This business is not BBB accredited.

Honolulu Ford Lincoln

Phone: (808) 532-1700 Fax: (808) 532-9487 View Additional Phone Numbers 1370 N King St, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://www.honoluluford.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers This business offers automobile sales and service


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Honolulu Ford Lincoln include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Honolulu Ford Lincoln include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honolulu Ford Lincoln
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1955 Business started: 01/01/1952 Business started locally: 01/01/1952
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20318336-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD278.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Benson Jr., President Mr. Jerry Dow, Sales Manager Ms. Ethel Higa, Controller Mr. Don Kurihara, Parts Manager Mr. Henry Porter, Director of Parts and Service
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Benson Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Honolulu Ford, Inc.
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR CAR-REPAIR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1370 N King St

    Honolulu, HI 96817

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was to be purchased by granddaughter and her husband***** ******* and if they need a co-signer it would be**** ** ********. This was told to the salesperson several times and if it could not be done we did not want to buy the car. We feel we were taken by salesperson and loan officer. To inform public about their sneaky actions.

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello, My husband and I bought a **** **** ******* ******* ***** for the sole purpose of supporting our outdoor activities and had every intention of adding roof racks for our canoes. We had seen the canoe racks on the vehicle in pictures on the **** website. Our dealer was fully aware of this and we even tried to negotiate the racks into the deal, which was unsuccessful. Instead after our purchase we went to a business that specializes in installing racks and custom ordered racks and saddles for our new vehicle. While attempting to have the racks installed they found out that it was not possible. My husband went back to the dealership to have **** install their own racks and found out there were none available for the type of vehicle we purchased unless the racks were installed at the factory. This vehicle is practically worthless to us without these racks and I feel that the vehicle was misrepresented and that the salesperson was not well informed on the vehicles that **** sells. We would have custom ordered from the dealership had we known. I need to know what we can do about this.

Desired Settlement: We would either like to have an even trade with a vehicle that has racks installed or have the vehicle shipped for free to the factory to have the racks custom installed.

Business Response:

My Name is Sam B*******. I'm the Service Manager here at Honolulu ****. I spoke to ****** Bennett on July 30 2015 about her roof rack for her 2015 **** ******* *******. ****** was upset because she was misinformed about trying to purchase a roof rack for her vehicle(she was told it was not afor her vehicle). vailable I did some research with my parts deptpartment and found out that the roof racks are available. ****** gave me authorization to order the roof racks and call her when the parts came in. We ended the conversation with ****** being completely satisfied and we are just waiting for all the parts to come in.  Please contact me if there is any other issues by phone or email. Phone number is ************* *** ****, email is **************************.

Thanks.

Sam B*******.

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, I spoke with Sam today. He has found the rails that need to be installed on the vehicle and, with my permission, he stated he would put them on order for us.  Sam was very understanding and knowledgeable on how to find what we actually needed added to the roof in order to have roof racks installed and also understood how important it was to us to have roof racks to support our activities, which was greatly appreciated.

 

Sincerely,

***** *******

7/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 20150217 - At used vehicle signing asked about "VTR" and told salesperson should have gone over with me. Read document detail and saw could cancel within 60 days; decided to cancel next day based on initial response. 20150218 - Back at dealer to pay difference between trade in and loan payoff. Asked about second key for used vehicle and told there wasn't one. On evening prior, was told manager who had spare keys was gone for the day and follow-up would be done. Asked about returning VTR ****** **** warranty. Response received was "I don't know why you would want to return it, I've never had anyone return it". Again chose not to press more and figured follow-up again. 20150225 - Emailed about cancelling ******** Anti Theft and refund of premium. Email response was "VTR (vehicle theft protection - ****** ****) is already installed on the vehicle and non-cancelable. You have the protection for three full years if your vehicle is stolen longer than 30 days." 20150226 - Called salesperson to appeal for support thru different channels; response was he was told could only cancel at time of purchase. 20150302 - Called Warrantor/Guarantor (****** ***** ****) and was told that dealer would need to submit request to cancel. 20150302 - Called Consumer Resource Center, RICO to explain steps taken; told to file complaint and referred to website. 20150303 - Emailed company president same details to give another chance to correct. 20150304 - Received phone call and email detailing refund would be processed. ///// There are other dates and details that followed; however, the following are key elements: 20150309 - Refund form submitted and receipt acknowledged. 20150414 - Requested status of refund check; no substantive response until 20150506. 20150508 - Told check placed in outbox to be mailed. 20150521 - Emailed notifying nothing in mail. 20150522 - Copied on internal email to cancel previous check and redo. ///// Still waiting, though this has already been ridiculously too long!

