Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 960-1156 Fax: (808) 961-0018 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Keaa St, Hilo, HI 96720 http://www.bigislandmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers dealer & repair services of new & used vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hilo-Kona Mazda Subaru
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 1994 Business started: 08/08/2006 Business started locally: 08/08/2006 Business incorporated 06/14/2005 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

GET-Hawaii District Office*
75 Aupuni St #101, Hilo HI 96721
https://dotax.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 974-6321
The number is W56423742-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD-481.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD-3952.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne K. De Luz, President Ms. Donna Carrano, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne K. De Luz, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Big Island Motors Inc.
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-REPAIR

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Keaa St

    Hilo, HI 96720 (808) 960-1156

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    75-5793 Kuakini Hwy

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Jeep in October 2013. Almost immediately upon driving it, it started to shake violently and was identified by the Jeep industry as the "death wobble". I took it back and they said they repaired it, but almost immediately after driving it again the wheel fell off completely while I was driving it. This had now become a safety issue and my Wife wanted me to return the Jeep for a refund. The dealership said there was nothing we could do as we were in a contract. When we threatened to hire a Lawyer, contact the BBB, etc. they stopped communicating with us entirely. They just would not talk to us at all. We then contacted a Lawyer and he said we could start litigation, but advised we should let them try and fix it. So we advised them we would let them try and fix it. Now it has been five months we have not had possession of the car while making steep car payments each month. The finance Company advised they will not help us or get involved and if we do not make a payment the will repossess the Jeep and report to the credit Companies. The dealership keeps telling us the parts are on the way, but it has been five months of the parts on the way. We are at a loss of what we can do and are hoping you can help us. Mahalo! Product_Or_Service: Jeep Wrangler 2007 Account_Number: Contract ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We would like our money back and out of the contract. At this point we do not believe they will repair the Jeep correctly and that it is unsafe to drive. We have come to this conclusion after discussions with the mechanic they hired to repair it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******-General MGR Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ********@bigislandmotors.com In response to Case#********, it is our contention that Mr. ***** knew exactly what he was buying from the very start. He stated "he still wanted the Jeep" and would take care of any problems himself. Once he took possession of the Jeep, he found that it was more than he knew how to fix, so he came to us for help. Out of pure "Goodwill" we worked with him, using a repair shop that we knew(we have already helped him with a Steering Stabilizer Shock and balancing). We also help with other parts. Those Parts have not all come in yet, but that is not something we can control. The Parts vendor just informed(yesterday)my Parts Person, that the rest of the agreed on parts should be here by Wed. March 5th. In closing, we understand Mr. ******* frustration, and we intend to fulfill our "Goodwill Gesture", with our agreed upon contribution, once the parts come in. With the exception of yesterday's information, Mr. ***** has been kept in the loop on this order process. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The vehicle was sold to me as a running and driving vehicle. The salesman knew it was being purchased as a daily driver, not as a project or fixer upper. At the time of purchase, *** ****, the sales manager while driving very aggressively told me that they had experienced "vibrations" and that they were "confident they had fixed it". Upon leaving the dealership, I experienced two severe episodes of Death Wobble on the way home within 40 miles and then four more times within the next day and a half. I called and had them pick up the vehicle because it was not safe to drive. The vehicle was returned after several days and was ok for a few days, until the driver's side tire fell off while I was driving. At that point I was told by their mechanic that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. I tried to return the vehicle, which they refused. After speaking to a Lawyer, I was advised to have them fix it (two months later at this point). We came to an agreement in early December and they did not order parts until the end of December. It is now March and they are still "waiting on parts". Meanwhile, five months now, I have been making a $550.00 - $700.00 payment every month. They have not "kept me in the loop". I did not hear from them for two months. Finally after I called and could only get someone on the phone after an average of three phone calls, not a call back, but when they would happen to answer the phone. I did not return the vehicle because I did not know how to fix it. I returned it because I was told they would fix it and they let me drive away in a vehicle deemed unsafe to drive by their mechanic. Final Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/03/25) */ Customer agreed to trade his jeep back for another one and did so on 3/20/2014. He also signed a complete release on this matter and was suppose to contact you regarding this.

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I WENT HILO MAZDA FOR AN ELITE OIL CHANGE AUTO INSPECTION. THE ENGINE WAS SO HOT AT THE TOP OF HEAT GAGUE THEY DIDNT SAY AWORD ABOUT IT. I GOTPOOR SE 2006 MAZDA IWENT FOR A TOP OF THE LINE AUTOINSPECTION THEY HEATED THE ENGINE SO HOT IT MAY BE RUIENED THEY DIDNT TELL ME THEY CHARGED ME GAVE ME THE KEYS WITH OUT TELLING OF THE OVERHEATED ENGINE. I REFUSED TO ACCEPT THE CAR I PAYED FOR SERVICE I DID NOT RECIEVE. THEY DAMAGED MYCAR DIDNT TELL ME

Desired Settlement: I WANT A NEW ENGINE OR A NEW CAR

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/05) */ Customer had made the Service Manager aware of the issue when he picked the car up and came to an agreement to have the repair of the cooling fan done to address the concern. As far as we are aware no damage to the motor occurred. However on July 3rd as the car was put in the shop to be repaired, the customer removed and took his car without notifying us and left his loaner car locked and parked in our lot. Police was notified as to the supposed theft and he has not responded to our repeated calls to return the key to the loaner car. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/07/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) elite oil change they returned the car overheated they didn't even tell me. According to the oriengal agreement they were supposed to tell me. How could they over heat the engine, on a oil change! I never singed any agreement on repairs, nor any agreement on the damage.

