BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Selling new and used cars, Repair service, Selling parts

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Hyundai Autoplex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Hyundai Autoplex include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Hyundai Autoplex
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 06, 2006 Business started: 11/17/2004 in HI Business started locally: 11/17/2004 Business incorporated: 04/25/1990 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3849.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-774.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-774-3.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-4167.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Tony Hawaii Automotive Group, Ltd. Tony Hyndai Honolulu
Additional Information

This company offers Hyundai new cars, parts, and services.


Additional Locations

  • 1069 S Beretania St

    Honolulu, HI 96814

  • 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 679-3400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tony Hyundai Waipio has failed to honor the 10 year/100,000 mile warranty agreement that came with the purchase of our 2006 Hyundai *****. A quick overview of the sequence of events that has led us to our current situation goes as follow: On April 23rd of last month, we were returning home from church and driving up the H-2 freeway when we noticed the car began losing power. It should be noted that none of the dashboard indicator lights or gauges had alerted us of an overheating engine or any loss of oil. We proceeded to exit the freeway at the next off ramp and began to hear noises coming from the engine. Within seconds, the car stopped operating, leaving us stranded within the shoulder area of Meheula Parkway about a mile short of our home. We called our son who helped tow the car to our house, that was later towed to Hyundai Waipio dealership the following day to determine the cause of failure. It should also be noted that, we did not authorize either verbally or in writing that Hyundai service center could disassemble the engine to determine cause of failure. If Hyundai had asked for our permission to disassemble the engine, we would have elected to first take the car to a third party mechanic to ask for their professional opinion as to the cause of failure. Moving forward to this past week, Hyundai informed us that the cost to replace the engine is approximately $14,000, and feels that 50% of this cost should be borne upon us. Their reasoning is that the engine was damaged due to a failed thermostat which caused the engine to overheat, which warped the engine block and cylinder heads. The service manager, ************, mentioned to us that although the engine is covered for 10 years, the thermostat is only covered under a 6 year warranty (the car is 8 years old). If this is the case, we offered to pay for the thermostat replacement, per warranty agreement, and Hyundai should pay for the engine replacement, per warranty agreement. As I mentioned above, no indicator or warning gauges forewarned us of overheating and the possibility of a thermostat failure. We did what any "reasonable" driver would have done in a similar situation. It should be noted that there are 2 types of thermostats, the cheaper ones that fail in either the open or closed position. If failed in the closed position could overheat and damage the engine. The more expensive is called a "fail-safe" thermostat and only fails in the open position, protecting the engine. Hyundai used the cheaper which costs $15, as opposed to $25 for the better. The ***** is the top of the line Hyundai. In searching for a fair and amicable resolution to the matter, we offered the following 3 options for Hyundai to choose from. On 4/23/14, they informed us we would get $0 compensation. Option #1: The ***** Blue Book value for this model, year, mileage, and condition is $6,700. We propose Hyundai cuts a check in this amount and they keep the damaged car. Option #2: Hyundai replaces this vehicle with another operable 2006 used ***** having similar mileage, with similar wear and tear conditions. Option #3: Hyundai fulfills the current warranty agreement and provides a replacement engine at their cost. Their option of a 50/50 split is unreasonable, considering the fact that the ***** Blue Book value for a used 2006 ***** is only $6,700. Why would someone spend $7,000, only to resell the car to someone else for less money? Therefore this cannot be considered a fair and reasonable option. We are currently at a standoff since Hyundai may not believe a warning light had come on prior to the engine failing, and us not knowing whether the thermostat shown to us at our 4/19 meeting with Mr. ****** was in fact the themostat from our car since we did not authorize engine disassembly, nor do we know that the engine failed first and the high temperatures led to damaging the thermostat sensor. Again, nobody will know for certain. Their office does have documentation that I have religiously maintained and made all past repairs to my ***** only with your service center. Their $0 compensation is unfair and unjust.

Desired Settlement: See described 3 options presented to Hyundai stated above.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/06) */ Dear Mr. and Mrs. *****, On March 24th 2014 your 2006 Hyundai ***** was towed into Tony Hyundai Autoplex because the engine would not stay running Tony Hyundai provided to you, at no cost other than fuel use, a Service Rental Vehicle 2013 Hyundai Elantra GT black at the time of drop off. You had use of this free vehicle for approximately 3 weeks while Tony Hyundai Service Dept ascertained the cause of failure and extent of damages. Tony Hyundai determined that the engine was severely overheated due to continued use in an overheat condition cause by a faulty thermostat that was "stuck" in the closed position. The vehicle was driven till engine failure. The preliminary extent of the damages included warped, due to heat, cylinder heads and engine block along with thermostat. At the time the thermostat was determined to be the cause of failure Tony Hyundai consulted the Hyundai Motor America warranty coverage guide and found the cause of failure thermostat to only be covered under the factory limited 5 year or 60,000 mile warranty. Next Tony Hyundai called the Hyundai Motor America warranty helpline and found that the cause of failure thermostat is covered under warranty 5 years or 60,000 miles and since the thermostat caused the engine to fail the engine will not be covered also. Mrs. ***** was notified of findings, presented with a repair estimate or offers to trade in the vehicle. Tony Hyundai called the Hyundai Motor America representative and asked for any type of Goodwill assistance toward the repairs. HMA offered to pay for half the cost of repairs. Mrs. ***** declined goodwill assistance toward repairs and declined to trade vehicle in. Hyundai Motor America determines warranty eligibility not Tony Hyundai. Tony Hyundai administers Hyundai Motor America's warranties as directed by Hyundai Motor America. Therefore, Tony Hyundai has not failed to honor the 10 year/100,000 mile warranty as you stated on line 1. While it is unfortunate Mr. and Mrs. ***** had experienced problems with your 2006 ***** Tony Hyundai has facilitated the purchase of your vehicle by Hyundai Motor America in accordance with your option #1 stated resolution. With regards to the negative Yelp and Dealer Rater reviews you posted against Tony Hyundai, we ask that you remove them as Tony Hyundai has facilitated the purchase of your 2006 ***** according to your option #1 and you have no claim against Tony Hyundai. Sincerely, Tony Hawaii Automotive Group Ltd. Dba, Tony Hyundai Autoplex Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On 3-23-14 my car completely stopped running on the street. There was no indicator to say "engine trouble" or "thermostat trouble". We did notice steam from the front hood. On 3-24-14 I had the car towed to Hyundai in Waipahu ..after examining the car ***** , advisor, informed me that it was an "engine problem" and that my "bumper to bumper" and another title of the warranty would cover the damage of projected cost of $11K. THREE WEEKS later ***** notified me that the warranty would not pay for the damage since it was the thermostat which caused the engine to burn out I spoke to ******* at the Az. office and she said she would look into this problem. I was NEVER initially offered "to trade in the vehicle"...NEVER! On 4-17-14 Hyundai offered to pay half..now the total cost with labor came to $14K ..thus I have to pay $7,000 my share of the repair and the ***** book worth of the ****** is less than that. After a meeting with Mr ****** at Hyundai Waipahu along with my son and husband, I received a c all a few days later from CA Cooperative office that they would accept our option #1 which is that they would buy our ****** as is at $6800. This offer would never have come about had I not notified the BBB, Yelp and DealerRater. They asked me to rescind our complaints and we intend to do so only AFTER we receive the check. I am an 80 yr old female and without the help of my son who insisted that I pursue this knowing that I was being wronged I am sure this resolution would not have occurred. Thank you for your participation in this stressful incident. ****** *****

4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car had warranty work done on it, had to wait 2 days for parts to come in, and was charged for a rental car during that time, waiting on them, Took my 2012 Accent in to have warranty work done on it. One of the read brake calibers had to be replaced, they did not have a brake caliber in stock, so had to wait 2 additional days for the part to be flown in. Was willing to pay for one day of rental car, however they would not cover the additional 2 days that was a direct result of them not having the part in stock. The rental car was around $32 a day... when I asked the rep if the rental car would be covered because I was waiting on them, he just gave me a sad company line of Hyundia does not cover rental cars for warranty work, however I was not wanting the 1 day of repair covered just the 2 days of waiting for them to get their act together and have the parts in stock to do the repairs.

Desired Settlement: To have 2 days of rental car charges covered by them since they were a direct result of them not having the parts in stock and having to wait for them to get the parts in stock to affect the repairs to my car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ Dear Mr. *******, Thank you for contacting Tony Hyundai Autoplex through the Hawaii Better Business Bureau. I understand that your vehicle is very important to you and a basic necessity of daily life. Hyundai Motor America's warranty guide in your owner's manual packet specifically states that a rental vehicle is "incidental expense" and therefore not covered under America's Best Warranty of 5 years or 60,000 miles. However Tony Hyundai is sympathetic to your request and will agree to reimburse you for the two days of your rental fee. Please provide receipt and invoice from the rental agency showing payment to Parts Manager ***************. I can be reached at ************ or ***********************. Thank you again. Sincerely *************** Tony Hyundai Autoplex Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) They offered to cover what I was wanting covered. The 2 extra days of a rental car since I had those extra days waiting for them to get a simple part in stock.

10/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service