This business is not BBB accredited.

Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 960-1156 Fax: (808) 961-0018 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Keaa St, Hilo, HI 96720 http://www.bigislandmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dealer & repair services of new & used vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 1994 Business started: 08/08/2006 Business started locally: 08/08/2006 Business incorporated 06/14/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

GET-Hawaii District Office*
75 Aupuni St #101, Hilo HI 96721
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 974-6321
The number is W56423742-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD-481.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD-3952.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne K. De Luz, President Ms. Donna Carrano, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne K. De Luz, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Big Island Motors Inc.
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-REPAIR

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Keaa St

    Hilo, HI 96720 (808) 960-1156

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    75-5793 Kuakini Hwy

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My *** ****** were installed incorrectly by Kona ***** and Subaru. I waited 3 hours and paid $271. When I informed them that my auto detailer said they were installed incorrectly, they agreed to look at them and install them correctly if needed. Again, I waited around town for 3 hours and when I got back, they had just tightened the straps and stated they were installed correctly. They said my auto detailer was bad mouthing them and suggested he was trying to swindle me and even might have sabotaged their installation. After that, I had my auto detailer install them correctly, taking pictures and video of the correct manner to do it. It was like night and day. The straps were under the seats, the cup holders and seat belts were usable; it was obviously the correct installation. I gave ***** the invoice from my auto detailer and the pictures and video. Trying to get that invoice paid was like pulling teeth. They would not return my phone calls. I called them 26 times and they called me back a total of 2 times. They would not take constructive feedback, insisting that my detailer was bad mouthing them. I was nothing but polite and patient for months (*** ****** installed the first time on 1/26/15, invoice for correct installation paid 9/28/15). The day before they finally cut the check for the correct installation, in frustration I said, What the f*ck is going on? Is it because Im haole? The next day I got a call that the check was in. The day I picked up the check, the general manager told me in answer to my question about why I was treated that way, and I quote: Yes, it is you. This is blatant discrimination. I had expected to be treated fairly and professionally as I treat others. I wanted them to fix a problem and be courteous. They seemed unable to take constructive feedback without becoming defensive and or offensive. I never received any money back for the incorrect installation, nor any apology for rudeness, lack of return phone calls, inconvenience and time lost.

Desired Settlement: Refund for incorrect installation. An apology for time lost and rudeness. They really need some training on customer service and discriminatory practices.

Business Response: To the Better Business Bureau: My name is Chuck F******. I am the General Manager for Hilo and Kona *****/Subaru/*******. I am writing this letter in response to the complaint filed by ****** *******. Unlike Ms. *******’s choice to take what I agree, was a long process, and submit small phrases out of context from much larger time frames and conversations , I will try to be more precise and accurate with my response. When you have the Truth on your side….it is much easier. 1. We came to an agreement thoughout the process that we felt that while we ended up doing and acceptable job on ******’s seat covers, her other installer did a slightly better job of “tucking” in small areas that made the job look better. 2. At that point, My Service Manager Sherry asked my permission, to reimburse her the full $271.21 that she had paid, which I granted. 3. We needed our owner’s Signature for the check and it did several extra days, since he was not available on the island. 4. Contrary to how ****** is trying to make it sound, apologies for the amount of time this took were made. They were not written, but in regular conversation, such as “ I’m sorry this is taking so long”. 5. On the day the Ms. ******* decided to use her expletive and play the “Race Card”, she was in pain from some kind of ailment or Stress. I know this because she stated it to me on the day that she came to me and complained. She started the conversation by Stating “Maybe it is me” I was having a bad day and in a lot of pain”…………..then proceeded to explain away her actions in the attack of my Service Manager. I told her that I don’t understand how someone(Sherry, my Service Manager), could have nothing bad to say about you(******) at all..... throughout the whole process, stating how patient she was etc…….and then turn on us with “What the F—k Sherry…is it because I am a Hoale!?? 6. When I explained to Ms. ******* that regardless of what happened, we do not tolerate abuse of our employees, neither Physical nor Verbal, she became extremely unreasonable. It got even worse when she realized that I would not apologize for my employees posturing themselves to take this type of abuse. She asserted again that it was because she was a Haole. When this continued and I could see that this was going nowhere, I did end the conversation by reminding her that she herself stated “Maybe it’s me”. By the way she spoke to me and the condescending tone that she used, I concurred and said “It is you”. In Closing, I would go back to the beginning of how we handled Ms. *******’s situation. We came to an understanding that the other vendor did indeed do some Tucking in that, made the seats look better than the work we completed. For that, we re-imbursed her $271.21…..her full installation charge. If another apology for the unfortunate amount of time this took to complete the transaction needs to made, then for that purpose, she once again has our sincerest Apologies.

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a **** **** ******* 40,944 miles and I had it not even two weeks when the water pump broke on me and it started overheating. I made an attempt to get it towed in the pouring rain but neither my car insurance or my extended warranty could get a tow truck. SO I ended up have to call my Dad to come get me mind you it was a Saturday night. They told me to call Monday and try again. Monday rolls along I picked up a rental and called Hilo Mazda to ask if I should get it towed to Kona mazda with no sympathy or remorse the dealer Johnathan tells me to get it to Kona Mazda. So I did and drove in on Tuesday. First thing I did was call Johnathan an the sales manager if I coud swap my car or trade it for a different car and they told me sorry there is nothing they could do about that, then I talk to Sherry in the parts department very nice and informative tells me its got to go to **** on the factory warranty because the one I purchased didn't kick in. So I went to the GM to see if they could accommodate me with a rental he told me they cant loan a car to me till Thursday. THursday comes along and **** calls me to pick up the car already. So I called sherry and let her know and she just told me to keep her informed. I emailed the GM to see if I could get another car and he told me a trade in is an option and call Johnathan to make an appointment. I Called Johnathan on Monday and he told me he would talk to his GM to see what he could do, Tuesday "I" called him told me he would talk to Chuck the GM. and asked me what I was looking for and I told him a 4x4, preferably a truck Wednesday came called him up tells me the same thing and also says he has no 4x4 in his inventory and told me he would call me back after and let me know whats going on. Thursday "I" had to call Johnathan and asked him so did you find anything r what's going on? he tells me that there is nothing in the inventory and then tells me in order for me to get another car I need $1000 down. All I wanted is a different car.

Desired Settlement: Want a 4WD truck that doesn't require fixing two weeks after I drive off the lot. and a refund or my radiator cap that costed $54.00

Business Response: My name is Chuck F******. I am the General Manager for Hilo & Kona Mazda Subaru and Hyundai. I am responding the complaint made by ****** ****. I am confused by Mr. ****’s accusations towards us. Yes, He did by a **** **** ******* from us that experienced a water pump issue, after he purchased it. Contrary to how he is making this sound, it was through the research and help of his Salesperson Jonathin, that we were able to get his Water Pump Covered under warranty with the **** Dealer. When Mr. **** came to see me for a Car in regards to this Repair, I had a vehicle driven over from Hilo for his convenience to be picked up on the Thursday Morning. This was coordinated in My Office. He neither showed nor called me on Thursday, and I had the car here waiting for him for several days, before finally finding out from him that he had gotten his **** Back, so I drove that vehicle back to Hilo, days later. It was also then, that he informed me that he still wanted to swap out of his ****. I was very specific that we could look at trading him out of the car. He made an appointment with his Salesperson, and from what I understand, they could not find something that he like or that would work for him, budget-range wise. The comment of needing $1000.00 down is common in informing the customer that a monetary commitment like that can help elviate a possible negative equity position. I understand that Mr. **** may not understand this, but it should not be conveyed as a negative on our part. As far as a $54.00 radiator cap, that again is news to me. I would be happy to correct any inappropriate action, if I found that to be the case.

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late July I took my ****** into the **alership for an oil change and inspection. I told the service people that I was intending to sell the car so I wanted to know what nee**d repair.I was given a paper with everything checked off in the green except for the air filter and the two front tires.I had the front tires replaced and procee**d to put the car on **********, for sale.On August 19th I drove to Volcano, to show the car to a potential buyer and she brought with her a certified mechanic, who inspected the car.Much to my embarrassment (and shock) I was told that the front b***ks were VERY worn out, the liquid for the power steering had not been topped up, the pan un**rneath the hood was not put back properly (it was dangling without bolts!) and two of the sensors nee**d replacement.Not only was I embarrassed but I felt humiliated, since I had told the potential buyer that the car was in good shape. The next day I called the **alership and explained the issue. The woman I spoke with seemed, at first, very concerned and said, "If what you are telling me is true, we will fire the mechanic who serviced your car."She told me to bring the car in at 2 p.m. that afternoon.(I live nearly two hours from Hilo so it was a LONG drive for me.)When I got there, I was told unless I signed a waiver, which basically exempted the **alership from all responsibility, that they would not look at the car!I immediately called the mechanic in Volcano and asked his advise. He told me NOT to sign the waiver.I then asked to speak to Wayne, the "manager" who was in Kona. He was belligerent, unfriendly, ru**, unprofessional and outright childish. He hung up the phone on me.I was simply asking for what the mechanic had encouraged me to ask for, which was an inspection of the car, for SAFETY purposes.To shorten the saga: I was kept there for 45 minutes and finally left feeling abused and mist***ted. It was nearly FIVE HOURS of my time, with NO customer respect, care or courtesy.Still in shock!

Desired Settlement: To add to this: I have purchased several cars from the Hilo-Kona Mazda **alership. Recently I bought a used ****** truck, for nearly $20,000, from them. Less than 15 hours after signing the sales agreement I found a coupon (which I paid a lot of money for when I purchased my ****** from them in 2006) and it said that they would **duct $250 if I were to ever purchase another vehicle from them.I immediately emailed them the coupon and was told that they would "get back to me." They never did!

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

From: ******* *** [mailto:********************] 
Sent: Friday, September 11, 2015 10:55 AM
To: *** ********** ******************************
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB of Hawaii Regarding Complaint #********

**ar *****,

Thank you so much for your assistance.

Like I said, I have called the ****** headquarters in Honolulu THREE TIMES and have had NO reply.

The ***son I did not sign the waiver is because my attorney advised me not to. The people at ****** did not say they would fix the b***ks or put back the pan un**r the car, which they forgot to screw back on after doing the oil change! They only said that they would "look at the car."

The other negligence on their part was that they said nothing about the engine light. I paid to have it looked at the following day and it turns out that two sensors need to be replaced.

I am willing to sign the waiver IF they agree to the following:

1) Properly replace the pan beneath the hood.

2) Replace both front b***ks.

3) Replace the two sensors.

4) I would also like an apology for the **spicable way I was t***ted by Wayne, the manager in Kona!

THIS IS NOT A LOT TO ASK.

Thank you kindly,

******* ******** ***

 

 

Business Response: From: Wayne ** L** *********************************** 
Sent: Friday, September 11, 2015 4:09 PM
To: *** ********** ******************************
Subject: RE: You have a New Message from BBB of Hawaii Regarding Complaint #********

2nd compliant

Business Response: Aloha, We are sincerely sorry that Ms.*** is having concerns with her repairs done on July 27th, 2015. Upon returning back almost a month later on August 20, 2015, we agree to inspect her vehicle at no charge to address her concerns mentioned. It is our policy and a state requirement that the customer must authorize and allow us to work on their car- please see the attached first repair whereby she did sign and give us authorization. On the August 20th repair she refused to sign, thus explaining to her that we would not be able to inspect her car without written approval. Even explaining to Ms *** that it was not going to cost her anything we still need the same authorization to work on her car like she gave us a month earlier and without that signature we would not be able to work on her car. She refused thus not allowing us to address her concerns and we did not inspect her vehicle. We are still willing to offer her the same free inspection with her written authorization.

Consumer Response: From: ******* *** [mailto:********************] 
Sent: Friday, September 11, 2015 11:08 AM
To: BBB Complaints <BBBComplaints@hawaii.bbb.org>
Subject: Re: You have a New Message from BBB of Hawaii Regarding Complaint #********

**** *****,

Attached is the coupon I mentioned.

If it's best to file a separate complaint for this I will do so.

I have bought several cars* from ****** in Kona and my family (and community!) are horrified that they will not honor this coupon. I paid lots of money for this book of coupons, when I bought a brand new ****** ********, in 2006.

It was about 15 hours after I signed the agreement of sales (for a $19,600 ****** truck!!!) that I found the coupon and I called Walter, the salesman, immediately.

He asked me if there was an expiration date on the coupon and I said no. He then told me to scan the coupon and send it to him, which I did within the hour.

He told me that he would show it to the manager and "get back to me."

Days went by and no one got back to me so I called again. I was told to leave a message and that the manager would call me back.

Another several days passed and no one called!

I called for the third time and was told the same thing.

At my attorney's request, I contacted the ****** headquarters in New Jersey and was told to contact the dealership in Honolulu. I have called there now three times and have not hard back from anyone. 

* Two very good friends of mine were wanting to purchase ****** cars and now that they have heard how I've been treated, they have decided not to.

If it comes to this, I will write an article for the **** ******* ***** newspaper, explaining how despicably I have been treated.

This kind of "customer service" is quite shocking and appalling, to say the least. 

Mahalo for your help,

******* ******** ***

Business Response: Sorry the coupon specifically states that it must be presented at time of purchase and the customers statement of her finding the coupon 15 hours later disqualifies its re**mption.

Consumer Response: From: ******* *** [mailto:********************] 
Sent: Thursday, September 24, 2015 8:02 PM
To: ***** ****** ************************
Subject: Fw: #********





On Thursday, September 24, 2015 4:17 PM, ******* *** <********************> wrote:

Dear *****,

Thanks for your message.

My legal advisor advised me to pay to have the breaks fixed, since I'm ****** needing to  sell the ****** ********, so I can pay off the $19,600, which I owe for the ****** truck.

And, most likely, they will postpone this more than I m willing to wait.

I would like the ****** dealership to reimburse me for this AND I would still like an apology from the manager, Wayne, who was verbally immature and abusive, and ended up hanging up on me, for no legitimate reason.

Thank you kindly,

******* ***

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Jeep in October 2013. Almost immediately upon driving it, it started to shake violently and was identified by the Jeep industry as the "death wobble". I took it back and they said they repaired it, but almost immediately after driving it again the wheel fell off completely while I was driving it. This had now become a safety issue and my Wife wanted me to return the Jeep for a refund. The dealership said there was nothing we could do as we were in a contract. When we threatened to hire a Lawyer, contact the BBB, etc. they stopped communicating with us entirely. They just would not talk to us at all. We then contacted a Lawyer and he said we could start litigation, but advised we should let them try and fix it. So we advised them we would let them try and fix it. Now it has been five months we have not had possession of the car while making steep car payments each month. The finance Company advised they will not help us or get involved and if we do not make a payment the will repossess the Jeep and report to the credit Companies. The dealership keeps telling us the parts are on the way, but it has been five months of the parts on the way. We are at a loss of what we can do and are hoping you can help us. Mahalo! Product_Or_Service: Jeep Wrangler 2007 Account_Number: Contract ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like our money back and out of the contract. At this point we do not believe they will repair the Jeep correctly and that it is unsafe to drive. We have come to this conclusion after discussions with the mechanic they hired to repair it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******-General MGR Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********@bigislandmotors.com In response to Case#********, it is our contention that Mr. ***** knew exactly what he was buying from the very start. He stated "he still wanted the Jeep" and would take care of any problems himself. Once he took possession of the Jeep, he found that it was more than he knew how to fix, so he came to us for help. Out of pure "Goodwill" we worked with him, using a repair shop that we knew(we have already helped him with a Steering Stabilizer Shock and balancing). We also help with other parts. Those Parts have not all come in yet, but that is not something we can control. The Parts vendor just informed(yesterday)my Parts Person, that the rest of the agreed on parts should be here by Wed. March 5th. In closing, we understand Mr. ******* frustration, and we intend to fulfill our "Goodwill Gesture", with our agreed upon contribution, once the parts come in. With the exception of yesterday's information, Mr. ***** has been kept in the loop on this order process. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The vehicle was sold to me as a running and driving vehicle. The salesman knew it was being purchased as a daily driver, not as a project or fixer upper. At the time of purchase, *** ****, the sales manager while driving very aggressively told me that they had experienced "vibrations" and that they were "confident they had fixed it". Upon leaving the dealership, I experienced two severe episodes of Death Wobble on the way home within 40 miles and then four more times within the next day and a half. I called and had them pick up the vehicle because it was not safe to drive. The vehicle was returned after several days and was ok for a few days, until the driver's side tire fell off while I was driving. At that point I was told by their mechanic that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. I tried to return the vehicle, which they refused. After speaking to a Lawyer, I was advised to have them fix it (two months later at this point). We came to an agreement in early December and they did not order parts until the end of December. It is now March and they are still "waiting on parts". Meanwhile, five months now, I have been making a $550.00 - $700.00 payment every month. They have not "kept me in the loop". I did not hear from them for two months. Finally after I called and could only get someone on the phone after an average of three phone calls, not a call back, but when they would happen to answer the phone. I did not return the vehicle because I did not know how to fix it. I returned it because I was told they would fix it and they let me drive away in a vehicle deemed unsafe to drive by their mechanic. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/03/25) */ Customer agreed to trade his jeep back for another one and did so on 3/20/2014. He also signed a complete release on this matter and was suppose to contact you regarding this.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)