Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of new Mercedes-Benz, Jaguar, Land Rover, Porsche and Honda vehicles, pre-owned vehicles, parts, and services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes Benz of Honolulu meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes Benz of Honolulu include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Honolulu
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2004 Business started: 10/14/2003 in HI Business started locally: 10/14/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40061968-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40061944-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40061950-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40061956-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20004446-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-732.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD-3799.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-733.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD-3800.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD-4072.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-905.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-734.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD-3802.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-735.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD742.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Brenda Acosta, Hawaii - CFO Mr. Fletcher Jones III, MGR Mr. David Ho, Sales Manager Mr. Adam Koo, Client Care Manager Mr. Dennis Rademacher, General Manager Mr. Dan Tow, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brenda Acosta, Hawaii - CFO
Principal: Mr. Fletcher Jones III, MGR
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
J/R Motors 818 Kapiolani, LLC
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • 818 Kapiolani Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 377-4055 (808) 377-4054

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my vehicle to get the required service and when it was finished picked it up and after driving it for a day smelled like something burning. Made an appointment but they could only get me in a week later. They called and discovered somehow 2 different problems and the total would be a 1k. Agreed to pay the amount. 2 days was advised vehicle wouldn't start after washing it so they did a diagnosis and discovered it was another problem with the steering column amd n it would cost another 1k. I advised them they repaired the same problem a year ago for the same 1k.please help seems everytime I take it to the place it cost me more than what we originally brought it in for. Please help

Desired Settlement: Just can't understand while it's alway a different problem that cost more. Fix the vehicle and stop tearing it up and charging me for something the (certified technician ) repaired.

Business Response: ***** **** *** **************************  ***** ******** **** *** **** **** ** *** ***** ** ***** *********************** *** **** ******** *************************** **** *** ******************* ******** ***** **** ************* ** ******** ******** ***** ******* ******* ********* ***** ********* ********* ******* ********

Dear Ms. *****:

We are in receipt of and thank you for the letter regarding the above referenced matter. Mercedes-Benz Honolulu appreciates the opportunity to respond and address the customer's complaints. Please accept this reply as the formal response on behalf of MBH.

The steering lock repair Mr. ******* refers to was performed on April 27, 2015. At that time importantly the steering lock had failed and the customer's vehicle was towed in by an outside third party to the MBH dealership. The broken steering lock was replaced with a factory authorized part and the cost of that repair was $1207.49 for parts and labor which Mr. ******* paid.

The customer returned approximately one year later on April 23,  2016 for a recommended Mercedes-Benz "A" service which includes oil and filter change as well as chassis lubrication among other items. During that service visit while the MBH technicians were performing a safety and multi point inspection of the vehicle it was determined that the rear flex disc was worn and that the right centrifuge cover  was leaking oil.  MBH recommended replacement and repair of each item however at that time the customer declined those recommended repairs. Approximately 3 weeks later the customer returned on May 19, 2016 and authorized those same repairs to be performed which did in fact occur at that time. Once those repairs were completed the vehicle was taken to the MBH car wash for routine cleaning before the vehicle was to be returned to the customer. Unfortunately after the car wash was completed the vehicle would not start. Our technicians diagnosed a failed steering lock again as the problem. The manufacturer warranty on replacement parts of this type is 1 year and as the previous repair of the steering lock occurred more than 1 year earlier it was no longer covered by the warranty. However as a goodwill gesture MBH replaced both the failed part and performed the labor for the steering lock repair at NO CHARGE to the customer. The only work the customer was charged for during this May 2016 visit was the repair and replacement of the rear flex disc and the right centrifuge cover. The charge for those repairs totaled $952.31.

We trust this reply clarifies the facts regarding the repairs performed to this customer's vehicle. unfortunately occasionally parts do fail as appears to be the case with the steering lock on this customer's vehicle however the second repair of that lock more than 1 year later did not cost the customer anything for either parts or labor.

Thank you for your consideration. 


Adam K**
Business Development Manager
***** ********


12/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent $3000 having a radiator replaced and plugs replaced based on the LR recommendation following an inspection. The original issue I had with the vehicle was dash warning lights on and a stalling problem. After waiting an hour for landrover to find my keys, I was told the vehicle had been test driven and ready to go no issues. Five minutes after leaving the LR service center the vehicle broke down, spilling transmission fluid all over the radiator. LR was closed at 1715 hrs when I called to report the breakdown. I took the vehicle to an independent mechanic who asked who replaced the radiator because the transmission cooling lines had not been reconnected properly. Upon picking up the vehicle from the independent mechanic, the vehicle stalled again as in the original complaint to LR. Bottom line, I spent $3000 with LR and my vehicle is no better shape after the expenditure or LR's service. Furthermore, I returned their survey outlining the issues and no one from Honolulu Landrover contacted me. The LR North America office did contact me but after almost a week since their initial response I can not get them to return a phone call. Also, a check with another landrover mechanic on the mainland resolved the stalling issue by instructing to replace the crankshaft control sensor. He also said to replace the shuttle valve for the dash light issue ( a $79 part) which landrover wanted to charge me another $3000, that I refused.

Desired Settlement: Refund on all labor and spark plug charges due to not solving the issue and my original plugs should not have been removed.

Business Response:

Response:

We are the only authorized Jaguar Land Rover service point in Hawaii, and we warranty (guarantee) all of our repairs. Mr. L**** is requesting a "refund on all labor and spark plug charges due to not solving the issue and my original plugs should not have been removed". All of these items add up to just over $1,900.00 on his invoice. How did he arrive at $3,000.00? He didn't even pay us $3,000.00. In addition, he authorized us to replace his spark plugs. The brand of spark plugs that were on his vehicle were deemed incorrect per Land Rover's (vehicle manufacturer) technical specifications. The shutter valve diagnosis, which Mr. L**** paid for, was correct as stated in this filing. However, he declined us repairing. Lastly, we remain disheartened that Mr. L**** did not afford us the opportunity to correct any of the alleged concerns stated in this filing. He cancelled payment (credit card) to us, and he's now asking us for more money than he paid us on top of that through this filing. In closing, we are declining his request for reimbursement for the reasons stated above, and because his request lacks merit and foundation.

Bryan M*****
Jaguar Land Rover of Honolulu

Sent on: 12/1/2015 7:05:39 PM

10/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Mercedes was brought in for routine service and dealer returned it with concrete overspray throughout the entire car. After the recent third attempt to restore the car back to the original condition before the concrete incident, the car re-paint job was p**rly done and there is evidence of concrete wash entering the ventilation system through the front dashboard as well as new damages sustained while on the dealership premise.

Desired Settlement: I would like the BBB to ask the dealer to replace the vehicle entirely, now that their repairs have damaged the vehicle further.

Business Response:

From: **** *** *********************.com]
Sent: Monday, September 14, 2015 1:43 PM
To: **** ******** <*********@hawaii.bbb.org>
Cc: Dennis Rademacher <DRademacher@fjhawaii.com>
Subject: RE: Complaint Case #********

 

Aloha ****,

We contacted Jolanta S**** and met with her regarding her vehicle.  The vehicle was hit by cement from the construction project next store.  We made arrangements and had the several of the body panels repainted fixed multiple items from d**r rubber seals to center MB caps for the vehicles rims.

After the cosmetic repairs, she was still not satisfied so I offered to take the vehicle on trade.  she wanted a complete replacement vehicle but I explained that we could not do that but would work the best figures on any vehicle of her choice.  We worked figures but she decided to keep the vehicle for the time being. 

She was supposed to bring the vehicle back for mechanical repairs and we agreed that I would give her copies of all the repair orders and include any warranty information from the body shops that performed the paint repairs.  I have all the documents ready but she has yet to make it in for her scheduled appointments.

I believe all is well at this point and she is pursuing a law suit against the construction company contracted for the Symphony building.

Please let me know if there’s anything else you need and please set me up with access so I can perform these online in a more timely fashion.

Thanks,

Adam K**

Business Development Manager

(808) ********

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: See attached. 

Sincerely,

Jolanta S****

5/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Tuesday,March 31, 2015, I called The Mercedes Benz ** ****, inquiring about the warranty of my car battery. I spoke with the parts manager,( ***) if my battery is still under warranty. I've explaining to him that i cannot find the receipt of the battery, and ask him if he could look it up on his company computer for my battery which i purchased it approximately a year or so ago, and told the part manager this. The part manager ( ***) then starting to get loud & rude with me on the telephone. I said to him," why are you giving me a hard time on this simple inquiring" he then said," i cannot find your part" i then asked hiim if i can give him the VIN number of my vehicle, to help him locate my part which he reluctant to do. I told him i purchased the battery under new parts and not under the service-repair manifest. I then suggested to him that I can give him my battery part numbers so he could locate my part when it was purchased. He then tells me that he doesnt have my battery in stock. I quickly tell him that you do have it in stock because i spoke with one of the woman assistant there earlier, that she tild me "yes, we have one in stock" He then ask me to bring the vehicle in so they could look at it. I told him that i removed the battery from the engine compartment & i cannot drive it. He then said the rudest thing saying," why dont you towed it in" For a simple battery inquiring, he had made my day an unpleasant experiences. He not only rude & not being helpful, he doesnt know his basic mechanic or about battery. In the end, i never got the answer I was seeking for, and asked him if i could talk to his superior, he then placed me on hold. In the past, i have brought in my vehicle for services and never happy about their staffs & their services but never made a complaints untill now. Its long over due.

Desired Settlement: All i want is another battery for my vehicle so i can go to work. Its amazed me, that a company product like Mercedes Benz trained their staff like that, a manager.

Business Response:

I have reached out and we are playing phone tag. I will let you know when I have made contact.

 

**** ***

Business Development Manager

***** ********

9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** was towed in/ wouldn't turn over. Service dept lied about checking fuel, quoted me $1385 to replace fuel filter. 4/9/14 - my ******** (142,000 miles) was towed in because it stalled and wouldn't restart upon leaving **********. Specifically asked ************** (Svc Advisor) to verify fuel level, gas gauge and fuses prior to checking anything else. I was expecting to sell he vehicle the following day via private sale. 2 days later I received a follow up call from Mr. ******* to inform me I had a fault fuel pump and it would cost $1385 to replace. I asked him to verify error codes and he inquired with the service tech while I was on the phone and verified with him thatcher fuel level was checked and he said the codes were PO100 and PO110 - both codes were related to Mss air flow sensor and intake temp. Unfortunately this was not in my budget so I decided to have it towed back to our home to consider our options.

Desired Settlement: $678.48 which includes the diagnostic fee from Mercedes ($229.13), tow from Liberty Tow ($90), Belk/Arnley fuel pump ($159.35) and non-dealer mechanic labor to re-diagnosis ($200). In addition, I unfortunately lost the individual that was interested in purchase it. We are a military family that is transferring in the very near future and needed to sell this vehicle to help subsidize our out of pocket costs to move across the United States, while my husband is deployed. I am forced to relist this vehicle and hope that we can get our asking price.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/05/27) */ The ************************ was towed into ************* of Honolulu on April 7, 2014. The vehicle had 142662 miles on it at the time. The customers concern was that the vehicle died out and had a crank no start issue. We performed our diagnosis and found that the fuel pressure was only at 10psi. The recommended fuel pressure is supposed to be between 40-50psi. ****,(service advisor) contacted the customer and told the customer our findings, he quoted her $1,365.00 +tax to replace the fuel pump, that is the price for parts and labor. The customer declined the work and had the vehicle towed out of here. The customer had contacted me a couple of days later. She told me that when the vehicle was towed to her house someone else had looked at the vehicle and said it only ran out of gas and there was no problem with the fuel pump. I explained that a car that ran out of fuel would have a fuel pressure reading of zero. The customer said someone else looked at it and said there was nothing wrong with the fuel pump. I explained that if the car is running with a fuel pressure of 10psi it is going to stop again, she said that it was only out of gas. I offered to refund the customer the diagnos charge, which was $218.82 +tax. The customer declined, she told me she wanted the both tow charges plus the diagnosis charge plus the charge the other person charged to look at the vehicle. I declined her counter offer. We did everything we could to make this right. We only charged the diagnostic fee that the customer agreed to. As a goodwill gesture, we would like to offer the customer a 20% discount on the next service or repair of their ************* **** if they decide to keep it. Please feel free to contact me with any other questions. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 15, 2014/05/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) "I explained that if the car is running with a fuel pressure of 10psi it is going to stop again, she said that it was only out of gas. I offered to refund the customer the diagnose charge, which was $218.82 +tax." is false and inaccurate. Manager never offered to refund any monies nor did he make any statement regarding the future of the fuel pump at 10psi. Fuel pump is in 100% working order and has not has any additional issues. The vehicle has since been sold and I have moved from the state of Hawaii, therefore a 20% discount is insulting and a cheap 'goodwill tactic' to satisfy responding to BBB attempt to resolve this issue. I specifically asked the service advisor to confirm the gas level and it was not done. The issue with the vehicle was the gas level gauge. It is very unfortunate ************* would allow its Service Advisors and Managers to respond to an issue in this manner. "Certified ************* Technicians are required to participate in ongoing training, assuring that they master the use of state-of-the-art diagnostics, tools, and equipment to properly repair your *************" as stated on the website, the individuals that diagnosed my ******** apparently was not trained as advertised. "Every time you bring your vehicle into an authorized ************* Dealer for service, you can be certain your inspections will be done thoroughly." Again, I am very surprised by the way ********, a top-notch, company has handled this situation. Given the description on the website and the reputation of quality and service, I expected this to be remedied immediately. Final Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2014/07/01) */ As a goodwill gesture we would like to offer a refund of the diagnostic charges. $229.13 is the amount we charged Ms. ******** for the diagnosis, we would like to refund that amount. Please let us know if that amount is acceptable. The customer replaced the fuel pump at an outside shop. That is the diagnosis we provided. If this is acceptable please provide the address we can send the check to. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 25, 2014/07/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am partially satisfied with reimbursement of $229.13 for diagnostic services at ****************. Partially due to the fact the towing charge could have been avoided if the fuel level was properly diagnosed. I do feel it is not only reasonable but also appropriate to be reimbursed for the $90.00 charge from ***********, which essentially could have been avoided and I would have been able to drive it home. I will absorb the costs of my neighborhood mechanic in which he properly diagnosed and remedied the situation. I will leave that at the discretion of ****************. I do feel a reimbursement of $319.13 is fair and a proper resolution. I would be more then happy to provide the towing receipt, if I have not already done so. If this documentation is requested, please email me at ********************m and I will supply it immediately. My address is: ******** ******** *********************** ************************

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Maui: My convertible top needed fixing under warranty. When I picked up my car, the rear glass was not re-installed correctly and now jams. READ ON. In May,2013, my convertible top would not close. I could see the carriers were stuck in the track. I called Maui Mercedes and was told they couldn't see my car for a week. I borrowed a car because I had concerns about weather and vandalism to my car. A week later I brought my car to Maui Mercedes. They saw the carriers were stuck, but somehow managed to close the top. They did not fix it and told me not to open the top. They did not follow up with me, so two weeks later I called them and was told PARTS needed to be ordered, but that they had not ordered them yet. They then ordered the PARTS and gave me a loaner. From my first call to when they said it was repaired took 5 weeks. When I returned the loaner to pick up my car, I was told the top was not fixed because they needed to order a whole new TOP. I told them I was going on vacation for 3 weeks and asked them what it would cost to change the oil. I was told it would cost $240, and that they would deliver my car to my home after the top was repaired and the oil changed. I said that was fine. They did not give me a written estimate for the oil change. My car was returned to me dirty, with lubricant on the inside door and glass, the antennae on the dashboard, the decal on the glass half scraped off and no invoice for the oil change. Maui Mercedes repeatedly called for my credit card number. EACH time I asked for a total to authorize the charge. They would not give me an amount. I realized the glass was not properly installed when I could not open the top. I complained to Mercedes and was told the "repair" was done correctly and that they would not look at the glass. Because of the condition my car was returned to me, the new problem caused by work done by Mercedes, and having no documentation of work done, I did not know if they changed the oil. This was 2 1/2 months from my first call to Mercedes. I informed Mercedes I would file a complaint to the Office of Consumer Protection. It was only then I received an invoice for the top repair and a copy of a multi-point inspection, which I did not ask for. During this time I called Hawaii Mercedes on Oahu, and learned the top repair was in their data base, but not the oil change. I do not know all the information Maui Mercedes submitted to the Office of Consumer Complaints, who later determined Maui Mercedes "did nothing wrong". After this determination, the investigator called me to say HI Mercedes GM told him he wanted to "make it right" by paying for shipping my car to Oahu for the required glass repair. 7 days later I called the investigator to tell him I had not received a call from Mercedes. After another 7 days, HI Mercedes called to say they would NOT provide a loaner while my glass was being repaired. Because HI Mercedes did not have a copy of my complaint, I asked to send it to them, in hopes a loaner would be reconsidered. I emailed it with a video of the glass problem. I did not hear from anyone for another 10 days until I wrote a letter to HI Mercedes GM. I was then contacted and told to make an insurance claim for a loaner. My insurance company told me this claim would not be honored because the damage was not my doing. In addition, if I was not honest in disclosing the nature of the situation, I would be defrauding my insurance company and risking a premium increase as a result. When I informed HI Mercedes of this, a rental car was then authorized. HOWEVER, I would be responsible for setting up the rental car, shipping my car to Oahu and payment of those expenses, to be reimbursed. I was told the repair/shipping process could take up to 3 weeks. This could mean over $1,000 out of pocket for me. In TEARS and total frustration, I called HI Mercedes wanting to know why I was accountable, in any way, for all of this! I have not received a call back. I called California headquarters in hopes of finding an executive contact. I was told I would receive a call back at the end of the business day. They did not call back.

Desired Settlement: All I have ever asked is to have the top fixed. I was flexible to have it done on Maui. It has been the Oahu dealership's determination/decision to ship my car. This repair is the result of the Maui dealership's failed attempt to fix my car. This entire experience has taken over 7 months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/27) */ Aloha BBB Customer Service, ***** ****** purchased a Smart car from another pre owned dealer in Maui. There is no factory approved Smart dealer in Maui. Because we are the Smart dealer in Honolulu we do our best to take care of the Smart customers in Maui at our Maui Mercedes store. Maui don't have any of the special tools and equippment or trained technicians to work on Smart cars. This is our first Smart customer that Mercedes-Benz of Maui was unable to make happy by fixing there car in Maui. Because they attempted to fix her car and she wasn't happy. We told her that the car would have to come to the autorized dealer in Honolu and agreed to pay to have her car shipped to Honolulu and pay for a rental while its being repaired. She choose not to accept this offer and wants us to fly a technician to Maui to fix her car. We will not be fixing her car in Maui and will extend the offer to pay to have her car shipped to the autorized dealer in Honolulu for these repairs. We will waranty these repairs for one year or as long as it has factory warranty. Please let me know if you need more information Thanks ****** ********** General Manger 808-******** ***********@fjhawaii.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. **********'s statement that I did not accept the offer to ship the car is false. I have absolutely NOT refused to allow Mercedes of Honolulu to fix or ship my car. I have emails that clearly show my willingness to ship the car including after the car was to be shipped due to their negligence. Mr. **********'s statement that I want a technician flown over has been taken out of context to the sequence of events. I asked for a technician to be flown over because I was told I had to pay an estimated $1000 for shipping and the rental car UP FRONT to have my car repaired. Since that statement, Mercedes changed their position and will accept billing charge. I was also told by BOTH the Oahu and Maui representatives that technicians ARE flown over. Mr. ********** has now indicated that my car was repaired ON MAUI without "special tools" or "trained technicians". Mr. **********'s statement that the Maui dealership attempted to fix my car is false. When I informed the Maui dealership that my car was returned requiring repair as a result of the work done on it, the service manager said "It was repaired correctly". Absolutely no offer was made to look at the car. To this day, Mercedes of Maui has not contacted or offered to repair their workmanship. THAT IS WHY THE CAR NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED. At 5 o'clock the day before shipping the car they had NOT PROVIDED THE NAME OF THE COMPANY THAT WAS SHIPPING MY CAR. I had to ask!!!! I have this in writing. My car was to be at the dock prior to Mercedes of Honolulu opening for business. Mercedes of Honolulu also repeatedly refused to tell me what steps would be taken should the car not be repaired correctly upon its return. I have this in writing. Mercedes of Honolulu has acknowledged the need for the repair but is placing me in the same situation of hearing, "It was repaired correctly." by not providing assurance of HOW it will honor its warranty/policy. In addition, Mercedes had NOT provided ANY paperwork/documents for the anticipated work to be done, or for shipping, and they have not requested my signature for authorization to work on the car. Because of the continued stonewalling and avoidance tactics, I have asked for a Mercedes/Smart Car case manager to be involved in this situation. Mercedes of Honolulu has now stopped emailing me and has provided this inaccurate and untruthful response to this complaint. I will also be following up with the case manager due to the misrepresentation of Mr. ********** in regard to this complaint response. Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/03/28) */ From: **** *** (mailto:****@fjhawaii.com) Sent: Thursday, March 27, 2014 5:48 PM To: *****; **** ********; *********@mbusa.com Subject: RE: Paperwork? *****, Please find attached to this email the repair order information regarding your vehicles last visit here in Honolulu. We were ready to give this to you upon pickup but you picked up your vehicle unannounced from our Maui location using your spare keys. I apologize this was sent to you sooner. Thanks, **** *** Business Development Manager (808) ********

