Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

King Auto Center, Inc.

Phone: (808) 245-4788 Fax: (808) 245-1643 View Additional Phone Numbers 4330 Kukui Grove St, Lihue, HI 96766 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new & used cars, auto repair, auto parts, and auto detailing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that King Auto Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for King Auto Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on King Auto Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 1997 Business started: 10/10/1995 Business started locally: 10/10/1995 Business incorporated 10/10/1995 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20504942-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is MVD529.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is RD3136.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Charles G. King, President Mr. Jose Aguayo, Vice President, General Manager Debbie Batara, Accounting Dept Mr. Lance Eto, Controller Ms. Mary Bea King, Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jose Aguayo, Vice President, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Charles G. King, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Dealers - Online Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Detailing Auto Repair & Service

Industry Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my **** ** ******* from a third party, since **** Auto center was the certified ******** repair dealer , I took it **** to get a second opinion why my car was over heating, (my friend ***** a mechanic . Replaced water pump,all 3 belts,thermostat ,cooling sensor,pvc valve,radiator and hoses,cam seals,fan unit with sensors,oil change,filter and spark plugs and distributor all 4 wires, coolant flush and fill,air filter before 75000miles all **** brand (which is made by a machine same way as the ***** ones). But the car was still over heating and couldn't figure out why. The owners Manuel needs to be redone! it states anything below the H is normal, not true. and thats what the mechanic or Ed B****** who was the head supervisor at that time kept telling me, they checked but their answer was either head gasket or power train module and relay, weren't a 100% sure what the problem was after replacing those items or they weren't willing to guarantee that would resolve my problem ($2,000.00+) and 2 more cooling sensors ,trans oil change, it was still over heating past the 1/2 line which was the normal to my knowledge anything past the 1/2 line is caution and it will over heat and cause damages to the engine. but Ed reassure me that was normal. but the last time it was looked at they determined: the head gasket that was lea**** coolant. all this times i've had spent more money on car rental cause they weren't sure and had no loners to rent when I took it to ** **** automotive repair whose not a authorized ******** repair shop but had the knowledge, found my over heating problem and it was the head gasket with the car temp going over the 1/2 mark it was slowly damaging the head gasket and engine and I didn't need to replace the power train module or relay. their technicians were polite,returned all my calls and answered all my questions with out arguing with me what was normal and the 1/2 is normal or below 1/2 any thing above the 1/2 was to have it checked.

Desired Settlement: **** Auto center needs to change their ad, live up to their promises, their ad states : they have trained technicians,the best technology with computers to determine the problems and will repair your vehicle. Something like that. Return phone calls,the staff be more polite to customers when their busy, communicate from technicians,head supervisors to service people calling the customers back.take the time listen to customer with car issues.******* **** the owner should be aware of this.

Business Response:

I personally spoke to the customer and  when I asked her what we could do to resolve her issue she told me she just wanted to vent. Mr. **** is fully aware of the complaint and our technicians are factory trained.

thank you,

Jose A*****

Vice President

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new **** ***** *** **** **** in late 2011. In 2014 with only 45,000 miles the engine suffered major problems. The dealer installed a new head on the odd side of the engine (head over cylinders 1,3,5,7) and a new cam shaft. The dealer had my truck for weeks and it was a true hardship being without my truck for so long. They replaced the head and called me to pick up the truck and later that same day they called again to tell me not to come in, the mechanic found the cam shaft needs replacing. The eventually let me use a courtesy truck during the very end of the cam shaft replacement. Finally they call me again to come down and get my truck, it is all fixed ready to go. The day I picked up the truck my keys were with the cashier and my truck was parked in their lot. No one offered to come with me to go over the vehicle, I was given the keys and went to the truck. I opened the hood and could see the shiny new head still with sticker remnants. I started the truck and what sounded like low power steering fluid came from the engine and I had never heard this before. I went and purchased fluid and the noise continued. I thought about going back to the dealer regarding the new noise but I was afraid I would go longer with out a truck so I decided to keep an eye on it.The truck experienced the exact same problem at about 60,000 miles with the new head failing. I took the truck back to the dealer and explained to ** *** ******* ****** about the noise and how it was not there before I brought it in last time and when I picked it up it was all of a sudden there. I also gave him my concerns about my truck going through heads at an abnormal rate. He said that maybe that part of the engine is not getting good oil flow. That sounded plausible to me. They replaced the head and called me to tell me that the noise I was hearing that started after the first head replacement is the alternator and not power steering. They asked me to pay for a new one and I refused since they did something that caused it to make noise the first time the disassembled the engine. I inquired about the cause for the head failing twice and ** could not give me an answer. He said that since the newest head is a different part number then that must be what was wrong. I do not buy this.that is what a recall is for! How do I know this head is not going to fail like the last two heads failed?