4/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used vehicle. Defective. Repairs done resulted in air cond failure. Tech broke my windshield and car has been at dealership for 3+ weeks. Purchased a 2005 Ford Freestyle with 86,000 miles on November 21st, 2012 for 7K (financed 6K through the dealership and paid 1K by check). Once I drove it in the evening, I immediately noticed that the gauges on my dash (fuel gauge, speedometer, etc) and the lights were defective. While driving the gauges would act erratic and cease working and the lights on the dash would go out. NO LIGHTS, did not register speed or car, or fuel remaining. Rear brake lights would illuminate. Unsafe. Many repair symbols would then illuminate. On a few separate occasions, I came to a complete stop and the speedometer would read 30mph. I called the dealership 3 times with no return calls. On Saturday, Dec. 15th I drove my car to the dealership as my only means of apparently being heard, and spoke to the manager, Tim. He informed me that he had not returned my calls because I purchased a used car, Hawaii had no lemon law, and there was not much he could do. After further conversation, I requested the car be looked at by the service dept. On Tuesday, Dec. 18th, my car was found to have a dashboard cluster defect. I was told it would be $700.00 to fix. I requested the repairs be covered by the dealership as the car was sold to me in this condition. I was told NO. I then requested a 70/30 split. Tim, renegotiated and we decided I would pay 40% of the repairs. They ordered the part. When I returned from a Christmas trip, I took my car to the dealership the second week of January (?). They replaced the cluster. I picked the car up the same day, and noticed that the gauges were functioning correctly but the light to illuminate the dash did not work. I returned the car to the dealership. According to them the light was not suppose to come on. It was fixed with the cluster. When I got the car back, my air conditioning did not work. An acquaintance told me that they probably forgot to plug the a/c in when they removed/replaced dash panel so I called Tim and brought the car in for service again on January 28th. I was called by Tim later in the day and told that it was a NEW defect with the car- because the technician told him so. I again asked to have the repairs done at their expense due to the many issues surrounding my purchase. Tim declined and did not offer partial reparation. Later that day I was told that the technician broke my windshield. I was given a loaner vehicle to use until it was repaired. They have had my car for 3 weeks and 2 days. I have only owned the car for 91 days. It has been at the dealership a total of 25 days since my purchase. I want a refund of the car. It has too many problems to have been put on the lot for 7K. It is simply a lemon. I no longer trust the dealership/service or the manager. I feel like I have been treated with gender bias, ignorance, and indifference.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund of the purchase price plus tax. $7000.00 + tax. I will retain the license plates and thus incur the costs associated with them.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/03/08) */ To Whom it May Concern, I was not made of aware of this complaint, hence the lack of an initial response. I will be attempt to contact the customer within the next 24 Hours to see if an amicable solution can be reached. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 15, 2013/04/08) */ The General Manager at Hilo Mazda agreed to repair the air conditioning at no cost after discussing the circumstances and difficulties I encountered with my car purchase. I am satisfied with the results of the repairs and have no other complaints regarding this car dealership.

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold with unresolved recall issue and broken frame, bad engine and ground flywheel. Used 2 running vehicles for trade in, now "stuck". After only 3 days we noticed said vehicle was infested with ants after we were told we couldn't get it detailed after a verbal agreement with the salesman that we could. I also noticed auto body tape on the grill. We called and we never received a call back. After the second week, I went to the local Chevy dealership about warranty information about the starter, which was making noise. Subsequently the starter was not covered, even though we were told the warranty was still in effect. I was also told it had a recall which the dealership failed to notify us of, and was never fixed. We received a safety sticker and tags after 14 days, which if it was actually looked at they would have noticed a broken frame weld in the cross member, and noticeable drift in the steering. Then the Chevrolet service department notified me that it was a police cruiser, which after inquiring we were never told. We have tried amicably to resolve this and were told it was sold "As Is" repeatedly. Even after telling them of the misrepresentation of the sale. We have no family or support here, are new residents, which they know, we were not even offered a courtesy shuttle. Me and my wife walked 8 miles Saturday morning to shop, because we can't afford a car rental. We traded two running vehicles for this car, and were told because of the mileage that it would be reliable. I towed the vehicle at my expense to my residence to repair myself after being told by the dealership of the "as is" comment, they offered to sell me a new starter but nothing else. After finding most of the teeth on the flywheel gone, It would have to have the engine removed. As stated earlier I have tried to be amicable to the management but we have no more options. We are stuck with a $10000 auto loan on a car that doesn't run, which according to their salesman was reliable.

Desired Settlement: We would like our vehicles back and the loan dissolved. We can no longer trust this dealership, or have any desire to make any further agreement with them. Or we would like the trade in value, which is below the cost of the tires we had on them. We have receipts for the repairs and tires. We sincerely believe they have not acted in "good faith", and at the worst have been deceptive in selling a car that needed a recall repair and had been in a serious accident that would not have passed a certified safety report.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/02/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******/*********** Contact Phone: 808-***-**** Contact Email: ************************.com We have come to an agreement with the customer. They seem very satisfied with what we proposed, as they acccepted.

11/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues