Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Honda Windward?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Honda Windward

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 247-8544 Fax: (808) 247-5840 View Additional Phone Numbers 45-671 Kamehameha Hwy, Kaneohe, HI 96744 http://www.hondawindward.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a Honda dealership, and offers new & used vehicles & auto repair services, and auto detail services with a tunnel car wash and a dog wash facility.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda Windward meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Honda Windward include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Honda Windward
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 23, 1981 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated: 07/29/1994 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20492498-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD645.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD3442.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Morris Stoebner, President Dalton Baker, Service Manager Del Cootey, Body Shop Manager Sharon Ducosin, Car Wash Manager Michael Stoebner, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Michael Stoebner, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Morris Stoebner, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Stoebner Holdings, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Honda Windward has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 45-671 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • PO Box 4450

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 235-7566(Phone)
  • (808) 247-6756(Phone)
  • (808) 247-8568(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In order to pass my safety check, I was informed I needed to purchase 4 tires. In short, I could have passed the Safety check w/ only 2 new tires. My van went for a safety inspection & I was told I needed to purchase 4 new tires in order to pass inspection. I told the service rep I couldn't afford 4 new tires, that maybe I would take the van to *** ******** (where I purchased the tires on the van) to see if they could replace the tires. I called *** ******** & they quoted me a higher price since they no longer carried the stock tire currently on my van. I talked w/ the Manager at *** ******** & he informed me that their price included tires, stems, valves, balancing, & a life time warranty. I called Honda Windward back & asked them what their price included, which was just the tire. The mounting, balancing, stems, valves, would cost $29/tire. I thought about it & decided to leave my van w/ Honda since it was already there. The next day, I was putting all my paper work back neatly in the holder & I checked some prior invoices to see when I purchased my tires. With that information, I contacted *** ******** & inquired about a tire warranty, which he stated I had & that they could have replaced the tires for a lesser charge. Because of the miscommunication between myself & *** ********, the manager offered to provide a 1 time alignment & oil change, w/ synthetic oil at no charge. He also offered to vouch for the information on the receipt from Honda, stating the State Safety Check manual states tires will pass inspection w/ @ least 2/32 tread depth, which 2 tires had. The other 2 tires had >2/32 tread depth. I contacted Honda Windward, spoke to the service rep that assisted me the day before & he told me he could not help me, that I understood his explanation the day before. I asked for my tires & he stated "they're gone, we got rid of them." I asked the service rep where the Safety Check manual was located & he told me, "it's w/ the technician." So I asked to speak to the technician & was told the technician was not there. I asked if the technician only works certain days, & was told no. So I asked again to see the Safety Check manual. The service rep go a folder on some sort, that was red & there was NO indication that this folder was the Safety Check manual I had asked about. I asked him to explain the Tire depth readings & he told me all he saw was a bunch of numbers & he didn't know what they meant. I asked to talk to the manager, who stated that the tires had not been picked up & that I could come get them. When I got to Honda, I spoke to the service rep, who spoke in a condescending tone of voice. I asked to speak to the manager & asked why I was sold 2 tires if I didn't need them, he stated, "it's the technician's call." The manager asked 2 technicians, ** & ******* (the tech that did the actual work on my van.) to give their opinion of the tires. ** said all 4 tires would not pass, ******* stated I "could have driven these 2 tires for a couple more months, & said he would have said that to me, however I was not given the chance to talk w/ the tech. The tech explained that 2 tires needed to be changed, per the manual, one was OK, but did have a little bit of uneven wear & the last tire was OK. I asked if i needed to buy all 4 tires & the tech stated i could have passed my safety inspection w/ 2 new tires. I also asked why I was charged for an alignment that had only 0.01% change on only 1 tire & was told that I was charged $89.95 just because my van was put on the racks. I asked if HOnda did free alignment checks & was not given an answer. I also spoke w/ the general manager & he was willing to refund me the cost of the alignment, however, would not be giving any thought to any type of other credit & that if they lost my business, well, that would be OK, because not all his customers will be satisfied all the time. He is pretty much OK w/ losing my business, he says he has plenty other folks that are very satisfied w/ the service provided @ Honda Windward.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for Honda Windward to give me an additional credit toward my tire purchase, in addition to the $89.95 + tax the general manager told me I would be refunded. I would like Honda to give me some sort of credit or prorated amount since the tires did still have some tread left. I would also like a credit towards the installation of the 2 tires I did not need to purchase.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/13) */ The facts presented by ***. ***** are not completely true. It was very clearly illustrated that three of her tires were definitaly bad that is below safety check standard. She knows and recognizese this however she still talks two tires. This is dishonest and not appreciated. The forth tire was marginal at best and I'm the one that stated to her possible could have went another month. We did everything to try to resolve issue, pulled old tires involved staff members that were involved initally with her. We loaded old tires for her so she could go gather second opinion. We aggreed against better judgement to compensate her back for for alignment. 89.95 to resolve issue she agreed and then turns around and involves another staff member with more unreasonable request. She also requested of me to give a little more back in relation to the 10% that was given initally. Even after she knows we are giving 89.95. The additional amount requested for the 10% was about 6 dollars. This is rediculas and will not be honored. As for the future at this point we request she make her life alot better and ours for her to seek service elsewhere. We have a great customer following, because we care and make sure our customer leave happy. This can not happen with *** ***** unfortunate. Thanks ****** ***** Operations Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The reason why I do not accept the latest response from Honda Windward is because I have requested they return the cost of disposal of 3 of the 4 tires I purchased from them. Those 3 tires were returned to me, therefore, Honda Windward did not dispose of them & should return the money they charged me for tire disposal. That charge, per the invoice, is $12 plus tax. The reason why I am so adamant about Honda Windward taking responsibility for their actions is because they did not work with me to an agreeable resolution regarding the matter of tire purchase. ******, the service manager, was very disrespectful, so was *******, the general manager (the son of the business owner). Both these individuals did not respect my input as the vehicle owner, nor did they respect my decision to get a 2nd opinion regarding their assessment of the tires on my vehicle. The other point, in my opinion, that ****** & ******* do not appreciate from me is that I quoted the Safety Inspection manual the state issues to each safety inspection facility, which is what Honda Windward was supposed to follow. In my opinion they did not follow these guidelines as set forth in the PMVI manual, issued by the Hawaii State Department of Transportation. The biggest reason I am dissatisfied w/ Honda Windward is because they are not honoring the manufacturer warranty, that being, the consumer receives a credit on the tire if the tire has not reached its max mileage, in this case, 65K miles. Lex Brodie Tire Company in Kaneohe has been able to assist me w/ the manufacturer warranty & has been able to prorate the life of the tires that came off my vehicle is excess of 50% for all 4 tires, specifically, 56% for 2 tires & 69% for 2 tires. Honda Windward informed me they do not honor the ******** warranty. I've asked them to return the cost of the tire disposal because they did not dispose of all 4 tires, they returned 3 tires to me. If they were truly trying to work w/ me so that we could both reach an amiable solution, they would have offered to return the tire disposal fee. From the beginning of this unfortunate situation, the HOnda Windward people have not tried to work w/ me to resolve any issues brought up during this time. Please, I would like my $12 plus tax for the tire disposal. The Honda Windward people have not been able to reach a compromise w/ me, that I now have to take my vehicle to the **** ***** ******* ********** for a factory recall, all because the Honda Windward people have refused to compromise w/ me on this tire issue. Again, I request to have my $12 plus tax reimbursed to me for the tire disposal, this is for 3 tires which they did not dispose of, but returned to me at my request. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/11/26) */ We respectfully request this be closed and unfortunately not resolved. The requests are unreasonable. We gave the 89.95 alignment not because any thing was done wrong but to try to help and or resolve this issue. Customer still not happy and neither are we. We can keep going back and forth but completely non productive. Sorry she needs to seek service elsewhere. We appreciate BBB and understand the position.This will be the first unresolved issue at least for the eight years that i have worked at Honda Windward. I'm sure that we have only had one or two in that eight years. We completely resolved it or them. ******

