This business is not BBB accredited.

JN Group, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 831-2500 Fax: (808) 831-2594 View Additional Phone Numbers 2999 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://www.jnautomotive.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new car sales, representing Chevrolet, Mazda, Audi, Maserati, Lotus, Bentley, Ferrari and Lamborghini, used car sales and service, and exotic car rentals.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for JN Group, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JN Group, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1969 Business started: 10/02/1961 Business started locally: 10/02/1961 Business incorporated 10/02/1961 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20275670-01.

DCCA Business Registration Division
335 Merchant St STE 201, Honolulu HI 96813
www.businessregistrations.com
Phone Number: (808) 586-2727
breg@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is 239402 D1.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD-413.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD-94.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad M. Nicolai, Presdent/GM Ms. Nani Ala, Customer Care Manager Ms. Gayle Awong, JN Parts Manager Mr. David Higashiyama, General Manager Mr. Carlton Hill, Used Vehicle Manager Mr. Wayne Hirata, Audi Parts Manager Mr. Greg Jackson, Audi GSM Mr. Bryan Marino, Parts & Service Director Ms. Marisa Miner, Audi Service Manager Mr. Brian Muratsuka, JN Service Manager Mr. Joseph P. Nicolai, Chairman Mr. Mark Sherman, JN GSM Mr. Darrell Toma, Assistant Treasurer Mr. Kirk Wong, Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Higashiyama, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Brad M. Nicolai, Presdent/GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
La Collezione Nicolai
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2770 Waiwai Loop

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 377-4654 (808) 585-6600 (808) 585-6623

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2999 N Nimitz Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 377-4627 (808) 377-4628 (808) 831-2531 (808) 831-2555 (808) 831-2560 (808) 831-2566 (808) 831-2724 (808) 831-2500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    720 Kapiolani Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 377-4495

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We took our vehicle to JN Chevrolet to figure out what was causing it to constantly die-out. We normally take our vehicles to our family friend but he highly suggested that we take it to the dealership as they have the proper equipment for the make and model vehicle that we needed fixed. We did that and right off the back was told a whole bunch of things that were already completed with our family friend, such as and oil change and change of the spark plugs. They went ahead did other things that they claimed fixed the problem. Upon retrieving our vehicle and reviewing everything that was already done and payment was expected, there were things that were not authorized but being the amicable good citizen...I paid the bill. Moments after driving off the lot the car immediately stalls and dies out, we make it home and call the dealership and tell they what has happened and we are told to bring it back as soon as we could. The soonest would be the Friday leading into Memorial Day weekend. Friday afternoon we are told they are running tests and need to keep it overnight, Saturday comes and it goes....we get no courtesy phone call, no kind of notification about the status of our vehicle and when we call at 1pm, we receive their voice mail stating that they are closed. After trying all sorts of numbers we finally reach a sales manager who tries to help us but unfortunately the service department is closed and not open until Tuesday as Monday is a holiday. We voice our concerns to this manager and also explain to her that we are wanting our vehicle first thing on Tuesday and we would also like our refund waiting for the costs involved for the labor that clearly did not solve our issue, she agrees to have everything ready for us. Tuesday comes and the vehicle is ready but we are told that our refund won't be ready as they've closed their books and no cash is available, which we used to pay our bill! It's been a week and no one has even tried to resolve anything, we haven't received anything back.

Desired Settlement: Refund for amount we've discussed as no issues were solved in fixing our vehicle, we want to be notified of what is going on and why it is taking so long to get our money back when they were so eagerly accepting to our cash payment!

Business Response: From: David H********** ******************** 
Sent: Friday, June 19, 2015 1:24 PM
To: ***** ** ****** **** ********
Subject: RE: View Complaint Message (Case #********)

*****,
The issue of the refund was completed on or about June 5, 2015.  

We will ensure that future communications are clearer as the JN personnel involved say that it was just a matter of the check being requested and printed that took a few days.  

Please advise if more information is needed.

Aloha,

David H**********
General Manager

JN Chevrolet Mazda
2999 N. Nimitz Highway
Honolulu, HI 96819

Direct: 808-831-2548
Mobile: 808-499-9266
Fax: 808-831-2510

dh@jnag.com
www.jnautomotive.com

CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This email message, including any attachments is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information.  Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited.  If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message. 
Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail.

Consumer Response: The partial amount we received was $451.52. We still haven't cashed the check as it isn't the amount we discussed.

The amount that was promised by Conrad was $536.74, as for the written document stating the amount, JN apparently "closed the books/receipts" in regards to the amount promised. We have our own written record of our phone conversation, which we were under the impression that we were in a "verbal" agreement as they had no access to their books. 

11/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used vehicle in June with expired safety check, unkown to me at the time,now in Sept I must return to the dealer to receive my safety. I purchased the vehicle on 06/19/2014. I asked the dealer if the tags were expired on the vehicle but he said it would be illegal to sell me a car with expired tags. When I went to leave with the new vehicle I notice it was a temporary registration and was told that the new one would arrive at the dealer and they would call me. I received a call from **** the Finance manager telling me that there was a problem getting the registration done since the safety was expired and needed to be renewed before the registration could be released. So we had to schedule time out of our day when this should have been done before we even bought the car and even then we still have to go back to have the safety sticker put on. When we were able to bring the car in to have a safety done no one seemed quite sure what was going on or why we didn't have the Registration it,seemed strange to the technician performing the safety. Here I am in September and just today I get a call that they have the tags ready for me. Here we are 3 months later and I am still dealing with the dealer to finish this transaction.

Desired Settlement: Atleast the first couple oil changes should be covered, but not expecting it.

Business Response:

Audi Hawaii
A Division of JN Group, Inc.

JN Group,  INC
****  ******  ****
*********  ** *****
Complaint ID ********

Better  Business  Bureau
 
This letter is in response to your correspondence regarding the above referenced inquiry to the Better Business Bureau.

Our records  indicate that the vehicle  in question 2011  Volkswagen Golf with YIN ***************** was originally offered for sale with a valid safety inspection. Just after Mr. ******** took delivery of the vehicle we noticed that the safety inspection was expired. Audi Hawaii Management staff made multiple attempts to contact Mr. ******** requesting his return to the dealership for inspection without any response. After several months Mr. ******** finally arrived  for a safety inspection. We at Audi Hawaii take great care to ensure that important matters such as this are properly managed.

We have since provided  Mr. ********' a safety  inspection .  Though  it was mere oversight, we will provide Mr. ******** with two (2) oil and filter change
 vouchers for the vehicle YIN *****************.

 Please contact me should  you have any further  questions or concern.

 

Sincerely,

*****  *******

General  Manager

Audi Hawaii
************

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Promises not kept, rude salesman, managers lying to us and not receiving calls back. On Saturday, September 13th we bought a car from JN Automotive. It had a dead battery and had a scratch, so we were told by our salesman ***** that it would be ready on Monday, September 15th. Came in on Monday to pick up the car, was told it was not ready, but we were told we needed to put our deposit down ($19,000), even though we were unable to pick up the car and had already put a $1000 deposit down on Saturday (total paid $20,000). We were told it would be ready on Tuesday. Called that day and found out it would not be ready until Wednesday. I called to speak to a manager to complain. **** answered my call and had ***** call me back. I told ***** how unhappy I was that he kept promising us things and it did not happen and how unhappy we were that he did not let us know on Monday that it would not be ready. He snapped at me, saying "I am not a painter, how am I supposed to know when it is ready?" Because of how he spoke to me I told him I wanted to cancel the agreement. He said he would have someone call me back, no one did. I had to call numerous times and spoke to ******* and ***** (both managers) who promised to help and that they don't treat their customers that way. ***** stated that we could get our money back and I told him I would be in an hour or two to return a loaner they provided and get a check for $20,000. ***** called me back saying that the deposit was picked up "earlier than planned" and the checks were not there. He said that we could either 1. cancel the checks and he would pay back the cancellation fees or 2. wait until the money cleared the bank and they would issue a check. We wrote two checks, so I cancelled my check for $5000 and my husband had a cashier's check, but was told by his bank that he was unable to stop payment on that. I called ***** back and he said they were mistaken. My husband called the bank again and was told there was no way he could do that. I called ***** and left a message, I did not get a call back. I called ******* and left a message, I did not get a call back. I let her know that we had another car we were interested in and needed our money back right away. No one called and it is now two days later. My husband went in to JN today and they said they would write him a check. They came back later saying that our checks were picked up today. When my husband questioned them stating that they told me it was picked up on Tuesday, no one could answer him. They also said that now we have to wait even longer to get our money back and that we would have to show proof that the money cleared our bank before they would issue a check. They only have 1 car at ****** ***** that fits what we want. I am worried that if we wait, someone may purchase the car, so just wanted to see what we can do.

Desired Settlement: We just want to be reimbursed the amount we paid $15,000 + $20 in cancellation fees from my bank, for a total of $15,020.

Business Response: It is with great concern that I address an incident you experienced with our sales department. After hearing of this issue, I would like to make an apology on behalf of our company. We are taking all the necessary steps to make sure that this type of problem does not happen again. In regards to the refund we have reimbursed all funds to the client. Our company values all of our customers and any feedback that is provided. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss any concerns that you may have in the future.

Sincerely,
******* ********
General Manager
JN Chevrolet Mazda

8/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold an extended car warranty by Audi of Hawaii in January 2014 for a 2010 Audi S5. However, the dealership did not disclose the policy to us in regards to inclusions and exclusions. The car went in for a malfunction of the engine 2 days ago and the repairs were sent to the extended warranty company to be claimed. However, the insurance company denied the claim stating that it was an exclusion. My complaint against Audi of Hawaii is that they never disclosed the insurance policy thoroughly and only stated that "everything is covered except for normal wear and tear." Therefore I purchased the full package warranty believing that this was the case. However, upon finding out that this particular engine problem will not be covered is surprising and upsetting. Audi just wants to take the customer's money and telling false information just to sell the policy. This is FRAUD Product_Or_Service: Allstate VSC Premium Care

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of extended warranty cost

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/05) */ I spoke to Dr. ***** late last week & he initially considered keeping the vehicle & service contract. However, after pondering the decision, he opted to cancel the service contract (this is a viable & acceptable contract condition). Dr. ***** & I spoke again this morning(August 5th, 2014), and we mutually agreed to refund the full price ($4,776.96) of the service contract he purchased in January of this year. He needs to sign the request for cancellation contract & will do so on August 8th in the afternoon. We, in turn, will mail him the refund check within 7 business days after August 8th. Sincerely, ************ Fixed Operations Director JN Group Inc. and Cycle City Hawaii Ph. ************ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/08/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JN Automotive group is unwilling to fix the issue of damaged chrome trim that is on our new vehicle we purchased on 4-27-14. On 4-27-14 at about 2000 hours my wife & I completed the process of purchasing her new Chevy Equinox from JN Automotive. Before leaving the lot I was able to do a visual inspection of the vehicle, but because it was late and dark I was unable to see the defects in the vehicle. On 4-29-14 at about 1630 hours I came home & noticed out of the corner of my eye an orange spot on the chrome trim on my wife's new SUV. After inspecting the SUV closer in the daylight, I noticed many small orange spots on the vehicles chrome trim. I immediately tried to wipe it off with my shirt and the spots would not come off. I called my sales guy at about 1700 hours on 4-29-14 & told him the situation. I asked if I could come down immediately because I wanted them to take care of the issue, but he said it was to late because the service department would be closing soon. My sales guy also stated that it might just be fallout & if I took the SUV to an auto detailer, they would be able to get it out. I told him that this is a new vehicle & I am not gonna pay out of my own pocket to fix an issue that the dealership should take care of. My sales guy stated that the dealership took so much of a loss selling our SUV to us that they would not be able to pay for detailing of the SUV. JN Automotive has a 72 exchange policy & at some point in the conversation with my sales guy I told him that, "I bought a new car & new cars should not have defects. If they due, it is part of the dealerships Pre-Delivery Service that they are suppose to correct any defects. My sales guy then told me to come the next day & he will see what they can do. 4-30-14 at about 1500 hours my wife drives to the dealership without me because I am working & she waits for an hour before the service department guy tells her that there is nothing they can do for the orange spots on the chrome because it is fallout. I speak with the service guy on my wife's cell & the the service guy tells me the same thing & tells me that the reason the spots are there is because if the SUV are left un-washed for long periods of time then this type of thing happens to the chrome, but if I take it to an auto detailer, they should be able to take out the spots. I tell the service guy that I am not going to pay for something that the dealership should take care of. I then ask my wife to hand the phone to my sales guy and I simply tell him that I just payed you folks $27,000 cash and I don't expect to pay for an auto detailer to fix the issue that was caused by negligence on the part of the dealership no washing the vehicles. I even told the my sales guy that I would not mind returning the SUV & waiting for a new one off the boat. He told me that he will call me the next day when his manager comes in to see what they can do. I asked to speak with a manger on duty and he said it needs to be the manager that sold me the vehicle and he is not in. At this point I told my wife to meet me at work so I can look over the contract that was made with JN Automotive. Not happy with what I was told and knowing that JN Automotive has a 72 hour exchange policy I call the dealerships main line and ask to speak with a manger about the 72 hour exchange policy. He talked to me about my situation & he said that fallout happens to some of their vehicles and he would be able to take care of it. Different Response from my sales guy & service guy. The manager tells me I can come anytime & they will get the spots right out. With the mangers confirmation I decided that returning of the vehicle is not needed & I brought the vehicle to the dealership on 5-1-14 at about 10:30. After trying to fix the fallout, the manger says that's the best they can do & no new vehicle is perfect. They already lost money selling me the vehicle and can't afford to fix it. I asked to exchange it and he simply stated that it was pass the 72 hours and we could not exchange the SUV. He did However offer me a free car wash & full tank of gas

Desired Settlement: My wife and I payed $27,000 cash for a brand new car. If we wanted defects on a car we would have saved a few thousand and bought a used car. I initial asked to have the molding changed, but both my sales man and sales manager said that they lost too much money selling the vehicle to me and that it would cost to much to fix the problem. If you folks feel that you did not get enough money for this vehicle to fix the problem, We would not mind waiting for a new vehicle to come in and we will take a NEW VEHICLE without defects. And we would gladly give you the defective vehicle back. If the above mentioned option is not feasible, We would not mind returning the vehicle and paying for the miles that we put on the vehicle. Miles not including the travel to and from the dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/12) */ JN Chevrolet Mazda, We have been in contact with Mr. ***** ***** in regards to this matter. He came in four days after the date he took delivery of his vehicle and stated that there was fall out on his chrome trim pieces. My Management Staff informed Mr. ***** he was out side the 72 hour exchange policy and we would be more then happy to assist him in anyway possible. At that point we had the vehicle detailed for the second time to remove the fall out on the chrome, after I personally reviewed the vehicle I was unable to see any fall out on said vehicle. Then three additional days later he then brought the vehicle back to be detailed for the third time. At that time we supplied Mr. ***** with a free rental vehicle and had then entire vehicle detailed and all remaining fall out was remove and brought the vehicle up to the customer's expectations.

