BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an automobile dealership.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hawaii Nissan Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hawaii Nissan Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hawaii Nissan Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 28, 1995 Business started: 07/21/1995 Business started locally: 07/21/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20500034-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD525.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD-3110.

Business Management
Mr. John Uekawa, President/General Ms. Marietta Fujio, Vice President Mr. Frank Kudo, Chairman, CEO Gwen Otani, HR Dept Mr. Ryan Takata, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Uekawa, President/General
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
New City Nissan

Additional Locations

  • 2295 N King Street

    Honolulu, HI 96819

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 524-2111(Phone)
  • (808) 533-3180 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer increased down payment by 500.00 Down payment was increased 500.00. It was sent to collection in May 2008. State of Hawaii Statute of Limitation is 6 years. It has been 6 years from the date of the collection and 6 1/2 years from the date of the contract. This collection must be deleted from my credit file and all collection agencies working on behalf of New City Nissan (******** ******** ****** and ******** ********) must also delete this collection as it is no longer a valid account.

Desired Settlement: Cancel this account as it is no longer a collectible or valid debt and delete from *******, ********, & **********

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/14) */ Mr. ********* never made good on the $500 he owed New City Nissan as part of a legally, binding contract. Unable to acquire the money owed, New City Nissan turned this issue over to a collection agency. New City Nissan is no longer involved in this matter. The collection agency has had all communication with Mr. ********* regarding his unpaid debt from the time that New City Nissan turned this issue over to them and they would better understand the terms of the statute of limitations in Mr. *********'s case and their responsibility to report his collection account to credit reporting agencies. Since New City Nissan relinquished any dealings with this issue to the collection agency, Mr. ********* needs to contact the collection agency regarding his demand of having this information removed from his credit burueas. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I completely understand the collection and reporting of debts to credit bureau's. I understand that New City Nissan sold this account to an agency under two different names, in Harrisburg, PA. I will deal with that agency separately. However, New City Nissan IS reporting this to ******* as their own collection account. ******** and ********** are being reported by ******** ******** ****** and ******** ********, respectively, on behalf of New City. If New City Nissan is going to report directly to a credit bureau, they are required to know and follow the laws in the Fair Credit Reporting Act. That is why I am asking them to remove this from ******* because the State of Hawaii 6 year statute of limitation has run out and this is no longer a collectible debt. There is only one issue involved here and that is the statute of limitation and not weather or not the contract is legal. If the contract is legal, the stature still applies and if it is illegal it still applies. That part is not up for debate. I have a copy of my credit report and can prove that New City is reporting to Equifax as its own collection agency and creditor. I have not been contacted by New City Nissan or any collection agency on their behalf, during the last six years. This account has remained dormant. So, it's up to New City Nissan as to what the next step is. There are numerous State and Federal Agencies that can resolve this, but we don't need to get that involved if New City will just remove this from Equifax. I don't want this to escalate any further so lets get this settled now. Mahalo Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/29) */ If New City Nissan could simply remove this information from the credit bureau, we would consider doing so. However, New City Nissan relinquished all rights pertaining to this debt to the collection agencies who in turn reported it to the credit bureaus. New City Nissan did not directly report this to any credit reporting agency including Equifax. The customer needs to engage the collection agencies regarding having this removed from all three of the credit reporting agencies citing the statute of limitations as the reason for the removal. Simply put, this reported debt is not in New City Nissan's authority to remove as we were not the ones who reported it. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/06/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) New City: I will work with the collection agencies (National Recovery and American Agencies, which have the same mailing address) who now hold this account. They have assigned account #13735 to this account at all three bureau's. This may simply be a reporting error on their part. The account number is common among all three bureau's and therefore must have been assigned by the collection agency who bought this account. This concludes our correspondence, unless the agencies send me back to you. Thank you for your attention to this matter.

