BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Cutter Ford Mitsubishi

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 564-9210 Fax: (808) 564-9214 View Additional Phone Numbers 98-015 Kamehameha Hwy, Aiea, HI 96701 http://www.cutterford.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used vehicle sales with parts and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cutter Ford Mitsubishi meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cutter Ford Mitsubishi include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cutter Ford Mitsubishi
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 12/01/1974 Business started locally: 12/01/1974 Business incorporated: 08/30/1974 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20298266-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is MVD209.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD2369.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick S. Cutter, President Mr. Patrick Ah You, General Manager Mr. Gerald H. Cutter Mr. Bill LIndsey, Commercial Account Manage
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Patrick Ah You, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Nick S. Cutter, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 94-177 Farrington Hwy

    Waipahu, HI 96797

  • 98-015 Kamehameha Hwy

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 564-9277

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 564-9210(Phone)
  • (808) 564-9277(Phone)
  • (808) 564-9777(Phone)
  • (808) 564-9212 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The vehicle I was sold did not pass safety inspection due to illegal tint percentage & exposed stereo wire. I was lied to about the legality of tint. I purchased a used 2009 Nissan Rogue from this dealership in June 2013. Part of the selling point for the sales representative was the tint, back-up camera, after market viper alarm system and touch screen stereo. After I purchased the vehicle many people indicated that my tint was dark so I got worried it was illegal, because I have never owned a vehicle with tint before so I have no idea about those types of regulations, and called my sales rep. *********** in late July, not sure of the date. When I asked him if the tint could possibly be illegal he said no, it had to have passed their safety at the dealership. He asked why I was worried about it, had I gotten pulled over by the police. I said no but my friends think its pretty dark. He said well if they haven't pulled you over don't worry about it. Flash forward to Jan 24,2014. I took my car in to obtain my safety sticker. It failed, the front 2 windows are at 10%. I also failed because of an exposed speaker that was also a preexisting condition of the vehicle, but taking this off would not require me to pay anything as I can do it myself. After I failed the safety inspection, I tried to call the representative called ******* that had told me to call her if I had any problems with the vehicle, I left a voice-mail as it went straight to it. When I didn't hear back I tried to call again, again straight to voice-mail. I called the dealership directly to get patched through to someone whom could help me, they passed me to ***** because he was the original sales rep., that went to voice-mail, so I left another message, asking for them to get back to me about my issue. I never got a response, so I called the cell phone number he had given me. He answered and I told him my issue with the illegal tint, he said he would have to talk to his manager about the issue and get back to me later that day. No call back, till the next day, which is when he told me that the manager offered to take off the tint. I told him that is only half of the problem, when I purchased the car, the price included the tint, so either they replace it with legal percentage tint or compensate me for having to get it done. He said he would have to talk to his manager again. That was on Jan 31, today is Feb 7, I have still not heard anything back. I called yesterday and got transferred to voice-mail, I left a message indicating that I would like this matter resolved sooner rather than later as my temporary safety expires on the 24th of Feb.

Desired Settlement: I bought the car with tint, I would like to have my tint replaced with legal percentage tint on the 2 front windows. I trusted in the fact that a large business like Cutter Ford was on the up and up, I was unfortunately very discouraged and disappointed since I was blatantly lied to about the legality of the tint. I feel this is more than fair of me to receive, or compensation if I have to get it done myself.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/12) */ I agree with this customer, she is 100% right. I had our general sales manager reach out to her to make an appointment to remove and replace with tint that falls within state specifications. He will also apologize for the inconvenience and lack of follow up on our part. I want to also personally apologize. I do appreciate the feedback and will share this with the rest of our sales staff. Unfortunately we slip up sometimes but with this type of criticism I am able to affect positive changes for the future. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/02/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was contacted by the General Sales Manager S************** directly, he was very understanding and accommodating. He arranged for my tint to be removed and replaced at no cost to me. He even was nice enough to offer me a free detail and fill up and arranged it with his staff even though he personally was not at work that day. The Sales Manager ********* also helped me and was very empathetic the day I got my car detailed. Over all I am pleased with the outcome and would like to extend my appreciation towards the upper managment. Now my car is legal and I feel a weight lifted from my shoulders.

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Asked them to check why my interior lights did not work on my last service including vanity mirrors. It was not fixed now it is out of warranty. I have had serveral major problems with the service dept since I purchased this vehicle which is under my husband ******* ********** name. It is a 2010 Ford Sports Trac. I made appts, caught the bus to work only to find out the service advisor forgot to schedule the outside work. One time I came in for service caught the bus to and from work only to pick up my car and the change oil light was never turned off. They also claimed to rotate the tires but I had one rim with a large dent in it that was in the very same place. That time the shuttle was going to take me to work and was blocked in by a large service truck and I had to listen to ******** nephew use profanity and kick and yell for over 20mins. VERY upsetting!!!!! Until now I have worked with them but now it will cost me money for something that should have been fixed within the warranty period. Last Service I asked them to check the interior lights to include lighted vanity and I was told it was a matter of just turning the switch. I picked up the car and the vanity lights still did not work. Because I was still under a pre-paid service program I decided to wait until the next one to get it fixed. When I returned they told me my car was over the 36K warranty and now it would cost me $500-$600.00 to fix the "smart box" and if I did not do it I would most likely experience other electrical problems. I am very patient normally but to have things happen over and over again. Although ***** is always very polite and for the most part on it, this over sight is going to cost me big. She said she did recall the interior light conversation she does not remember the vanity light which is a part of the interior lights.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that the service dept fix the interior light (vanity Problem) as requested on my last service.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/03) */ I will address your current issue, but before I do that I would like to apologize for some of these past problems you have experienced in our service department. We strive to deliver the best service we can to our customers but sometimes fall short of the mark. I can appreciate how frustrated you must have been. I am in a better position to assist a customer if I am notified at the time of the event. All I can do now is sincerely apologize to you for any inconveniences we may have caused you in the past. I really think that our level of service has improved tremendously, especially over the past year. In regards to the current issue with your vanity mirror lights. The interior lights (overhead or map lights) are on a separate circuit from the vanity mirror lights. There was no mention of the vanity mirror lights in the repair order from your previous visit. Our service department was told that your interior lights were not working and they addressed that issue under warranty. The vanity mirror lights were not even checked (as per directions on the repair order). Had you called back to ****** after your overhead lights were repaired and let her know that your vanity mirror lights were inoperable, we would have asked you to bring your car back in so we could address it under warranty. We are required by Ford Motor Company to follow a certain protocol of documentation for warranty repairs and since it was not brought to our attention until your most recent visit, we can not verify to Ford that it was inoperable at your previous visit. Unfortunately there comes a point in the life time of any vehicle when the factory warranty period expires. Once the warranty period is over, payment for repairs are the responsibility of the owner. In the interest of goodwill and to help ease the financial impact on you, **** our service manager, has offered a price concession on both the parts and labor required to repair the vanity mirror lights. If you choose to have us do the repair, we will warrant our work and the parts for 24 months, unlimited mileage. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all I this is NOT the first time I have had short falls with the service department and I have moved on from that. **** is offering 15% off that amount which is very little when the amount is so big. This is totally not acceptable given the fact that I have had to put with so much in the last three years Yes it has been better since ****** took over but I did mention the vanity lights too. Again I called and explained and I was told I still had two more servicing included and that it would be address on the next service date. It seems that my business with them has had major bumps in the road from the day I purchased this vehicle. A 15% discount is an insult given what has already happened. I am not one to file formal complaints in fact this is only my second one in my 50 years of life. At this point this is unacceptable.

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/31/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealership lost my credit application containing all of my personal information to include SSN. Attempted to purchase a vehicle from this establishment. Filled out a credit application and after days with no call back I was informed that my credit application should be resubmitted because they lost my application. This application includes all the personal information neccesary to steal my identity including social security number, address, personal friends and family contact information. Places of employment. Anything and everything neccesary to steal my identity. A company should not be so careless with customers personal information.

Desired Settlement: Find my credit application, the orignal and return it to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/29) */ i spoke with mr. **** today. subsequent to this complaint we did in fact locate the paperwork that Mr. **** had filled out at out dealership. as per Mr. ****'s directions, we shredded the credit application. He indicated to me that he is satisfied with this outcome. i do completely agree with Mr. ****'s assessment that we should not be careless with the private information a customer shares with us. We have processes in place to assure that. We are in the middle of a remodel at our waipahu store and sales and finance offices are in temporary quarters. unfortunately, the person who spoke with MR. **** was not aware of where customer inquiry files were being temporarily kept while we are completing renovations. I sincerely apologize to Mr. **** for any inconvenience and stress this may have caused. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/10/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Spoke with the GM and resolved the issue.

3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took 2001 Ranger in for Check Engine light and Check Fuel Cap light on in dash Received call 3/13 from service adviser - a fuel pump gasket is leaking and needs replace. Said would check for parts and get back. Call 1/2 hr later, said part isn't sold separate, so need to replace fuel pump - est. $******, plus need to leave truck another day. Adviser called later saying fuel line from take to fuel filter damaged and needed to be replace. Said would get estimate and call back. 3/14, no call for estimate, I called adviser said cost for fuel line is additional $800, for total of $*****. Asked if just fuel pump could be replaced - he said no. Asked if truck could be put back together so I could pick up - he said no. Told him "so I have no choices, that I have to let them proceed with the repair" - he said yes, I have no choice. So I'm stuck with paying ****** $1,700. Plus, adviser said they needed and additional 4 days to get the parts. In my mind, this repair doesn't seem to be a reasonable cost nor time to have the job done. "And" I have no way to get a second opinion or and other estimate to compare. Typical dealer service repair scam to get more money out of consumers. This is the reason it's a "really bad" idea to have dealers work on your car. I'm completely dis-satisfied and ****** never use them again - "plus" tell everyone I know the same.

Desired Settlement: I'd like Sr. Management to contact me with their comments and thoughts of my problem.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (******000, 7, 20******3/03/20) */ I have spoken with Mr. ****** and so has my service manager. We had done a very poor job of communicating the specifics of the required repairs including the diagnosis and recommmendations. we have sent Mr. ******* a more complete explanation of why we recommended the repairs along with photos of the affected areas of his truck. I belive Mr. ****** is OK with the explanation although he still is not happy to need two very expensive procedures to correct the problem with his truck. I know i wouldn't be happy either. In light of our poor communication and in the interest of good ******, we have offered Mr. ****** a discount for the repairs. i ****** alos include a discritption of the probelem with Mr. ******'s truck, just for the record; Response: This vehicle was brought to ****** Ford after the fuel pump assembly was replaced at another repair facility. This repair facility replaced the fuel pump with an aftermarket part (Airtex E2295M) that did not fit properly into the tank. Secondly, the aftermarket pump was found leaking from a seal at the top of the pump. The leak was detected by the dealer using and evaporative leak smoke tester. This tester pressurizes the fuel system with a non-combustible smoke that allows the technician to determine the origin of evaporative system vapor leaks. The seal in question is an internal part of the fuel pump assembly and is not serviceable separately. Fuel pump replacement is required if a leak appears from this seal. Upon removal of the aftermarket fuel pump the technician found evidence that the fuel lines were manipulated beyond their normal tolerances as they were deformed. Thirdly, all of the clips for the fuel lines were found damaged and inoperative. Specific knowledge and care must be employed when removing these clips as not to damage them during a fuel system repair. These clips are not serviceable and require fuel lines to be replaced if damaged. ****** Ford has identified the root cause of failure of this vehicle and has recommended repairs accordingly. The fuel pump assembly and fuel lines ****** need to be replaced to resolve the fuel system issue on this vehicle. Pictures are available documenting what was found during this repair. I truly do apologize to Mr. ****** for any stress or inconvenience this caused him but we ****** be able to do the repairs plus he ****** have a ****** year warranty on the parts and labor required for this job. ******

2/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesperson promised us a deal but couldn't promise to hold the car. The salesman gave us inaccurate information n blew off promised deal. Took a look at a car on Sunday January 20, 2013. Salesman, **** n Internet Manager ****** offered to help us out to get the car at an affordable price which came down to $******. Because I had to work within half an hour I needed to leave n discussion about the deal was spoken between internet manager, ****** who offered the deal n family member who was trying to help me purchase a vehicle. That day deal was promised to be held onto but not the car between **** n family member. Two days later after getting papers set with the credit union for a loan to purchase vehicle n papers for car insurance, we set up a call to purchased the vehicle with ****. **** explained that the car was sold on Monday January 21,2013. I felt so devastated after getting everything ready n was looking forward to purchasing the vehicle that day after hearing the news. I literally cried because my excitement of getting a new used car. That night after work I double checked the internet to see if the vehicle was still available. Anxious as I was that night I couldn't go to sleep because of what I found out was false. I called the office that morning and found out that car was still available. I spoke to ****** n he gave me an excuse that there may be some papers pending for someone to purchase the vehicle. He offered to double check on the status of the car n call me back right away. Instead of calling me, he calls family member and explained the "real" reason why they couldn't sell that car to us for the deal that was made was because minor repairs were done to that car n he raised the price $***** more than what was offered. Which was $******. I spoke with the General Manager to complain yet seems like not much action was taken except an apology for such wrongdoing of only **** not claiming ******'s faults also lowering the price of the car to $******. He added that that's all he could off; an apology n to lower the price of a vehicle just little more. I explained to General Manager that I already have everything set for the price offered to me with the Credit Union. General Manger added well the loan officer can always change the numbers, as if I had the money to even pay more for the price he offered. Am sure there is more than that could be done with the run arounds they have given me n the devastation they created for false information n breaking off a deal which was promised. Seriously I had to take their lack of trust n poor customer service and as a Big Businesses, all I get is an apology an a deal that can be given to anyone. Also if they got to bring the price of vehicle to $******, am sure there is more room to lower the price the vehicle to a devastated customer who still gave them a chance in fixing their wrongdoings. To me how I took it was no further action was taken after my complaint n poor settlement made by General Manager n he tried to support his "trusting" customer service for the car to be purchased at a not so fair to me price. A deal is a deal no matter what especially in customer service. And if the truth needed to be spoken **** should've explained it the first time not give the run arounds n make devastate customer. To find that the car wasn't even sold.

Desired Settlement: Better apology and offer than what was given to me. Seriously a deal is a deal no matter what. Shouldn't customer service come first or meet halfway than the price of a merchandise or in this situation a vehicle?

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/01) */ This customer is basically correct in her explanation. I did apologize to her at the time, i was sincere in my apology. I will reach out to her after submitting my explanation and will apologize again and offer a better price than what i did originally. **** and ****** were both involved in the negotiations with her and another family member. They based the shopping quote on sunday on what they thought was the total cost of that car. What transpired after led to the really poor level of service that she received from us. We had done $***** worth of reconditioning to that vehicle, but the invoices were not posted until monday morning. She characterized it as "minor repairs" when it in fact they were not minor. we replaced the water pump, front and rear brakes, resurfaced the front and rear brake rotors, replaced the rear struts, replaced the right outside rear view mirror, painted the mirror, and painted the front and rear bumpers. Once we caught the error, we asked **** and ****** to explain to her that we would have to change the price quote. As a side note, had she been willing to sign a contract on this car sunday evening, we still would have tried to convince her of our error, but she would not be required to accept a price change. As it turns out there was no contract on this car. Having said that though, we were not honest with her. Nobody wants to deliver bad news to a customer, especially when it is our mistake. Unfortunately **** and ****** were not straight forward with her. Because of this, the offer i made to her was our cost on that car, plus tax and lic.and doc fees which i thought was fair but she didn't. Because we did such a poor job of handling this situation which caused a huge inconvenience to her and in the interest of trying to find a compromise through the BBB, i am willing to adjust the price to $********* Plus tax, Lic. and doc fees. The Kelly Blue Book wholesale value of a 2008 Toyota Camry LE is $****** the retail value is $*******If she is still interested in this car and open to my offer, please have her call me at ********. i will make all the arrangements to accommodate her schedule. sincerely, **********

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sunroof repair work conducted under warranty that subsequently resulted in water intruding into my vehicle. I own a 2010 Ford Fusion Hybrid; the vehicle involved in the current dispute. When I purchased the vehicle I also purchased the Premium Maintenance and Extended Warranty Options as outlined in the attached documentation. On June 15, 2011, I took my car to ****** Ford in Aiea, HI because my sunroof shade was sticking when I tried to open and close it. The dealership removed the sunroof and shade to investigate and it was determined that there was tape from the factory stuck in the sunroof shade (refer to attached documentation). This work was covered under the in-force warranty. On February 20, 2012, I took the same vehicle to ****** Ford because water was intruding in to my vehicle through the sunroof area. At the time, the dealership determined it was not under warranty any longer and any costs associated with a repair would have to be borne by myself. As a courtesy, they did adjust the sunroof in the hopes that this would alleviate the water intrusion. Because there was not a period of rain during the summer months, there was no way to determine if the adjustment was effective. On January 14, 2013, I once again took the same vehicle to ****** Ford after discovering a severe water intrusion emanating from the sunroof. It should be noted that this intrusion caused significant staining/discoloration of the roof lining. During this visit I was once again advised that any cost of repair would have to be borne by myself. The cost of repair was estimated at $********. When given this information, I gathered my documentation, contacted ****** Ford, and explained to their representative, **************, that the water intrusion had to be a direct result of the "repair" that took place on June 15, 2011 when they removed the entire sunroof unit. It should be noted that prior to that date I had no issues with my sunroof whatsoever. Additionally, the sunroof is automatic (meaning I only press a button to open and close it) and it is the original, factory installed sunroof. At no time is any part of my person ever physically in contact with the sunroof glass, track, etc. Left with no other choice and wanting a resolution, I begrudgingly paid $****** as a deposit which covered the approximate cost of the new sunroof unit (referred to as "frame/sunroof track" on the attached documentation). I was notified the part was in and I dropped my vehicle off at ****** Ford on January 31, 2013. I was notified the repair was completed on February 1, 2013. In an effort to placate me, they offered to refund $****** and waive the cost of labor. I again disputed the amount of the repair and informed them that I felt that ****** Ford should be covering the entire cost of the parts and repair but I was told this was a final offer and that Ford didn't have to do anything at all. Since they were not budging and since they would not release my vehicle, I was left with an out of pocket expense of $******.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the amount of $442.60 for costs related to the repair/replacement of the sunroof unit.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (******000, 5, 20******3/02/07) */ We apologize for any inconvenience this repair has caused this customer. While we can empathize with his situation I think it's important to note that all warranties in regards to his vehicle are underwritten by Ford Motor Company and are specifically spelled out by them. We at ****** Ford have always seen ourselves as an advocate for our customers. We are always on our customer's side when there is an issue that arises in which there is a disagreement between a customer's interpretation and Ford Motor Company's interpretation of a warrantable repair. So in that spirit we must respectfully disagree with this customer's following statement which is the basis of his complaint. "Sunroof repair work conducted under warranty that subsequently resulted in water intruding into my vehicle."We do not agree with this statement because the root cause of the water leak in question was the metallic seal on the sunroof glass developing rust. The development of rust on this metallic seal caused the seal to distort creating an uneven contact surface. This distorted and uneven contact surface rendered the seal ineffective with preventing water from entering the vehicle. This seal is part of the sunroof glass assembly and is not serviceable. The work that was conducted previously (RO ****************) could not increase this component's potential for corrosion. In the vehicle's normal design and operation this component is constantly exposed to the environment and is at risk for corrosion or rust. The roof glass assembly which contains the seal in question is warranted by Ford Motor Company for 3 years or 36,000 miles, whichever occurs first. The customer reported the failure outside of this warranty at 40,752 miles as documented on RO ***********. ****** Ford contacted Ford Motor Company on behalf of the customer and advocated for financial assistance in this repair. In response to ****** Ford's request Ford Motor Company offered to pay $****** of the part expense as a gesture of goodwill to the customer for repairs outside the basic warranty. ****** Ford also participated in this repair by paying for the labor to diagnose and install the parts needed to fix this condition. The dealership incurred a cost of $*********** for diagnosis and installation of this part. In total the customer received $****** of combined goodwill assistance from Ford Motor Company and ****** Ford to aid in paying for this repair outside the parameters of basic warranty. ****** Ford and Ford Motor Company have made good faith efforts to assist the customer with this non-warranty repair by offering $****** of financial assistance. ****** Ford respectfully declines the request for refund of $****** in this case. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 20******3/02/************) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The sunroof was removed and reinstalled on June ******5 20************ at which time ****** Ford stated that the sunroof was in perfect condition. However, the sunroof started to leak about 6 months after ****** Ford did the repair work and stated the sunroof was in perfect condition and was taken back in on February 20 20******2. ****** Ford did at no time state there was rust or corrosion on the metallic seal, not even during the February 20 20******2 visit, and in fact, this is the first time I am hearing about this problem. If in fact ****** Ford is "an advocate for our customers" as they stated, then why did they not state there was an issue developing when I took the vehicle in for the sunroof warranty work on June ******5 20************? I do not accept that rust only developed between June ******5 20************ and February 20 20******2 and if it did, I believe the rust is a direct result of the warranty sunroof repair conducted by ****** Ford.

8/3/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service