Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers BMW sales & repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BMW of Honolulu meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for BMW of Honolulu include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for BMW of Honolulu include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on BMW of Honolulu
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 1979 Business started: 04/25/1979 Business started locally: 04/25/1979 Business incorporated 12/04/2008 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20319332-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is MVD282.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD1690.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Short, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Short, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Shelly Eurocars, LLC
Industry Tips
CAR-LEMON LAW FOR NEW CARS [HAWAII] CAR-LEMON LAW FOR USED CARS [HAWAII] CAR-PURCHASING A NEW CAR CAR-PURCHASING A USED CAR CAR-REPAIR USED CAR FRAUD USED CAR PURCHASE

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

BMW of Honolulu has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was damaged at BMW of Hawaii while in their possesion... They are refusing to fix the damages... The door handle was smashed/cracked, door was scratched & dented, & plastic molding was scratched... The only thing BMW of Kona did was replace handle. I have been contacting for over a month now... They said that's all they can do for me. That is not acceptable... I did not buy the car with a smash.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car repaired properly by a body shop...

Business Response:
Aloha ******,
 
           We have spoken with ****** this morning and have set up an appointment with her on Friday 04/22/16 to do repairs to her drivers door, left front fender and wheel flare. The parts needed are currently on order, we expect to have them by Monday the 18th.
We will be providing her a loaner to minimize any inconvenience. We expect to return her car to her by Tuesday 4/26/16. ****** seemed very pleased with the arrangement.
 
         It was very unfortunate that some information was lost in the translation to the customer, but we are repairing the damage that she pointed out to us in the beginning and will work toward gaining her trust for the future. 
 
Mahalo Nui Loa,
 
Rocco M******
Service Manager

BMW of Hawaii
******* ****** *** ****** ***** ** ***** ************ ************


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you...

Sincerely,

****** ***************

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I dropped my car off with BMW Honolulu on November 19th. The complaint at the time was "Under hard acceleration (i.e. Merging into the highway) service engine light comes on and car shakes and jolts. Problem resolves itself when car is turned off and then back on." I was contacted the day prior to thanksgiving and was told that the coils needed to be replaced and BMW would call my extended warranty company. Back and forth for 19 days, today I was contacted and told that I would need to pay $634 for the 1 coil replaced and would need to "get it towed because it no longer runs." I was also told that to fix the remaining 5 coils would be an extra $950 on top of the $634, and $150 diagnostic fee. Through BMW the 6 coils are $174 shipped from Europe. Both Jonah C**** and his General Manager have made it clear that for my vehicle to have any progress made I need to call my warranty company. I have done so numerous times with success and having them tell me that BMW has failed to contact them.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the $634 as well as the $150. 1 coil alone is $32, so I'm confused as to where the extra $600 is coming from. I do not wish to pay the $259 diagnostic fee because my car doesn't even run anymore and that's not how I brought it to the dealership.

Business Response:

Response to BBB complaint #********

To:  BBB

This case has been assigned to me for action and resolution.

Ms. ****’s 2008 BMW ** was checked in to our Service Department on 11/20/2015 with 85,376 miles.  Car is out of BMW factory warranty. Car was diagnosed as needing an ignition coil.  We also explained to customer that BMW recommends to change any ***** coil to ****** brand coils to prevent future problems.  Customer bought a third party warranty when it was purchased as a used car from a ****** car company.

We tried numerous times to contact ****** to get approval to proceed with the repair.  Our Service Manager was told that ****** was going through a reorganization and our Service Advisor and Service Manager were not able to reach someone that would approve and pay for Ms. ****’s repair.

After many attempts, and delays, customer agreed to pay for the repair so car could be picked up.  Customer will settle with ****** to get reimbursed.  Customer paid for and picked up vehicle on 12/10/2015.

I believe the actual dispute is between Ms. **** and ******, the company that provided the third party warranty coverage.  Customer should be reimbursed for the repair by ****** or the warranty company.

Sincerely,

Mike T********

Service and Parts Director

BMW of Honolulu

12/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in to BMW of Honolulu for a recall regarding the vanos housing bolts. The job took pretty much 8-9 hrs to complete and I drove my car home that same night. The next day I noticed the car was leaking oil excessively which at first glance i couldn't figure out where it was leaking from. for the following few days I was monitoring oil levels to make sure i wouldn't drive the car with little to no oil until i had a chance to make back to the dealership. days prior i took my car to the dealership i stopped the car because i noticed the oil level was way down,so then i purchased a quart of oil and poured enough to keep driving the car. Before my arrival to dealership i made quick pit stop at BMW specialty mechanic shop which I've already had a good rapport with for an opinion on where was the leakage coming from, the mechanic quickly noticed the oil filter cap was loose to the touch, this cap its supposed be tighten or loosen with a tool,his verdict was the leakage was coming from the cap. Once i got to the dealership i explained the ongoing issue of the car with service department and they did not assume responsibility initially stating they never touched that part of the car. The matter was escalated to management and after back and forth conversations they decided to fix the leakage problem and replace all parts affected and covered most of the bill. They kept my car for 12 days, they found that oil was getting mixed with coolant and shiny metal shavings in the oil filter. Did a cylinder leak down test and cylinder#4 was at low psi (175) which should be around 200-225psi. They recommended based on all issues mentioned to replace the engine. All these issues happened because engine oil starvation or lack of oil pressure. I drove my car for the next few months with no issues until my battery died so i went back to them for battery replacement which took them more than 6 hours.The very next day when i turned my car on i heard what it seem to be a knocking sound coming from the

Desired Settlement: engine which gradually got worse over the next few months. Before my first visit to BMW of Honolulu my car was running perfect with no serious issues, but every since then my engine has gone downhill. Presently the car does start but makes loud knocking sounds, I have not driven the car for the last few months. I've contacted them regarding this issue but they won't take the car unless i pay for new engine replacement and labor.Desired solution will be repair of engine at their expense.

Business Response:

To:  BBB

BBB case ID ******** has been assigned to me for action and resolution.

Here is what we have on record and time line regarding Mr. *******’s 2011 BMW 335i coupe:


  • 11/25/2014, 60,285 miles, ********:  First time car brought in to BMW of Honolulu.  Performed vanos recall.  Car was out of factory warranty by mileage.  BMW of Honolulu’s technician noted on report card that engine had oil leaks, engine oil was 1 quart low, leaking oil contaminated drive belt, and we recommended changing the belt when the customer decided to replace the leaking oil filter housing gaskets.

  • 01/16/2015, 61,164 miles, ********:  Customer reported that since last visit in November 2014, he noticed oil leaking and was told by independent shop that the oil filter cap was loose.  Oil filter element was an aftermarket filter and customer told us that it was installed by a repair facility on the mainland.  During the vanos recall that we performed 2 months prior, the oil filter cap, oil filter, and oil filter housing were NOT removed.  Technician report card for his vehicle noted that oil filter housing leaking, oil cooler leaking, and oil had contaminated the cooling system (coolant in oil).  Technician also noted that aftermarket electrical performance kit or “piggyback”, downpipe, charge air pipe, and intercooler were installed on the vehicle.  These aftermarket items are usually installed to increase performance and horsepower and are NOT recommended by the manufacturer.  Repair order was closed as customer declined work.

  • 01/16/2015, 61,171 miles, ********:  Second repair order was opened on the same day after customer had a discussion with BMW of Honolulu Service Manager.  Customer requested diagnosis to determine why the oil got into the coolant.  Technician found check engine light on caused by aftermarket products installed on car.  Technician also noted that engine had a noticeable vibration likely caused by a compromised cylinder.  Technician found oil mixed in with the coolant and metal shavings in the oil filter.  Customer was notified of the findings and cautioned that the engine’s reliability and longevity were questionable and it was recommended to replace the engine.  To properly perform this diagnosis, BMW of Honolulu agreed as a goodwill gesture to pay for some of the parts and labor including repairing the oil leaks.

  • 3/31/2015, 62,570 miles, ********:  Customer brought vehicle in with dead battery and paid to have it replaced.


In summary, vehicle was out of warranty when it first came in.  Oil leaks were found during the first visit which customer declined to fix.  Oil filter cap that may have been loose was replaced by another shop on the mainland.  Leaks around oil filter housing were noted during the first visit but customer declined.  Worn oil filter housing gasket can cause oil to leak and mix with the oil.  For customer retention we assisted with some goodwill repairs to try to satisfy Mr. *******.


BMW of Honolulu feels customer’s desired settlement to replace his engine is not warranted and not reasonable.

Sincerely,

Mike T********

Service and Parts Director

BMW of Honolulu


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  


03/09/14-Purchased car in ********** Dealership in ******** ***** Florida with 52,538 miles with 3 month dealer warranty.

Aftermarket parts installed in vehicle is a mood point from the dealer since the car was out of warranty anyways. The car ran with these parts for 8 months with no issue.
The dealer states I was a quart short of oil on first visit in November, I was aware of that oil leak which was minimal since the car's last oil change was 6 months prior. Basically the car ran for 6 months and it was just a quart short of oil now compare that to less than two months window when the dealership worked on it and the car lost most of its oil in that span. There's no way that oil filter cap got loose on its own like I stated before a tool is required. Not to mention the service at this location is subpar, they claim to have the best BMW mechanics in the world yet  when they had my car for 12 days they called me stating my computer or *** Module was fried saying I would need a new one, they couldn't get the car to start for days due to this issue when finally after I met with them and had discussions about this they wanted me to make a partial payment for the new computer , after I refused they somehow figured out it was just a fuse that was damaged after all. Another issue was they would not provide me with a loner vehicle, this is the only vehicle in my household, i had to catch rides with friends just to make it to work for almost 2 weeks. Just horrific experiences with this dealer how does replacing a battery takes 6 hours plus is beyond me, Obviously I do not trust this dealer what so ever and based on their customer service reviews i am not the only one. 

Summary-My vehicle has worsen every since my first visit to BMW of Honolulu, This can't not be a coincidence or self inflicted issue since they're the only ones who have worked on my car in this Island. Im a very hardworking individual who purchased this car as my dream car and issues like this particular one only happened due to their Mechanics accidentally or not. I would like to be treated fairly and come to some sort of agreement with this Dealership to get my car up and running again.




























Sincerely,

****** *******

Business Response:


To:  BBB

Response to customer rejection:


We are not responsible for the engine damage and low compression from a pre-existing valve leaking.  We have taken the extra step and repaired the major oil leaks to assist Mr. ******* at no extra charge as a goodwill gesture to try to keep him as a customer.

We did not loosen the oil filter cap.  According to the customer, the oil filter was last replaced by an independent shop.

The leaking gaskets that we recommended he fix during his first visit to BMW of Honolulu are more likely what caused the coolant to mix with the oil.  Customer declined our recommendation.

I apologize for the length of time the vehicle was in our shop; parts had to be ordered and we had to work around the aftermarket (non-factory / add on) items during some of the repairs.

To settle this matter we would like to offer Mr. ******* a 10% discount off the engine replacement and 10% off rental car fees while the work is being done here at BMW of Honolulu.  If offer agreeable to customer, he must come in to prepay for the engine before we order it from BMW.  Also, if customer wants the BMW factory warranty on the replacement engine, he must get all the aftermarket products mentioned before removed from the vehicle and the stock equipment put back.  This is so the check engine light can be turned off in order for the system to properly monitor the car’s performance and meet all federal emission guidelines.

Please have customer contact me or Al R****** if he decides to accept our offer.


Mike T********

Service and Parts Director


10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2011 Certified Preowned BMW 535i December 2014. Since the purchase of the vehicle it has been back to the d***er more than five times for ruff idle issues. I took the car in today 30 September 2015 to address the same issue and nothing can be found. I feel that I was sold a vehicle that had a unresolved issues and would end up leading to outrageous repair bills. Basically a lemon. I drive at the max 5 miles a day and the car is having issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either exchange my vehicle for another of the same model or either have a extended 2 year maintenance program and extended 100 mile warranty added to my current vehicle!

Business Response:

To whom it may concern at BBB,

BBB case ID #******** has been assigned to me for resolution;  I am the Service and Parts Director for BMW of Honolulu.

Mr. Charles A****** 2011 BMW 535i was purchased as a Certified Pre-Owned (CPO) vehicle from us and it has a CPO warranty from BMW that runs through October 29, 2017 or 100,000 miles, whichever occurs first.  We have honored the CPO warranty and have repaired or replaced covered defects including fuel pressure sensor, idle speed, replaced coils and spark plugs, and replaced fuel pump.  After the last repair, an extensive test drive was performed and vehicle drove normally.

We would like to resolve this complaint immediately. I will have my Service Manager Al Roberts contact Mr. Allen to schedule a verification test drive so we can verify any current complaint.

After we verify any current complaints we will review Mr. A****** request for a vehicle exchange or extension on his warranty.

Thank you,

Mike T******** (******************)

Service and Parts Director

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Charles N*** I have been in contact with Sean from BMW of Honolulu and I feel that the issue I am having with my car isn't being taken seriously. They want me to come down and go on a road test with the shop foreman which I have done in the past and the problem didn't happen. Being a active duty SFC in the Army, it is extremely hard to keep running back and forth to the dealer addressing the same issue that I've been having for the past nine months. The problem with my vehicle doesn't happen all the time, but when it does it is very noticeable. Therefore, if they are trying to find the problem with one test drive it might happen or it might not. The car needs to be drop off and tested, transmission everything and resolved. P.S. Today was going to drop of the car to BMW and actually do a road test. I was stuck in traffic for over an hour and had to turn around. I tried calling Sean numerous time but he did not answer. Once again a sign that this is not a big issue.

Business Response:

To BBB,

Our Assistant Manager Sean M***** has been in contact with Mr. Charles N***.  We want to resolve Mr. N***'s issues but our test drives after the last repair were fine and there was no indication of a problem so we are asking Mr. N*** to please assist us and demonstrate what he is experiencing so we have an idea of what is going on with his car.  We understand how frustrating it can be when the problem is very intermittent and we hope Mr. N*** can empathize how equally frustrating it is for our technician trying to fix a problem that is not present when he is working on the car.  We would also like to scan the car again for any new fault codes that may be present.

Mr. N*** got caught in the terrible traffic jam yesterday and has rescheduled to bring his car in tomorrow.  We are prepared to have someone ride with him to verify his concern.

Again, we are willing to repair any defect that may be there under the terms of Mr. N***'s CPO warranty.

Sincerely,

Mike T********, Service and Parts Director

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased my vehicle in March 2014 from BMW of Maui and within two weeks I was already having problems with it. I had contacted my sales representative for help and he said that there was nothing he could do to help me. He and his manager both sold my husband and I on the fact that it was a good car and that as long as we really got to know it we would be able to to do fixes on out own. One of the main concerns that my husband and I had was the possibility of electrical issues, they assured us that there wouldn't be any and that is exactly one of the many problems that we've been having. About a month again my husband went it to speak with our salesmen to figure out what we should do in getting ride of the car because we didn't want to deal with all the problems that we were having. They offered us much less than what we paid and still owe on the vehicle, and said that we should lease out another BMW so that we wouldn't have to deal with having to fix it, wanting us to pay more than $700 a month for a lease. I find that very unacceptable and very taken advantage of. Please help me to find out what rights I have. Product_Or_Service: B** **** ************* ***** *************** *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to take the car back and get a refund for my money. And know that they can't take advantage of people the way that they did to me.

Business Response: I apologize for the late reply, Mr. ***** is out of town and the initial BBB complaint did not get to my desk.

Customer Nichole Lorico-Minchin purchased the 2007 BMW X5 in question from our BMW of Maui store as an "As Is" used vehicle. The X5 had approximately 78,932 at the time of purchase. During the sale process, the customer was presented with information and given the opportunity to purchase a power train extended service contract but they declined.

Even though the X5 was sold "As Is", BMW of Maui did provide $597 of goodwill repair and on a later visit offered to program the X5 at no charge but customer did not schedule the follow up appointment.

When the customer asked about options to get out of the X5, BMW of Maui was working on a trade/purchase of a new BMW but the customer traded the X5 in to another dealer instead.

The "As Is" sale was fully disclosed and explained to the customer at the time of sale. BMW of Maui offered goodwill assistance when problems arose. BMW of Maui tried working with the customer to trade customer out of the X5 but they opted to sell it elsewhere.

I believe BMW of Maui went "above and beyond" to try to satisfy this customer facing an unfortunate situation.

Please contact me if you have any questions regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

**** *********
Service and Parts Director

1/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BMW and the company you hire to do warranty protection, ********, are failing to allow transfer of the warranty to Mr. Paet. I purchased extended warranty coverage (service agreement #***** in good faith for my BMW license plate no. ******, VIN #*****************. I sold the vehicle to ******** **** on July 24, 2013 with the extended warranty remaining through October, 2015. At no time did BMW representative *** ***** inform me directly that I had to fill out paperwork to transfer the warranty or that I had a 30 day limit to do so. When I asked him, he told me it would be transferred with the car. Then, when the buyer needed some work done in September, BMW told him he needed to fill out paperwork. I also went to a lot of trouble and got the form notarized and paid the transfer amount of $50, check number **** dated September 24, 2013. Assurant strung Mr. **** along asking for more information. Now, over three months later they sent me a letter denying the transfer. This is a terrible way to do business.

Desired Settlement: BMW should honor the extended warranty and make your subcontractor, ********, allow the transfer. I paid a lot of money for that warranty and this is out of integrity as well as unfair to ***** ****. One way or another, you should make sure the warranty is honored for Mr. ****, even if BMW needs to get the refund money back from Assurant and you warranty it yourselves.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/07) */ From: ********* (mailto:*************@gmail.com) Sent: Monday, January 06, 2014 2:14 PM To: Better Business Bureau Cc: Better Business Bureau Subject: Complaint ID#: ******** Complaint ID#: ******** Business Name: BMW of Honolulu Dear BBB, I have heard from the company and they refuse to allow the warranty extension. They say they will reimburse the extended warranty based on the pro ration for the sale date of July 24 less a $50 fee. I am not fully satisfied as I still feel they should have stepped up and arranged for the transfer of the extended warranty. Still, it is something. Aloha, ********* **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on BMW of Honolulu
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart