Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tony Honda

Phone: (808) 680-7100 Fax: (808) 483-5443 View Additional Phone Numbers 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd, Waipahu, HI 96797 http://www.tonyhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars sales,parts sales and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tony Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 1978 Business started: 07/07/1977 in HI Business started locally: 07/07/1977 Business incorporated 07/01/1983 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-249.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3776.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-1513.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20425988-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant Mr. Larry Moody, GSM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Tony Group Collision Center Tony Hawaii Corp.
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR CAR-REPAIR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tony Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 94-1299 Ka Uka Blvd

    Waipahu, HI 96797

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/04/15 My wife and I went to Tony Honda to look for a new car. Matt our salesman helped us narrow our search on a **** ***** ***. We were interested in a black interior/black exterior color combination that they didn't have at the time but was scheduled to get in the following week. Matt recommend that we leave a deposit to have first right of refusal on the vehicle because it is a popular model. We left a $500 deposit on a **** credit card and signed a contract saying that we have 48hrs upon seeing the car to make our purchasing decision on the contract there was the stock number of the incoming vehicle. On 11/11/15 we were contacted to come in to test drive the *** and decide if we like the color combination. Upon arrival the vehicle could not be found. Apparently the vehicle was sold to another customer two days prior. My wife was furious! Why were we told to put a deposit to hold the vehicle if they are going to sell the vehicle to somebody else anyway? On 11/13/15 my wife decided she didn't want to give Tony Honda her business due to this matter. I went down to the dealership on 11/13/15 after I finished work and was told by the sales manager that a refund on to my credit card was not the companies procedure for refunds and that a check request would need to be submitted and could not guarantee me a time when said refund check would be issued.

Desired Settlement: Full refund back to my credit card or refund by check by Wednesday 11/18/15, plus refund of any interest incurred on credit card transaction. Compensation for gas wasted driving to the dealership to find out the car we had a deposit on got sold. We live in town and drove to Tony Honda in Waipio.

Business Response:

***** ***** ****** ******** ****** **** ****** *** **** ********* ** *****

ID# ********

Dear ***** *****:

In response to the complaint filed by **** *****, Mr. ***** is correct in his assessment. Unfortunately, when the vehicle in question arrived at the dealership it was mistakenly sold to another person. It was an honest mistake on our part, certainly not intentional and we have revised our internal processes to insure that an error like this does not reoccur. We have spoken to Mr. ***** to express our apology and have refunded him his $500.00 plus an additional $100.00 for his time and expenses incurred.

Tony Honda has operated very successful in Hawaii for the past thirty seven years. We pride ourselves in delivering great customer service and we take it very seriously when we fall short of that mark. As a show of good faith and in an effort to regain his trust, we have offered Mr. ***** the option to purchase a comparable vehicle arriving in early December, at a discounted price.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions.

Sincerely,

Larry M****

General Sales Manager

Tony Honda

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *****

10/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/02/2014 I purchase a 2007 ******** **** ** ***, finding out a few days later (6) that the steering system was defective (pump). A Tony Hyundai service report was found in the glove box upon arrival at my home. This Tony service report # ****** clearly identifies that there is a problem with the steering pump, yet this information was not given to me during the sales process, by Tony Honda's own actions they knew about this and yet they hoodwinked me into the vehicle purchase.Even though the vehicle had a current safety inspection, it was my best judgement that because a defective steering system could cause loss of vehicle control resulting in injury or death, I had the steering system repaired by ******* ******** a MB specialist, costing me $1109.04 paid in full.

Desired Settlement: Full payment for cost of steering repairs in the amount of $1109.04. And also blight Tony Honda's reputation by publishing this complaint in BBB website. No politics please!

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **** ******* *****,

   Tony Honda has reviewed your complaint (********) submitted via Hawaii BBB on 10-20-14

The agreed upon sale of the 2007 ******** **** ***** between yourself and Tony Honda was a used vehicle in an as is condition with no warranties implied or expressed.  However, in the interest of customer satisfaction Tony Honda is agreeing to reimburse you the full amount of the power steering repairs $1109.04

Tony Honda now considers this complaint fully closed.  Thank you.

 

Sincerely

Tony Honda

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

John Hatch

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It's been over 5 months since new vehicle purchased. The registration is incorrect & Tony Honda has been giving me the run around to fix it. On 9/22/13, my husband & I purchased a NEW Pilot EX-L in excess of $35,000 with a cashier's check from our credit union. The sales contract is in both our names. On 11/7/13, I went to pick up the license plates and noticed the registration was only in my husband's (*************) name. I brought this to their attention and requested it be corrected. They told me the only way to fix the registration was to have *** sign a "Bill of Sale" and both of us to sign a "Buyer Power of Attorney". I took the signed forms back to Tony Honda on 11/8/2013. On 12/28/13, I took the car in for an oil change & requested status on the registration. No update. On 1/27/14, I called requesting status of the registration. I was told they had to research the issue. On 2/24/14, I took the car in for a dead battery and spoke with ************** (sp?) who identified himself as the manager of registrations. I explained my situation to him and he said he would get back to me. On 2/25/14 @1:15 pm, I received a call from ***** who identified herself as a customer service rep who was instructed by ***** to call me back. She apologized for calling me late, but that she had to do some research. She said that their paperwork is only in my name. I interrupted her and said that doesn't make any sense at all since the sales contract is in both our names & the registration in only in my husband's name. I told ***** to inform ************** that he had until 4 pm today to give me a satisfactory answer as to the status of my corrected registration. On 2/25/14 @1:45 pm, ***** called back to say that she found all the paperwork that *** & I signed, and that the gal who handles it is pregnant and on leave. ***** said the DMV runner will take the documents tomorrow (2/26/14) to DMV and the corrected registration should be back by Friday, 2/28/14. ***** said that when Tony Honda receive the corrected documents, she'll call me to make arrangements for the documents to be either picked up or they will deliver it to me. I told ***** that if it only took two days to correct the registration, and that my paperwork had been sitting with Tony Honda since 11/8/2013 and nothing had been done, their non-action to rectify the error at the earliest possible moment is unacceptable. Today is 3/3/2014 at 6:45 pm and I have not received any phone contact from Tony Honda regarding my corrected vehicle registration. I was charged $381.30 for "License, Transfer, Registration & other Fees" and thus far have not received this in a satisfactory manner. It's been over 5 months after purchasing a brand new vehicle and the registration is still not correct.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting that Tony Honda correct my vehicle registration immediately AND I'm also requesting the $381.30 that I paid for the license, transfer, registration & other fees be refunded to me as a matter of principle for all the grief and aggravation sustained over 5 months trying to work with Tony's staff to fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ Per Mr. *****'s request, the corrected registration was mailed out to their P.O. Box address on March 5th, 2014. The check of $381.30 as well as a Tony Honda complimentary oil change gift certificate will be mailed out to them as our goodwill gesture on March 14, 2014. After receiving Mr. and Mrs. *****'s concern, the management team and I carefully reviewed this case and did some intense research. Unfortunately at this time, we could not tell exactly why and when this big communication breakdown took place between the sales office and business office. We regret that as a result the corrected registration did not reach Mr. and Mrs. ***** in a timely manner. The business manager has already talked to her staff members regarding more efficient paperwork management. The sales manager instructed the sales staff on their responsibility to follow up on the customers' request until it is absolutely completed. Tony Honda staff members as well as our management team ensure that this kind of delay will never occur again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While I appreciate Tony's goodwill gesture of complying with my requests, I do want to point out the following. The registration copy I received indicated that the registration was done electronically on 2/28/2014 AND the envelope was not postmarked until 3/7/2014. So it appears that the paperwork was not done in person at the DMV and the registration was not put in the mail on 3/5/2014 as Tony indicated. To their credit, the refund check was postmarked March 13, 2014, a day earlier than Tony indicated. Much MAHALO to BBB for your role in assisting me in getting my registration corrected and an acceptable solution to compensate me for the grief and aggravation I was faced with in trying to deal with Tony's staff myself.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Tony Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart