Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

King Windward Nissan LLC

Phone: (808) 235-6433 Fax: (808) 234-5611 45-568 Kamehameha Hwy, Kaneohe, HI 96744 http://www.kingwindwardnissan.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and pre-owned vehicles for sale and a full service and parts facility and detail services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that King Windward Nissan LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for King Windward Nissan LLC include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for King Windward Nissan LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on King Windward Nissan LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 02, 1999 Business started: 02/01/1999 Business started locally: 02/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/06/1999 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD612.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20547596-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is RD3402.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Caliri, General Mgr Mr. Frank Ratajczyk
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Caliri, General Mgr
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair - Maintenance

Alternate Business Names
King Windward Nissan
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR TRANSMISSION REPAIR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

King Windward Nissan LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 45-568 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 7/24/15 I went to King Windward Nissan to purchase a vehicle, I was approved onsite that day and drove away with a used vehicle within two hours. I had provided a cash down payment of $500, my pay stubs from employer, at the time on 7.24.15. Completed and signed the entire purchase contract, no conditional agreements attached. I bought insurance on 7.24.15 for the vehicle as well and had binder sent to bank. Now, 30+ days later, I begin getting calls from the dealership stating "the bank" won't accept the loan and want the car returned. I questioned how this is even possible. Dealership said,"the bank" said, my employer said, I did not work there any longer. I questioned who "the bank" is as I did not receive a denial letter nor had "the bank" contacted me. Dealership said I need to call bank, ***, ******** ********* ********. I called ***, asked what was going, stated I was employed by reported employer at the time of purchase, provided 6 months pay stubs, and questioned how could they now decide a month later not to accept the loan. After date of purchase, I had been laid off, but I was receiving unemployment benefits. My income is valid and verifiable, and besides the fact, it's been over a month since I purchased and signed contract. *** stated that they would not accept my income due to the source being public benefits. Additionally, I just received a letter of approval on 8/26/15, from a different lender, that had approved my loan on 7/24/15, but since expired as 30 days had past. That lender stated they never received papers from dealership. The dealership never reported this to me and could have secured alternate financing, but instead did not, and is now still asking me to return car. This is not acceptable fair lending practices, or business practices, I have a signed contract, met the terms, and yet a month later, they want car returned leaving me without a car, 6 credit inquiries, and just decide not to accept source of income, even though I STILL meet guidelines for loan.

Desired Settlement: My credit was pulled 6 times, twice by dealership, not banks. I asked why, response was "I don't know". I want all 6 credit inquiries removed from all 3 bureaus, a refund for 2 months insurance and $500 cash back not a check, I paid cash. Third, the dealership needs to find financing for the car or another car. I met the terms originally, still do and have acceptable income. The dealer needs to secure financing, using fair lending practices, public benefits are not to be excluded.

Business Response:

In response to Mr. ******'s complaint, the delivery of the vehicle to Mr. ****** was based on the application he filled out and signed at the time of sale. On that application, Mr. ****** claimed he was full time employed at the time of the application. When the loan company went through the verification process, it was discovered that Mr. ****** was unemployed as of June 30, 2015, 24 days prior to entering into the agreement with King Windward Nissan and the bank, ***, see attachment. We have made a formal demand for the vehicle of which Mr. ****** has not responded. Our next action will be to seek legal remedies to get our vehicle back.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 

In the reply, they state Mr. ****** as the consumer.  I am not Mr. ******.  I am Mr. ******* *****.  I told the dealership and ***, that due to dispute with my employer, they provided false information.  I was employed through the date of the loan on 7/24/2015.  My employer had reduced hours and UI was supplementing my income.  I had filed a partial claim for UI, but was still employed, and hours were to resume to normal September.  Attached is an official document provided to UI from the employer.  It is dated 7/10/15 and shows that I was employed, was to resume normal hours September, and that I would receive UI until that date.  This does not mean I was not employed, it was a temporary reduction in hours.  I further provided proof of UI income, and they can validate that I was employed through 7/24/15 by contacting the DOL UI office.  Additionally, after that date, I still have provable income.  The dealership and bank is refusing to validate my claims, only going off what they were told instead of facts.  
Sincerely,

******* *****

3/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have taken my **** ****** ********** exclusively to king windward nissan's auto body shop since I bought it in 2010. In 2013 I took it in for a brake inspection because there was a loud noise happening when I used the brakes and I was concerned it wasn't safe to drive. I paid for a brake inspection. 3 hours later I was informed that my rotors were rusted and needed to be replaced. I asked if the vehicle was safe to drive and was told absolutely the problem was just annoying to hear. I made an appointment for a few weeks later to have the repairs made. On my way to the dealership my brake fell off my car. My children and I could have been killed! I contacted the dealership to tell them what happened. They explained I had to have my car towed to them even know this was their fault. They missed what turned out to be a cracked rotor!! The rust wasn't an issue at all. Then the dealership tried to charge me for the repairs. I had to fight to make them cover the cost of to their negligence. Since then the truck has been in for many routine maintenance and other issues. Most recently. The fuel sensor went out which should be a warranties issue,but do to mishandling of the title by previous owners the title is not good and the dealership will not stand behind any warranties. So in October 2014 I paid to have the issue fixed. Coincidentally a second part was damaged in the same area when I recieved the truck back so I sent the truck back a week later to pay for that issue to be fixed and shipped to the mainland the very next day! When the car arrived in Virginia we drove it for a month and realized something was off. My husband checked the engine fluids and found they were ALL empty!!!!!! He filled them immediately. We then took it to the local dealership where we found out the vehicle now needs 3000.00 in repairs including the timing chain because the engine fluids were empty. All this after being at the dealership. They are suposed to check the levels every time it is there. Nissan has refused to help

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix their mistakes and make the required repairs to my truck! We are a military family who just moved across the world and can not afford these repairs. I I trusted my vehicle to the dealership and they were negligent. It's not right!!!

Business Response:

In response to the complaint filed by ****** **** *******, we are sorry that Mrs. ******* is experiencing problems with her **********. Mrs. ******* had not brought the ********** in for maintenance since purchasing the vehicle in 2010. When it came in for a brake concern in 2013 (the first time the vehicle was brought back in to us), we informed her at that time that she needed front and rear rotors due to extreme rust. The question of whether or not it is safe to drive would obviously be difficult to answer due to the variables involved such as how long, how far, etc. She returned a month later and 500 miles and the problem was a result of the rust. The fingers that hold the pads in place had broken off due to the rust causing the pad to dislodge. She was not charged for this brake job.

Approximately 1 year later the vehicle was brought in for a check engine light issue. We had not seen the vehicle since the brake job nor have we performed any maintenance on the vehicle since it was purchased. The check engine light was caused by a fuel sending unit which was addressed. Aproximately 3 weeks later the light came back on due to an evap leak which was unrelated to the fuel sending unit issue.

In closing, since the vehicle either was not being maintained or the maintenance was being performed by someone else, we cannot bear responsibility for maintenance related issues.  

Consumer Response: I have attached the paperwork proving the work needed to the truck here in Virginia. 

I am still trying to open boxes and trying  I find the paperwork from Hawaii dealership. They should be able to provide paperwork as they are the ones that did the work and have already admitted to servicing the vehicle twice in a month at the end of 2014. If I can find the paperwork I will attach it in a future email if not I would like them to provide for your review. 
Thanks
******

4/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty contract refund for a car that I purchased from King Windward Nissan. Also, GAP refund that I should have been refunded. I had purchased my Infiniti G35 4dr Sedan on April 3, 2010 from King Windward Nissan. During the sale, my final price was quoted with GAP insurance and 5STAR Warranty. I had already been pre-approved through my bank and chose not to use their financing option. Once I had told King Windward Nissan that I was financing through NFCU, I should not have been charged for the GAP. Basically I ended up paying for their GAP coverage and my banks GAP coverage. Shouldn't they have known to remove their GAP coverage since it is a debt cancellation contract? Well when I contacted the finance guy at the time, he asked me to give him the account number and they would reimburse me the money. No money was exchanged. I decided to not worry about the $300 because he seemed to not care and I didn't really feel comfortable since their customer service was lacking. Recently, my car was totaled. I purchased King Windward Nissan Pre-Owned 5 Star Warranty from Warranty Solutions. Once the car is no longer in-service, the purchaser is entitled for a return on what's left on the coverage of the vehicle. I have been trying to receive a straight answer from the finance department for months. I have first contacted **** ****** on December 12, 2014. I faxed him my Warranty Solutions contract and a summary of the information he requested. The following week I followed up with **** and he said that he had not received the information, so I emailed him the information I had previously faxed. The following week I had contacted him over the phone and asked if he had received the information. He stated that he had submitted the information "upstairs" and that there would be a check in the mail in 60 days. I have tried to call, email, and fax to the business and I am getting no response. I was contacted by ****** ****** on February 11, 2014 through ***********.com after leaving my negative experience on their website. She left her phone number and that was all. I called multiple times and also left voice mails. No further contact from ****** was ever made. The team doesn't seem to care much. I have been told I would be contacted by their Customer Care manager; 12 days later still nothing. I simply want the money that I have paid for my GAP coverage and warranty. I am being pushed away and not seemed to be given the time of day.

Desired Settlement: I would like a return for the money I paid for the GAP coverage since it should have been null and void once I provided my own financing. I would like a return of what money is owed to me on the Warranty Solutions contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/21) */ The GAP coverage was cancelled on August 3, 2010. We received the refund from the GAP coverage provider on October 25, 2010 and sent the refund check to the lienholder on October 25, 2010. The Extended Service Contract was cancelled on December 01, 2013 which was the date of the total loss. The cancellation requires an odometer statement which the customer provided after our request. We received the refund from the Extended Service Contract provider on February 28, 2014 and sent the refund check to the lienholder on February 28, 2014. We apologize for the poor communication during between the customer and our staff during this time. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do or if there are any other questions. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response. I do not recall ever receiving the GAP coverage refund in the amount of $399. I had Navy Federal Credit Union check for deposits made to ALL of my accounts between Jan '10 to Jan '11 and they could not find any such deposit. I would like Kind Windward Nissan to provide proof the GAP refund check was deposited by the lienholder. If no proof can be produced, I would like my refund for the amount owed since they acknowledge that I cancelled the coverage on August 3, 2010. I have received the check for the Extended Service Contract. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/04/14) */ A copy of the processed check has been emailed to Mr. Magnon II. Let us know if there are any questions. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/03/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this proposed resolution. I have contacted Navy Federal Credit Union again and had them pull my statement for my checking, savings, and auto loan accounts. There were no deposits made in the amount of $341.83 on 11/29/2010. I would like to see an endorsed copy of the check that was sent to Navy Federal Credit Union before I accept any resolution on this complaint.

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After trying to receive reimbursement for cancelation of gap insurance, the finance manager has not contacted me in spite of numerous attempts. I bought a jeep grand Cherokee in June 2012 from king windward Nissan. I financed through the dealership and paid off the vehicle in April 2013. After receiving a payoff letter from GM financial I contacted *** ******* of King Windward Nissan to cancel and receive reimbursement for my gap insurance ($700). Currently i have not heard from *** ******* since april 26 after trying to make contact. In addition to emails I have called 4 times leaving a voicemail once. Mr. *******s voicemail claims for faster service please email him. I am very upset with the service and i feel as if the company which claims to care about the consumer is trying to punish me for paying off my loan early with them, the email traffic is below starting with the latest to the first email. Mr. *******, This is the last email I write before I go to the better business bureau. I have called and left a voice mail, emailed and without hearing from you I am starting to think because a customer pays off his loan early your company king windward Nissan does not believe the customer is number 1 after receiving his or her money. Please contact me via email or phone XXX-XXX-XXXX. Respectfully, ****** ***** Sent from my iPhone Begin forwarded message: From: **** ***** <******@snet.net> Date: June 6, 2013, 2:50:50 PM MDT To: ********@kingwindward.com Subject: Fw: gap cancel form ----- Forwarded Message ---- From: ****** Damian ***** <******@snet.net> To: *** ******* <********@kingwindward.com> Sent: Thu, May 30, 2013 10:04:38 PM Subject: Re: gap cancel form ***, Just inquiring on the status of the Gap refund also I would like to ensure that it was sent to my current address of 7284 Coral Ridge Drive, Colorado Springs, CO XXXXX. Once again thank you for the assistance and it was a pleasure doing business with yourself and the rest of the staff at King. V/r **** ***** Sent from my iPhone On Apr 26, 2013, at 8:39 PM, *** ******* <********@kingwindward.com> wrote: Got it! Refund process takes about 4 to 6 weeks to complete. Your refund **** be effective from the date your loan was paid in full. Sent from my Galaxy S�®III -------- Original message -------- From: **** ***** <******@snet.net> Date: 04/26/XXXX X:XX PM (GMT-10:00) To: ***ert ******* <********@kingwindward.com> Subject: Re: gap cancel form ***, Attached is the payoff letter from GM Financial along with the signed Gap CXL form. Please confirm reciept of this email, Thank you! Respectfully, ****** ***** From: ***ert ******* <********@kingwindward.com> To: ******@snet.net Sent: Fri, April 26, 2013 7:31:27 PM Subject: gap cancel form Sign at bottom left of the form and send back to me along with the paid in full letter you received from Gm Financial. Mahalo, *** ******* King Windward Nissan

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a written explanation for why I am treated rudely for paying off my loan and requesting a refund of my GAP insurance. I am also requesting my full refund of GAP insurance of $700 immediately.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/20) */ King Windward Nissan apologizes for the delay in the processing of the GAP insurance cancellation. The claim was re-filed and a check has been issued and will be dropped off at the Post Office today, Thursday June 20. Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance. Thank you. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) King Windward Nissan sent me my refund ($536.67). I am satisfied with the response time however there was no explanation as to why my phone calls and emails were ignored for almost a month. I accept the response from the company and I appreciate the help from the BBB. I will not do business with King Windward Nissan again and will not recommend their business to anyone and everyone I know.