Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Honolulu Buick GMC Cadillac

Phone: (808) 836-7007 Fax: (808) 792-4575 2945 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96819 View Additional Email Addresses http://honolulugmc.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new & used automobiles and auto parts at retail and services & repairs automobiles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Honolulu Buick GMC Cadillac include:

  • 14 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Honolulu Buick GMC Cadillac include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honolulu Buick GMC Cadillac
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 1994 Business started: 04/01/1992 Business started locally: 04/01/1992 Business incorporated 12/17/2013 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RD4255.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is MVD1002.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W53305720-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gagan Chahal, Senior Office Manager - Reno Mr. Brian Deboer, President Ms. Angela Deocampo, Honolulu Volkswagen GM Mr. Kevin Smith, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Smith, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Hawaii Automotive Retailing Group, Inc. Honolulu Volkswagen Lithia of Honolulu-BGMCC, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honolulu Buick GMC Cadillac has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2945 N Nimitz Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96819

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Second time I used them for service on my ** me and boyfriend share ***** ********** and had an appointment but car always seems to get service hours later.my car was at this same store three months ago and I paid the diagnostic one fifty to come again and find that none of they lightbulbs work. Seems pretty weird they all went out at the same time. Secondly I made an appointment on 24 June told them to not service my car if it would take more than the time I had so I wouldn't missed my son birthday party and guess what no one called me back like they said they would and I show up to pick my car up and its not ready. So I had to cancel my sons aloha that I spent 145.00 dollars on. This dealership offers the worse service I have ever experienced. They charge ridiculous amounts for hours if work when they haven't use close to it to do the work. I never knew dropping your car off with an appointment meant at our convienence. So even after the time I gave I still waited additional time. I dropped my car off at 0800 and it's 309 and I still don't have it. After telling them as soon as they find the issue to call me I ended up calling them at 1245

Desired Settlement: I would love to get my 145.00 back for sons birthdat but would settle for an apology for the bad service

5/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is with service, repair issues& unaccountability for car damage.My car is a '** ** *****.The check engine light when on 12/24 so right of way I call ********** to have my car towed in&repaired.The dealership says they are not able to see my car until 1/18; 3 weeks for a car repair appointment seems unreasonable, but I wait.Upon having my car towed in I tell the asst. srv mgr **** **** that my check engine light is on&my car is sputtering, no acceleration.They tell me right off the bat that it is probably the catalytic converter, but will have to charge $140 for the diagnosis.I say ok, &wait for their call back the next day for proper diagnosis.Two days pass&they tell me it isn't the catalytic converter, but that they don't know what it is, b/c my car's computer isn't reading the error codes.They then proceed to tell me that the comp needs replacement.I question this because my check engine light went on in time of fault, so it doesn't make sense to me. I have them open a **corporate tech line to work thru problem.** tech told them to check wiring of my car, perform overlay of wires to get computer going.This process goes on from 2/09 until 3/10; 3 months since bringing in my car for a sputtering problem.At this point I have no idea what they are doing with my car&have lost contact with them from 2/18 so I call corporate to open a case&make sure they are doing proper proceeders.After getting corporate involved on 3/02 they miraculously tell me I need a new instrument cluster for $1200.At this point, I advise corporate to tell them I am removing my car&for them to put it back together the way I brought it in.I have my car towed to ****** where in 45mins diagnosed&fix my car for basic spark plug&tuneup. However, they now find my new transmission of 3yrs is not shifting, my wiper blades are broken&there is a random piece of my car in the trunk.All of which Honolulu ** is denying they did.Incompetence on Honolulu ** as well as not putting my car back the way i brought in is inexcusable

Desired Settlement: I am asking for Honolulu** to pay for ****** to open up my car&check all the wiring they touched unnecessarily in order for them to diagnose my car.I have documentation stating wiring that has to with my TCM(transmission control module)was touched. I would like them to take accountability for messing with my car, not being able to diagnose a basic repair, as well as trying to scam me by making me buy unnecessary parts for unnecessary repairs¬ putting my car back together in original state

Business Response:


Attention Better Business Bureau,


 

I spoke with ****** from ********** ******* who closed the case March 23, 2015 due to the concerns of ******* ******.


********** ******* stated ******* ****** concern is nowhere related to ******** ********** and offered her a $50 gift certificate from ********** *******.


I also spoke with ******* ****** and notified her that she is responsible for the cost of any work she approves to be done at ******** **********.


I highly recommended trading her out of the vehicle to avoid future cost on her current vehicle.


 


 


Thank you,


 


 


 


****** ********


******** ********** Store# 254


General Manager


***** ******** ****** ***


********************


1/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2 June 2014, we purchased a **** **. This is where I troubles begin, for the next three months we were there for a second key for the vehicle and told we had to purchase one, the title for the vehicle was not forthcoming due to a girl in the office overlooking that they needed 2 signatures from the previous owners and they were having difficulty it getting the person to sign over the title. After 2 months they gave us a jeep to run around in as the safety had run out, weThen asked how much longer this problem was going to be and told a week. After the week still no title and we then told them that they can have the vehicle back, salesmen pleaded with is for another week, and we agreed. Week goes by and we return yet again, still no title. Eventually the head salesman was called in and told us this was the first he had heard about the problem, asked us for a week to resolve the issue, we agreed that if the title was not completed by the Friday we would be back to exchange the car we purchased. For the last three weeks our ** sat at the dealership,as it had no safety.All through the transaction with this company they promised us telephone calls to keep us up to date, guess what, the calls never arrived.!We looked around the lot for a vehicle and found a ****** **** truck that was a used vehicle we would be interested in, and told we could only have a new truck, as they were buying our ** with us not owing any money.To get out of this mess, we purchased a new truck with the credit they quoted us on that Friday evening, we drove off and thought that was the end of this.No!Saturday , they could not get us the credit quote and we would have to credit through another company and this would cost us another $150 more each month.On the selling of the ** we were told that they would settle the finance and extra cover .We have a credit report still showing ** sale and no finance payment returned for the extra cover $1900. No one calls as promised. End of November , money still outstanding!

Desired Settlement: I would like a check NOW. We have done everything to accommodate this dealership and have been left out of pocket through there negligence .Pay up today

Business Response:

I woule be glad to discuss this transaction in detail with the customer myself. I would like to speak with them and try to resolve this matter as soon as possible. I am un of what exactly the customer is asking for. Please have them contact me directly on my personal line *** *** ****

 

Mahalo - ******* ****

Business Response:

Aloha ********,

After reviewing your deal jackets we  discovered that your warranty and GAP insurance refunds have not been issued. We rescanned the documnets to our corporate office on 12/1/14. I will follow up with our accounting office to make sure that this payment is sent out to you as soon as possible. I want to make sure that we have your current address so that the check reaches you. Please feel free to email me your best mailing address. I want to make sure that this checks get to you asap.

 

Mahalo for your patience - ******* ****

****************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

******** ***** I received reimbursement because I went directly to ****** myself. I sent a new contract Cancellation request form to ****** on 15 Dec 2014 along with a letter from ***** ***** ****** Service showing the loan for the ** was paid in full on 10/06/2014. Honolulu Buick cannot take credit for the processing of the refund. In fact, ****** had no record that Honolulu Buick had ever submitted the contract Cancellation request they said they sent back in Sept 2014. I may have my refund, but I can assure you I will never take either of my two GMC vehicles to be service at Honolulu Buick worst service I have ever experienced. Thank you ******** *****-*****

10/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an ******** *** **** model on April 1st. I live in **** so i have to transact over the phone. Paperwork was signed accordingly then a week later they contacted me that the tires needs to be fixed so it would take another week to install new tires. A week later on the 13th i called again and just to follow up on the progress but the salesman name ***** won't even call me back. I've been so frustrated because i expect the car to be delivered at least within the week i signed all the paperworks but it didn't happen. My wife has to call the GM name ******* **** to follow-up. He then suggested to give us a rental loaner till the car is fixed. After the tires are fixed they notified that the airbag light was blinking so they said they have to fix it before they ship to me. I didn't have any choice because no matter what i say or do they won't ship the car to me. Finally they shipped my car on Thursday, May 16 received at the dock in **** on Friday the 17th. Before they shipped my car they told me they can't do the safety check due to registration has been changed to my name already and they need the actual insurance card to do safety check. WE were ok with it, at this point we are just going along to whatever they are telling us. I picked up my car and i looked for the registration card and it's not in the car at all. I went to get my safety check done but they couldn't do it without the registration card. I called the salesman ***** but he said his on vacation. I called ******* ****, and promised to call me back but he never called back. I called ******, another Manager that is also aware of all my issues with this car and told me to call me back and check on why the registration card wasn't in the car. Again, nobody called me back and it's already a few days past since i got the car. Now, i'm beyond frustrated. And by the way, the payment was due on the 16th of May and i paid it even though i haven't even seen nor driven the car but because it's a loan under my name i had to pay. Product_Or_Service: INfiniti G35 2006