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 6, 2012, I purchased a 2013 Chevrolet Camaro LS1, VIN ***************** from JN Chevrolet in Honolulu, Hawaii. The 2013 Camaro was sold to me with low-profile, after-market tires.In late 2013, my daughter took the 2013 Camaro in to your dealership for a regular oil change. At that time, the representative asked her if she wanted the tires rotated and she agreed. Several weeks later, she noticed that the tire pressure for the front tires were not the same tire pressure as indicated on the cars interior display panel. In other words, the computer displays the tire pressure for the front drivers side but is actually reading the tire pressure for the front passenger side. My daughter again took the Camaro into your dealership to calibrate the computer to correspond to the correct tires. The service representative informed my daughter that calibrating the tires and computer is routine and it will be done. The service representative, however, did not write such on the work order and thus when my daughter picked up the Camaro, the tires and computer were not calibrated and has not been calibrated to date.Then, two weeks later in late December 2013, my daughter noticed that the front passenger tire was losing air pressure. She filed air in the front passenger tire. In January 2014, three weeks later, the front passenger tire was again low and loosing air pressure. Concerned about the danger of losing control with improper air pressure in the front tires, I advised my daughter to take the Camaro in to have the tires looked at to identify why the tires could not hold the air pressure. To our surprise, *** ****** refused to work on the Camaro. It was at that time that we learned that the low-profile tires that are on our Camaro, the same low-profile tires on the car when we bought the Camaro in December 2012, do not meet the minimum tire load index for the 2013 Chevrolet Camaro as set forth and specified by General Motors Corporation. We also learned that because the low-profile tires do not meet the minimum tire load index for the 2013 Camaro, the Camaro would fail the annual Hawaii safety inspection.That same day, my daughter drove the Camaro to JN Chevrolet on North Nimitz Highway in Honolulu. She inquired with one of the service representatives on what is the minimum tire load index for the 2013 Chevrolet Camaro. After waiting sometime, the service representative provided my daughter with printed papers with numbers. The numbers indicated that the low-profile after-market tires on our Camaro are substandard and do not meet the minimum specifications for the tire load index.My daughter immediately went into the showroom and spoke with ******, manager. ****** informed her that he is the manager and provided my daughter with the company that has been modifying vehicles for JN Chevrolet for over ten (10) years. The name of the modification company is *** ********** located at *** **** ****** ****** ****, Honolulu Hawaii 96819, telephone number (808) ***-****. ****** stated that she could go to the car modification company on **** ****** in Honolulu and that he would be in contact with the owner, ****, to resolve the issue with our Camaro tires. The owner was not at the car modification company upon arrival so my daughter and the employee at *** ********** states that **** would be in the office the following morning at 10:00 am. My daughter left her name and number with the employee. That was about a month ago. To date, no one has gotten back to us. Meanwhile, the tire keeps loosing air pressure every 8 days. We have tried to work with you, JN Chevrolet, and *** ********** but nothing has been done to rectify the problem for the tires to meet or exceed the minimum tire load index as specific by General Motors Corporation which leaves our family in a dangerous and hazardous situation. Furthermore, the Camaro no longer conforms to the U.S. Federal Motor Vehicle Safety standards.I purchase the 2013 Camaro LS1 in good faith and at the time was lead to believe that the Camaro meets or exceeds all safety standards and requirements.I am asking that this situation be resolved by replacing all four substandard low-profile after-market tires with low-profile tires that meet or exceed the minimum tire load index and calibrating the computer to match the correct tire. Product_Or_Service: 12/06/2012

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I am asking that this situation be resolved by replacing all four substandard low-profile after-market tires with low-profile tires that meet or exceed the minimum tire load index and calibrating the computer to match the correct tire.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/24) */ We have spoken with the Customer and she is satisfied with our resolution of her issues. As is often the case, a communication error caused the problem. We have scheduled an appointment on Thursday, March 27th to replace her right front tire and will also perform an oil and filter service at no charge.

11/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inappropriate behavior customer service. My husband and I visit JN Mazda on Novemeber 04. 2013, we were looking to purchase a car. We saw online that JN Mazda was having a sale on some of the 2013 models. We made an appointment with *****, once we arrived, ***** informs us that ******* was going to take care of us and our needs. ******* was great, we were having awesome customer service. We sat down had the process going, paperwork was filled and filed. Then ******* informs us that he is going to have ***** help us finalized the deal. Little did we know that this great service is about to take a turn for the worst. ***** sits down and starts going through the process as he was talking to us he spoke in a very slow manner and started to belittle us. Both my husband and I are Asian but we were born and raised in the states, we have never had someone talk to us as if we were disabled. At first, we thought he was just making sure we understood what was going on. But were we wrong, ***** started to say things like "There are fees and taxes you know." or "Did you do your homework?". This is not our first time purchasing a car and we have never felt so belittled or had such rude and racist comments made to us. I was so upset, I started to cry. We walked out of there and we passed by *****, whom asked my husband what happened. My husband explained to him what happened and how ***** was. Then ***** walked out and met us at our car. Instead of apologizing for his behavior and his customer service he just basically said we did not understand basic math. ***** made us feel so belittled and so racist against. That was the most inappropriate customer service we ever encountered.

