BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

King Auto Center, Inc.

Phone: (808) 245-4788 Fax: (808) 245-1643 View Additional Phone Numbers 4330 Kukui Grove Street, Lihue, HI 96766 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kingautocenter.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new & used cars, auto repair, auto parts, and auto detailing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that King Auto Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for King Auto Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on King Auto Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 10/10/1995 Business started locally: 10/10/1995 Business incorporated: 10/10/1995 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20504942-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD529.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD3136.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles G. King, President Mr. Jose Aguayo, Vice President, General Manager Debbie Batara, Accounting Dept Mr. Lance Eto, Controller Ms. Mary Bea King, Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jose Aguayo, Vice President, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Charles G. King, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 4330 Kukui Grove Street

    Lihue, HI 96766

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 245-1877(Phone)
  • (808) 245-5977(Phone)
  • (808) 245-2875 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spent thirty thousand dollars on preowed car picked up from servicing through king a week and half ago car overheated and says need servicing . Just got a new car BMW 2008 535i series cost a little over $30000.00 picked it up from servicing through king only a week and a half ago.the car overheated and now it says service vehicle.I called dealership they said they won't do a thing.I can't go to work or take my kids to school.the response I got was well cars ate made to breakdown? Is this how they treat codyomers.its more than in professional its insulting to all costomets

Desired Settlement: For them to sell me a car that works and maybe try to care about my rights and show me the respect because I work hard to make deserve a car that works

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/12/18) */ Ms. ****** complaint states that she paid $30000.00 on the car. on September 2013 she purchased a used 2008 BMW 525i with 55137 miles on it for $23995.00 she recieved $15000.00 in trade for her 2011 Jeep Liberty that she owed $15339.78.Ms ****** gave $3800.00 in downpayment and financed $21221.80 including fees. we can fax acopy of the sales agreement if needed.As part of the purchase we promised to repair the tire pressure monitoring light that was on. we had it repaired at *********** **** ***** a local shop that works on BMS's We also paid to have the front control arms and air conditioning repaired at no cost to her. Ms ****** complaint states that she picked up the car from servicing through King Auto Center and the vehicle overheated and now says "service vehicle" We were not informed of this at the time. during the Finance preocess, Ms ****** was offered an extended warranty. She declined. On or about November 8 2013 Ms ****** reported that the car overheated. As we do not repair this type of vehicle we refered her to ********** **** *****. The used car buyers guide for this vehicle states that it had a limited warranty foer 30 days or 30000 miles. By the time the overheating was reported to us more than 49 days had elapsed and no extended service contract was purchased. all her available warranties had expired. customers desired resolution would be for us to sell her a car that works. this we did. Ms ****** did decline the opportunity to purchase an extended service contract because as she told us she knew the previous owner and belived that it was well cared for. i hope this answers any questions you might have, feel free to contace me at anyime. sincerely. **** ****** Vice President.

1/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman Knew we were both disabled, suffering a lot of pain and had no car. Addit. costs, closing papers done wrong, injured our credit, car problms 1) Additional costs appear at signing. 2) Closing papers done wrong, causing stress, additional costs and injurious to our credit. We have since spoken to *** in their office and she spoke to the sales manager about it, but apparently they could not fix it. 3) Windsheild was cracked but hidden to us until they washed it. 4) Both front doors do not work properly, passenger door is unsafe. 5) Back hatch does not open properly. 6) Problems with the starter. 7) Stereo not wired correctly and drains battery. 8) We went back in to ****** Auto prior to the major problems arising and spoke to a sales agent who ran our credit and he said he would see what he could do. He never got back to us and so it took extra time for more problems to arise and we were not alerted to the closing error that ****** had originally made. We felt he did not want to work with us, since our original sales agent stays away from us since we closed on the car. 9) We feel original sales agent took advantage of our situation. He well knew we were both disabled and suffered a lot of constant pain, and that we had no car. 10) We feel that ****** Auto has failed us ethically, and completely taken advantage of our situation. We did go in and speak to *** and see how they might rectify the situation. They offered us $******** for the car when we paid them $********* March 31, 2012.

Desired Settlement: To be refunded total costs to purchase. To have credit inquiry be removed from both of our credit reports which as dated Jul, 12, 2012.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/01/14) */ From: ****** ****** Sent: Monday, January 14, 2013 2:09 PM To: ************** Subject: Aloha Ms. *****, Attached is our response. Please let me know when you receive this. CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This Email and any attachments ****** contain private, confidential, and privileged material is for the sole use of ****** Auto Center to the intended recipient. Any review, copying, or distribution of this email and any attachments by others is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender immediately and permanently delete the original and any copies of this email and any attachments thereto. 1) Our paperwork shows that there were no additional charges other than normal licensing and doc fees which were disclosed on the offer made to them. 2) Subsequent to their original signing we received approval for their loan from a local lending institution and switched the financing there. We do not understand how this could have caused them additional costs or injured their credit. 3) We were not aware of a crack in the windshield. We inspect the car visually for scratches and dents, but our main effort goes to insuring mechanical well being. 4) When the vehicle was delivered all doors were in working condition. 5) When the vehicle was delivered the back hatch was in working condition. 6) When the vehicle was delivered the starter was functioning. 7) When the vehicle was delivered the stereo was functioning properly. None of the issues in 4,5,6 & 7 have been brought to our attention by the customer with a request to repair. Ms. ****** brought the car in on two occasions, once in June and once in November and nothing was mentioned. ******) On 11/16/12 Ms. ****** came in looking at a new truck. At that time she said she had an insurance issue with the bank she needed to clear up. We followed up with her on the 20th and 23rd of that month leaving messages on her phone. On the 24th she called, but her salesperson was unavailable. Another call was made and a message left after the holidays on 12/6. 9 & 10) We feel that we have been honest and forthright with Ms. ******. The offer we made on her car was low due to it's deplorable condition. The car had been abused since the time it was purchased.