Desired Settlement: Never received any direct response from company president or any other manager/representative, only 1 individual has been responsive. Treated like royalty (in service uniform) on evening of purchase (Fat Tuesday). Returned very next day on Ash Wednesday (again in uniform) with ashes on forehead and only greeted by 2 individuals, cold response from others. Have only been asking for refund; if possible, sponsor unit MWR activities for same amount.

Business Response:

On behalf of Honolulu Ford we would like to apologize for not handeling this manner in a more timely fashion.  It's unfortunate that the cancellation process on extended warranties are such a time consuming process.  However, this is no excuse.  The fact of the matter is that a check was cut and mailed in April of 2015 for the full amount to refund the customer.  The mistake falls on us. After researching and realizing the check was never cashed by the customer we can only assume it was never received by the customer.  There was no follow up due to the fact we assumed everything was taken care of.  It's unfortunate that this happened and we are correcting the process on how we follow up in the future.  Today (06-30-15), I spoke with the customer and informed him we have issued another check for the full refund amount.  We even offered to "hand - deliver" the refund in person to rectify the situation and the customer seemed receptive and was satisified.

Jason S******

Finance Director

Honolulu Ford

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

On June 30 and July 01, there was outstanding customer service in the form of phone call updates notifying me of what was happening and that the check would be hand delivered.  The refund check was hand delivered on July 01 and deposited on July 02.  This issue has been resolved.

Thank you for your support!

Mahalo nui loa,
****** ******

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We went to Honolulu Ford with my student loan to get some key issues addressed by special Ford trained mechanics with Ford Factory equipment to properly diagnose the computer and electrical system, the fact that the temperature gauge was showing it running hot in a manner consistent with the electrical cooling fans on the radiator malfunctioning, and the constant velocity drive shafts on the front axle needed replaced due to wear, and MOST IMPORTANTLY of ALL, FIX THE OIL LEAKS. We live in an apartment building and can't have a leaky car. My father handled *** communication with the dealership as he is an ASE certified mechanic in Brakes, Front-end, and Suspension. Also he was a mechanic in the military and his Father owned a salvage yard and bought and sold used cars at auction. He is very knowledgeable in this area and wanted to make sure they addressed these key issues as we have little money and I am using my student loan to address issues that could not be addressed at *****. Where we had recently had the transmission flushed and refiltered, the front end aligned and the OUTER TIE-ROD ENDS REPLACED. Honolulu Ford not only failed to address the issues asked of them but they went off on a tangent and replaced the brand new outer-tie-rod-ends, They started fixing the heating system, something we asked them to plug off and by pass as soon as they brought up anything to do with the passenger compartment heating system. We live in Hawaii. We don't need a heater. They replaced the temperature sending unit for the temperature gauge which was already working in the first place. Now, it still gets hot because cooling fans not working, NOW, the engine lite is constantly ON, it wasn't before. The constant five beeps from the computer that happen while driving continue (only resettable by a FORD SERVICE DEPT according to the *******'s manual). They charged us $1500 for $700 worth of work and refused to address the obvious replacement of new parts when confronted over it.also invoice W57469.

Desired Settlement: $800 CASH, An apology from Kyle and David both for lying to us about the tie-rods being worn out and shot. They can apologize to both us and ***** General Manager Tim H*** who had a BBB complaint filed against him because of this lie.