Desired Settlement: An apology from the company and better business accommodations.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *. ******** Contact Phone: 808-******** Contact Email: *********@jnautomotive.com Please allow me to apologize for any miscommuincation arising from your visit to us on November the 4th. We strive at all times to make the purchasing process as transparent as possible for our valued guests. As you stated in your complaint, you and your husband came in to our dealership to take advantage of an internet advertised special on a Mazda3. The Mazda3 was advertiseed for $18,760 with a MSRP of $21,760. As you also stated, ***** was busy with another guest when you arived so he designated ******* to assist you with the transaction. After ******* prepared all of the paperwork, one of our team leaders, Mr.***** ******* was tasked to go over all of the numbers with you to ensure that everything regarding the transaction was in order. It is my understanding that during the disclosure of the transaction details, you and or your husband, asked for an additional discount, over and above our advertised special price. Mr. ******* explained to you that an additional discount would not be possible. It is also my understanding that Mr. ******* advised you that the State of Hawaii had additional fees that were not included in the internet advertised price. It is our responsibility to collect these fees on behalf of the State and send them along to complete the transaction. After interviewing ******* and Mr. *******, I am confident that we did everything in our power to earn your business. If you are still in the market, I would be pleased if you would give us another chance and I would work with you personally ot ensure your 100% satisfaction. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I understand that the company apologized but even then after the service I had there. I did not feel welcoming and that they wanted our business. First impressions means a lot and with their first impressions I would never go back nor would I recommend JN Mazda to anyone I know.

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Initially I was asked to signed two different contracts. The initial contract that I signed had a lower monthly payment with a lower APR. On the first contract, I was led to believe that I had an extended warranty plus tire/wheel coverage through Allstate Complete Protection Package. The second contract I signed had a higher APR, higher monthly payment, and only had the extended warranty through Audi. The second contract I signed was not fully explained to me because it the documents were delivered to the hospital by the parking lot attendant. ****, the finance personnel at Audi Hawaii was not present at the hospital to go over the documents. I informed my salesperson that I was going on a trip and was informed that I had to sign the documents before my trip which I did. I was also informed that the vehicle was a certified preowned. After I got back my trip, which was about 2 weeks that I had possession of the vehicle I had a flat tire. I called the dealership to report what had happen. I then called ****, the financial personnel but he was out sick. In addition, I was not given copies of the documents I signed prior to my trip and none had called me that the documents I signed was ready. At this time, it was my understanding that I had tire coverage for my vehicle. While, checking the vehicle manual compartment, I discovered 2 rental agreement for the vehicle I had purchased from Audi of Hawaii. This information was not disclosed to me at the I purchased the vehicle. I would have not purchase the vehicle had I known that my vehicle was used a rental vehicle. The dealer failed to disclose this important information. When I spoke to ****, the financial personnel, he then informed me that the vehicle was used for test drive overnight which is a false statement because I have copies of the rental agreement by two different individuals. I will provide a copy of the said documents. I called the dealership regarding this matter but informed me that is was an overnight test drive. Product_Or_Service: 2011 Audi R8 Spyder Order_Number: ****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to return the vehicle for false advertisement and reimbursed for the new tire I purchased.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *.****, Exec Mgr Contact Phone: 808-******** Contact Email: *****@audihawaii.com Our Customer was given the protection package options in the form of a menu for him to choose and sign. Since the car was not certified, Our Customer chose to add an extended warranty with Allstate, however, he refused and signed off on any other protection. The loan was later approved by Audi Financial at a higher rate and with an Audi Warranty only. Our Customer was explained in detail that the only 2 changes were a slightly high interest rate from Audi Financial and a more comprehensive Audi Warranty instead of the Allstate Warranty. He was explained that he did not have to resign if he did not want to and we would undo the transaction and return both of his trade in cars. Our Customer chose to resign and he acknowleged his coverage and refused any additional coverage in writing. In regards to Our Customer claim that this was a rental car that we did not disclose. This car has never been a rental car! With certain approved customers, we often allow for overnight test drives. In order for the customer to be legal while driving our car on Hawaii streets and for liability reasons, we produce a rental agreement at no charge to the customer to operate the car. Our Customer is an ongoing customer with us and we always treat him with the upmost respect and care. We have and will continue to serve his needs to the best of our ability based on what we are able do. Please contact me with any further questions or concerns. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/11/04) */ From: ****** ******** (mailto:***********@me.com) Sent: Friday, November 01, 2013 2:40 PM To: Mick McKenzie Cc: ******@audihawaii.com; ****** ********; ****** ******** Subject: Re: BBB Case #******** - Fax ****, I went to the dealership on October 30, 2013 and met up with *** the salesmanager. I had a lenghty discussion with *** and agreed to the offer made to me. I was offered complete tire and wheel package coverage and reimbursement in the amount of $ 595.76 for the expense I incurred for the new tire I had purchased. The agreement is fair and therefore satifies my complaint. I would like to close my case. Mahalo, ****** ********

6/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told our trade was going to be PAID OFF IN FULL numerous times and we ended up financing negative equity. The day we came in to trade in our car we worked out a deal where we would put $4000 down and they would completely pay off our trade. When we got upstair this became a issue all of a sudden when they said we were financing negative. We brought up that they were paying off our trade and that was incorrect information. Yet they kept saying oh no its paid off dont worry. The car did NOT get completely paid off as we agreed on and now we find out after the fact that we were ripped off $8,000. This is not the first time I have had to file a BBB complaint against JN Auto. **** ****** also ripped me off after i bought a car from them and had to put $2500 into repairs to the car after a week of owning it. I will NEVER step foot back into a JN dealer again and i will advice friends to never go to their dealerships. The kind of business practice that is at this dealership is to make as much money as humanly possible and scerew as many people as they can. When they told me that they were going to pay off my mustang we traded in thats the only reason why we traded our car in. We spoke with I believe **** in finance (processed our paperwork) and our sales person was ****.

Desired Settlement: As much as I know they are going to laugh straight to my face. I would like my $8,000 that I had to "finance negatively" on a car they agreed to pay off. If there is not some sort of agreement that can be made I will be forced to seek Legal action against JN automotive.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/15) */ We have reviewed Mr. ****'s complaint regarding the value of his trade and the vehicle's payoff which resulted in negative equity. We also interviewed Ms. ***** and Mr. *** for their recollections of the transaction. Based on this information, Mr. **** had three choices available to him during negotiations, 1) Finance the negative equity, 2) offset the negative equity with additional downpayment, or 3) choose not to complete the deal. The contact clearly showed $8,204 in negative equity. Mr. *** confirmed that he discussed the negative equity with Mr. and Mrs. **** during the signing of the Purchase Order and the contract. We did in fact payoff their trade-in in a timely matter. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We never agreed to finance the negative equity. We went back and forth on offers for the trade in and Ms. ***** came back and said ok he can payoff the trade and we came get you guys financed with this much down. Thats what was agreed on. Not financing the negative equity. If it was going to come down to that we would have glady kept our car. When you guys state that you will pay off a car That should be the case not screw people over. In this case this is clearly whats happening. If we could do it all over again we would have left when we received the first offer which is what we wanted to do before they agreed to pay the car off. So thank you JN for your quality BS yet again.

6/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: JN service department worked on my car 3 separate occasions and each time the mechanic either forgot to do something or did something wrong. My complaint is about the last time I took my car in for service at JN that was in February 2013. I took my car in for a regular oil change which I always do every 3 months. But during the check in *** asked me if I also wanted to rotate my tires. I asked if it was time to that he said yes. So they did the oil change and rotated my tires. I assumed that the mechanic who worked on my car which is a 2011 Camaro knew that the front tires have a different size then the rear tires. But, I guess I shouldn't assume because the mechanic rotated the tires as if it was any other car and put the front tires in the back and the back tires in the front. Then one day I took my car to Lex Broadies Aiea to put air in my tire because it kept losing air. So the guy put air in my tire and he noticed that my tire pressure gauge was reversed, meaning the gauge for the front tires was actually the back tires and back was the front. So he asked if someone rotated my tires and I said the dealer. So he said I should go back and have them reset my tire pressure gauge. Today, May 18, I went to Lex Broadie to do my oil change since it's been 3 mos since I did it in February, while inspecting my car the mechanic at Lex Broadie noticed my tires were rotated incorrectly. He called and asked me questions about who did the rotation and that they did it incorrectly, which resulted in me needing 3 new tires at $300 each. The mechanic at Lex Broadie said that my tires have a slight separation which means I could have a blow out if I don't replace my tires soon. Unfortunately, I don't have $1000. to do this replacement immediately. My car is only 2 years old I shouldn't have balding tires already but because of the untrained and uninformed mechanics that JN employes, my Camaro already need new tires. This is not right. You take your car in trusting that the mechanic is educated and trained in his field. That he knows how to service and repair different makes and models, and that he'll return your car good as new, not damaged and unsafe to drive. I am NEVER going back to JN!

Desired Settlement: I want JN to pay for my 3 tires that needs to be replaced. The payment can be made directly to Lex Broadie for the amount of the estimate they gave me today which is about $956.00.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/06/06) */ Mr ******** JN Group has agreed to my settlement and have replaced all 4 tires on June 3 2013. I am satisfied with the outcome. I thank you for your help. BBB is an invaluable tool for the consumer. I was initially contacted by the general manager **** who via telephone told me they will be replacing my tires but at JN not at Lex Broadie. I was then given a contact phone number for Bill Ryan who is VP of service/sales. He is the one that I made the appointment with and kept me in the loop of the status of my tires, since they had to order them. Thank you BBB for being available. I don't think I would have had a satisfactory outcome without your help. Sincerely ****** *****

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in on Wednesday and was told it would be ready on Friday but it is not. I rented a car and now I have to extend and pay more money. A week ago I had to bring them my car to replace some power steering hoses that were leaking. I picked it up 2 days later and over the weekend my fluid leaked out again and I had to go back. They said that it was another hose that was ruptured and that I had to have ran over something for it to be gushing out oil. I explained to them how I really didnt drive my car far over the weekend and didnt run over anything. They insisted that they did not do anything to my car to cause it to leak but I am sure that they did. I then asked them how long it will take to fix my car because it is my only car and I would need to know how long I will have to get a rental car for. They told me it would be ready on Friday if the part for my car came on Friday. Today is Friday and I got a call telling me that my part came in but my car will not be ready until Monday. I was not prepared to rent a car and now I am forced to extend my rental and pay more money because their service. I ask them if I could get a complimentary rental but they told me that they do not hand out rental cars like that and I thought that wasn't professional at all. Its costing me about $300 to rent the car and another $210 to get my car fixed and I don't think I should pay for both. I know that they did something to my car just so I can come back and spend more money. I am in the Navy and I just had a baby. I don't have the time or the money to be wasting for someone to be dong this to my car and lying to me. I tried to talk to a manager but they would not let me speak to him/her and I think that is because they wanted me to hurry and leave my car.

Desired Settlement: I would at least like a refund for either my rental car or the repairs done to my car. My car is not messed up because of me or my wife. We did not run over anything and if we did they would have found it when I brought my car in on that Friday.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/11/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************* 11.30.2012 I spoke with Mr. ******* today 11.30.2012 at 4:30. It seems that Mr. ******* has been satisfied with our Service Department. He assures me that he is happy. The Letter to the BBB was written before the issues were resolved.

12/17/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After our lease was over, we had to decide to purchase our car or turn it in. Audi encouraged us to buy the car or sell our car back to them at Audi Hawaii because it had very low mileage, in excellent condition, and was in high demand. We sold our car to Audi Hawaii for half of what it was worth since they claimed they needed to fix the little nics of "wear and tear". A week later, instead of receiving back my security deposit and turn-in-fee, I get a bill saying I owe them for excess wear and use. I knew there must have been a mistake so I called the head manager at Audi Hawaii who did not return my call. I have since called 5 times without a single returned phone call to explain. I refuse to pay what they owe us! We realize that we are just another victim of immoral car sales practices. Product_Or_Service: Audi Q7 Account_Number: 853149435

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) They need to responsibly return both my security deposit and turn in fee, own up to the "wear and use" fee they deducted from the purchase of the car, and have the decency to return my phone calls.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2012/12/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *****. Manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************* 12.01.2012 I called Mrs. ******* at 10:53am and left her a message to call me. I will send more details as soon as I speak with her.

11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues