BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Hawaii

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1988

BMW of Honolulu

Phone: (808) 597-1225Fax: (808) 791-6768

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
05/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/16/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
02/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: BMW and the company you hire to do warranty protection, ********, are failing to allow transfer of the warranty to Mr. Paet.
I purchased extended warranty coverage (service agreement #***** in good faith for my BMW license plate no. ******, VIN #*****************. I sold the vehicle to ******** **** on July 24, 2013 with the extended warranty remaining through October, 2015. At no time did BMW representative *** ***** inform me directly that I had to fill out paperwork to transfer the warranty or that I had a 30 day limit to do so. When I asked him, he told me it would be transferred with the car. Then, when the buyer needed some work done in September, BMW told him he needed to fill out paperwork. I also went to a lot of trouble and got the form notarized and paid the transfer amount of $50, check number **** dated September 24, 2013. Assurant strung Mr. **** along asking for more information. Now, over three months later they sent me a letter denying the transfer. This is a terrible way to do business.

Initial Business Response
From: ********* (mailto:*************@gmail.com)
Sent: Monday, January 06, 2014 2:14 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Cc: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Complaint ID#: ********

Complaint ID#: ********
Business Name: BMW of Honolulu

Dear BBB,
I have heard from the company and they refuse to allow the warranty extension. They say they will reimburse the extended warranty based on the pro ration for the sale date of July 24 less a $50 fee.
I am not fully satisfied as I still feel they should have stepped up and arranged for the transfer of the extended warranty.
Still, it is something.
Aloha,
********* **********

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

04/13/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/20/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Transmissions - Automobile, Auto Repair & Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.