This Business is not BBB accredited

Honolulu Ford Lincoln

Phone: (808) 532-1700 Fax: (808) 532-9487 View Additional Phone Numbers 1370 N King St, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://www.honoluluford.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers This business offers automobile sales and service

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Honolulu Ford Lincoln include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Honolulu Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honolulu Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20318336-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD278.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Benson Jr., President Mr. Jerry Dow, Sales Manager Ms. Ethel Higa, Controller Mr. Don Kurihara, Parts Manager Mr. Henry Porter, Director of Parts and Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Benson Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Honolulu Ford, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1370 N King St

    Honolulu, HI 96817

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 532-1770(Phone)
  • (808) 532-1777(Phone)
  • (808) 532-1411 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • https://plus.google.com/109940909041011281008/posts
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Voluntary recalls are issued mainly to avert a government mandated recall. But when a recall of either type is issued, it is supposed to be handled as if it has been mandated by the government and that is what corporate expects. A service department taking advantage of this in any way is a major violation of procedure."With a mere 3K miles on my 2011 car, the check engine light kept popping up. The car also kept shuddering and jerking, as though it was coughing for air whenever driven. It's that awful jerking motion, indicating that the car might stall on you at any moment.My friend's uncle hooked it up to his diagnostic computer and found out that the issue was either an emissions or transmission problem due to the codes that came out. He recommended that I take the car back to Ford since the car is still covered under the drivetrain warranty (5 year/60K miles). - Plus I had a factory recall letter asking me to take my car in for reprogramming and reset the car's "transmission software calibration, "free of charge, parts and labor". *********************Made an appointment and took the car in for service on 9/11/14, Prior to that, I informed advisor ******* that I have received the recall notice.- Despite that letter I showed them at the car dropoff, they ran their own test and said that a pipe valve hose was cracked, that it won't be covered under warranty. "It's because you don't drive it very often, it's very common w/low mileage cars.." per the service advisor.The description of a cracked hose sounds more like some stupid made up lie they made up so they could charge money for doing nothing. They insisted that it wasn't a transmission problem. Then admit that it was and want more money to fix it. My recall letter states that my service would be "free of charge, parts and labor". I'm demanding a refund of $441.85. Here's my review in it's entirety ********************** Read all the other 1 star reviews left by other cheated customers as well.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of what I had already paid. What they cited to be the problem was a lie (they promised to resolve my car problems after I completed their recd procedure). I wanted to follow the recall letter's service recd, but that was ignored. So it's only fair that I get refund for the money I spent so far, $441.85. My car's condition worsened after they got done with it.

Business Response:

We are reaching out to the BBB to provide direction for this customer.

Once we have the BBB's involvement, we are certain that we can find common ground!

Business Response:

Hi ****,

**** **** brought her 2011 Ford Fiesta in on September 25, 2014 for a check engine light being on. Technician performed diagnostics and found the cannister purge valve faulty(leaking). Technician replaced the purge valve and cleared the fault, test drove vehicle, and rechecked. The check engine light never came back on and engine ran fine after the repairs. Customer came back in on October 2, 2014 for the ***e problem, but we did not verify the customers complaint. **** received a letter from Ford about clutch shuddering for the type of transmission that she has in her Fiesta but it does not pertain to the problem she had with the check engine light. The letter that she received was for a warranty extension for the clutches and seals for the transmission(7 years 100,000 miles) and that letter is not a recall, just a customer satisfaction notification.

Please let me know if you need more info.

 

Thanks.

 

***.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, **** **** did not bring the car in. Her name is on the registration, that is all. I'm the one that's paying the car bills and taking off work to bring the car in for service. I'm the one that's been trying to contact ford and speak to someone that can help. It seems as though Ford has a hard time getting that basic info correct. 
My name is ***** **** and I have been the one that's been bringing the car in for service and been trying to contact service manager *** ********. All I got was the silent treatment from Honolulu Ford. 
I spoke to *** weeks after my last visit over the phone, after leaving countless messages for him to return my calls. 
When he finally spoke me to me, he said he'll check with his service managers and get back to me. I've never heard back from him since. This BBB response was the first response in months. 
On Sept 11, I brought my car in for service, NOT Sept 25, 2014 Mr. ******** has stated in his response. 
- Sept 25th was when Ford finally got done changing that supposed broken valve on my car, the day I picked it up from Honolulu Ford. 
- Like I said earlier, they have a time properly documenting facts and info. 
 I've spoken to service advisor ******* days prior to that visit and had mentioned to her that I received the Ford letter and wanted to bring the car in because I suspected that the check engine light and the choking and jerking/stalling of the car was due to what the letter has mentioned.
- She said to bring in the letter and car. Then I was told that I would have to pay because they found something that was not going to be covered in the letter. 
- When I asked if changing this valve would solve the problems of the car shaking and jerking/coughing for air, ******* responded to me saying "Yes, this part is causing the check engine light to illuminate and the 'choking' out concern. The total estimate is $450". 
-  I can provide the email in which she has stated the above claims. 
- She has also has made statements over the phone as well that the car's shuddering and shaking is due to the valve being cracked and the car not getting enough air/power. 
- ******* was the very person that told me on the phone that I should bring that letter in when I drop the car off. When I tried to hand her the paper, she didnt even look up from her clipboard and simply said "you can hold on to that honey, i don't need it, I have it written down".
I called and emailed ******* again when the car's shaking and jerking continued after service. I also mentioned that the check engine light appeared again. I was told to bring my car back again and was promised that if i drop it off before they open at 7:00am, that the techs would look at it and diagnose it no later than 9am.
On Oct 2, 2014: I brought my car back in the 2nd time, advisor **** was the one that received it.
- By 2:30pm no one looked at my car until I called again. 
- Then **** tells me their "best" service tech looked at it,  drove it around and SURPRISE, concluded that my car's engine computer/transmission computer etc needed to be "reprogrammed and recalibrated", and that "should fix the car's engine jerking" etc....
So basically **** told me his skilled tech had suggested the kind of service I needed to get completed, was what was listed on that factory letter - exactly what I wanted done in the first place. 
If they had done what was requested in the first place, this BBB complaint wouldn't have happened. 
I wouldn't have lost out on $441.85 AND ended up with a car that still has the ***e problems as it did when I initially brought it in for service. In fact, the loud noises and shuddering or choking engine was worse and louder AFTER i had got my back back from them. 
I'm not asking for anything else but a refund of $441.85. I'd rather take my car to a reputable and honest service tech/company that can get the car fixed properly. 
Stop lying Honolulu Ford. Your negative reviews on Yelp and past BBB complaints are proof of the poor and dishonest service you've been dishing out to your clients. 
Sincerely, 

*** *

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honolulu Ford told didn't pay off my loan after the trade, after telling me they would. It ruined my credit, and they refuse to take responsibility. on 04/18/2012 I went to Honolulu Ford, and met with a salesman named **** *******. I purchased a 2010 Ford Mustang GT (VIN number *****************, stock number ******, Deal Number ********) from the Honolulu Ford dealership. As we were working out the deal, **** had explained to me that when I trade in my car, they would pay off the loan of $******, which was through ***** ******** ****, and just put that with the price of the new car I was purchasing ($******). So I agreed to trade in my car, which was a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt LT. After I had signed all the contracts, and the service department finished with their inspection of the new car I was getting, they handed me the keys and said I was ready to go. **** had assured me that i had a great credit score and that they would be able to get me financed. Three months later I received a call from the dealership asking me to come in to sign some papers, I asked what they were for because the deal had been made and they told me everything was finalized and the person on the phone told me that they could not tell me over the phone, so I told them they would have to wait for me to get back on island because I was in Florida at the time. When i got back I followed up with the dealership about the phone call and they told me that we had to trade cars back because they couldn't get me financed, after they had told me they did already. I went to the dealership and they told me the finance manager that was working with me was gone and there was a new one, he told me that my paperwork never was processed so it had just been sitting there, so when he found it he started to try and get me financed by contacting numerous banks, but at the same time ***** ******** **** didn't receive their payment of $****** for three months. This was bringing my credit down because of the numerous credit checks the dealership had been doing with my social security number. I traded cars back with the dealership because they told me they couldn't get me financed because of my credit score, which was brought down by them. A couple weeks later a detective shows up at my house to repossess my car because of non-payment. I went back to the dealership to request all my paperwork from the deal, and they claimed to not have anything, but then came with a copy of one of the papers from the contract, but would only give me it after writing "VOID," across the page.I told them that what happened is their fault, and they did not want to take responsibility. They told me that i still was responsible for making the monthly payments on the Cobalt after trading it to them for a new car. The cobalt was sitting in their inventory lot, I did not see how I would still be responsible to make the payments when I traded the car to the dealership and was not the owner any longer, Honolulu Ford was. I even spoke with the President of the dealership at the time, and he said that he couldn't do any thing for me, even after his employees lied to me. Honolulu Ford sold me a car, said they were going to pay off the existing loan I had, to purchase one of their cars, lied to me about that and that i had already been approved to purchase a new car, brought my credit down and caused a repossession to be put on my credit.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Honolulu Ford Lincoln Mercury take responsibility of the non-payment to ***** ******** ****, and that they fix the repossession on my credit account. What happened was not my fault and I should not have to keep paying for something Honolulu Ford messed up on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ It is unfortunate that you indicate that your vehicle was reposed by ***** ******** ****. It is unclear how the transaction failed to consummate, but clearly ***** ******** **** would not take legal action against a consumer unless they had no other choice. As a new car dealer, we do take in trades and pay them off in concert with the new vehicle transaction. It is unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations, and we sympathize with you about not having the vehicle which was repossessed, however you have commitment to the bank. If as you indicated you had a vehicle from Honolulu Ford for three months, did you make a monthly payment to the dealership or did you keep the money? Or, did you drive a car without payment? Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The transaction failed to consummate because the finance manager or a manager who would be responsible for filing paperwork,or making sure deals are finalized, had disappeared. When i went back to see what was going on a new manager came to talk to me. I asked about the old one and he would not tell me what happened, he also told me that there was no record of my paperwork, as i had requested all of it. To which he then went back in to the office. He then came back with a copy of the paper I had sent with this complaint with "void," written across it, showing that in fact they did have my paperwork. The employees at Honolulu Ford are the reason the transaction didn't consummate, and my car was repossessed, not reposed. To answer your question, I did have a car from Honolulu Ford for three months. I purchased the car with no down payment, and you accepted my trade in, it shows in the paperwork i have that you accepted my trade. When you take a trade in and tell me that you are going to pay off the loan with ***** ******** **** in order to sell me a car, and then don't pay it off, that is lying to me, just to make some money. I drove the car with out making any payments, because my car salesman **** *******, told me i would receive a payment coupon book in the mail, which i never received. What are you asking when you say "or,did you keep the money?" I was told by my salesman when the first payment would be due, and that the coupon book would show when. He told me a couple of months. I don't know the nature of this question, as if I am stealing or something? How would it be my responsibility to make payments for a car that was accepted as a trade-in at your dealership and that was sitting on your lot? I was handed the keys to a new one and was told everything was going to be taken care of and let go home. When you take a trade in and let the customer go with a new car after making the deal, the commitment to the bank now becomes the dealerships, not the customer, especially after the dealership told the customer that they would take responsibility in paying off the loan, so that they could sell a new car to the customer. I have paperwork showing that there was a deal, that there was a trade in, and showing I was the owner of the new car. My commitment with the bank is taken over by you when we made the deal on the new car, again, how would it be my responsibility when you accepted my trade in.

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: incomplete deal agreement from dealer and bad customer service. My fiancé and I traded in a our vehicle for a Infiniti at Honolulu ford on 05/27/2013. We and the dealer agreed that we would purchase the vehicle with us putting $500 down payment and they would also fix/repair the paint chips as well as the cracked windshield. They did fix the paint chips. But when it came to the windshield the people they referred us to said it had to be replaced because someone previously already tried to fix it but they didn't do a good job because the crack is spreading. We purchased this vehicle because we have little children and needed the space. I do not want to be driving a vehicle with a cracked windshield that could potentially break on us while I am driving. Every time after that we tried to call Honolulu **** to talk to the manager but all we get is someone telling us the manager(s) aren't available but they will call us back. We never did get a call back. We would have to be the ones to initiate each and every single call. Mind you we bought this vehicle on 05/28/13 and finally after calling and talking to the sales manager about a month later he tells us that we are asking for too much. How are we asking for too much?! All we are asking for is what we agreed on otherwise we wouldn't have bought this vehicle knowing they wouldn't fix the windshield. Then he tells my fiancé that they will fix it if we pay $80 and they would cover the balance. My big issue is: 1)we were the ones that had to initiate every call to them, 2)we agreed that they would do something about the windshield if we buy this vehicle so why are they asking us to pay more, and 3)my biggest issue of all is how the Service Manager treated me over the phone. Steve who is the Service Manager hung up the phone on me twice after trying to talk to him. He would not let me talk and kept cutting me off telling me he could pay the difference after we pay $80 or he can do nothing and leave the windshield cracked. He had the nerve to say that we are asking for too much. That is very frustrating. He should not be a manager if that is how he treats their customers. He did not even let me talk or hear my side or even bothered to hear why I'm so frustrated. He actually made me more frustrated and angry that I can feel my heart beating uncontrollably and I can feel myself shaking because of actions. All I'm asking for is for them to live up to their deal, nothing more nothing less. I hope something is going to be done to this Service Manager to let him know that's now how you treat people and that's not how you should run a business.

Desired Settlement: I'm done trying to ask them to fix the windshield like they agreed. It's been over 1 month that I've been asking and I don't think they would love up to it. All I ask is an apology from both manager **** ****** and Service Manager ***** for providing such poor customer service and I hope they treat each customer excellent like how they kiss up to them when they are trying to sell their vehicles.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/31) */ The vehicle in question is an eight year old Infiniti, which was sold under the federal disclosure statement "As-Is." While we would like all our eight year old vehicles to be showroom new, clearly it was not. At the time of delivery, the customer requested that we paint the chips on the bumper and "fix the chip in the windshield." Both repairs were documented and agreed to. The customer spoke to one of our windshield vendors and was encouraged not to repair but replace. Replacing the windshield is a substantially larger repair than the chip. We agreed to accommodate *****'s request and authorized the windshield to be replaced, based upon *****'s agreement to pay a portion. Unfortunately, this was not satisfactory to ******, so we agreed to pay what we originally bargained $80. The customer may elect repair the chip or may replace the windshield, applying the $80 from Honolulu Ford. We regret any confusion that this incident may have caused.

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues