranty from Nissan hoping we could assist with a warranty rust repair. It appears that this vehicle may have been involved in some issue that resulted in some of the factory warranty being cancelled. The factory corrosion warranty, powertrain warranty and basic warranty was cancelled by Nissan after just 2 years. Tony Nissan will not be participating in the repair of the pre-existing body corrosion on this vehicle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Nissan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)