10/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Said if we did have a problem they would help us out because they have a reputation to protect. When we had a problem the manager said they couldn't. We traded a car in just over two weeks ago. I was a little nervous purchasing a used car. I asked the salesman what happens if a month from now it breaks down? He said there's no way to know the future, but that if for some reason it did happen to let them know. He told me that if we did have a problem they would help us out because they have a reputation to protect. This morning when I went to start my car it wouldn't start. I called the dealership to speak with the salesman but he was not in. I spoke with the manager and he said there was nothing they could do because I purchased it "as is". Frustrated I started searching on google for why it may not start. I found that having a copy made of the key the security system can have a glitch. We had a copy of the key made just over a week ago at Honda (they only gave us one key when we purchased the car). We are so upset with the way they treated us that we don't even want to go back to get the key straightened out.

Desired Settlement: Don't use sales practices that you won't with hold. Treat your customers with integrity and follow through with what you say. We would like a refund for the key we purchased that will not start the car. We do not wish to have it worked on again at the honda dealership because we do not have trust in their services.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2013/09/24) */ we have recieved the customer's receipt for the key she purchased and we will be sending her a reimbursement check early within 14 days of this email...****** *****, our Service Director has spoken to the customer, and she is now satisfied with the result...thank you for your attention to this matter...

7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service