5/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: dealership wants me to take back a car that they already took back in their possesion from me. 4/22/2014 i purchased a preowned nissan quest 2012 from new city nissasn. signed a contract with the terms we agreed upon and drove off the lot with the car. the very next day bill from finance calls and tells me that when i signed the contract the banks were closed and they now want 3% highter interest than what i originally agreed to. I said thats not fair and i will not be giving them any more money. He said if I don't want to pay than I have to return the car. I called **** who was the sales manager the night I signed the original contract and he said the same thing about the banks and how they can go back on the contract if the banks are unable to approve the loan. so I told him fine i will be returning the car the next day at 9am. 4/24 i show up to the dealership and transfer all my belonging from the van into my boyfriends car. I go inside and meet with ***** who was my salesman i had worked with on the 22nd. He takes the 2 keys from me and goes outside and does a final inspection of the car to make sure everything was the same as it was when i drove off the lot with it. While ***** is inspecting the car the manager **** comes and tries to talk me into accepting the higher rate saying if i take off the warranty that i had purchased my monthly payments would be the same and i told him no thank you we will just return the car. he says ok well we just wanted to give you all your options. ***** comes back in and says everything is ok with the car. **** asks me for my copies of the contracts they gave me and i told him i didn't have it cause i couldn't find it and i would run home and look for it. So i leave the dealership and return with the contracts and as i was trying to hand it over to him he says my boss would like to talk to you because he feels bad about what happened here. We said we just want to be on our way because we already had enough but ended up waiting for his boss *****. Eddie comes out and tells us now that they are not going to take the van back because he had made a call and was able to approve the original loan that i signed. I told him but you guys already took the van back and I don't want it anymore after everything this company has done and the experience i am having. He says i only have 2 options. a. take the original contract or b.he can help me out and take a 1000 dollars off the original contract which will lower my montly payments by $20. told him that we didnt want the car anymore and that they had already taken the car back and he said even if i leave the lot without the van they will send me my montly payments so i have the two options he gave me. I told him i would have to come back later and decide because my daughter had a mri that day and we were running late. so we left and i called a few lawyers and they said the moment the dealership asked me to take the car back and when they actually took posession of the car they had rescinded the original contract and that i am no longer binded to it. the dealership still has posession of the van and ***** advised me that if i dont pick up the van he will just cash it out and send me my montly payments and each day that i leave it there i will be charged storage fees. I have evidence of ***** saying that they took the car back and that i am no longer obligated to the car. but ***** says that ***** is just a salesman and he has the final say. i feel they are trying to take advantage of me and since they already took posession of the car before they got the original loan approved thats their problem and they cant force something back on me that they already willingly accepted back.

Desired Settlement: to have nothing to do with this car anymore. they already took it back from me. how can they threaten to charge me for a van that i dont have and storage fees when they asked me to bring the car back. this has to be illegal and i should not have to be forced back into something that they rescinded on.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/05/14) */ New City Nissan is not a lender so credit approval is at the discretion of the various financial institutions that we deal with. With that in mind, a deal contract is binding when financing is secured with a financial institution at the agreed price and terms. Due to the confusion of the circumstances, New City Nissan gave Ms. ***** a $1000 discount on the vehicle. Ms. ***** took the offer, came in and re-signed a new buyer's contract and provided New City with the required documentation to secure her financing. Because of Ms. *****'s participation in providing us with the necessary information to secure her financing, it was our feeling that Ms. ***** was satisfied with the compensation of the discount for her incovenience.

