BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars sales,parts sales and repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Tony Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 09, 1978 Business started: 07/07/1977 in HI Business started locally: 07/07/1977 Business incorporated: 07/01/1983 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-249.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-3776.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-1513.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20425988-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant Mr. Larry Moody, GSM
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Sue Eguchi, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Stan Masamitsu, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Tony Group Collision Center Tony Hawaii Corp.

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 680-7332(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 10/02/2014 I purchase a 2007 ******** **** ** ***, finding out a few days later (6) that the steering system was defective (pump). A Tony Hyundai service report was found in the glove box upon arrival at my home. This Tony service report # ****** clearly identifies that there is a problem with the steering pump, yet this information was not given to me during the sales process, by Tony Honda's own actions they knew about this and yet they hoodwinked me into the vehicle purchase.Even though the vehicle had a current safety inspection, it was my best judgement that because a defective steering system could cause loss of vehicle control resulting in injury or death, I had the steering system repaired by ******* ******** a MB specialist, costing me $1109.04 paid in full.

Desired Settlement: Full payment for cost of steering repairs in the amount of $1109.04. And also blight Tony Honda's reputation by publishing this complaint in BBB website. No politics please!

Business Response:

Dear Mr. **** ******* *****,

   Tony Honda has reviewed your complaint (********) submitted via Hawaii BBB on 10-20-14

The agreed upon sale of the 2007 ******** **** ***** between yourself and Tony Honda was a used vehicle in an as is condition with no warranties implied or expressed.  However, in the interest of customer satisfaction Tony Honda is agreeing to reimburse you the full amount of the power steering repairs $1109.04

Tony Honda now considers this complaint fully closed.  Thank you.

 

Sincerely

Tony Honda

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

John Hatch

3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It's been over 5 months since new vehicle purchased. The registration is incorrect & Tony Honda has been giving me the run around to fix it. On 9/22/13, my husband & I purchased a NEW Pilot EX-L in excess of $35,000 with a cashier's check from our credit union. The sales contract is in both our names. On 11/7/13, I went to pick up the license plates and noticed the registration was only in my husband's (*************) name. I brought this to their attention and requested it be corrected. They told me the only way to fix the registration was to have *** sign a "Bill of Sale" and both of us to sign a "Buyer Power of Attorney". I took the signed forms back to Tony Honda on 11/8/2013. On 12/28/13, I took the car in for an oil change & requested status on the registration. No update. On 1/27/14, I called requesting status of the registration. I was told they had to research the issue. On 2/24/14, I took the car in for a dead battery and spoke with ************** (sp?) who identified himself as the manager of registrations. I explained my situation to him and he said he would get back to me. On 2/25/14 @1:15 pm, I received a call from ***** who identified herself as a customer service rep who was instructed by ***** to call me back. She apologized for calling me late, but that she had to do some research. She said that their paperwork is only in my name. I interrupted her and said that doesn't make any sense at all since the sales contract is in both our names & the registration in only in my husband's name. I told ***** to inform ************** that he had until 4 pm today to give me a satisfactory answer as to the status of my corrected registration. On 2/25/14 @1:45 pm, ***** called back to say that she found all the paperwork that *** & I signed, and that the gal who handles it is pregnant and on leave. ***** said the DMV runner will take the documents tomorrow (2/26/14) to DMV and the corrected registration should be back by Friday, 2/28/14. ***** said that when Tony Honda receive the corrected documents, she'll call me to make arrangements for the documents to be either picked up or they will deliver it to me. I told ***** that if it only took two days to correct the registration, and that my paperwork had been sitting with Tony Honda since 11/8/2013 and nothing had been done, their non-action to rectify the error at the earliest possible moment is unacceptable. Today is 3/3/2014 at 6:45 pm and I have not received any phone contact from Tony Honda regarding my corrected vehicle registration. I was charged $381.30 for "License, Transfer, Registration & other Fees" and thus far have not received this in a satisfactory manner. It's been over 5 months after purchasing a brand new vehicle and the registration is still not correct.

Desired Settlement: I'm requesting that Tony Honda correct my vehicle registration immediately AND I'm also requesting the $381.30 that I paid for the license, transfer, registration & other fees be refunded to me as a matter of principle for all the grief and aggravation sustained over 5 months trying to work with Tony's staff to fix the problem.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/12) */ Per Mr. *****'s request, the corrected registration was mailed out to their P.O. Box address on March 5th, 2014. The check of $381.30 as well as a Tony Honda complimentary oil change gift certificate will be mailed out to them as our goodwill gesture on March 14, 2014. After receiving Mr. and Mrs. *****'s concern, the management team and I carefully reviewed this case and did some intense research. Unfortunately at this time, we could not tell exactly why and when this big communication breakdown took place between the sales office and business office. We regret that as a result the corrected registration did not reach Mr. and Mrs. ***** in a timely manner. The business manager has already talked to her staff members regarding more efficient paperwork management. The sales manager instructed the sales staff on their responsibility to follow up on the customers' request until it is absolutely completed. Tony Honda staff members as well as our management team ensure that this kind of delay will never occur again. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) While I appreciate Tony's goodwill gesture of complying with my requests, I do want to point out the following. The registration copy I received indicated that the registration was done electronically on 2/28/2014 AND the envelope was not postmarked until 3/7/2014. So it appears that the paperwork was not done in person at the DMV and the registration was not put in the mail on 3/5/2014 as Tony indicated. To their credit, the refund check was postmarked March 13, 2014, a day earlier than Tony indicated. Much MAHALO to BBB for your role in assisting me in getting my registration corrected and an acceptable solution to compensate me for the grief and aggravation I was faced with in trying to deal with Tony's staff myself.

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: did a oil change,oil was replaced improperly .and was given poor customer service. On march X XXXX,i went to tony honda on ka uka blvd. and did an oil change on my vehicle, I payed $*****. On march 16th 2013 i checked my oil because my vehicle was running rough and sluggish when i checked the oil it was one quart less then they were supposed to have put in. After finding this out i called Tony Honda and was told by ************** to bring back my car and they would check for any oil leaks and if there were any oil leaks i would have to pay $***** again but if there weren't any oil leaks i would be refunded my $*****. So i made an appointment for march 21 and when i took my vehicle in to Tony Honda the service advisor ************** took me to the shop where my vehicle was located so i could see for myself if there were any oil leaks (which there weren't any) after this occurred they decided to change my oil again without my permission when all i really wanted was to just get my money refunded. ************** suggested i speak with the manager ********. when i explained my situation to him he apologized and i asked what they were going to do about this problem he offered me 3 car washes which i declined because i wash my own car, 2 free oil changes which i also declined because i told them i honestly would NEVER bring my vehicle back (and it made no sense to me that they would rather pay $***** rather then just give me my $*****) and service on my engine which i would also not want them to touch my car ever again. He never offered to just refund me back my money he only wanted to refund me back double the price of the quart oil i personally had to purchase to keep my car in running condition until my appointment. I'm just really furious at the fact that this could have turn into a bigger problem if something happen to my motor and my car was down then i would be stuck with out a car. The main concern of this complaint is i would never like to see this happen to anyone else especially because they are a dealership.

Desired Settlement: I Would just really appreciate my money refunded back to me $***** and id really hope that this wouldn't happen to anyone else.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/25) */ March 25, 2013 Better Business Bureau of Hawaii 1132 Bishop Street # 615 Honolulu, HI 96813-2813 RE: Case # ******** To whom this may concern, We appreciate the time Ms. ****** has taken to express her concerns with her most recent service experience with us. It is certainly not our intention to provide our customers with products and services which do not meet their expectations, and we apologize for any inconveniences incurred. On March 21, 2013, Ms. ****** reported that her engine oil was low and that she had to add about a half a quart of oil. We re-inspected her vehicle to make certain there were no visible leaks and the oil level was proper. Again we offered her our sincere apologies along with these additional amenities below for her trouble and inconvenience which she has declined. - Free oil and filter change on her next visit - (2) Free car wash coupons - Reimburse her double the cost of the oil she purchased At her request to resolve this issue satisfactorily, we will reimburse her $***** and mail a check to her residence by March 30, 2013 Sincerely, ************ Service Manager Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/04/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am pleased with the reimburse of my $***** ,that's all that I wanted,but today is April 4 2013 and I still didn't receive my check .on his return response it says by march 30 2013.also I hope other customers don't have to go thru with what I had to,could I get a response from tony honda about my check. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/04/05) */ My name is **********, I am the admin of Tony Group. I have to apologize there was the communication breakdown and totally my mistake to delay processing the check request. I found out the check was not mailed out as of 4-3 so that, we rushed and prepared the check dated 4-4 check no.****** and was going to be mailed to her this morning 4-5. I called Ms. ***** and apologized my delay and we offered that we will deliver the check to any where she wished and she gave me the address and the check will be delivered today before 4pm. Ms. ****** told me she will be at the address and she will accept the check today. Again we apologize the delay resulted by the communcation breakdown, and this will never happen again.