This business is not BBB accredited.

Island Honda

Phone: (808) 873-8081 Fax: (808) 873-6777 110 Hana Hwy., Kahului, HI 96732 http://www.islandhonda.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Honda dealership sales, parts & service for new and certified used automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Island Honda include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Island Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Island Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2005 Business started: 07/01/1975 Business started locally: 07/01/1975 Business incorporated 10/11/2013 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD-4253.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD-994.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVB-994-1.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Woods, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Woods, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Island Auto Center Lithia of Maui-H, LLC
Licensing

Please be advised that this type of business is regulated by the State of Hawaii and requires a license. The BBB highly recommends you do business with appropriately licensed companies. You may call the State of Hawaii's Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs at (808)587-3295 for the most current and accurate information regarding this company's license. Additional License for business is License #MVB-31-1 expires 6/30/06 and GET License #W20273534-01.

Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Island Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    110 Hana Hwy.

    Kahului, HI 96732 (808) 873-8081

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to island Honda to buy a used car. At first I got a 24% interest rate because it was a Sunday and the financial lady was unable to contact any banks. I went in the next day because the salesman told me they got a better interest rate for my car and that I had to resign papers. When I got there,, the salesman asked how I liked my car. I told him it was good, but it was a little small since I am a tall person. His exact words were "Perfect because we need to take it back. Something with the title is wrong...but I have a better offer for you guys". He goes and shows me the 2016 Honda *****. Although I liked it, it was out of my price range and I told him I didn't not want it. He tried pushing this purchase on me, and after o told him "no" a bunch of times, the manager came out to talk to me. I told him I did not want the new 2016 car and since they had to take the car I just bought back, I wanted a refund. He said "there's nothing wrong with your car we don't need to take it back" This was the first lie. The manager continued to pressure me into buying the new 2016 Honda ***** even though I told him many times I did not want it. I told the manager the reason I was at island Honda in the first place was to resign the papers for a better interest rate. The manager told me that they did not get me a better interest rate, even though the salesman told me they did get a better interest rate. I showed him the text the salesman texted me regarding the better rate, and the manager asked the salesman which car he was talking about for the better rate, the current 2009 car I just bought or the new 2016 *****. The salesman lied and said "I was talking about the 2016 car" and I told the manager that there was no talk about a 2016 car before we got there. This was the second lie. He tried pushing me out the door with the 24% interest rate continuing to tell me they did not get a better rate for me. However after a long argument, he finally gave in and said that they did find us a way better interest rate

Desired Settlement: Not only did they lie, but after a week of having the car they told me they had a recall on this car so they took it back and gave me a loaner car with an expired registration date. After telling them about the expired registration, they did not do anything about it. I want a refund of my car and to return the car because of the terrible service I was given. I could easily go somewhere else with truthful people that do not lie to my face and try to shove me out the door with a 24% rate.

Business Response:

Aloha,

In review with my staff the situation has been resolved. ****** ***** has returned to Island Honda and his concerns have been resolved.

Thanks,

Jim W****

GM Island Honda

 

1/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Island Honda's used car lot sales tactics are dishonest, predatory, high-pressure and disrespectful. The sales stuff pushes "lemon" cars on island newcomers with not an ounce of shame. Unconscionable, corrupt business practices that range up into the 10's of thousands of dollars.On 5/25/15 I purchased a silver 2007 *** 335i, with 63351 miles. I bought it for $13,333 / personal check on the acknowledgement and agreement that the only mechanical issue with the vehicle was a non-functioning AC compressor. This was far from true! On 6/10/15 it was brought into ****s Maui for concern of a rattle in the suspension, and a critical brake fluid warning light. It was reported by ****s that the vehicle struts were leaking badly, and it would cost $1,546.81 parts & labor for the repair. On 6/20 I experienced another check engine light, due to loss of engine power and a pre-existing bad timing solenoid, yet another $427.06 in repair, and two full days of my time wasted due to Island Honda's criminal business practices.Multiple attempts to contact the Island Honda management team, only resulted in conflict, avoidance and more lies and deception. They will sell you a lemon junker, they will overvalue it, and they will deny any wrong doing. If I was associated with the parent dealership company (Lithia Motors) of Colorado; which is also publicly owned and traded on the market, with shareholders to answer to; I would drop Island Honda from their dealership roster QUICKLY.

Desired Settlement: Full inspection and total repair of any existing problems with the vehicle in question.

Business Response: Aloha BBB,

In response to complaint ID #******** customer ****** ******** had stated he came in possibly purchase a pre-owned vehicle on 5-25-2015. He was not happy with the condition of  the vehicles that he looked at and I ft the dealership. He called saying the vehicles were not nice enough in the $1,000price range and in tructed Island Honda to find him a vehicle for much greater value a  discussed it to him for approximately $1,000. We apparently did not have a vehicle he liked for the price and
therefore he mad  a complaint. On behalf of Island Honda, we would have liked to have a  vehicle that
he liked for the price range he requested, however, we did not have a vehicle that met  his satisfaction. Thanks,
Jim W**** 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, WRONG customer Island Honda! Thank you for further strengthening my case against you; by showing your indifference toward your own customers and your business' image and overall quality. The BBB complaints must be piling up high over there if you can't even get the right response to the right customer.
As this does not pertain to me AT ALL, I am rejecting this and waiting for a valid response and resolution. My terms remain the same, full repair or full refund.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response: In response to co  plaint #******** customer ***** ***** - Island Honda did in fact  sell him a **** **** He was aware at the time of purchase that the air conditioning was not working  (as he states in his complaint). Th  vehicle had been inspected prior to sale by Island Honda's service  department and the vehicle was cleared for sale passing safety and overall inspection. Mr. ***** signe  a buyer's guide stating the vehicle is being sold "as is". I am not sure why Mr. ***** brought his vehicle  as his purchase to **** . Normal business practices would be to bring the product that was  purchased to the place of purchase  and inform them of any dissatisfaction to try and find a resolution.  He states he brought he vehicle to a different repair facility causes concern as Island Honda did not have the opportunity to  diagnose his concerns initially. Island Honda does not have a busin ss p  ctice of "pushes lemon ca s on islandnewcomers''. Mr. ***** came to Island Honda, test drove and checked out a pre-owned *** and made a decisionto purchase the vehicle. The vehicle was sold "as is" ยท

Thanks, Jim W****

.                                                                            I    ii

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Simply because they continue in deceit; with no end of it in sight-- and I no longer wish to be lied to.
Sincerely,

***** *****

5/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we purchased the car from Island Honda . everything was great our sales rep picked us up took us to dealership work out a deal for a white ***** *******, which he said "was all tricked out". should have know from the beginning that this deal was going down hill. not only did we leave the dealership that night at 11pm but our sales rep was taking a long time to bring the car around. My husband jokingly said "bet the car won't start" after about 30min of waiting for the car to be brought around we found out that the car didn't start because of a dead battery, so we though. The trouble began!!! That same night The headlight was out the horn didn't work and the brakes were making funny noises, we had to carry around a jump pack for an entire week (because they didn't have an appointment available!) and the check engine light came on, so we contact our sales rep. he assured us we could bring it in and get it fixed the following Monday. that Monday my husband took off took the car down the mechanic got it fixed and said were good to go. 2 days later the electric stopped working in the car (I'll post a video) nothing worked, windows, doors, radio, blinker, lights NOthing again called out sales rep, made another appointment for the mechanic and the car went in again. AGAIN, we were assured everything was fine. 4 days after that the electric did the same thing locked me in the car while still driving, not even the manual locks worked and I got pulled over only to find out that the registration and safety check were both expired! AGAIN contact the our dealership ask again for us to bring it in and AGAIN the mechanic could not fix the problem! I am so frustrated and completely irritated with getting no answers! Our sales rep blows us off and I didn't get a respond to my email to the GENERAL MANAGER ***. I have a video that I provided to our sales rep and we still have this on going electric issue.

Desired Settlement: I believe I have taken enough time out of our daily lives to take our car to the dealership service department and have gotten no answers I would like a refund or exchange of the vehicle


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Island Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart