Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Central Body & Paint

Phone: (808) 488-0045 Fax: (808) 487-6805 View Additional Phone Numbers 98-021 Kamehameha Hwy Ste 25, Aiea, HI 96701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers auto body repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Central Body & Paint meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Central Body & Paint
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 31, 1982 Business started: 07/07/1971 in HI Business started locally: 07/07/1971 Business incorporated 09/30/1996 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20525654-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is MR887.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
The number is RD3272.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rory C. Chandler, President Mr. Stanley H. Murai, Corp Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rory C. Chandler, President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Lerpat, Inc.
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 98-021 Kamehameha Hwy Ste 25

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 488-0045 (808) 306-8870


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 27, 2016 I was involved in a motor vehicle accident. Through ***** *********, my car was towed to your shop for repairs. My taillight indicators were stuck in an on position and it was determined by the ***** representative within your shop that my brake peddle was damaged. After discussing the issues with him, I was told that it would be a quick fix and all that needed to be done was resetting the peddle. I asked that the car be made "road safe" again and trusted that this was done. After a couple of weeks being lain up due to injuries sustained in the accident I had no idea that something was off with my car. On the way to work on a Monday morning, my brakes began smoking, enough to the point that my hubcaps melted. I was in the process of having catastrophic brake failure and returned my car to your shop. I was told by a woman in the front office that your shop did what the ***** agent said to do (I believe his name is Justin), nothing else. So when I asked why when the brake peddle had to be RESET in order to function properly, why weren't my brakes checked to make sure they were in proper working order? I was told that he defers to the mechanics in your shop. So I would like to know why the logic wasn't there that there was enough damage to a brake peddle that it needed to be reset that it wasn't a thought to make sure that the reset was calibrated to the brakes themselves. If I had been in another accident and killed someone, who would be held liable? I was then told by one of your mechanics that my brakes lines were the problem...that when he bleed the calipers the breaks released. So I took that knowledge and went to another mechanic. We changed my rotors, pads, calipers, and fluid and everything is in proper working order again. The lines weren't changed. However, what we did need to do was release the brake peddle. Once everything was set and calibrated again, the brake peddle itself was too tight and had to be released in order to be used properly.

Desired Settlement: I would like an explanation in writing from your company why this was handled the way it was. I understand that since I paid for the repairs out of pocket that money is lost so I'm going to have to deal with that. Would I like is to understand the reasoning of your mechanic in this situation to repair a brake peddle, but not double check to make sure it's calibrated to the brakes the way it should be. I get a brake inspection when I get my oil changed, why did this not happen here?

Business Response:

On march 3, 2016 the vehicle for ****** ******* was towed into Central Body & Paint. The repairs for her **** ******* accent was being processed through ***** *** (non-drive) program. ****** ***** was the adjuster handling the file which at the time was under the deductible. One concern ****** had was her brake lights not going off which would drain her battery. ****** had Central Body's technician diagnosis the situation. The technician ruled that the brake switch was not engaging enough when the brake pedal was released. The fix would be to adjust the tab that the rubber stopper is sitting on to engage the brake light switch and the lights would then turn off.

The claim for the ******* was a hit in the rear bumper, the last vehicle of a four car accident. Based on our experience and not having any impact to the wheels or fresh undercarriage damages the brake lights was the focal point. Central Body had no reason to remove the wheels to inspect the brakes or even adjust the rod going into the master cylinder. If the brakes could have been affected due to the collision then ***** must be involved.  As far as the brake line replacement recommendation to each caliper after the lock up we performed some basic test. He released the bleeder screw at each caliper to see if the brakes would release from the rotor and they did. That indicates the problem is not in the caliper but could be in the lines going to the caliper because of restriction internally. The caliper lines also have rubber that led him to believe there may be a chance or softening and breakdown.

Central Body & Paint is in the repair business and value our customers. Repairing vehicles right and on time is very important.



Rory C*******

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Central Body & Paint
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)