Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Automotive Concepts

Phone: (808) 841-4589 2001 Kahai Street #C, Honolulu, HI 96819

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Automotive Concepts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Automotive Concepts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 08, 2009 Business started: 12/31/2008 Business started locally: 12/31/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W05628270-01.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. George Dumlao, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Dumlao, Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
George Dumlao
Industry Tips

Additional Locations

  • 2001 Kahai Street #C

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 841-4589


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off my vehicle to get it painted at Automotive Concepts. Company damaged something worth $800, and now refuses to pay or finish the paint job. We started with Automotive Concepts in June 2014 to receive body work and additional parts before the actual paint job we wanted completed. We paid $600 in cash for the body work and another $770 in cash for a new bumper and hood. On to the paint job, Automotive Concepts had quoted me $2600 to paint my vehicle. Company had contacted us to bring in the vehicle on Saturday, July 19th, 2014 to start processing the paint job. We placed $600 in cash as a deposit. On Wednesday, July 23rd, the company had contacted us stating that one of the vehicle's bags (aftermarket item) was damaged, paint job still wasn't started. We went to the shop to check the damages done on the vehicle and damages looked as if it was done through mishandling. Our main point of contact was **** ********* and ****** ******, both of which were giving us run arounds and different stories. First story was they raised the car, moved it, and the air bags blew. Second story was they just moved the car, it stood on jacks, and then the air bags blew at night. We spoke to the manager ****** ****** to see if there was anything we could negotiate because the vehicle was in their care during the time of damages. The cost to replace the damaged item is roughly $850. ****** did not want to take fault for anything and started to threaten us. He stated that he has cameras to prove that no one was near the car when the accident occurred, we requested to see camera footage yesterday, but it apparently got deleted. On Friday, July 25th, we received no phone calls, but a text message sent by **** *********, stating that they don't want to do the paint anymore. We received several text messages thereafter stating that we are liars and commented our religious background. All in all, we basically brought in our vehicle for a week, have them damage a bag, and then have them return the vehicle to us with no paint job completed. We are now stuck with a vehicle that had been sanded down (we paid almost $2000 for body work and additional parts for paint), an $850 part damaged, and a vehicle that is unpainted. We are very disappointed to know that we're being held accountable for something that we didn't do and we received an unfinished vehicle that we placed a deposit of $600 for. The bigger picture is, we dropped off a vehicle only to get it damaged and now we're suffering for their mistakes. If that was the case, we would have brought our business elsewhere. The owner ****** ****** and associate **** ********* are very unprofessional when it comes to customer service. We requested for our receipts/invoices, but they claim to have nothing. We also requested for our deposit back, but they don't have the amount, so we have to wait until they have the $600 ready to pick up our vehicle. We hope to get this resolved as efficient as possible. We will never do business with Automotive Concepts again!

Desired Settlement: Automotive Concepts cost me almost $2000 ($600 for body work, $420 for new hood, $350 for new bumper, and $600 deposit for paint) to prepare for a paint job (worth $2600) that wasn't even completed nor started. In the time that they held my vehicle, a part was damaged due to mishandling by one of the associates. Automotive Concepts refuses to complete the paint job I placed a deposit for due to the damage. I would like them to be held accountable for the item that was damaged (estimating roughly $850). If they could pay for the replacement of that item. I gave the company a lot of money for them to just return the vehicle unfinished and damaged. Automotive Concepts had my vehicle under their care for a week and until today, paint was not started.

Business Response: We can go on and on with what was said by people involved in the situation and not come to a close. I wanted to meet with the registered owner to settle this and is still willing to work this out.
$850.00 was the amount asking and because the airbag was sold in 2009 according to the serial number from ******** ***** there is a wear and tear period that any of the bags could pop at any time.
I feel the shop is not responsible for wear and tear items and is willing to honor the amount at $450.00 in good faith of the situation.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
What's done is done and I still feel things could've been handled differently during the time the company had possession of my vehicle. I still stand by what I've said. I am glad that the company is finally agreeing to partially compensate, what I've wanted even before everything turned out this way. I agree with $450.00, but I refuse to meet physically to receive the payment. I would like to continue to handle things through the BBB and receive the payment through mail.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Automotive Concepts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)