Business Response:

Upon investigation of the complaint, we share the customers frustration.

However, we do not believe that the communication expressed in the complaint is entirely accurate.

First of all, we have a signed repair order authorizing the work to be completed in accordance with the Ford repair manual.

As an authorized Ford dealer, we complete repairs as requested by our customers.

However, many times when we find a vehicle that has extenuating circumstances, we will not agree to repair the car.

As hindsight is twenty-twenty, the owner of this vehicle may share that vision.

Upon further investigation of the vehicle, we have found that the car has five automobile accidents and is on its fourth ownership. 

We trust that each time the vehicle was repaired, it was done so with original equipment new Ford parts. 

However, since we were not a party to any of the historical repairs, we are mainly guessing.

We stand by our repair history on the vehicle.

 

Mark B*****

President

************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Upon closer inspection and review of the repair process we have discovered that a $2000 part was removed and replaced with a dysfunctional one.  Kyle pointed out a problem that did not previously exist and was not part of the complaint.  It was this part which caused the engine light to constantly glow after picking up the vehicle from the Ford sERVICE LOCATION.  bY REMOVING OUR GOOD AND WORKING CATALYTIC CONVERTOR AND REPLACING IT WITH AN OLD ONE YOUR DEALERSHIP CAUSED THE ENGINE WHICH YOU FAILED TO ADDRESS DURING MAINTENANCE TO FAIL.  oBVIOUSLY, THIS WAS DONE IN in retaliation for our challenging of the mechanic's expertise in replacing recently replaced tie-rod ends and ASKING FOR THE OLD PARTS.  wE ARE AMENDING OUR COMPLAINT TO INCLUDE THIS CHARGE AND SEE THIS AS A CRIMINAL ACT.  iF YOU DON'T WISH TO SETTLE WE WILL TAKE THIS MATTER TO THE POLICE.  wE NOW HAVE A BROKEN CAR AFTER PAYING YOU $1500 TO REPLACE THE DRIVE SHAFTS, THE MOTOR MOUNT, A HEATER HOSE (NOT AUTHORIZED), AND A BUNCH OF MADE UP WORK THAT DID NOT ADDRESS THE ORIGINAL COMPLAINT THAT THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING ROUGH, LEAKING OIL, AND TEMPERATURE GAUGE SHOWED A HEIGHTENED ENGINE TEMPERATURE DURING HEAVY TRAFFIC THAT WAS NOT BEING ADDRESSED BY THE ELECTRIC FANS ON THE RADIATOR.  wE ARE WILLING TO SETTLE FOR A NEW CATALYTIC CONVERTOR AND REBUILT ENGINE OR A REASONABLE USED REPLACEMENT VEHICLE OF THE SAME AGE AND MILEAGE.  tHE EVIDENCE IS CLEAR THAT THE CONVERTER WAS REPLACED DURING THE SERVICE.

Sincerely,

****** *****

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern:

I am writing with feelings of great frustration over the service I have been receiving from Honolulu Ford,owner **** B***** and service agent Tracy.

For over a year I have been waiting to get my new ****** serviced for parts that Ford  says they have ordered. The detailed work promised me is as follows: replace headliner, replace ******** trim on the driver and passenger side,gas tank spring latch does notwork (I have to use my credit card to open the door) and batter latch in trunk is missing.
I have brought my ****** in twice to have these jobs worked on only to find out that the parts were 'ordered' but 'sent back'.

On October 21 I had a scheduled appointment with Honolulu Ford. When I arrived I was told by Tracy to wait in the waiting area I waited for 20 minutes. No one informed me what was happening to my vehicle. After 20 min I left the area to find her.I asked what  the status of my car would be and she responded, "Oh, ********** is coming to get you for your loaner". I asked if there was any paper work I needed to complete and she said "no".

The next day I was told that the parts for my car were in fact not in and had been sent back, and that I needed to return the loaner and take my car. Now,why did Tracy not check on the status of the parts when I dropped of my car is a mystery. When I returned to Ford, Tracy was not whereto be found, and when the cashier paged her to inform her I was there Tracy said I could leave and she would email me my paper work. I have not received any paper work form this visit

This is the SECOND time parts for my car have been ordered and then returned to the mainland. I have waited months before I have to initiate a call to Ford and follow up on the parts.In this day of ***** overnight shipments why must I wait so long?

My husband ****, who is more displeased than I, had been keeping Mr. B***** apprised of oursituation on Oct 21 and 22. Mr.B***** said he wouldlook into it and getback with us. We havenot received a call as of yet

Thereare a number of customer services and qualityservice issues in the wronghere and they need to be addressed. After our first mishap with Ford service returning our parts when we spoke with Mr. B*****,and he shared that the service staff belonged to a union and because of this relationship he has littlecontrol over the service area.Even if this is true it is not something a customer needs to know and if the local union representative finds out this type of communication is occurring there could be larger issues Mr. B***** could face.

 Ihope you can assistand advocate forme in addressing these concerns in writing. Iam
forwarding a copy of this letter to Mr. B***** and to the local BBB as well.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Honolulu Ford has an additional part on order, and will notify the customer when the part arrives.

If the *** family is unhappy with the performance of the vehcile, Honolulu Ford is happy to purchase the vehicle.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Dear BBB:

While I appreciate your agency's effort intervening with satisfying my complaint, I must admit the response Ford has provided illustrates their inability to provide adequate customer service demonstrates how "misaligned" they are from Ford's vision.

I was able to bring my car into service in December and received the needed follow up care for my automobile. However there were some issues I encountered such as my car paint was scratch having me to bring my car back (yet again taking time off from work), and I experienced an issue with the ********** Car Rental unable to release their charges on my personal charge card because their calls to Ford to verify my loaner were never returned. According to ********** Car Rental they had callednumerous times and received no return calls having ********** to deal with angry Ford customers.

The 'message from Ford' demonstrates the obvious misinterpretation between their ability to take accountability for their service and my car's perfomiance.  Their callous attitude that I can turn in my car misses the concerns I have entirely! Certainly if Ford reimburses me for the price I initially paid I wouldgladly tum in my car!

Again, thank you for your assistance in my matter.Unfortunately Ford needs to learn what Aloha actually means.

Sincerely,

****** ***

Business Response:

As we strive to make sure all our customers are taken care of we have reached out to **** *** to ensure the customers concern have been addressed. The deposit from ********** has been returned and the vehicle is completed repaired. As per our conversation with our customer on Feb 13 he has been satisfied. We as a dealership that takes customer service extremely important do apologize for any inconvenience the customer has endured.

Thank You

**** ****** 

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Voluntary recalls are issued mainly to avert a government mandated recall. But when a recall of either type is issued, it is supposed to be handled as if it has been mandated by the government and that is what corporate expects. A service department taking advantage of this in any way is a major violation of procedure."With a mere 3K miles on my 2011 car, the check engine light kept popping up. The car also kept shuddering and jerking, as though it was coughing for air whenever driven. It's that awful jerking motion, indicating that the car might stall on you at any moment.My friend's uncle hooked it up to his diagnostic computer and found out that the issue was either an emissions or transmission problem due to the codes that came out. He recommended that I take the car back to Ford since the car is still covered under the drivetrain warranty (5 year/60K miles). - Plus I had a factory recall letter asking me to take my car in for reprogramming and reset the car's "transmission software calibration, "free of charge, parts and labor". *********************Made an appointment and took the car in for service on 9/11/14, Prior to that, I informed advisor ******* that I have received the recall notice.- Despite that letter I showed them at the car dropoff, they ran their own test and said that a pipe valve hose was cracked, that it won't be covered under warranty. "It's because you don't drive it very often, it's very common w/low mileage cars.." per the service advisor.The description of a cracked hose sounds more like some stupid made up lie they made up so they could charge money for doing nothing. They insisted that it wasn't a transmission problem. Then admit that it was and want more money to fix it. My recall letter states that my service would be "free of charge, parts and labor". I'm demanding a refund of $441.85. Here's my review in it's entirety ********************** Read all the other 1 star reviews left by other cheated customers as well.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of what I had already paid. What they cited to be the problem was a lie (they promised to resolve my car problems after I completed their recd procedure). I wanted to follow the recall letter's service recd, but that was ignored. So it's only fair that I get refund for the money I spent so far, $441.85. My car's condition worsened after they got done with it.

Business Response:

We are reaching out to the BBB to provide direction for this customer.

Once we have the BBB's involvement, we are certain that we can find common ground!

Business Response:

Hi ****,

**** **** brought her 2011 Ford Fiesta in on September 25, 2014 for a check engine light being on. Technician performed diagnostics and found the cannister purge valve faulty(leaking). Technician replaced the purge valve and cleared the fault, test drove vehicle, and rechecked. The check engine light never came back on and engine ran fine after the repairs. Customer came back in on October 2, 2014 for the ***e problem, but we did not verify the customers complaint. **** received a letter from Ford about clutch shuddering for the type of transmission that she has in her Fiesta but it does not pertain to the problem she had with the check engine light. The letter that she received was for a warranty extension for the clutches and seals for the transmission(7 years 100,000 miles) and that letter is not a recall, just a customer satisfaction notification.

Please let me know if you need more info.

 

Thanks.

 

***.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, **** **** did not bring the car in. Her name is on the registration, that is all. I'm the one that's paying the car bills and taking off work to bring the car in for service. I'm the one that's been trying to contact ford and speak to someone that can help. It seems as though Ford has a hard time getting that basic info correct. 
My name is ***** **** and I have been the one that's been bringing the car in for service and been trying to contact service manager *** ********. All I got was the silent treatment from Honolulu Ford. 
I spoke to *** weeks after my last visit over the phone, after leaving countless messages for him to return my calls. 
When he finally spoke me to me, he said he'll check with his service managers and get back to me. I've never heard back from him since. This BBB response was the first response in months. 
On Sept 11, I brought my car in for service, NOT Sept 25, 2014 Mr. ******** has stated in his response. 
- Sept 25th was when Ford finally got done changing that supposed broken valve on my car, the day I picked it up from Honolulu Ford. 
- Like I said earlier, they have a time properly documenting facts and info. 
 I've spoken to service advisor ******* days prior to that visit and had mentioned to her that I received the Ford letter and wanted to bring the car in because I suspected that the check engine light and the choking and jerking/stalling of the car was due to what the letter has mentioned.
- She said to bring in the letter and car. Then I was told that I would have to pay because they found something that was not going to be covered in the letter. 
- When I asked if changing this valve would solve the problems of the car shaking and jerking/coughing for air, ******* responded to me saying "Yes, this part is causing the check engine light to illuminate and the 'choking' out concern. The total estimate is $450". 
-  I can provide the email in which she has stated the above claims. 
- She has also has made statements over the phone as well that the car's shuddering and shaking is due to the valve being cracked and the car not getting enough air/power. 
- ******* was the very person that told me on the phone that I should bring that letter in when I drop the car off. When I tried to hand her the paper, she didnt even look up from her clipboard and simply said "you can hold on to that honey, i don't need it, I have it written down".
I called and emailed ******* again when the car's shaking and jerking continued after service. I also mentioned that the check engine light appeared again. I was told to bring my car back again and was promised that if i drop it off before they open at 7:00am, that the techs would look at it and diagnose it no later than 9am.
On Oct 2, 2014: I brought my car back in the 2nd time, advisor **** was the one that received it.
- By 2:30pm no one looked at my car until I called again. 
- Then **** tells me their "best" service tech looked at it,  drove it around and SURPRISE, concluded that my car's engine computer/transmission computer etc needed to be "reprogrammed and recalibrated", and that "should fix the car's engine jerking" etc....
So basically **** told me his skilled tech had suggested the kind of service I needed to get completed, was what was listed on that factory letter - exactly what I wanted done in the first place. 
If they had done what was requested in the first place, this BBB complaint wouldn't have happened. 
I wouldn't have lost out on $441.85 AND ended up with a car that still has the ***e problems as it did when I initially brought it in for service. In fact, the loud noises and shuddering or choking engine was worse and louder AFTER i had got my back back from them. 
I'm not asking for anything else but a refund of $441.85. I'd rather take my car to a reputable and honest service tech/company that can get the car fixed properly. 
Stop lying Honolulu Ford. Your negative reviews on Yelp and past BBB complaints are proof of the poor and dishonest service you've been dishing out to your clients. 
Sincerely, 

*** *

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I brought our **** **** expedition to Honolulu Ford to repair various things; such as, the bottom of our car was making ticking noise,the back top air conditioning not blowing as hard as it used too,the tire pressure sensor fault on dashboard and the key FOB not locking and unlocking the car. Later that day, the service advisor called my husband and said,the technician diagnosed the problems.The ticking noise is the catalytic converter; it has to be replaced ($1600).The air conditioning issue,the evaporator coil either has to be cleaned or changed ($1200).The tire pressure repair is $350.The key FOB is $130.My husband informed the service advisor to repair the tire pressure sensor issue and the key FOB problem.(our car is ten years old and we didn't want to spend too much money if we didn't need to.)Later that day, the service advisor (****) called my husband and said that it's not the key FOB that isn't working(the diagnostic was wrong),it's the module that is bad; it will cost $900. My husband said to ****,don't need to fix it because he doesn't want to pay too much money for a car that is ten years old.So my husband told **** to have the technician put everything back in the way it was.2 days later, we finally got our car back. When we got our car back,we've noticed that more things were broken than before.The keypad(located on the driver door that we used to get into the car)didn't work.Also the automatic locks, automatic lights and the lift gate isn't working anymore.My husband and I was very upset and demanded that everything should be fixed back to the way it was before we brought the car in.We ended up taking the car home with nothing working (not even the key FOB.)We brought our car back to Hon Ford about 3 more times for the technician to further diagnose and change out parts.After about the 2nd time bringing the car back the key FOB and automatic locks finally worked, but the liftgate, automatic lights, and the keypad still not working.

Desired Settlement: Hon Ford should take care of what they did to our car.They should fix everything that they broke (the keypad,auto lights,liftgate)at thier expense.We've contacted the service manager *** at Hon Ford and he kept saying,don't worry I'll take care of you. *** didn't do anything; our car still not working properly.We complained to the main Ford company, but they said we have to deal with Hon Ford ourselves. Hon Ford needs to take care of their customers, instead of giving customers the run around.

Business Response:

Aloha,

I will look into your vehicle history and of course answer the challenges.  To communicate properly on your experience, please contact me directly to arrange a time to visit in person.  As the owner, I have the final responsibility.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

We are rejecting this response because: We feel like Honolulu Ford is still giving us the run around. We've already contacted the service manager and whom ever else we needed to speak to regarding our car at Honolulu Ford, but nothing was done.

If Honolulu Ford really wanted to "resolve" the issue, then it should've been done already, instead of giving us the run around. We take our car into Honolulu Ford almost every week and nothing was done (the same problem exist). Seems like Honolulu Ford isn't taking us seriously.

Sincerely,

****** *******

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honolulu Ford told didn't pay off my loan after the trade, after telling me they would. It ruined my credit, and they refuse to take responsibility. on 04/18/2012 I went to Honolulu Ford, and met with a salesman named **** *******. I purchased a 2010 Ford Mustang GT (VIN number *****************, stock number ******, Deal Number ********) from the Honolulu Ford dealership. As we were working out the deal, **** had explained to me that when I trade in my car, they would pay off the loan of $******, which was through ***** ******** ****, and just put that with the price of the new car I was purchasing ($******). So I agreed to trade in my car, which was a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt LT. After I had signed all the contracts, and the service department finished with their inspection of the new car I was getting, they handed me the keys and said I was ready to go. **** had assured me that i had a great credit score and that they would be able to get me financed. Three months later I received a call from the dealership asking me to come in to sign some papers, I asked what they were for because the deal had been made and they told me everything was finalized and the person on the phone told me that they could not tell me over the phone, so I told them they would have to wait for me to get back on island because I was in Florida at the time. When i got back I followed up with the dealership about the phone call and they told me that we had to trade cars back because they couldn't get me financed, after they had told me they did already. I went to the dealership and they told me the finance manager that was working with me was gone and there was a new one, he told me that my paperwork never was processed so it had just been sitting there, so when he found it he started to try and get me financed by contacting numerous banks, but at the same time ***** ******** **** didn't receive their payment of $****** for three months. This was bringing my credit down because of the numerous credit checks the dealership had been doing with my social security number. I traded cars back with the dealership because they told me they couldn't get me financed because of my credit score, which was brought down by them. A couple weeks later a detective shows up at my house to repossess my car because of non-payment. I went back to the dealership to request all my paperwork from the deal, and they claimed to not have anything, but then came with a copy of one of the papers from the contract, but would only give me it after writing "VOID," across the page.I told them that what happened is their fault, and they did not want to take responsibility. They told me that i still was responsible for making the monthly payments on the Cobalt after trading it to them for a new car. The cobalt was sitting in their inventory lot, I did not see how I would still be responsible to make the payments when I traded the car to the dealership and was not the owner any longer, Honolulu Ford was. I even spoke with the President of the dealership at the time, and he said that he couldn't do any thing for me, even after his employees lied to me. Honolulu Ford sold me a car, said they were going to pay off the existing loan I had, to purchase one of their cars, lied to me about that and that i had already been approved to purchase a new car, brought my credit down and caused a repossession to be put on my credit.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Honolulu Ford Lincoln Mercury take responsibility of the non-payment to ***** ******** ****, and that they fix the repossession on my credit account. What happened was not my fault and I should not have to keep paying for something Honolulu Ford messed up on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ It is unfortunate that you indicate that your vehicle was reposed by ***** ******** ****. It is unclear how the transaction failed to consummate, but clearly ***** ******** **** would not take legal action against a consumer unless they had no other choice. As a new car dealer, we do take in trades and pay them off in concert with the new vehicle transaction. It is unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectations, and we sympathize with you about not having the vehicle which was repossessed, however you have commitment to the bank. If as you indicated you had a vehicle from Honolulu Ford for three months, did you make a monthly payment to the dealership or did you keep the money? Or, did you drive a car without payment? Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The transaction failed to consummate because the finance manager or a manager who would be responsible for filing paperwork,or making sure deals are finalized, had disappeared. When i went back to see what was going on a new manager came to talk to me. I asked about the old one and he would not tell me what happened, he also told me that there was no record of my paperwork, as i had requested all of it. To which he then went back in to the office. He then came back with a copy of the paper I had sent with this complaint with "void," written across it, showing that in fact they did have my paperwork. The employees at Honolulu Ford are the reason the transaction didn't consummate, and my car was repossessed, not reposed. To answer your question, I did have a car from Honolulu Ford for three months. I purchased the car with no down payment, and you accepted my trade in, it shows in the paperwork i have that you accepted my trade. When you take a trade in and tell me that you are going to pay off the loan with ***** ******** **** in order to sell me a car, and then don't pay it off, that is lying to me, just to make some money. I drove the car with out making any payments, because my car salesman **** *******, told me i would receive a payment coupon book in the mail, which i never received. What are you asking when you say "or,did you keep the money?" I was told by my salesman when the first payment would be due, and that the coupon book would show when. He told me a couple of months. I don't know the nature of this question, as if I am stealing or something? How would it be my responsibility to make payments for a car that was accepted as a trade-in at your dealership and that was sitting on your lot? I was handed the keys to a new one and was told everything was going to be taken care of and let go home. When you take a trade in and let the customer go with a new car after making the deal, the commitment to the bank now becomes the dealerships, not the customer, especially after the dealership told the customer that they would take responsibility in paying off the loan, so that they could sell a new car to the customer. I have paperwork showing that there was a deal, that there was a trade in, and showing I was the owner of the new car. My commitment with the bank is taken over by you when we made the deal on the new car, again, how would it be my responsibility when you accepted my trade in.

8/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: incomplete deal agreement from dealer and bad customer service. My fiancé and I traded in a our vehicle for a Infiniti at Honolulu ford on 05/27/2013. We and the dealer agreed that we would purchase the vehicle with us putting $500 down payment and they would also fix/repair the paint chips as well as the cracked windshield. They did fix the paint chips. But when it came to the windshield the people they referred us to said it had to be replaced because someone previously already tried to fix it but they didn't do a good job because the crack is spreading. We purchased this vehicle because we have little children and needed the space. I do not want to be driving a vehicle with a cracked windshield that could potentially break on us while I am driving. Every time after that we tried to call Honolulu **** to talk to the manager but all we get is someone telling us the manager(s) aren't available but they will call us back. We never did get a call back. We would have to be the ones to initiate each and every single call. Mind you we bought this vehicle on 05/28/13 and finally after calling and talking to the sales manager about a month later he tells us that we are asking for too much. How are we asking for too much?! All we are asking for is what we agreed on otherwise we wouldn't have bought this vehicle knowing they wouldn't fix the windshield. Then he tells my fiancé that they will fix it if we pay $80 and they would cover the balance. My big issue is: 1)we were the ones that had to initiate every call to them, 2)we agreed that they would do something about the windshield if we buy this vehicle so why are they asking us to pay more, and 3)my biggest issue of all is how the Service Manager treated me over the phone. Steve who is the Service Manager hung up the phone on me twice after trying to talk to him. He would not let me talk and kept cutting me off telling me he could pay the difference after we pay $80 or he can do nothing and leave the windshield cracked. He had the nerve to say that we are asking for too much. That is very frustrating. He should not be a manager if that is how he treats their customers. He did not even let me talk or hear my side or even bothered to hear why I'm so frustrated. He actually made me more frustrated and angry that I can feel my heart beating uncontrollably and I can feel myself shaking because of actions. All I'm asking for is for them to live up to their deal, nothing more nothing less. I hope something is going to be done to this Service Manager to let him know that's now how you treat people and that's not how you should run a business.

Desired Settlement: I'm done trying to ask them to fix the windshield like they agreed. It's been over 1 month that I've been asking and I don't think they would love up to it. All I ask is an apology from both manager **** ****** and Service Manager ***** for providing such poor customer service and I hope they treat each customer excellent like how they kiss up to them when they are trying to sell their vehicles.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/31) */ The vehicle in question is an eight year old Infiniti, which was sold under the federal disclosure statement "As-Is." While we would like all our eight year old vehicles to be showroom new, clearly it was not. At the time of delivery, the customer requested that we paint the chips on the bumper and "fix the chip in the windshield." Both repairs were documented and agreed to. The customer spoke to one of our windshield vendors and was encouraged not to repair but replace. Replacing the windshield is a substantially larger repair than the chip. We agreed to accommodate *****'s request and authorized the windshield to be replaced, based upon *****'s agreement to pay a portion. Unfortunately, this was not satisfactory to ******, so we agreed to pay what we originally bargained $80. The customer may elect repair the chip or may replace the windshield, applying the $80 from Honolulu Ford. We regret any confusion that this incident may have caused.

11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service