Desired Settlement: I would like a new alienator since they are responsible for causing the noise and I would like a new engine so I can rest assured the problem will not happen again with the head.

Business Response:

we have contacted the customer and he is bringing the vehicle back so that we can repair it to his satisfaction.

thank you.

**** ******


4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: From: ******* ****** *************************** 
Sent: Monday, March 16, 2015 4:06 PM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: ******* and ******* ******
On March 06, 2015 we brought our **** **** ******* to king auto center. It was fixed that day.  On March 12, 2015 my husband was coming home. The **** started to sputter. We saw that the check engine light came on. We immedently called king auto center. The service advisor told us to bring it in if we are close to the center.(we were in lihue). We turned around, as we got there we spoke to Dan,Fidel, and service manager ed. Ed instruced Dan to plug in the dignostic. Dan said their was something with the 3rd ???? don't know for sure what they were saying. Just then the service manager said to turn the check engine light OFF. Why? dont know. So they just send us on our way home. but they did say if it acts up again (bring it back). We were goin back home and of course it does the same thing but worse. We called back, talked to Dan and Ed both said okay just make an appointment. Appoinment date March 16,2105.(also paid the bank for the loan for the **** $453 that day). So we got home slowly. Next morning March 13, 2015 ready to start the day. go in the ****, **** doesn't start. We had to change plans for the day, walk our child to school, ******* had to call in sick. That day called the sales manager Ray. We explain to him the whole situation. Confirmed with the service manager Ed.  At that time Ray told us he would call us back (which he did). When he called back he said that he had made arrangments with the towing service. Then the **** got towed to king auto center. We cought the bus to King auto center. to get the loaner vihecle. Next day they called to tell us yes #3 fuel injecter is broken. Its goin to be a week for parts to come in.
Thank you for your time and a hope that this letter will help us resolve this problem. If there is any questions please feel free to call us. ******* and ******* ************

Desired Settlement: Help please

Consumer Response:


Business Response:

From: *** ********* *******************************
Sent: Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:01 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Cc: **** ******
Subject: ******* and ******* ****** *** ID ********


Good Morning Ms. *****,


The ******’ had an issue regarding their **** ******* “sputtering” and engine light on March 6th  after putting gas at Costco.  They brought it in to us and our service department looked at the vehicle. Our service advisor, Dan, ran a diagnostic and a code came on stating there was a misfire with the 3rd cylinder. There are several things that may cause a misfire.  The first step is to reset the check engine light.  There was no charge to reset the check engine light and we sent them home.  Dan told the ******’ that if the problem comes back to call us.  According to our service manager there have been several instances of customers putting gas at Costco and vehicles having similar problems to the ******’.


The ******’ called us and said the engine light came back on.  We made an appointment to have the vehicle brought back to do further diagnostics.  We did provide the ******’ with a loaner vehicle at the time.  After further diagnostics on the **** our service department found there was a misfire code initially in cylinder three but the code moved to cylinder one.  Our service department recommended replacing injector one and replacing a coil/ignition which we did.  To be sure the problem was fixed, our service manager Ed, asked to keep the vehicle for a few more days.  During this time Ed drove the vehicle around for several days and added fresh fuel to be sure the problem was resolved.  


I spoke with Mr. ****** on April 2 and he stated everything was fine and he thanked me for calling and following up.  I hope this resolves this matter.  If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me.




Roy Y********

Sales Manager

King Auto Center ? **********************

*** ***** ******** * **** ***** ******** **** ***** ***** ****** * ***** * ****** * *****



CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This Email and any attachments may contain private, confidential, and privileged material is for the sole use of King Auto Center to the intended recipient. Any review, copying, or distribution of this email and any attachments by others is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender immediately and permanently delete the original and any copies of this email and any attachments thereto.


12/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spent thirty thousand dollars on preowed car picked up from servicing through king a week and half ago car overheated and says need servicing . Just got a new car BMW 2008 535i series cost a little over $30000.00 picked it up from servicing through king only a week and a half ago.the car overheated and now it says service vehicle.I called dealership they said they won't do a thing.I can't go to work or take my kids to school.the response I got was well cars ate made to breakdown? Is this how they treat codyomers.its more than in professional its insulting to all costomets

Desired Settlement: For them to sell me a car that works and maybe try to care about my rights and show me the respect because I work hard to make deserve a car that works

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/12/18) */ Ms. ****** complaint states that she paid $30000.00 on the car. on September 2013 she purchased a used 2008 BMW 525i with 55137 miles on it for $23995.00 she recieved $15000.00 in trade for her 2011 Jeep Liberty that she owed $15339.78.Ms ****** gave $3800.00 in downpayment and financed $21221.80 including fees. we can fax acopy of the sales agreement if needed.As part of the purchase we promised to repair the tire pressure monitoring light that was on. we had it repaired at *********** **** ***** a local shop that works on BMS's We also paid to have the front control arms and air conditioning repaired at no cost to her. Ms ****** complaint states that she picked up the car from servicing through King Auto Center and the vehicle overheated and now says "service vehicle" We were not informed of this at the time. during the Finance preocess, Ms ****** was offered an extended warranty. She declined. On or about November 8 2013 Ms ****** reported that the car overheated. As we do not repair this type of vehicle we refered her to ********** **** *****. The used car buyers guide for this vehicle states that it had a limited warranty foer 30 days or 30000 miles. By the time the overheating was reported to us more than 49 days had elapsed and no extended service contract was purchased. all her available warranties had expired. customers desired resolution would be for us to sell her a car that works. this we did. Ms ****** did decline the opportunity to purchase an extended service contract because as she told us she knew the previous owner and belived that it was well cared for. i hope this answers any questions you might have, feel free to contace me at anyime. sincerely. **** ****** Vice President.

1/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman Knew we were both disabled, suffering a lot of pain and had no car. Addit. costs, closing papers done wrong, injured our credit, car problms 1) Additional costs appear at signing. 2) Closing papers done wrong, causing stress, additional costs and injurious to our credit. We have since spoken to *** in their office and she spoke to the sales manager about it, but apparently they could not fix it. 3) Windsheild was cracked but hidden to us until they washed it. 4) Both front doors do not work properly, passenger door is unsafe. 5) Back hatch does not open properly. 6) Problems with the starter. 7) Stereo not wired correctly and drains battery. 8) We went back in to ****** Auto prior to the major problems arising and spoke to a sales agent who ran our credit and he said he would see what he could do. He never got back to us and so it took extra time for more problems to arise and we were not alerted to the closing error that ****** had originally made. We felt he did not want to work with us, since our original sales agent stays away from us since we closed on the car. 9) We feel original sales agent took advantage of our situation. He well knew we were both disabled and suffered a lot of constant pain, and that we had no car. 10) We feel that ****** Auto has failed us ethically, and completely taken advantage of our situation. We did go in and speak to *** and see how they might rectify the situation. They offered us $******** for the car when we paid them $********* March 31, 2012.

Desired Settlement: To be refunded total costs to purchase. To have credit inquiry be removed from both of our credit reports which as dated Jul, 12, 2012.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/01/14) */ From: ****** ****** Sent: Monday, January 14, 2013 2:09 PM To: ************** Subject: Aloha Ms. *****, Attached is our response. Please let me know when you receive this. CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This Email and any attachments ****** contain private, confidential, and privileged material is for the sole use of ****** Auto Center to the intended recipient. Any review, copying, or distribution of this email and any attachments by others is strictly prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender immediately and permanently delete the original and any copies of this email and any attachments thereto. 1) Our paperwork shows that there were no additional charges other than normal licensing and doc fees which were disclosed on the offer made to them. 2) Subsequent to their original signing we received approval for their loan from a local lending institution and switched the financing there. We do not understand how this could have caused them additional costs or injured their credit. 3) We were not aware of a crack in the windshield. We inspect the car visually for scratches and dents, but our main effort goes to insuring mechanical well being. 4) When the vehicle was delivered all doors were in working condition. 5) When the vehicle was delivered the back hatch was in working condition. 6) When the vehicle was delivered the starter was functioning. 7) When the vehicle was delivered the stereo was functioning properly. None of the issues in 4,5,6 & 7 have been brought to our attention by the customer with a request to repair. Ms. ****** brought the car in on two occasions, once in June and once in November and nothing was mentioned. ******) On 11/16/12 Ms. ****** came in looking at a new truck. At that time she said she had an insurance issue with the bank she needed to clear up. We followed up with her on the 20th and 23rd of that month leaving messages on her phone. On the 24th she called, but her salesperson was unavailable. Another call was made and a message left after the holidays on 12/6. 9 & 10) We feel that we have been honest and forthright with Ms. ******. The offer we made on her car was low due to it's deplorable condition. The car had been abused since the time it was purchased.