Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Royal Aloha Vacation Club

Phone: (808) 847-8050 Fax: (808) 841-5467 View Additional Phone Numbers 1505 Dillingham Blvd, #212, Honolulu, HI 96817 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.ravc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a timeshare owners association.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Royal Aloha Vacation Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Royal Aloha Vacation Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Aloha Vacation Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 28, 1985 Business started: 10/23/1987 Business started locally: 10/23/1987 Business incorporated 09/23/1977 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20312192-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RB14425.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
David DiBerardino, CEO/President Ms. Lisa Kalakau, Director of members relations Mr. Stephen Lin, Exc.Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: David DiBerardino, CEO/President
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Kalakau, Director of members relations
Business Category

Associations Vacation Time Share Timeshare Companies

Alternate Business Names
www.ravc.com

Additional Locations

  • 1505 Dillingham Blvd, #212

    Honolulu, HI 96817

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are not allowed to use vacation weeks that are already paid for and booked. In 2013 we booked a vacation in Tahoe for 2014 and one in Hawaii for 2015, using 2 of the 3 weeks that we've already paid for. Over the many years that we've had a membership with RAVC, we've had ongoing problems with getting weeks booked and have lost weeks (meaning we've lost considerable money, not to mention time spent trying to book weeks), we decided that we would not continue our membership with RAVC and did not pay the Jan 2014-Dec 2014 dues. We now find out that because our dues are not current, we will not be allowed to use our booked vacations even though THEY ARE ALREADY PAID FOR! How can any business do this? When I called RAVC, a representative said that this is in the bylaws. Whether it is or not, how can it possibly be legal? If vacations are paid for and if they are booked during active membership, then they MUST be able to be used! If not, then this is a totally unethical business and one which lacks in basic customer service and common courtesy.

Desired Settlement: Let us use the two vacations that were already booked or return all of the maintenance fees for the weeks that we have been unable to use.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/15) */ From: **** ******* (***********@ravc.com) Sent: Thursday, May 15, 2014 1:32 PM To: **** ***** Subject: Case #********: *** ******* We are in receipt of your letter regarding the above stated owner of the Royal Aloha Vacation Club. A membership has an annual maintenance fee which must be paid to remain current and active. If the dues are not paid on an annual basis, you are unable to utilize your membership. This is a maintenance fee, not payment for the weeks. The membership incurs an annual anniversary time credit, which can accrue for a three year period - however, the maintenance fee must be current at all times to use these credits. Ms. ******* does hold reservations for Lake Tahoe in September, 2014 and Kona in September, 2015 - she must be current on her maintenance fees to use these reservations. This is per our By-Laws, Article V, Section 5.01. We have tried to work with this owner as recently as April 21, 2014. Unfortunately, she does need to be current to utilize her membership. Please contact me should you have additional questions. **** ******* Director of Resort Operations & Member Experience Royal Aloha Vacation Club 1505 Dillingham Blvd., Suite 212 Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 847-8050 x113 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Whether you call it a "maintenance fee" or "dues", you are in essence paying for a week of use each time you pay it, and for RAVC to say otherwise is ludicrous. Paying that fee is exactly how one accrues the use of a week at a resort. If the fee is paid and the week is NOT used, then the maintenance fee has also NOT been used by that owner. My only request is that I am allowed to use the weeks that I have accrued, that I have already booked AND WHICH HAVE ALREADY HAD THE MAINTENANCE FEE PAID. I agree that there is absolutely no reason to receive a week for which one has NOT paid, but I HAVE already paid and should be allowed to use the weeks for which I have already paid! Furthermore, my contention is that since the By-laws prevent an owner from using weeks that have already been paid for, those By-laws should be illegal. Is there no entity that makes sure a business uses ethical business practices? I sincerely appreciate having the BBB look into this matter and if there is another agency that I should contact regarding this, I would be most happy to know its name. Thank you, Liz I


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Royal Aloha Vacation Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)