Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aloha Auto Group, Ltd.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 833-9000 Fax: (808) 833-3444 2841 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, HI 96819 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new/used car & truck sales/service and parts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aloha Auto Group, Ltd. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aloha Auto Group, Ltd. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Aloha Auto Group, Ltd.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 21, 1997 Business started: 04/21/1997 Business started locally: 04/21/1997 Business incorporated 03/05/1997 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVD568.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVD-763.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVD-924.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVB-568-4.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVB-763-1.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RD-3990.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVB-763-2.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVD-717.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RD-3778.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RD-3629.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MVB-568-2.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20226020-01.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Russ Wong, COO Ms. Debbie Tesoro, Business Manager Ms. Monique van den Hurk, Exec. V P Mr. William van den Hurk, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Russ Wong, COO
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Aloha KIA
Industry Tips

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aloha Auto Group, Ltd. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 226 Kanoelehua Ave

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • 2841 N Nimitz Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 833-9000

  • 3-1878 Kaumualii Hwy.

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 4359 Pahee Street

    Lihue, HI 96766

  • 46-056 Kamehameha Hwy STE 137

    Kaneohe, HI 96744

  • 75-5633 Palani Road

    Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

  • 75-5645 Kuakini Hwy

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740

  • 89 E Wakea St.

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 94-081 Farrington Hwy

    Waipahu, HI 96797


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just bought my first car and the experience was very horrible. Aloha Kia auto of waipahu will lie and scan due people into buying a junk car that is unsafe to drive. Their were two infractions into making me be stuck with my car first infraction was lying to me about being qualified for any other car but a 2007 Saturn aura, after having the car for two days I needed to return it because it was making a loud roaring sound while driving and when I had taken the car back they've held on to it for over a month so the service contract would be up and they still had not fix the problem with the car. The salesman that sold my car called me to let me know and also they fired him because I've had over 6 loaner cars from them all with problems.

Desired Settlement: I am not paying for the dispute filed against me and a refund for what I had to put down for all of my troubles of having to drive back and forth and the recall problem with this car. On top of all the problems that I had this car still has recall problems

Business Response:

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint received from Beth H******* **** ****. 

We agree with the following statements in her complaint

·         The Consumer purchased a Used 2007 Saturn Aura with 87,098 miles.

·         Shortly after the purchase of the vehicle, the consumer brought the vehicle back complaining about various items.

We dispute the following statements presented in the complaint:

·         The actual contract date of the purchase is 10/30/2014 in her complaint she lists the date as 11/10/2014.

·         The actual purchase price of the vehicle was $10,425.00 per the contract executed by all parties.  In her complaint she lists the purchase price as $21,000.

·         We did not terminate any employee as a result of this transaction as she indicates in her complaint.

We also dispute the consumer’s inference that we advised her that this was the only vehicle she qualified for.  We submitted the loan application to several lenders and we received qualifications that needed to be met in order to obtain approval.  We did advised the consumer that based on the loan approval, she could qualify for this vehicle if she were able to provide additional down payment.   

The consumer agreed to purchase this vehicle and she executed documentation indicating her understanding that based on the year and mileage of the vehicle she was purchasing, the sale was being made AS IS with No Warranty.  A copy of the executed Buyers Guide is attached in the exhibits.

We agreed to sell the consumer this vehicle and she agreed to make an additional $925 in down payment.  On 11/8/14 she paid $200.00 of that promissory note and on 11/14 she paid an additional $150.00 of that promissory note and currently has a balance due of $575.00. 


Shortly after her purchase she complained of various items relating to this vehicle.  I have attached as an exhibit the 5 repair orders on this vehicle since the time of her purchase.  She claimed at one point that she was withholding the remainder of her down payment until the concerns with the car were addressed.  We advised her that she purchased the vehicle AS IS – NO Warranty but because we valued our customer relationship, we would address the issue that she brought to our attention shortly after purchase.  As you can see from the repair orders, all of the work performed was charged internally and the consumer did not pay for any of those repairs.  Additionally as further good will we provided the consumer a loaner vehicle during those repairs.  The dealership incurred $994.07 in repairs in order to satisfy the concerns expressed by the consumer.  On repair order 51091 dated 27May15, we replaced the right front wheel bearing and retested the vehicle and verified that the sound she was complaining about had been resolved.  The vehicle has not been brought in for service since that date.


Subsequent to completing the goodwill repairs, we attempted to collect the remainder of the contractual down payment that was owed.  The consumer continued to refuse payment so we sent the obligation to collections. 


We are owed the amount due from the sale of the vehicle.  Even though the vehicle was sold AS IS- No Warranty, we offered goodwill and resolved the issues that were brought to our attention.  From 30Oct 15 through the last visit on 27May15 a period of 8 months the car was driven 13,778 miles or an average of over 1,700 miles per month which is above average usage for a Hawaii vehicle indicating that the vehicle is operating as it was designed.


We have gone above and beyond in fulfilling the obligations of the purchase agreement and expect the consumer to fulfill their remaining obligation and pay the balance of their down payment.




Russell W***

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10772734, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Beth I***

2/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother, ***** ******, who is 74 years old and suffers from dementia went into ******* *** by herself to have minor repairs done on her leased 2013 *** Soul that was still under waranty. The sales person there swindled her into trading her Soul in and buying a new 2015 *** Optima strictly on her excellent credit score and did not bother to qualify her income.The balance owed on the *** Soul was added to the purchase price of the *** Optima. They ended up selling the Optima to her for $33,000 much more then the car was worth. Her monthly payment went up from $300 on her lease to $500 a month for the Optima. She has a fixed income of $1500 a month and cannot afford the $500 a month payment.My mother left the *** Optima at ******* *** on December 3, 2014 shortly after she bought it. She tried to return the car within 3 days of the sale because the salesperson said she could. When she returned it within 3 days they said she could not return it. Since December 3 my mother has not used the vehicle but yet *** finance has sent her a bill of $500 a month and the first payment was due last Saturday January 17. The ******* *** GM ******** tells us that my mother is still responsible for the car even though she has not been driving it and it is on the *** lot. They say because she signed the sales contract she is still responsible for the car.

Desired Settlement: Return the 2015 *** Optima to the dealership and have the $33,000 balance taken off her credit report.

Business Response:

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to complaint #********.  We agree that the consumer came into repair and service her 2013 *** Soul on December 3rd, 2014.  While at the store, our sales person started a conversation with the customer and discussed trading in her Kia Soul for a *** Optima.   Ultimately the customer agreed to trade in the Soul and purchase the Optima on that date.  To protect both the consumer and the dealership, the purchase process requires the execution of a significant number of documents and many disclosures.  After reviewing all of our documentation, it is clear all parties freely executed the agreements.  Shortly after the sale our store General Manager received a call from the customer's son wanting to terminate the transaction. 

We advised the son that we had a valid sales contract but would agree to meet with our customer.  On December 17th we called to confirm a meeting time and left a message on voicemail.  On December 18th, the son called and indicated on a voicemail message that his mother was on an outer island.  On December 19th, or Director of Operations spoke with the son and they agreed for all parties to meet on December 20th at 11:00am. 

The customer and her son showed up at 12:25pm on December 20th and the son expressed that our customer couldn't afford the car and that she was coerced into buying it.  Our customer indicated that she was uncomfortable with the car she traded in and was interested in trading the car.  The son suggested that our customer was not of sound mind to make a decision regarding a major purchase.  We advised the son that it was our opinion that our customer spoke very intelligently and seemed fully capable of making decisions.  We did advise the son that if a doctor certifies that she is not capable of making decisions, we would work with the lender to terminate the transaction.  The son's desire was that our customer just be allowed to walk away from the loan.  We advised both our customer and her son that we are not accepting responsibility for the car's welfare and they should not leave it at our lot. 

In the interest of goodwill and because the customer indicated the payment was too high, we pointed out that she had purchased optional after market products (GAP Coverage, Maintenance Care, Theft Deterrent) that were cancellable and could further reduce her payment.  Our Director of Operations also indicated that he was willing to re-assess her trade-in vehicle to further assist in getting her to a payment of $397.00.  Both our customer and her son seemed appreciative of our desire to keep a valued customer happy and they agreed to get back to our Director of Operations by Monday 12/22.  We advised them that time was of the essence as any modifications to the contract also required involvement and approval from *** Finance.

On December 22nd, our Director of Operations called and left a message on voicemail.

On December 23rd at 9:45am our Director of Operations called the son and he indicated that they decided they did not want the vehicle and would just leave it at that.  We reiterated all of the prior discussions and told him that any return of the vehicle was between him and the lender. 

We are unable to agree to the consumer's desired settlement but are willing to work with the customer to honor the agreement we offered on December 20th, subject to the lender agreeing to the same.

Thank you again for allowing me to respond to this complaint.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I, ***** ******, age 74, went into ***** Kia-Leeward by myself on 12/03/2014, for minor repairs such as the persistent tire pressure light, locking of the steering wheel, broken windshield wiper, and upholstery discoloration for my leased 2013 *** Soul that was under full warranty.  I was coerced through high pressure sales tactics into trading in my leased 2013 *** Soul and purchasing a 2015 *** Optima.  **** ****** was the sales person and **** ******* was the loan officer who did not qualify my income, using only my current credit score to okay my purchase.  My existing debt is $30,000.00 and my fixed income is only $1.481.00 a month.
The balanced owed on the leased 2013 *** Soul of approximately $9000.00 was added to the sale price of the 2015 *** Optima, bringing the total purchase price of the 2015 *** Optima price to approximately $35,000.00.  At the time the monthly lease payment of the *** Soul was $306.16 a month.  **** did not explain to me that the monthly payment for the 2013 Soul would be added to the new contract for the new Optima before asking me to sign it.  Together with the payment for the Soul plus the Optima, my children pointed out to me that I would now be responsible to pay $498.00 a month, and I realized I had been taken advantage of and asked my daughter to go back to the dealership.  We were there on the 3rd business day after I drove off with the Optima.  Since **** *******, the loan officer, was the only one who could authorize cancellation of the purchase contract, **** scheduled an appointment for us to meet with **** the next day, but **** was not there when we returned the following day.  My daughter gave **** ****** a handwritten letter to acknowledge our December 8th visit.  
**** and the loan officer did not bother to explain to me that my Soul had negative equity and by trading it in and buying the Optima I was purchasing a $23,000.00 car for $35,000.00.  I am now responsible for a car that's worth $20,000.00 or less but have a loan in excess of $35,000.00.  I believe that as a 74 year old senior citizen alone in a car dealership I was fully and unethically taken advantage of.  
**** told me I had 3 business day to return the 2015 *** Optima if I changed my mind.  However, he was not honest because we did return it on the 3rd business day but now the dealership is not allowing me to return my car and restore my original lease of the 2013 *** Soul.  I was told at the time I signed the contract that it was considered a door to door sale when purchasing the Optima and I had 3 business days to return it if I was not fully satisfied with the car.  It was a door to door purchase because I did not go to the dealership that day to by a new car I went their to repair my leased 2013 *** Soul. However, when I tried to return the Optima on the 3rd business day the dealership would not accept the return.    
My daughter ***** and son ***** met with ******** ******, General Manager of the ***** *** Leeward on December 9, 2014 but he was unable to help me.  Then on December 20, 2014, we met with **** ******, **** Manager of ***** *** who also could not help.  **** was misinformed and clueless as to what happen at the ******* *** site since his office is located on Nimitz Highway near the airport and it wasn't fully explained to him what had happen to me.  He too was trying to convince me to stick with the purchase of the Optima but I feel the Optima was illegally sold to me. Since meeting with **** on December  20th my son ***** has called **** and ******** on numerous occasions but his calls are rarely if ever returned.
Because of my diagnosis of dementia by my doctor over a year ago, my doctor asked my children to help me return the 2015 Optima and resolve this problem for me.  This problem has caused me great stress and ill health causing me to reschedule my breast cancer surgery that was originally scheduled on January 3 to February 2. Now I plan to reschedule again, as my doctor just diagnosed me as suffering from bronchial pneumonia.  Since this incident I've averaged 1 to 2 weekly visits with my doctor.
The *** dealership should not have pressured me by sweet talking me into upgrading to a 2015 *** Optima, especially without explaining that I would continue to pay the balance of the 2013 *** Souls lease and have a new higher monthly payment of $498.02 which I cannot afford.  This company took full advantage of me as a 74 year old senior citizen in ill health.  I am also aware that this *** Leeward has had 13 or more complaints in the last year and there is a reason for it. Its because they are unethical and never have the customers best interest in mind.  They are a profit driven big business that could care less about their customers.  Ultimately I don't want what happen to me to happen to someone else especially another senior citizen. Mahalo.

***** ******

Business Response:

Our Director of Operations has been in direct contact with the consumer.  It is always our desire to resolve issues to the mutual benefit of both parties.  We believe that we have reached a mutually satisfactory resolution to the complaint and that the consumer is now satisfied with the results of working together to resolve the issue.

I would like to thank the BBB for their assistance in getting both parties together.  With your assistance we have been able to retain a valued customer.


******* ****


11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: One day my front and dash board speakers were kind of goin off and on or like there was a loose wire or something, now there is no sound. When i called i asked if it was covered by my warranty or if it was something i had to pay out of pocket? The manager **** took my call and said he cant tell me that over the phone and that i would have to actually come down(mind you i live in Makaha/Waianae area) to find out that information. I went to get that information and was told it wasnt covered and that id need to pay $100 or $125. Since i didnt have the money at that time i made an appt for 10/31/2014. About a week after i made the appt for my speakers, my engine light and my track light turned on so i called and the receptionest said to come in and check. I go down at 9:00 am Hawaii time to check why my engine and track light turned on. About 3 hours later, the company calls me and tells me that 2 of my oxygen sensors are out and need to be replaced but they dont have sensors in stock so they would have to order and they are not sure if my warranty covers. So i pick up my car and they tell me they would call me the next day, as soon as they get ahold of my warranty company. The next day i called her back since i hadn't heard back from her all day, i was told they didn't get ahold of the warranty company but she would let me kno. Anyways after finally getting ahold of the warranty company i was told my warranty covers the sensors but id have to pay my deductible of $100 and i said that was find. I had an appt set for the following 2 fridays for my sensors pending my days off and i canceled both appts and was told i can do my speakers n change my sensors all in one day. I take it in to fix. I get my car back after waiting for hours and after i was told it was done, and that they couldnt fix my speakers because they didn't have it in stock?! Thats what my origianl appt was for, how can u not have it instock? Im very upset because i have waste my mileage and time and i still have to fix my speakers!

Desired Settlement: I want to get my speakers done and i want it done on that day, also id like to use a loaner for the moment my car is being fixed because i had to wait for the shuttle which took almost 3 hours to get to me because she was in traffic and id have to wait for her to pick us up and get my car and to only wait in the same traffic she was in but i have to travel to Waianae and thats a hell of a far way to be in traffic, plus i had to cancel all plans and got home by 8:00 that night!

Business Response:

I appreciate the BBB for giving us the opportunity to address this complaint. 

Based on my review of the complaint, our Service team followed clearly established processes to address her concerns.  With all repairs, we must first diagnose the problem to determine how we will be paid for the repair.  Generally we look to three potential providers of payment; 1) the manufacturer if the vehicle is still covered by warranty, 2) any potential extended service contract providers that the consumer has purchased, or 3) the consumer that currently owns the vehicle.  Until one of the three approves the work to be done, we are unable to proceed with the repairs.

In this instance, the vehicle is a Toyota and is out of the manufacturer’s warranty so the consumer did not take it to Toyota for coverage.  The consumer purchased an extended service contract and we were able to get specific repairs approved by the extended service contract provider subject to the $100 deductible per the terms of her contract with her provider.  She acknowledge the deductible and we scheduled the covered repairs.  At that time we provided her a quote of approximately $750 to replace her speakers and advised her that the extended service contract would not cover that repair.  Our records indicate that she declined that repair so we did not purchase the speakers from Toyota.

Our records also indicate that we scheduled, received cancellation, rescheduled, and had difficulty in reaching a mutually convenient time to conduct the repairs.  The consumer states the same thing in her complaint.  We apologize to the consumer because of our misunderstanding of the repairs she was requesting.  It is always our desire to complete any approved repair and we would gladly replace her speakers as long as we collect a deposit for the purchase of the speakers from Toyota since this is a non-covered repair.

We are unable to agree with her desired settlement.  Her current repair order remains open with a balance due for her deductible of $100 which she clearly acknowledges in her complaint plus an oil change that she authorized.  We do not have unlimited resources and limit loaner cars to warranty repairs that qualify for loan car reimbursement and extended service contract repairs that have loaner coverage.  We do offer a free shuttle service but those pick ups and drop offs are scheduled and on a specific route and subject to traffic delays.  We never like to inconvenience any of our customers and provide the best available options that we can subject to the resources that we have.

As soon as the customer pays us for the remaining amount due on the work we have already completed, and provides a deposit for us to acquire the speakers, we will schedule the repair.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this concern.



******* ****


Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. However i do differ with a few things. 

When i went to find out how much id have to pay for my speakers, i was not quoted $750 i was quoted $125 to get that checked and fixed, i was never quoted $750. He told me the $125 was for them to open up the dash and see if its a loose wire or if the speakers would need to be replaced. Since i was quoted the $125 for the speakers i said i would make an appt for that because i hadn't had the money at the time. About a week later my engine light and my track light came on so i called to get that checked and made an appt. Yes i did cancel and reschedule the 2 appts that i made to check the sensor lights but asked if i could get that checked when i bring it in for my appt to check my speakers, she said yes they could do it all on that day. When i went down to check my engine and track light i dropped off my car at 9am. Soon after I left, i get a call from the service department to see if i also want to do a multi vehicle inspection, oil change or a complimentary car wash as well. Since she said it was free, i said yes. I also asked the woman if they can let me know if i need to pay for anything and she said yes they will definitely let me know. When they called me back to pick up my car they told me that 2 of my oxygen sensors were out and i needed to change it but they dont have it in stock, they would have to order and wait for the warranty company to get back to them to see if its covered and if not I'd  have to pay for it. They also told me that i had a balance to be paid for the diagnostic test (for my engine and track light) and the oil change (even though i was offered services and not explained that i would need to pay for it and even after asking them to let me know if i needed to pay anything). I was not told that my warranty didnt cover the diagnostic test or the oil change until the service was done so i wasn't aware that i had to pay for anything. Since i didnt have the money for all of that, the woman told me they would leave the account or balance open and when i come in to fix my speakers and sensors i could pay for everything. A few days later the woman called me back and said my warranty covers for the diagnostic test and for the sensors to be replaced, and that i would only be responsible for my deductible of $100 as well as the oil change of about $60 that i hadn't paid yet. I told her that was fine and when i bring in my car to fix my speakers and sensors i would pay the oil change, the deductible for my sensors and the quote to fix my speakers. When she confirmed my next appt she confirmed with me that they would be fixing my speakers and sensors, and id need to pay my oil change.  I agreed to that with her and said yes. The next day I took my car in at 9 am 10/31/2014 to fix the sensors and speakers but the woman i spoke with about my case was off so another woman handled my case. The woman wasnt to clear as to what my appt was for so i explained to her that i was there to fix my sensors, speakers and to pay my oil change from my last visit and that i have the money to pay for all of that. She understood and said she will let me know when my car is done. They call me back around 1:45pm and tell me my car is done but they couldnt fix my speakers and that the shuttle would be picking me up by 2pm. I waited from 2pm to about 4:30pm for the shuttle and then had to meet a guy who was driving my car to meet us half way so i didnt have to wait any longer in traffic. I was already frustrated because my speakers were not fixed and thats what my original appt was for, plus id have to come back and use my mileage, gas and time. Now, if they needed to replace the speakers wouldnt they have to open up the dash board(like the manager had told me) to see if it was actually the speakers that needed to be replaced or if it was the wireing(which is what it sounded like to me). So since i had the money i don't understand why they didnt even check what was wrong with it? After waiting for almost 3 hours and not getting my speakers done, i had finally gotten my car. When i got out of the shuttle i asked the woman if I should pay the person who drove my car to me and she said no dont pay him, the manager will take care of the bill for what had happened and to call him the next day. I didnt get a chance to call him the next day but i did have the money and was told i dont need to pay for anything. I didnt even receive a follow up call from the company to see if everything waa doing ok with my sensors, or if they did the multi vehicle inspection or found anything i should know about(since they didnt check it that last time it was offered for free), if they did the complimentary car wash( like they also offered at the previous appt but never got done). Whatever the case is, i feel like i havent been getting all the information i needed to know about my warranty as far as covergae, i feel like i been told things that were not explained to me correctly, and i feel like i have been getting run arounds from this company as far as services from the very first day i called to find out if my warranty would cover for my speaker problem. I hope we can find a resolutionfor this situation. Thank you for your time.


********* *********

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thank you for taking the time to meet with me and my daughter this past Friday. It was lovely to meet you and Mr. ******. I am writing today to share our complete experience with you because I would like to help you avoid losing any future customers. As you know, we first came to you on Sept. 26, around lunch time. We were interested in the deal we had heard advertised on the radio of leasing a new Kia Soul for only $98/month. Mr. ****** showed us some nice vehicles, and then we came inside to talk pricing.At this point, you stepped in and clearly, without the sales pitch, explained how the $98/month lease worked. Since I did not want to pay the $4999 Drive fee, and expressed that I might still be interested if lease payments stayed below $200/month, you went wherever GSMs go and figured out another option. What you showed me was a second option of $0 money up front and a monthly lease payment of about $191.49/month, with a buyout at the end of 4 years of approximately $7857.00. You stated the vehicle would be shipped to your sister dealership in Hilo at no cost to us. This was great and we agreed to that price.I had another appointment to go to, and asked to come back for the test drive later in the day. You all said fine, and away we went. We returned about 4:45 PM, took a test drive, decided on the exact vehicle, filled out the credit papers, and again agreed to that price.My father was arriving from Maui the next day, so I stated that I wanted to sit on the deal until the next morning and bring my dad over to see what I was doing. That was okay with everyone and we left for the day with the agreement that everything would remain the same and we would sign the deal the next day.When we returned on Saturday with my father, you were not available. Mr. ****** showed my father the vehicle we had chosen and offered him a test drive. My father declined as he is not a fan of 4-cylinder vehicles, but agreed that for Big island it would be just fine. We went inside with Mr. ****** and my father asked if I was going to sign the deal. I answered that I wouldonly if it was the same as had been shown to me by you on Friday. At this point, Mr. *** **** **** (a sales associate according to your website) came around the corner, and said he wanted to reassure me about the pricing. He sat at the desk and explained that you had given explicit instructions to everyone the night before to honor the agreement we had made, and Mr. **** assured me the he would absolutely honor the price given to [me] by Mr. *****. My father and daughter were sitting right next me when he said this. I believe Mr. ****** was there as well, although I couldnt swear to it. I proceeded to contact ***** and add the vehicle to my insurance. I had just finished with this when Mr. **** returned, claiming that you had made some error on the paperwork, and the price would not be what we had agreed to! I was, and still am, stunned. How could you, the GM, a man who sells 12 of these a week make such an error? How could Mr. **** claim he would honor our agreement, then only moments later renege on the deal and try to up the price? I walked out, as I had said I would.I cannot describe how disappointed I am. There is nothing worse than having a sales person try to scam you and, essentially, act as though they think you are so stupid that you will fall for it. I spent many hours of my valuable time working with your dealership, only to be treated like a chump in the end. All so Mr. **** could try and get an extra $1,440.

Desired Settlement: Would like the deal to be completed as agreed. $0 down and 191.49/mo with the vehicle shipped to Hilo at no cost to us.

Business Response:

Sorry for the delay in my response.  I have been traveling and away from the office and just returned on 10/27. 

 It is always our desire to provide a sales experience that exceeds our customer’s expectations.  I appreciate the fact that our Sales Manager clearly explained how the $98/ month lease worked and that other options were provided.  Based on my research, there was confusion regarding the price quote that you received.  According to our Sales Manager, he clearly explained the Soul Lease advertisement that was on a standard shift base model Soul.  He further provided additional pricing based on that vehicle with less money down.  We are still prepared to honor that pricing on the advertised Soul. 

 According to the staff at our Waipahu dealership you decided that you did not want the base model standard shift vehicle that was advertised and preferred an automatic with additional options.  The Sales Manager has indicated that he should have made it clearer that the numbers he was presenting was in response to your question on the advertised special.  The vehicle that you chose had a price that was greater than the price of the advertised special but you were still being offered a substantial discount from our Retail Selling Price.

 We would like to earn your business and feel that if given the opportunity to show you the difference between the two vehicles we can show you the value of the upgrades.

 Please contact me directly if you would like to discuss the matter further.



Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because it was never made clear, as they claimed, that I was choosing a different vehicle than the one I was offered (not chosen) I only ever drove one vehicle, I was only given one vehicle to drive. Since that vehicle was offered AFTER the cost was discussed it should have been made very, very clear that I was being OFFERED a vehicle that DID NOT match the cost I was given.

Why would they give me one price, then offer me a vehicle that cost more without explaining that it was a more expensive vehicle? They had three days to explain that they had offered me a vehicle that was more expensive than the quote they gave me. On the third day, they still swore to honor the quote. At no time did they EVER state that the vehicle they were offering was a more expensive model than the one they quoted. Only at the last second did they change the price, and still they said nothing about the vehicle being a more expensive model, only that the GSM had "made a mistake" in the quote.
This is so obviously a bait and switch that went bad. To then try an blame me for not knowing that I had been tricked is outrageous.
I have bought another vehicle and want nothing more to do with the sleazy business and sales tactics of Aloha Kia and will be certain to steer anyone I know away from them.


9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kia Advertised $250 free gas if you test drive a Kia car and end up buying another company. After a Kia test drive I bought a Honda. They refuse offer In early May I took my Prius to Toyota for repairs and discovered that the main battery needed replacement. The estimated cost to change out the battery was $5500. Since the car was nine years old I decided to just look for a new car. I went to visit the Chevrolet, Toyota, and Honda to look for a vehicle that would meet my price point and features. I was leaning more toward a Honda Civic but before making my final decision. Then I heard about Kia special offer to "Test drive a Kia and if we decide to buy another vehicle from another company, Kia would give a $250 gas card". On May 22 , I went to Kia and met with a salesperson name ****** ****** to see if they had a car that I could test drive that met my price point and features. We decided to test drive the Kia Forte. Although the car was comfortable it didn't have a rearview camera and the keyless ignition switch. I asked ****** after the test drive what are the details of the $250 offer. She said if you decide to buy another car within seven days just bring back the invoice and Kia would issue me the gas card. Three days later on May 24 I went back Honda and worked out a deal for the civic that had all the features that I wanted. I went back to Kia with the invoice on May 27 to apply for the gas card offer. ****** ****** took my paperwork to the manager ****** ********* for review. Mr. ********* asked me "why didn't I allow them to make them a counter offer on their Forte?" I said that the Forte didn't offer the features that I was looking for to make an offer. He said he felt uncomfortable with my intentions but said that his salesperson didn't do an adequate job in trying to sell me a car so he would allow to process my request. I was to call back in 4 to 6 weeks to check on my gas card. Six weeks later I called Mr. ********* to inquire about the status of my gas card. Mr. ********* sounded irritated and he started to say that in his opinion I had no intention of buying a car from Kia and was deliberately using this opportunity to cheat Kia out of their money. I explained to him that I follow all the instructions as stated on their advertisement and checked with their salesperson before I made my final purchase with Honda. Mr. ********* said he would again grant the gift card and took down my phone number. He has never called me back since. I feel Kia used false advertising as an incentive to bring people into their dealership to make a sale. I am disturbed by the credibility of your people to make claims that they never intended to keep. I'm also upset by the accusations made by your manager that accuse me of trying to cheat your company.

Desired Settlement: $250 gas card for Test Drive

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint received from Mr. ******** *********. We agree that Mr. ********* came in to take a test drive on a Kia Forte and subsequently purchased a Honda Civic. Mr. ********* is entitled to receive our $250 test drive guaranty and the gas card is being mailed to his home address today.

We had a breakdown in internal processes that I will cover with all staff involved. The initial delay occurred because our General Manager in Hilo wanted an opportunity to speak with the customer prior to transmitting the gas card request to our Honolulu payables office. Once the request was sent to our Honolulu business office, we failed to match it up with two internal forms that we use to control the issuance of the cards. We did not have the test drive log or the copy of the invoice on the Honda purchase so the request was held in the Honolulu business office.

I would like to apologize to the customer for the delay in our processing and I will agree with his desired resolution that he rightfully deserves the $250 gas card.

Please have the customer contact me directly at ***** ******** or by email at *************** if he does not have the gas card in hand by this Friday August

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have received the $250 gas card from Kia as requested. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. Please close my file.

******** 8/21/14

7/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are dishonest, high pressure, and use bait and switch tactics. On June 14, 2014, I went to Kia to inquire about a new 2014 *********. Started as a normal car buying purchase. After negotiation, the finance manager, **** ********* kept pressuring me to accept his sale price and trade in value of 15.5k for my vehicle. I told them I wanted to wait and think over my options but he kept pressuring me. Finally, I told him that I would agree if he gave me 500 more for my trade in. While I was leaving, the sales rep **** begged me to buy a car for "his kids and family." I received a text from the sales rep later specifically saying that the general manager ****** ********* would give me the numbers I wanted. I still have that text. I talked to him on the phone and he said that he would, and that the sales team from Hawaii are lazy, old school, and hardheaded. He said that since he was from the mainland, he was different. I went in to meet him. He started by showing me a used car he had supposedly just bought at auction for 16k. It was a 2013 ************** with only 2600 miles. He said that he wouldn't spend that much on an older model such as mine. He didn't disclose that my car, a *******************, was a specialty car. Although older with more miles, my car's auction value was worth more that the **'s retail value. He then brought me upstairs and did not keep his promise to give me the numbers I wanted. The price of the new car was fine but he tried to confuse me with numbers and say that he wouldn't give me more than 15,500 for my car. I walked out because I wasn't given what I was promised. I tried to contact the Oahu branch to express my intention NOT to purchase from Kia in confidence, but Oahu kept redirecting me back to Hilo. I have shown them proof that I could get a better deal elsewhere and am not interested, but they still harass me through email.

Desired Settlement: I want a public statement in the newspaper detailing the deceptive methods used in their sales and trade-in process with specific names. At the very least, give us free lifetime maintenance and repairs of any type on our existing Kia.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ I thank the BBB for giving us the opportunity to address this complaint. Aloha Auto Group is committed to operating with the highest ethical standards. All Sales employees are trained in compliance and ethics and sign agreements indicating their commitment to the standards we expect. I am very disappointed to read the description of Mr. ******'s shopping experience at our Hilo dealership. I have attempted to call Mr. ****** several times to discuss his concerns however his phone goes to voicemail and is not accepting additional messages. I would be grateful if the BBB could put us in touch with each other so that I could have the benefit of Mr. *******'s direct comments in an effort to gather additional information so that no other customer has a similar experience. I have spoken to all of the staff that Mr. ****** has identified in his complaint and have an understanding from their perspective of what occurred while Mr. ****** was negotiating to purchase a Kia ******. Based on my investigation, I have counseled our staff on ways to improve communications and explanations when we are unable to reach agreement on a sale price and trade allowance. The staff in Hilo has indicated that they in no way were deceptive or dishonest. They indicated that they clearly tried to convince Mr. ****** that the price we offered on the ****** was the best we were willing to offer and our offer on his trade was our best offer. Mr. ****** did not like the numbers and chose not to do business with Aloha Kia - Hilo. We have a great deal of correspondence with our Business Development Center, email exchanges, and notes from our other dealerships indicating clearly that we were not able to agree on a price that was acceptable to both parties so no transaction was consummated. Our Corporate policy is for our Business Development Center to always refer a customer back to the store that is in their market because we understand that even if the customer chooses to buy elsewhere, they will need to build a relationship with the store in their area for their future service needs. Although the Business Development Center was keeping the Hilo store informed, they were working with Mr. ****** to provide contacts at our Oahu stores. Since there was never a business transaction consummated between the parties, we are requesting that the BBB close this case since the primary complaint is that we were not able to reach a mutually agreeable sales price an no business transaction was never consummated. If possible, I would like the BBB to let the consumer know that my direct line is (808) ******** because even though we were unable to agree to terms and complete a sale, I would like to discuss his experience so that I can improve our internal processes so that we do not lose future sales. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) While I appreciate the response from Mr. ****, he either never acknowledged, or was never fully informed of the issue I was having with their Hilo location. The numbers were never the issue. I chose not to do business with Aloha Kia - Hilo because of the actions of the staff. No agreement on sale or trade was made the first time for two reasons. First, the sales manager was the typical pushy, aggressive, and excessively interruptive type. Secondly, the salesperson told me before I left that I should buy the car to help out his kids and family. While not illegal, I felt that his attempt to use his family as emotional leverage was offensive to me and disrespectful to his family. No agreement on sale or trade was made the second time not because I didn't like the prices, but because I was lured back into the dealership by being told that the general manager, Mr. ****** *********, would agree to the written proposal I presented to them on the previous visit. I proposed $22,500 for the new Kia ****** in question and $16,500 for the trade. These amounts were never meant to be my final offer, so I was extremely surprised when I received a text from the sales representative saying that the general manager had agreed to the proposal and would give me full book for my trade. I still have the text and will keep it as proof. At the time,"full book" was $16,667, an amount exceeding my original proposal of $16,500. I called the general manager and he assured me that he would go beyond what he called the "the red line," which is the lowest amount a sales manager would normally take for a new car. He explained that he had done so many times and was only interested in making customers happy. I suspected this was too good to be true, and my suspicions were confirmed on my following visit. I went in, fully expecting Mr. ********* to honor his offer. He spent 15 minutes showing me a used 2013 ************** he had "just bought at auction" for $16,000. He told me that he wouldn't spend more than $15,500 on my car since it was a ************* with more miles. He didn't disclose that my trade's book value was still higher than the value of the *************. Regardless, I was promised full book value which Mr. ********* did not honor. As for the price of the new ******, Mr. ********* ended up unwilling to go beyond the same "red line" as his sales manager. This price was far from what I gave them on my written proposal. As I mentioned earlier, my offer was never meant to be final, but the fact that it was agreed to was the main reason I came back in. Again, Mr. ********* had not honored his agreement. The issue here is not the price. The actions of the staff are unbecoming of an organization that is "committed to operating with the highest ethical standards," as Mr. **** so eloquently wrote. My experience involved an interruptive and aggressive sales manager, a salesman who uses his own family for emotional leverage, and a general manager makes agreements only to dishonor them after I came back in. Mr. **** needs to decide if these actions are in compliance with the standards set forth by Aloha Auto Group. If Mr. **** was never informed of these details, then the issues go beyond the customers and is internal as well. However, if he was informed, the problem is company wide and losing future sales should be the last thing on his mind. The reason I showed proof that I could secure a better deal elsewhere was disclose that I had better options and to solidify my stance to not do business with Aloha Kia. I already own a ************l which was purchased in 2009, and because Aloha Auto Group's Corporate policy insists on my need to build a relationship with the local branch, I have just recently arranged to have our Kia serviced at ***** and *******. Mr. **** wrote that my primary complaint was that "we weren't able to reach a mutually agreeable sale price and no business transaction was ever consummated." There's no reason to make that assumption since I chose "Sales Practice Issues" as my complaint category, and my desired resolution never mentioned a cheaper price. Again, either Mr. **** was misinformed, or he is deliberately attempting to avoid the real issue. Since nothing has been resolved, I strongly recommend, with respect, that the BBB keep this case open. Mr. **** can contact me directly after 6pm on weekdays at 808-********. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/01) */ I am unable to reach the consumer after 6 pm on weekedays but will use his narrative in discussions and training with our Hilo team. I am available during normal business hours and can be reached at my direct line (808) ******** and would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this matter directly with Mr.******. We are unable to agree to Mr. ******'s desired resolution and are respectfully requesting the BBB close this case as we were unable to consummate a business transaction as a result of the manner in which our sales team treated him. As I mentioned previously, I will utilize the narrative provided by Mr. ****** to coach and counsel the team I fully recognize that a business will not have long term success if consumers experience a sales process in the manner that is described by Mr. ******. We consider internal employee counseling and coaching a private matter and will not provide specifics of that process. We thank Mr. ****** for spending the time to share with us his experience because it provides us an opportunity to take corrective action.

4/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: received email on price of car interested. Made apt. showed up and price was diff from email and was told must fill credit report, even though paycash was emailed with price and made apt, at apt was told need to fill out credit report, even though told i would pay cash or finance on my own. They would not give me price without filing out credit report. I said I have to pick wife up and go to family dinner, and will be back and make sure the papers will be ready with the numbers. Returned next day like I said I would and ***** was not there and my papers were not ready. Wasted my time, and then was told the email I got from ****** was wrong and there is technically no down no first month, etc and instead of $265 a month, even with my outstanding credit score will still be $270 a month and $3,000 down. I was furious and want to make sure others don't get the bait and switch and drive down to waste time. The other guy appologized but never got one from ****** or *****. Would have paid cash and credit card rest, but they said it is common practice to get people in the door.

Desired Settlement: They should be held liable for the amount that was emailed. Or go publicly to say they things right

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** COO Contact Phone: 808******* Contact Email: ***** I tried to reach the consumer by phone and left message for him to call me at ***-****. Based on his complaint we did not meet the standards that we have set for our sales team. I would like to speak with consumer either in person or over the phone to get a better understanding of what occurred during his visit to our operation. I have reviewed the Business Development Center notes and it appears the consumer was inquiring on one of our lease specials that we must submit to Kia Finance in order to get approval for a specific payment tier. Please provide the consumer my contact information so that I can better understand what happened and can counsel our team so that future customer experiences are better than the experience this consumer had with our company. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/07) */ I called Mr. **** back and was able to talk to him and explain my concerns about how I was treated. After listening to me, he explained that is not common practice of emailing a specific price and when going to the lot getting switched on price. He said he will talk to the three staff workers and that it should not happen again. I was impressed that the COO would take time to call me when his own staff never did to apologize. I hope things will change and I truly believe with Mr. ****s leadership it will.

3/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I took my son in to buy a Kia Soul we were promised a 1000 gas card, then told we also qualified for a student discount, We negotiated a price and down payment and left with the car 2 hours later. While we were waiting on financing we asked about the card and was told that we would get it after signing the final papers. We went in and got them to finance in only my son ****'s name that was an option. so he signed the redone papers and 2 weeks later we get a letter saying that another 1000 was needed to be put down, ok then when the final papers were signed we were told again the 1000 card would come later, then **** was told that there was no 1000 gas card promotion.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) the 1000 gas card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** *** Contact Phone: (808) ***-**** Contact Email: ***** We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint received by the BBB. We agree with her statement that the customer initially negotiated a price and down payment and took delivery of a 2012 Soul on the same date. We also agree that based on financing conditions, the contract needed to be resigned with additional down payment required. In her statement she indicates that at the final signing she was, "told again the 1000 card would come later, then **** was told that there was not 1000 gas card promotion. I have researched the sale transaction and our records indicate the following: On 10/28/13 the customer negotiated a purchase and agreed to pay $25,319 for the Soul with $5,000 down and the Soul came with a $400.00 rebate. During that transaction, we clearly indicated to the customer that as part of the purchase, they would be receiving a $1,000 gas card. Efforts to secure financing were ultimately successful but it required additional down payment from the customer and a reduction in the sale price on the vehicle in order to get to the approved loan amount. On November 15th, 2013 the customer resigned all paperwork showing a new purchase price that was agreed to of $21,600.00 a reduction of $3,719.00. At that time, the customer was advised we reduced the price of the vehicle purchase in lieu of providing the $1,000 gas card. When we reduce the price of the car as a result of the negotiations and get the customer to use the $1,000 gas card as a discount, we normally get the customer to sign an acknowledgement of dealer incentive form that we keep in our files. I have attached a copy of the blank form for your records. I am unable to find an executed copy of this form in our files. The Finance Manager that handled the rewrite of the agreements claims she made it clear to the customer that the $1,000 gas card was no longer available because we had to significantly drop the sale price to meet the lenders condition. The customer in their statement also acknowledge that our staff advised them the $1,000 gas card promotion would not be paid. I would like to apologize to the customer for the miscommunication, and as a result of our Finance Manager not having the acknowledgment of dealer incentive signed, I will agree to the customer's desired resolution and provide the customer a $1,000 gas card from Aloha Petroleum. It is my opinion based on my review of all the documents and internal interviews that we acted in good faith regarding this matter but did not obtain the properly executed documents that clearly describe how the customer benefited from the incentive that was offered. Please have the customer contact me directly at (808) ***-**** or by email at ***** so that I can make arrangements to get him the gas card. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) WE ARE SATISFIED THAT THIS HAS BEEN RESOLVED. I APPRECIATE EVERYONES TIME AND EFFORT AND LOOK FORWARD ON PUTTING THIS BEHIND US ONCE WE RECEIVE THE GAS CARD. MAHALO

11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a used car from Kia Waipahu. They did not provide a spare key for the car nor safety check paperwork. Kia did not provide a spare key for the car I purchased. I told them I believe they should provide at least one spare key. They said that all of their used cars come with only one key. If I want a spare key, Mazda has a dealership right down the street. I called Mazda, the cost of the key is estimated around $200. I called Kia, told them I feel they should cover the cost of the key. The salesman told me his management told him if he wanted to do me the kindness of providing me with a spare key, he would have to pay for it out of his own pocket. I got the sympathy story that the price they sold the car to me for did not allow the salesman to make any kind of commission off of the car. Also, that they price of they car I found in the newspaper and online were mistakes. Bottom line, they would not pay for the cost of making a spare key for me. Secondly, the car did not come with paperwork showing that it had a vehicle safety check inspection, the salesman was unable to locate it. There is a decal on the car, however, which the salesman pointed out, so the actual paperwork is not needed. I cannot take the sticker into a Pass & ID office as valid proof of a vehicle safety check, though.

Desired Settlement: I feel it is dealership's responsibility to provide all necessary paperwork for a vehicle and to provide at least one spare key at dealership cost. I have concerns that the previous owner still possesses a key to his former car, it would be nice if Kia were to cover the cost of re-coding my car. However, I would settle for Aloha Kia covering the cost of a safety check and a spare key.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/31) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** *** Contact Phone: ******** Contact Email: ***** We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint #******** received by the Better Business Bureau. While we never like to have a dis-satisfied customer, the complaint provides me an opportunity to review our processes to be certain we improve in all aspects of handling our customers. When a consumer trades in a used car to our dealership, we always try to obtain all available keys, mats, accessories, books and manuals that are in the possession of the consumer at the time they trade the unit to us. Whatever items we obtain in trade, we offer and provide to the consumer that purchases the vehicle. On the products that we represent, specifically KIA, we cut additional keys if they are missing. On other manufacturer trades, any additional items are negotiated at the time of sale. In this instance, the consumer that traded in the Mazda did not provide us with a second set of keys. This vehicle was specially priced on the internet and that price did not include a second set of keys. Based on the response our salesman provided the consumer we need to provide additional training as he did not properly describe and explain used car policies to the consumer. With all vehicles that are traded in, we keep the actual safety inspection paperwork in our business office and not in the vehicle. We are in the process of converting the registration and title to the customer's name and find that having all documentation in the deal jacket minimizes lost items. We have the actual copy of the safety inspection that matches the sticker currently on the vehicle in file and can provide a copy to the consumer. Our process requires the sale staff to contact the business office so that we can provide them the safety inspection copy that they give to the customer. We apologize for the inconvenience and recognize that our sales staff needs to additional training on this matter also. We definitely have an obligation to provide customers valid safety inspections and the paperwork that goes along with that inspection. Based on the customer's preference, we can either mail the safety inspection copy directly to the address we have on file, or I can send it out to the salesperson to make arrangement to get the safety inspection paperwork to the customer. I can be reached on my direct line ******** and would like the opportunity to speak with the customer about her sales experience and to get instructions on the preference for providing the safety inspection copy. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/11/12) */ Re: Case #********: Aloha Auto Group, Ltd. Dear Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, I do not feel the response I received from Aloha Auto Group is satisfactory. The ***'s explanation that "The vehicle was specially priced on the internet and that price did not include a second set of keys." is so indicative of how our service industry has deteriorated in the last half century. Were you to go into any store to purchase a lock, buy a home, etc., you can be sure a spare key is an unspoken part of the deal. There isn't any "special pricing" in order to receive a second key. I can understand in a person-to-person sale this does not necessarily hold true, but doing business with a dealership, this should not be the case. I would like to say for the record that the sales and service department staff at Kia Waipahu have been really great. I would like to thank **, ****, *****, ****, and **** for all of their patience and kindness. I do not hold any of the negativity that has come with this transaction against them. Aloha Auto Group policies govern and restrict them. I would not ask **** to sacrifice any of his own income to provide me another key to the vehicle I purchased, that should be an obligation fulfilled by the company. Since the initiation of my complaint, the staff at Kia Waipahu has squared away the registration and safety check paperwork that was in question. Aloha Auto Group should look into their business practices as far as trade-ins as well as with how and where they file paperwork. Why would a business advertise an item for sale when their end of the paperwork is incomplete or still pending? The vehicle I purchased did not have its registration or title paperwork in order. The *** also stated that vehicle paperwork is filed at their Nimitz location rather than at the location at which the vehicle is located; this was confirmed with staff working in the Kia Waipahu service department. I can perhaps understand why paperwork is filed separately from the vehicle, but why would its paperwork be filed in an office at a completely different location? Also, even if this is standard company policy to minimize lost paperwork, why wouldn't the paperwork be moved to the same location as the vehicle it belongs with as soon as the decision is made to advertise the vehicle for sale? Again, the response from Aloha Auto Group is not a satisfactory resolution to the issue at hand. Thank you for your time and consideration.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Used 2012 Chrysler 300C from aloha kia airport back in Dec. 2012. After a few month I finally had time to register my car to Chrysler. I then found out that it was not a C model and was a base Chrysler 300 2012. So every paperwork I have has it listed as a Chrysler 300C. Sticker that was on the car was marked as a Chrysler 300c. They even had the emeblem on the back 300c. I did not know the difference between them. I googled a Chrysler 300c and noticed it was a good deal so instead of looking around we started paperwork since it was my dream car. I then called Kia a few time after I learned it was not a C and all they would say is you got a deal it dose not matter and stopped returning Calls. Months passed and no answer still. I was getting ready to give up until I noticed my rims that came with the car and the reason they told me the car was so much are losing the chrome look and are brown on the passanger side. After calling again they said bring the car down. I got a lot so I finally went down with my paperwork and they tried to take it. I would not like them since I believe they would try to change the c off. They then went to say they did not put the rims on and nothing they can do. Plus every person who helped me buy my car is no longer there. So this new guy had know idea what was going on. I very upset that they tricked me into buying a car that I thought was a higher model Chrysler 300c and it was a lower model and now saying it not there fault I should of known the difference between those car. And they will not do anything not even find the receipt for my rims for I can take it under warranty from the factory. Pretty much not doing anything to help me or even try to understand where i'm coming from. Just since im a girl who young. There story keep changing all the time as well. Never letting me talk to a president or someone that can help me for this false adverting. Product_Or_Service: Car Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I would like to have a Chrysler 300 C. That I thought I was getting with 22' rims .My exhaust also redone to the new Chrysler 300 C 2012.Since that is the original car I bought for the price I paid.I would like to have a copy of the receipt for my rims so that I can go ahead and get them fixed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** ****** Contact Phone: (808) ******** Contact Email: *****@*****.com We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint #******** received by the Better Business Bureau. While we never like to have a dis-satisfied customer, the complaint provides me an opportunity to review our processes to be certain we improve in all aspects of handling our customers. We admit to an administrative error listing the vehicle as a 300C on the contract versus a 300. On the attachment provided by the consumer in this complaint, the document clearly shows the vehicle as having 6 cylinders. A Chrysler 300C comes with a HEMI V8 engine. I only point this out to demonstrate that my investigation has determined this was a clerical error. All records associated with this vehicle indicate that our internal correspondence with the lending institution, insurance company, and after-market vendors clearly indicated that the unit purchased by the consumer was a Chrysler 300. The sale price of the vehicle reflected the retail value of a Chrysler 300 Sedan. Kelley Blue Book print outs clearly value the 300C over $9,500 greater than the Chrysler 300 and our investigation into this sale clearly show that the price paid by the consumer was for a Chrysler 300. We are not able to honor the consumer's request to have the unit replaced with a Chrysler 300C. We acquired the vehicle with the rims on the vehicle and do not have a separate receipt for the rims since it was part of the used vehicle at the time of acquisition. I am concerned about the lack of communication that we have provided the consumer. I first received your notice on 9/9 and we have had several conversations with the consumer in an effort to resolve this matter. I will counsel our team on the importance of clear communication with respect to any customer concern. Because of the clerical error in showing this unit as a 300C on the paperwork, we are willing to exercise the "Right to Cancel" as described in the Credit Sale Contract and section 13 of the Hawaii's Buyers Order that have been executed by all parties. We will agree to void the buyers order and credit sale contract subject to the terms provided in section 13 which indicate that the consumer shall pay $.30 per mile for the miles they put on the vehicle from the date of contract. We have made this offer directly to the consumer and are awaiting their reply. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2013/09/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First, there is no attempt to close this matter. I got a phone call the other day from Kia's CEO I believe his first name is *******. NEVER in the years of doing business have I heard a company talk to a customer the way you talk to me. My daughter mentioned how rude you was but I did not believe her could you a manger car dealership. I just could not believe how you can spoke to me! Was you trying to threaten me? Why would you yell? this is NO reason for that!!! I 'm either the same age or even older, your just disrespectful. You ask me about the mileage and I believe we should pay. The part about she should have not driven the car but keep making payment on it. And when I brought up the first time she contacted KIA regarding the issue the only thing you can do is yell at me, shame on you! If Kia wants us to pay for the mileage then come up with something that is fair! We contacted you back in Feb, nothing you would not do anything. Phone records show how many times she called. So what is fair the mileage back in Feb or do you want to offer us anything? .20 a mile from the purchase date till now? That's how grown ups handle things. I never ever want you to call me again! I had *****, I believe he is the general manger, he can call anytime to handle this matter. You *******, there are names for people like you. We have tried to call and leave messages for the former salesman (******) which no longer works for you. I believe clerical error, yes but what he reads and says to your customer must have come from somewhere. The whole part about she should have know the 300C only comes in a V-8 is wrong. We have found 2 300C with V-6. If you want BBB to rest this case then, make a written offer. Offer her something that has meaning to it. KIA should have to pay for all the disrespect and what you put Jessica though. Just because she's young and a girl, you though what? Calling me a trying to verbally threaten me, I am over the mad part but still can't believe a company like kia can or does thing like that. I believe everyone in Hawaii should read how treat your customers. We all went this over with specially my daughter, if it was up to me I would push this all the way to court if possible. Here is what we want all the deposit back, her car payments and .20 mile. or I believe it should be back in Feb but she just wants to move forward and away from ever having to hear and deal with KIA, specially the CEO. If you want me to come down in person that fine, but the CEO can't come by Jessica and me. I will deal with the general manager only. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/10/10) */ As indicated in my previous response,we do not believe that we can reach a mutually agreeable settlement. We have no further offer. We will honor the settlement offered previously by agreeing to the cancellation of the contract subject to the consumer paying $.30 per mile for the miles that the consumer has put on the vehicle. We are once again requesting that this case be closed as we have made a good faith effort to resolve this matter.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complain for delaying payment from Aloha Kia Leeward at 94-081 Farrington Hwy,Waipahu, HI 96797. My husband and I sold our 2010 Ford F150 truck on Sunday 09/15/13 at Aloha Kia Leeward at 94-081 Farrington Hwy., Waipahu, HI 96797. We were told that payment check will be ready Monday 09/16/13 because office is closed on the weekends. When my husband went to pick up the payment check on Monday 09/16/13, but the salesman ***** was not there. So my husband talks to the dealership manager ****. **** promised that the check will be ready Tuesday 09/17/13. My husband cannot go on Tuesday so he asks me to pick up the check instead. I went to Aloha KIA Waipahu on Tuesday at 5:15 pm. ***** the salesman was not there, **** the dealership manager was not there. AND GUESS WHAT!!? They didn't have the check! What are they broke are something. We have called and called and now it's been four (4) days and no payment check. DO NOT SELL YOUR CAR HERE!!!!!!!!THIS DEALERSHIP ******!!!! We feel like we have been totally lied to and taken advantage of and I will take this to every person I can to get it resolved.

Desired Settlement: Give us our payment or give us our truck back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/21) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* **** Contact Phone: ******** Contact Email: ***** We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint in case # ******** regarding the payment for our purchase of a 2009 Ford F150 from the consumer. Our practice at all of our dealerships is to agree to a price that we are willing to pay for a vehicle that we purchase. All documents are then forwarded to our business office and checks are cut once the title is transferred into our name. Our staff is expected to properly inform consumers of the process and it appears based on the concerns shared by the consumer that we did not clearly articulate the process. Our records show that the title was converted to our name on 09/18 and check number ****** was cut on that date. As of this moment, 2pm on 09/21 that check has still not cleared our disbursment account. I will counsel our staff on clearly communicating to the consumer our operating processes. The consumer should have been told up front the timing of receiving their proceeds so they could decide on whether or not they wanted to proceed with the transaction. Please provide the consumer my contact information. I am willing to put a stop payment on check#****** and reissue a replacement check on Monday 9/24 if they do not have the original check. If the consumer prefers to have the truck returned to them in lieu of payment, I will agree to that resolution also. Thank you, ******* **** ***** ********* ******* (808) ******** direct line

8/20/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Led to believe vehicle purchased was all wheel drive, yet it was not. Sold to us at the all wheel price but discovered it was not all wheel drive. Requested an all wheel drive vehicle, fuel economy, and seven passenger seating. Was shown initially a used vehicle meeting these requirements but told they could get us into a new vehicle cheaper. That vehicle they stated was on the showroom floor. We were told that the vehicle would meet our specifications. Upon negotiating a price we purchased the vehicle as it became dark. Took the vehicle home. We were paying cash for the vehicle and paid $600 cash honest money and was to obtain a cashier's check in a day and a half. That AM took a better look at the vehicle and found it did not have the rear seating. Brought the vehicle to the dealer to deliver the final payment check and also discovered it was not all wheel drive. Then the dealer tried to switch us to the first used vehicle for even more money than the newer car. It appears to be a "bait and switch". Decided not purchase either vehicle. Was told that we would get our $600 back the next day and when we arrived at the dealer they told us they would call us when the check was ready. At the end of that day we called to see where our check was and they told us that it was at Corporate and it might be a few days to obtain. We believe their practices are unethical and unprofessional and still have not received our down payment. When my wife went back to obtain the check they would not even acknowledge her presence and kept us waiting for a very long period of time throughout the ordeal.

Desired Settlement: The vehicle dealership should look at their practices and discipline/discharge ***** as a start and then look in to their service practices. I would recommend an apology at minimum and a letter in the local media demonstrating how they have corrected the discrepancies.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/29) */ We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the complaint received from Mr. ****** regarding his sales experience at our Leeward dealership. While I never like to hear of a dis-satisfied customer, the complaint provides me an opportunity to address the specific issues that have been raised and provide training and counseling for our staff Our records indicate that we had a sales transaction with a ****** *. ****** at the same address of the complainant. Our records do not indicate a sales transaction with a Mr. ***** ****** so for purposes of this response, the information provided relates to ****** *. ******. After speaking with the staff involved with the sales transaction we agree with the following points made by the complainant. * They, "Requested an all wheel drive vehicle, fuel economy, and seven passenger seating. Was shown initially a used vehicle meeting these requirements but told they could get us into a new vehicle cheaper." * The customer was shown a new vehicle on the showroom floor that was cheaper and was the vehicle they ultimately purchased. * The customer made a $600.00 down payment and agreed to bring in a cashier's check for the remainder and took the vehicle home. * The deal was rescinded (cancelled) and we returned the customers down payment and gave them back their cashier's check for the remaining balance. We dispute the following implications presented in the complaint: * We do not believe our practices are unethical. The only way a new vehicle can be cheaper than a used vehicle is if it has less options or features than the Used vehicle. The New vehicle on the showroom floor was a 5 passenger front wheel drive LX model. All of the paperwork and pricing labels on the vehicle reflected the proper information. We go through a very specific process in refunding any dollars collected and we only have one business office for all of our stores statewide. Our staff should not have implied to the consumer that they would receive their $600 back the following day. A check request needs to be prepared and routed with all of the documentation agreeing to the cancelation of the binding contract prior to the check being cut. All of the written documentation that we have on file indicates that we have a valid sale on a vehicle that was properly disclosed on paper. In speaking with the salesperson and the sales management team I am convinced that the verbal statements made by our staff may have been confusing to the point where the consumer assumed they were purchasing a 7 passenger all-wheel drive model. While it makes no logical sense how that implication can be made, as soon as our executive team became aware of the confusion, we did the right thing and agreed to mutually rescind the transaction. Customer Satisfaction is the key to success in any business and there is no way for a consumer to be happy in a 5 passenger Front Wheel Drive vehicle if they truly wanted a 7 passenger All Wheel Drive. For our company to be successful we always review our team and sales practices to be certain they meet the internal standards that we have set. Based on my review of this matter, we have significant room to improve in clearly demonstrating and reviewing all the features on a vehicle prior to delivery. I would like to apologize to the consumer for their sales experience and make them aware that we have made changes to our sales management team at our Leeward store. We do not address personnel issues with the local media and can't agree to their desired resolution relating to local media notification. While I understand that we will not be able to regain the confidence and consideration of this consumer in their future vehicle purchase and service needs, it is our goal that no other sales customer experience the issues raised in this complaint. Sinccerely, ******* **** Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 16, 2013/08/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, we finally received the check and deposited it into our account on 9 August. Per their check it states on the bottom that it is good for 90-days on the check (issued July 26). So why would a business place a stop order on the check unless they had some devious intentions such as Aloha Kia. Secondly, in previous response the dealership representative states he conducted a thorough investigation and found no wrong doing. As an professional investigator and special deputy, retired, I have conducted many investigations and have current certifications in the industry where I am employed to do such. To properly conduct an investigation into the matters at hand the representative has not conducted a proper investigation. The reason is simple. I was never contacted ( I am the other party in this matter) and if I were contacted the representative would have found that I have power of attorney for my wife who is active duty in the USN. I am not a third party I am the primary and acting on her behalf, in a fashion that is legal. So once again, the business is outright lying stating they conducted a proper investigation and their intentions are obvious by trying to stop a check to cause hardship to a customer, purposely. Furthermore, my wife and I are quite embedded in the community and we continued to look for a vehicle meeting our needs. We found that the Honda dealership was a welcome sight. We were treated with respect, we did not have to wait for services and support, we were listened to and found our dream vehicle. In addition, being a citizen of the United States of America and working within the community we have advised our co-workers, friends, and family members of the illegal activities of "bait and switch" that the Kia Dealership tried to conduct but were thwarted because of our intelligence and experience. Shame on the Kia Dealership and their management for not conducting a proper investigation, for not dismissing the manager, and a continued proof in their words and lies which we have exposed in our correspondence. The representative does not have the right for dismissal until they take appropriate action, which they have not and continue to lie and not address the activity, not becoming of an honorable and trusted business within the community. And until such a time, I shall not withdraw, nor release. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 14, 2013/08/16) */ From: **** **** ( Sent: Wednesday, August 07, 2013 8:17 PM To: **** ******** Subject: Case #******** Mr. ********, Check #104567 made out to ****** *. ****** has not cleared our bank as of today and I requested a stop payment on that check. I will reissue a check to ****** *. ****** tomorrow and mail it to the address we have on file which also matches the address of the third party complainant. I am requesting an administrative closure of this case for the following reasons: 1. The third party complainant did not transact any business with us. 2. A person with the same last name as the complainant purchased a vehicle from us, was dissatisfied with the purchase and we unwound the transaction placing both parties in their original position prior to the execution of the sales contract. 3. In good faith we refunded all monies on the sale, however we recognize that the refund check has not been cashed as of this date, have placed a stop payment on that check and are reissuing a replacement check. If you have any questions, please contact me directly. ******* **** Aloha Auto Group ***** ********* ******* ***********.com