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want compensation on all the stress, money and things associated with buying this car. I want a refund for the downpayment for paying the car. I know they gave me a loaner car and paid for it but i want them to pay for it because it's not my fault they sold me a faulty and questionable car. Also, on the paperwork when i signed it stated that the mileage was 79,540 miles but when i got it from the dock it was 81,500, this is over 2,000 mileage accumulated in 46 days that supposedly in service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/06/18) */ We do apologize for the delays in getting the vehicle to the customer, but we had to make sure the car was safe and would pass a State safety inspection. Some of the parts had to be ordered and some of the work needed required that the car be sent to the Nissan dealer. These are the reasons for the delays, we wanted to insure a safe vehicle would be sent to the customer. The registration has been completed and the customer has acknowledged receipt.

7/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contact Info: *********** ******* XXX-XXX-XXXX **************@aim.com XXXXX Mayer Avenue Hudson, FL XXXXX Business: Hawaii Auto Group 2881 N. Nimitz Highway Honolulu, HI XXXXX Specific Employees Who I have Dealt With: ***g ******** (Finance Manager) I have tried to get in contact with ******* **** (General Manager) and ************* (***g ********** manager) Date of Transaction: January 2, 2013 Purchase: 2009 Dodge Ram with 2 year warranty Duration of Problem: Ultimately since the purchase date of 1/2/2013 but most specifically since the last week of April, 2013 My name is *********** *******. I purchased a 2009 Dodge Ram from Hawaii Auto Group in Honolulu, Hawaii on January 2, 2013. I also purchased the 2 year warranty amounting to $2,240.00. My consultant was ***** *****. Upon retiring from the military and relocating to Florida, I learned of several issues with my truck (leaking roof, broken automatic door locks, ect) and I went to Greenway Dodge in Orlando, FL to see if my warranty would cover it. I learned then from the service technician that the warranty was never submitted correctly in my name and it seemed as though it could have been under the previous owner's name. The service technician advised me to contact Hawaii Auto Group and the original consultant to either change it in my name or completely reimburse my money. I decided to pursue a complete reimbursement because of the significant mistake on the employee's fault originally. I was then put in contact with ***g ********, financial manager. On May 6, I submitted my official warranty cancellation paperwork which I have attached. On May 7, I e-mailed again seeking confirmation from Mr. ******** and inquired how long it would take to process. Mr. ******** responded and said 4-6 weeks. On June 3rd, I e-mailed Mr. ******** again asking for a status update after 3 unreturned phone calls to the branch for Mr. ******** and his supervisor, Mr. ********. On June 7th, Mr. ******** finally responded to my numerous e-mails (all attached) and said, "I just got a message from our business office that your warranty is still active. Who did you give the cancellation form to? Looks like you have to come in and fill out the form once again." I replied with proof that it was sent to him and acknowledged and several requests to speak to his manager. I then called a series of 6-10 times seeking Mr. **** (general manager of the company), Mr. ******** or Mr. ****. I left messages with Christy almost everyday to have them call back. On June 10th, Mr. ******** let me know that I would be receiving a pro-rated amount of only $1552.27. That is a difference of $687.73 of my original purchase amount and I would have to wait 7-10 business days. I e-mailed back a total of 5-7 times and called, yet again, a totally of 5-7 times to demand a full refund. Ultimately, I am in this predicament of losing up to $2,240 because the original employee did not enter the information correctly and have been waiting since late April to receive any confirmation or payment back. I refuse to be held accountable for an amount that was wrongly inputted and deal with employees that have lost paperwork and will not return phone calls, general manager included.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund of my warranty purchase of $2,240.00. I desire the full refund because the warranty was NEVER PLACED IN MY NAME as a mistake made by the employee and I expect expedient customer service and response from the company because I have been relentlessly contacting them with zero response.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/19) */ The warranty has been cancelled and the refund is in process. The amount of the refund is based on time and mileage used, the standard "rule of 78" was used to calculate the refund amount. Customer purchased the car on 1/2/13 and the warranty has was processed and filed on 1/15/13. I have complete documentation stating this. I personally have been in constant contact with this customer since it was brought to my attention. A full refund is not warranted

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Inferior services to New vehicle which resulted in possible damage to vehicle. I bought a New 2012 Volkswagen Jetta TDI from Honolulu Volkswagen in October 2011. The vehicle was serviced at 6480 miles per the service requirements. The vehicle was serviced again at XXXXX miles for its first scheduled oil change service 28 June 2012. My wife picked up the car after work and drove 17.3 miles in stop and go traffic for a period of roughly an hour back to our house. At that point it was dark and we immediately took the car out to dinner which added another 24 miles. When we returned to home we saw a huge oil spill in the driveway where the vehicle had been parked briefly. I checked under the vehicle to see that the entire under carriage was covered in oil. The dip stick was also dry when checked. The next morning I had to fight with Honolulu Volkswagen just to get them to tow the car back to dealership. Upon diagnosis they were very vague on what exactly happened other than the issue was fixed and there was nothing to worry about. I have worked on cars for years and know that an engine with out oil can become severely if not critically damaged very quickly. My only concern was the long term effects on the life expectancy of the engine and requested an extended warranty on the engine which was denied by the dealership. I continued to pursue the matter with Volkswagen's Corporate offices with the same luck. 1 April 2013 we took that car back to Honolulu Volkswagen for its 20,000 mile oil change service. Reexplained the issue so they could thoroughly check the engine. They also offered to put stickers on the vehicles fuel intake to remind us that this vehicle took diesel fuel not gasoline. We refused this sticker. When we picked up the vehicle later that day (two hours after it was supposed to be done) they applied the stickers anyway and when asked did not do anything to check on the currents status of the engine that could have been damaged from the previous service. It is obvious that this dealer's service department lacks the basic experience or comprehension skills that should be required to keep people driving safe vehicles. They can not complete simple maintenance on the vehicles they sell, they can not follow simple directions and it is apparent now that the dealership nor Volkswagen as a whole will stand behind the lack of services they offer. My faith in this car that I bought brand new has dwindled. I would feel safer if VW would back the engine longer than the standard warranty to show me they stand by the car and their service which they failed on.

Desired Settlement: I would like VW to extend the warranty on the engine for as long as possible. It is obvious after these events that any major damage that could occur to the engine in the coming years would have came from this event. It is impossible for anyone to determine the level of damage if any at all with out completely breaking the engine down to its main components which is obviously unfeasible. I feel that warranty extension on the engine would not cost VW anything extra unless there is in fact underlying damage caused from this event.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/06/05) */ we will provide the customer with an extended warranty. Our office will contact the customer.

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They dont let me take my name off a car lease (currently a co-signer) although the finance manager said he would after 1-2 months the lease starts. About a year ago I co-signed a lease for a car for a friend of mine that he currently drives because the vw credit office wanted to feel more secure due to my friend's not existing credit. Although his pay stub was high enough to justify leasing a car at that time he had just moved to the US so he had no credit history. I specifically asked their finance manager if taking my name off the lease after the contract is signed and after my friend has established his credit (he has a PhD and a well paid job) will be easy and he said it will be very easy to have me as a co-signer and to first get the lease under both of our names and later (after a month or two) he will remove my name off that lease. I have contacted the vw dealership and the vw credit office (I get redirected to them) to remove my name off the lease and now they say that they wont do it unless we payoff the whole car. They are not even looking into my friends credit (he has a credit score >700) but they just say that they have never removed a co-signers name off a lease in the past.

Desired Settlement: Remove my name of the lease agreement.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/06/04) */ I am working on a resolution. Please give us a few more days. We are trying to get Volkswagen Credit to work with us on providing a solution. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response for now as they need more time but the issue has not been resolved.

2/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: PURCHASE OF USED VEHICLE BY ORIGINAL DEALER After receiving a letter from the dealer around November 2012 offering to purchase used Saturn Vue vehicles at 110% of blue book value. Since I'm now trying to sell my vehicle I contacted them by email (******* Baca - Internet Manager; he made an appointment with me yesterday (2/25/13) for this morning (2/26/13). On returning home last evening I had another notice from the dealer making same the offer, but this time for any GM vehicle (110% of blue book value). When I met with ******* this morning he scanned the vehicle vin number and showed me the resulting prices when selling my Saturn Vue from various sites. He said that while I waited the Service Manager and Used Car Manager (*******). Some minutes later ******* returned to his office and told me that while himself and the service manager appreciated that my Vue was in excellent condition and that they would take it in a heart beat, that the Used Car Manager (*******) didn't want it because of the color (it's Sunburst Orange). ******* was very apologetic and said that he and the service manager were extremely surprised at this outcome. I was extremely upset and angry at this prejudicial attitude against my vehicles color. It was purchased from this dealership when it was Saturn of Honolulu. This dealership is now the only authorized Saturn Service Center in Honolulu. In my view they should say that they don't want certain colors of vehicles in the notices they send out offering to purchase the used vehicles. May Vue is a 2008 XR V6 in excellent condition inside and out with only 26,700 miles on it.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for this attitude from the used car manager and also the general manager, for the false advertising they have mailed to me and others that are on their owners/purchasers listing. I would also like them to adhere to their advertising and purchase my vehicle without prejudice at a price that they would offer for this vehicle if it were a different color.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 5, 2013/02/28) */ Dear Mr. ******** - Since filing the complaint I have heard from the General Manager and have resolved the issues with them. Although I still feel that their advertised offer of 110% of Blue Book Value is a misnomer, they have made an offer for my vehicle which I have accepted. I will be taking the vehicle to them this afternoon to complete the process. I thank you for your prompt attention to my initial complaint. Please let me know that you have closed this issue and let Hawaii Auto Group know that I no longer have an issue with them Mahalo, *** ******

12/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to purchase a 2010 Chevy Equinox, after striking a deal, while signing the paperwork. They sold the car from under us. My wife and I went to purchase a used 2010 Chevy Equinox. After test driving the car and finding nothing wrong, that we could see, we enterned negoiations. After going back and forth, providing the nessicary information, agreed on a final price of 18,164.70 for the vehicle. We signed a contract with them saying that if they accepted our offer we would purchase the car today. We had provided information about our trade in, a 2012 Toyota Prius C, and they were going to give us 19,500.00 for the trade in. We also informed them we already had financing and we would be picking the vehicle up the next day. We signed a contract with them saying that if they accepted our offer we would purchase the car today.We then proceeded to sign the title transfer papers and begin to put a 500 dollar deposit down. During this process, the dealership manager called *****, our sales person, to his office. Upon return *****, switched tactics on my wife, trying to sell us a 2011 Chevy Equinox. I asked him what had changed we had an agreement on the 2010. He told me that they had sold the car to another person, after we had signed an agreement to purchase the car. At this point I asked for our license and insurance back and informed them that we were leaving and that I wanted to watch them shred all our PII.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a formal appology from the owner of Hawaii Auto Group and a review of their internal operating procedures.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2012/12/26) */ in speaking with the salesperson, customer ****** would not commit to buy the vehicle but wanted to place the vehicle on HOLD. Vehicle was then sold to another customer who was also interested in the same vehicle. wanted to make the purchase, sign purchase paperwork, and take vehicle home Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 13, 2012/12/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Yes we did request to place a downpayment on the vehicle until we could pick up the check as our bank did not have same day pick up. Before even beginning the negotiations we told the salesperson that we did not have the check but would have it tomorrow. We were told that was no problem. After negotiating the price, and settling on a price we reiterated that we did not have a check but would sign all the paper work and the purchase order, as well as place 500 down on the car until we could pick up the check the next day. Our salesperson went back into the General Managers office, came back out and said we had a deal. We had signed all but the purchase order when our salesperson was called back to the General Managers office and we were informed that they had sold the car to someone else.

12/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership failed to provide receipt for $3000 down payment, now trying to double charge $3000 On 10/18/12 my husband and I were approved for the purchase of a 2013 ATS.The original contract stated $3000 down payment and monthly payments of approx $750.We paid the $3000 down in cash and assumed the receipt was included with the contract,which was provided in an envelope.Due to the deal being completed late at night,neither my husband or I thought to check for the receipt.We were called by the dealership on Saturday 10/20 and congratulated on our purchase.Approximately 2 weeks later on 11/1,after not hearing from the dealership in the interim,we received a call from **** (who originally provided us the contract) stating that our deal had not gone through.We went back into the dealership to further inquire what was going on,he advised us that banks had not purchased the deal and that we now must pay approx $950/mo. My husband and I have bought 2 new cars prior to the ATS and have never had this happen before,after two weeks of driving the car under the assumption it is yours.I informed **** we were unwilling to pay $950/mo & that we would not have traded in our 2010 King Ranch under those circumstances.He advised we had no options. When I asked why he took 2 weeks to inform us of the situation,he responded saying "you have terrible credit, you're lucky we worked with you at all."I have never been treated so poorly in terms of customer service. We told him this was unacceptable and he informed us our only option was to lease the vehicle. Throughout the conversation he continued to ask us if we could put more money down,which I thought was strange since I had repeatedly told him $3000 was the most we were willing to do, which had already been provided on 10/18. We left the dealership with no resolution. Several days later we received a call stating our lease had been approved for $750/mo&that **** had been fired. We confirmed with **** ********** that $3000 had been paid as a down payment&that our first payment of $750 would be paid to the dealership so it wasn't late since the deal had been drawn out. Another 2 weeks pass and around 11/29 we receive a call from ****, the sales manager, to inform us he did not have our $3000 drive off. I informed him that this had been paid in cash to ****(the now terminated employee)on the night of 10/18 when the original contract was signed. I informed him that after going through the contract papers (where I originally thought the receipt would be) that we were never provided a receipt by ****.I also informed him of the terrible service we received from ****,the insults regarding our credit,and the drawn out nature of the deal(along with several incorrect facts about the vehicle we were told by the salesman who sold us the car).He informed me that he did not care, he couldn't apologize for another employee's actions, and that we owed the $3000 again since we did not have a receipt (nevermind the fact that it was the employee's fault that we were never provided one). He has continued to be unwavering in this position and unwilling to see the fault of the dealership. My husband went in to pick up the plates & **** confronted him, ordering him into his office & stood over him in a confrontational manner, pounding his fist on the desk yelling "I have to get paid and you owe me money."I have spoken with **** regarding the issue multiple times over the past several weeks,yet he sent a certified letter on 12/4 stating that he has been unable to reach me and therefore is sending us to collections for the $3000. I spoke with **** the day he sent the letter (before I knew he had written or sent it)& he never mentioned it or anything about collections. I even informed him I would not pay the money until pursuing other avenues (BBB, etc) and he did not object or say "we are sending you to collections if you don't pay by 12/6". I have now tried to reach the GM over 10 times in the last 2 days with no response. I want this issue resolved immediately as it is now approaching 2 months after the original purchase.

Desired Settlement: I want the dealership to accept that their employee made a mistake and that it is not up to the customer to make ammends or pay for that mistake. The dealership should make more of an effort to resolve customer service and billing issues in a timely manner. I want the dealership to accept that their employee(who was terminated shortly after mismanaging our contract) mismanaged our money and failed to provide us a receipt, and that the mistake is their liability, not ours as the customer, and that we under no circumstances owe them an additional $3000 because of their mistake. For purchasing/leasing a $50,000 vehicle, we have been treated like criminals, insulted, threatened, and lied to. I would like this issue resolved as soon as possible in a satisfactory manner. Your consideration is appreciated.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2012/12/17) */ Please close this case immediately. It was satisfactorily resolved by the dealership on Friday shortly after I filed the complaint on Thursday. An email request to close the file was also sent to the BBB. There is currently no need to contact the dealership as they resolved all issues to our satisfaction.

11/29/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have inconsistent selling practices and they lied about it. I received a notice in the mail from Honolulu Buick GMC AKA Hawaii Auto Group. The invitation states " we are looking to purchase any and all price range vehicles, however, we are specifically looking for up to 7 Buick Lesabres or something similar because of an unusual number of customer requests for this vehicle". The invitation contains, " You may be one of a handful of individuals who may currently own a 2005 Buick Lesabre or similar vehicle that is in good condition! Due to current auction prices, this vehicle is in its peak trade cycle, and we are willing to make you an aggressive offer". Continues to state, " There is no purchase necessary! These appraaisals are free, costing you nothing to learn the value of your vehicle.This is the perfect time to upgrade your vehicle and most likely lower your payments". I met with a sales person Jeremy who went to the sales manager to see if the 2005 vehicle could be sold back to Hawaii Auto Group, ****** stated that his boss said" the vehicle is too old and that they cannot make any money of the 2005 Buick Lesabre". I would like there business practices investigated, they are dishonest. This vehicle was purchased on 12.08.2010 with ****** miles. The vehicle now has ****** miles. I was told by ******" they don't buy vehicles with over ****** miles on it". Yet Hawaii Auto Group sold the vehicle with ****** miles at a cost of ******. The car is in better shape when it was purchased from them, I cannot understand how they can say one thing and do another. I feel this is very questionable business practices and should not be allowed to continue.

Desired Settlement: I want Hawaii Auto Group to purchase the vehicle for the blue book value in the amount of ******, I want them to stop lying to the public, or change their advertising practices. I want resolution, again if you read my complaint, it is pretty clear that they lied.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2012/11/28) */ 11/27 General Mgr emailed Mr ****** to inform him that he will contacted on Friday to coordinate meeting to appraise his vehicle.

9/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service