3/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty covers issue, however company is refusing to fix and cover the issue. I purchased a ***** from New City Nissan along with an extended warranty. Among other things, my compressor is broken in my car. I was told that the warrant covers the compressor but they wont do it because it's expensive. They have attached contingencies, which could end up charging me an excess of $2200. I am told that the piece is in a very difficult area and they need to have a representative (from the warranty) come out to prove that that specific piece is broken, however, if it's not broken then I will be charged for the labor which I am told (by the dealership) will come to about $2200. I don't have $2200 to take that risk, which is why I pay for the coverage, so they can take that risk and fix it. I took it to another location that said, without a doubt, it is the compressor; unfortunately this issue has made it so I no longer trust the dealership or warranty company to be truthful and honest. I am worried that I will take it in they will say it's not the compressor, even though this other location ran a test and said 100% it's the compressor, just so they can charge me the $2200 for labor. All I want replaced is the compressor, that is what is broken and is covered under the warranty that I am paying for. If the dealership had just fixed it to begin with I wouldn't have issues trusting them. Instead they added on this contingency trying to get more money out of me, knowing that I, like most people, couldn't afford to take that risk and end up having to pay $2200. I trust this other location 100% but they don't deal with warranties so they cannot fix it. I tried to contact Nissan to get this situation sorted out, but they informed me that since it is a ***** there is nothing they can do. So Nissan sold me a ***** and an extended warranty to cover the ***** but wont cover it because it's a *****. I have an email and a voicemail from Nissan representatives saying that since it's a ***** and not a Nissan there is nothing they can do. Nissan sold me a warranty knowing that they weren't going to cover the issues if something where to break on my *****. I am paying for a warranty to cover when something is broken so I want what I paid for. It shouldn't have gotten this far, I don't want anything unreasonable, I simply want them to cover the issue when it's covered, and in this case, it's covered. If it's true that they sold me the warranty knowing that it wouldn't cover the ***** because it's not a Nissan then they lied and stole from me and I want a refund on the extended warranty that I purchased.

Desired Settlement: I want them to fix the compressor on my car since it's covered under the extended warranty that I purchase when I purchased the car from them.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/04) */ As of today, the issues that Ms. ********** mentions are being fully resolved. The extended service contract company has given approval to cover the costs to repair the compressor and evaporator of Ms. *********** vehicle. Still, for the sake of clarification and understanding, I would like to better explain the circumstances of this situation. New City Nissan's representatives did not intend to imply that we did not want or were unwilling to repair Ms. ************ vehicle. We were simply trying to explain what is required of all parties to get Ms. ************ vehicle repaired under the coverage of her service contract. After diagnosing Ms. ************ vehicle, it was determined that the extent of the repair was at an amount that required the approval of Ms. ************ service contract company. This is the policy of the service contract company and it simply means that they need to be given the time to do their due diligence before providing an approval to proceed with the repair. Part of their process requires that their inspector comes down to inspect the vehicle to verify the diagnosis and that the recommended repair is justified. This, unfortunately, entailed scheduling a future time for their inspector to come down to New City Nissan to perform the inspection. This process would be in effect at any repair facility that honors this company's service contract. As mentioned above, as of this date, Ms. ************ service contract company has concluded their due diligence, approved the repair and New City Nissan is in the process of repairing her vehicle. As an added note, Ms. ************ service contract company has authorized 6 days of rental use. In good faith, New City Nissan will cover any additional days should any be needed. Thank you for this opportunity to clarify the circumstances of this situation.

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a "NEW" vehicle on Aug. 31, but could not take the vehicle because the safety check was expired went back to pick it us Sept 3 and its "USED Went to New City Nissan today to pickup a "NEW" vehicle that I had purchased on Aug. 31. While my sister and I were sitting in the vehicle to drive off my sales guy came out to have me sign a form showing that the "amount of my check and the amount of the contract were the same." He asked me to sign then initial in 2 separate places which I did. When purchasing a "NEW" vehicle it said on the paperwork that the vehicle would come with a full tank of gas and I noticed that the tank was not full, so I asked about the gas and the salesman said he would check and come back. While sitting there with my sister something told me to go inside and get a copy of the paperwork that I had just signed and initialed, so I went in looking for the salesman. I went back in and asked to get a copy of the paperwork, he gave it to me and I noticed it was a different sales contract then the one I had originally signed on Aug. 31. I asked him why would I have to sign another sales contract? After looking at the second contract that he brought out for me to sign I noticed that New City Nissan had changed the "NEW" vehicle to a "USED" vehicle on the contract. Now the contract was showing that I was purchasing a "USED" vehicle instead of a "NEW" vehicle. WHAT?!?!?! I was livid!!!! Shame on you New City Nissan for trying to pull one over on me. I wonder how many other people they have done this too. Shady business practices will never get repeat customers. On top of all of this the floor manager has the nerve to tell me "according to the State of Hawaii the vehicle has to be sold as "USED" because it has more than 500 miles, but it's still considered "NEW". Meanwhile they have me sign an "AS IS" section saying that the vehicle has no warranties, but when I purchased the vehicle on Aug. 31 it was a "NEW" vehicle with a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty. I am so disappointed with the customer service and the experience with New City Nissan that I would like to tell all of my friends and family to never purchase anything from New City Nissan. If you do please don't let them double talk and con you this is not a way that business should be done. It's dealerships like New City Nissan that gives other dealerships a bad reputation.

Desired Settlement: When you enter into a contract to purchase a "NEW" vehicle you should be getting a "NEW" vehicle. The floor manager should not say that "according to the State of Hawaii the vehicle is "USED", but New City Nissan is selling it as "NEW"." The vehicle is either "NEW" or "USED" it can't be one way on paper and yet verbally it's "NEW". They should be selling me the same van at a "USED" car price and not as a "NEW" vehicle as my contract states.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/11) */ The vehicle that Ms. ***** agreed to purchase was a new vehicle. As a new vehicle, Ms. ***** would receive a full factory warranty and would benefit from the full $2500 rebate from Nissan for this new vehicle. The confusion stemmed only from the definition of a new vehicle. The Federal Automobile Information Disclosure Act states "the term new automobile means an automobile the equitable or legal title to which has never been transferred by a manufacturer, distributor, or dealer to an ultimate purchaser". By this federal definition, the vehicle that Ms. ***** agreed to purchase was a new vehicle. The confusion occurred because the Hawaii state statute states that a vehicle is a new vehicle if it has not been driven more than 500 miles. Ms. ***** was aware that the vehicle that she agreed to purchase had 1610 miles. When Ms. ***** returned to pick up the vehicle on September 3rd, New City Nissan representatives wanted to make Ms. ***** aware that the vehicle according to the Hawaii State statute definition wasn't considered new. It is only for that purpose that New City asked Ms. ***** to initial a second buyer's order acknowledging the vehicle as used according to the Hawaii definition. After seeking clarification, New City Nissan ultimately discovered that, based on the Supremacy Clause, federal law supersedes state law and Ms. ***** was officially purchasing a new vehicle. Whatever the case, Ms. ***** was ALWAYS set to receive the full benefits of a new vehicle owner by way of a full warranty and full factory rebates. Because of the confusion, Ms. ***** was not comfortable with the details of the transaction. New City Nissan agreed to cancel the transaction and void the buyer's order. As there is no transaction with Ms. *****, no compensation or concessions will be forthcoming. For your reference, the vehicle that Ms. ***** intended to purchase is available and will be sold as a new vehicle. However, at this time, New City Nissan does not wish to pursue a deal with Ms. *****. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would never purchase nor refer anyone to ever purchase a vehicle from New City Nissan EVER!!! When New City Nissan says that "When Ms. ***** returned to pick up the vehicle on September 3rd, New City Nissan representatives wanted to make Ms. ***** aware that the vehicle according to the Hawaii State statute definition wasn't considered new." this is a lie. The salesman came outside with the contract folded halfway down and asked me to sign if the total of my check matched the total on the bottom.. Never once did the salesmen explain about the "new" vs "used" definition until I went back inside to ask for a copy of the form that was signed. After signing the form the salesmen didn't offer me a copy either. This is not a way that a reputable company should be doing business. It was a sneaky way for New City Nissan to get me to sign a new contract stating that the vehicle was "USED". No compensation is desired I just wanted other consumers to know what goes on at New City Nissan, but as I read the other reports on Yelp from other consumers I am sure that New City Nissan is well aware that their dealership is not up to par. It's a shame that people don't have other convenient locations to buy a Nissan unless they drive to Mililani or Kaneohe.