9/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 04 jag needed 9K suspension service, couldn't afford it, so they bought my 04 for $200 and in turn lured me to buy '09 car which broke down in 3 mo My 2004 Jag had suspension problem, Jag charged me with $360.00 diagnosis fee and a $9,000.00 estimate to fix the problem. I couldn't afford. I went to see my sales person, ****** ****** and he lured me into buying a 2009 Jag. Took 8 grueling hours, exhausted and I finally gave in. He knows I only buy red cars, I bought a gold Jag tht didn't even look like Jag. My niece bought back my red Jag from ******, got it fixed for less than half the price they quoted. Now I own two cars I cannot afford. The gold Jag broke down, I have witnesses. Jag had to tow it away. To this day, I haven't heard from ******, nor the General manager. I called them several times but to no avail. The gold Jag is held hostage as I am still paying $383.02 per month for loan.Please help me. *****

Desired Settlement: I want Jaguar to pay me back, $11200.00 plus cost of car insurance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: 808-******** Contact Email: *******@fjhawaii.com On the afternoon of June 20, 2013 ***** *** was waiting on the diagnosis and estimate on her Jaguar that was in service. After ***** received the estimate, decided to check out our cars in inventory and asked for ****** the salesperson that had previously assisted her in the past. She did mention that red was her first color choice but needed a car today. However, we did not have a red vehicle in stock. ***** selected the cashmere Jaguar over the other colors and ****** helped in starting the paperwork for her and at that time was planning on trading her older Jaguar in. It took a while (less than three hours)to start the final paperwork, not because of pressuring ***** into taking the car as she eludes to but the fact of obtaining a loan for her because of her challenged credit. ***** traded in her 2004 Jaguar and later changed her mind and we gladly re-contracted ***** without her trade-in. ***** stated she wanted to sell it to a relative and we accommodated her request and ****** took the revised paperwork to ***** instead of her having to make a trip back to the dealership. ***** sent in an email at 10:37pm on August 31st to report she was having a service issue with her car. This was received during non-operational hours since service is closed on Saturday and Sunday. I personally received notification at 8:14am on September 3, 2013 and immediately contacted service. Several attempts were made by telephone and email to contact ***** about her vehicle and how to schedule for roadside assistance to pick-up her vehicle and bring to our service center. We finally made contact with ***** and her Jaguar was towed into our service center the same afternoon of September 3, 2013. Upon checking her car, the doors unlocked without any issues and the car started right up. Service could not duplicate anything that ***** had reported as being wrong with her car. On the morning of September 4, 2013 I requested service to conduct a load test on the battery. It came back ok, but did show the battery was not putting out the full capacity. *****'s Jaguar is still under factory Select warranty. However, it does not include maintenance items such as the battery. ****** in service again left several messages for ***** and resorted to sending her an email that all they could find was a low voltage on the battery and was not covered under the warranty. When ****** informed me about the expense for a new battery I made the decision to replace the battery free of charge to ***** as customer goodwill. Upon putting the new battery in a diagnosis was done again and everything functioned properly. ***** was again left several messages that her car was ready and available for pickup. ***** has not responded to many telephone calls and in fact her email that we sent her, came back as undeliverable. We are not holding her car for any reason as she states and she was never pressured to purchase the vehicle. You may have noticed several inconsistences in her complaint, such as she has two cars now but acknowledged her niece purchased the car from her. I believe ***** made an adult decision and later on thought she could just back out of a signed contract. I personally believe she has been influenced by someone else that she should return the car. I believe she has buyer remorse. There is nothing wrong with her car and she needs to pick it up from our service center. Her Jaguar has been ready for pickup since September 6th and apparently filed the complaint several days after that. With warmest aloha, **** ****** ******* ***** ******* Jaguar Honolulu Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are inconsistencies and miscommunication as ****** admitted on our phone conversation September12, I never reported that the car was not drivable, but that I could not even open the door to drop off the car for service due to malfunction monitor, I have two witnesses, our resident manager ***** **** and my friend *** *******. The tow truck driver also couldn't open the car door with the key, so he used a tool to open it. I NEVER sold my '04 jag to my niece, Jag bought my car for mere $200 and she bought it back from them to get it fixed for half the price. Jag quoted me, $9,000 plus diagnoses fee of $360. Initial plan was to get the monitor '09 Jag fixed and sell it. But if one can't even open the door, there is some other issues, and not sellable so my initial plan was halted. in other words, ****** sold me a malfunctioning car, unethical misleading took advantage of woman in distress with no car money hungry aggressive tactic used to lure me into buying an expensive car I couldn't afford. There are hundreds of other less expensive used mercedez on their lot but picked the two highest $ cars I felt I had no other options. If I don't have the most pristine credit record why didn't they decline instead they did everything to get a loan to sell the car to me. It is demeaning to quote that I made an adult decision to buy the car This has caused so much distress I got physically ill and literally couldn't hold even 1/4 tsp water until 3 am after realizing that they sold me smthg I couldn't sell As you can see my intention was to sell the '09 jag but when I found out that they sold me a car not worth $33301.20 I decided that they should take the car back and pay me back the money I had to pull out of my retirement account all documented by my financial advisor ***** ***** at American Savings Kahala. As for ****** bless his heart I hoped he called me on my cell I have new landline service HTD which doesn't show that I have messages unless I call *07 which has not sunk into me ****** was curious to know how much I paid to get the suspension replaced I got a brand new Jag qualified suspension n my '04 car is running just fine. ****** owns a red Jag similar to mine, I joked n said I'll buy it from him we love the classic style and the color yet he tried to sell me something he knows I don't like, that is not a goodwill gesture. All I can say is that the I have never had issues like these, ever before so I was blindsided and felt betrayed by my longtime car sales person, ******. I called my niece to inform her that Jag is claiming that she bought the car from me, she was not surprised that they will say make false claims like that. my niece is an RN nurse at Queen's Hospital, with family history of Stanford U, and Eastern Europe Professors, she isn't a no brainer Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/28) */ After several attempts to contact ***** were made without making contact and messages being left unanswered, we finally made contact on Monday. We did not hold her car hostage at any time as ***** stated and to resolve this we delivered the car back to ***** this past Thursday. We also made a reasonable fair market value offer to purchase the vehicle back and she declined the offer. ***** has had conversations with the ******* *******, Service *******, ****** her salesperson and myself. The only issue was a low voltage charge in the battery, which could be from the age of the battery, leaving something on that could drain the battery or if the vehicle is not driven much to keep the battery charged. We replaced the battery in *****'s car with a new one at no charge to her and we did not have any other issues at that time. ***** said she plans on selling this vehicle herself so she can attempt to recoup her taxes. As far as me stating her niece purchased the older Jaguar, that information came from her original complaint. We have been very accommodating to ***** and really believe it is a case of buyers remorse. Please close this complaint. Professionally, **** ****** ******* ***** ******* Jaguar Honolulu 808-********

8/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Diagnostics ran without prior consent. Excessive diagnostics charges hidden within billing for repair. Service department has terrible communication. I had my car towed to this dealership after my key failed to disarm my alarm system. My key would not start the engine either. The next morning at 8:30am I received a call from the service manager who asked what the problem was. I told him that my car was not responding to my key and he said he would check to see what was going on with the key. I asked him if I should just order a new key and he said something like, "Let me check and I will call you right back." Around 2pm I still had not heard anything back from the service department. Knowing they close at 5pm I began trying to contact them since my car is my only form of transportation and I needed it back as soon as possible. After three phone calls and no answer I found the number for the Honolulu branch and called them. I was then informed that in the computer the status said that my "car was not finished". My car had nothing wrong with it to my knowledge. The last conversation I had was that the key was being looked at quickly and I had expected a call back which never came. The woman in Honolulu then sent two emails and tried to call the service department on Maui personally but got no response whatsoever. At 4pm I called a friend to drive me across island to the dealership. Upon arrival I found all employees of the service department, including the service manager that I spoke with at 8:30am, sitting in the parking lot in lawn chairs. AND I see that my car is in the garage with the hood up and doors open. I understand that all employees need and deserve breaks. I have no argument about that, but this guy didn't have 3 minutes to call me and give me the status of the situation OR tell me that my car was the issue not the key. After demanding an explanation they then informed me that they still did not know what the issue was. I waited for about 10 minutes while they poked around my engine compartment. When the service manager came back into the office he said that my starter relay was not working and that it needed to be replaced. I asked how much this would cost and how long it would take. He said $250 and it would only take 1/2 and hour. I said OK and they had it finished in that time. I paid the bill and left. When I got home, just out of curiosity, I took a look at the receipt for service. The starter relay was a $26 part. It took them 20 minutes to install at $124 an hour. A half hour is the minimum charge for labor which I understand. So the total should have been less than $100. I investigated further into the itemized list. The remainder of the bill was from "diagnostics". I immediately called the service department. Of course no one answered the phone after three calls so I had to call Honolulu again. They called for me and got no answer. Finally after my fourth phone call I got an answer. I was told that the charges had been occurred during the day while my car was in the garage. They never ONCE called me to ask permission to do ANYTHING to my car. I waited all day for one call back to tell me if I needed to order a new key. I never gave permission to even open the hood let alone incur ridiculous "diagnostic" charges especially when they didn't even know what was wrong until I had to drive down there and demand an explanation. Even then I was not told or given a quote of what they were doing or how much it would cost to do it. I called Honolulu again and asked for the regional service manager with whom I filed a complaint and he agreed that I would receive a full refund. The service manager on Maui told me when I FINALLY got him on the phone that I would receive my refund within one to two weeks. It has now been a month and I haven't seen the check yet. This service department was the worst experience I have EVER had with a Mercedes dealership. Not to mention that NOW my car is acting funny and the check engine light is on. So they not only treated me terribly they also treated my car terribly. I find this experience unacceptable in every way.

Desired Settlement: I called the service department on Maui two days ago. It took them two days to call me back and only did so after I contacted the regional service director on Honolulu. I got a call back and was told some run around about my refund being delayed. I was NOT surprised WHAT SO EVER that they didn't call me to let me know about this delay. Their communication skills are lacking/non existing. I would say that I would like a refund as a settlement, but I don't think that will ever happen. I would like my refund and would like my car to be diagnosed and repaired without ridiculous charges for unauthorized actions. Now I still need a new key and I am really uncomfortable even going back there. From now on every time I need anything done to my car I am worried to take it in.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/20) */ It is regrettable take MB of Maui did not meet the expectation of the consumber, Ms. ********. According to our bank records, refund check number ****** dated July 31, 2013 for $216.24 was cashed August 9, 2013. We encourage Ms. ******** to make a service appointment to diagnois and repair her vehicle at MB of Maui. Thank you for the opportunity to redress this consumer concern. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Although I did receive a refund check the day after filing this complaint I will never take my vehicle back to this dealership and hope to not have to have any reason to deal with them again. The lack of communication and sheer disregard to their customers needs and lack of respect will obviously continue. I can tell by the response to my complaint that this issue is being ignored and that even though the problem lies within the company/service department it was addressed with "did not meet the expectations of consumer" like it was just me being picky or something. But the truth is being ignored I suppose because it's easier for this company to continue the way it is. Lucky for me I have found a reliable honest mechanic since this unfortunate event that has performed the needed repairs to my vehicle in a timely manner and was excellent about explaining charges BEFORE and also answers their phone and didn't hide anything within the final charges like MB of Maui did.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes Benz of Honolulu
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)