Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 871-8844 Fax: (808) 871-6971 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Kahului Airport Rd Hngr 105, Kahului, HI 96732 http://www.bluehawaiian.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Helicopter Tours & Charters.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Hawaiian Helicopters meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Hawaiian Helicopters include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Hawaiian Helicopters
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 29, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 01/30/1986 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20376020-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gregg Lundberg, President & CEO
Business Category

Aircraft Charter, Rental & Lease

Alternate Business Names
Helicopter Consultants of Maui, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1 Kahului Airport Rd Hngr 105

    Kahului, HI 96732

  • 99 Kaulele Pl

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 831-8800

  • PO Box 384473

    Waikoloa, HI 96738

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Denied use of personal video equipment (cameras) on a once-in-a-lifetime trip with family that came from North Carolina, Las Vegas, Hawaii and Japan because company stated they had four cameras aboard the aircraft that we could purchase a video from after the flight. After the flight, was instructed to call back a few hours later for video; when called, was told the company didn't have any video of our flight...but had it for all the other flights that day. When I they continue to search and keep me abreast...NEVER received a call, message or email regarding the incident. I repeatedly called the office and was told the station manager would call...this never happened. Every time I called, was pushed off and told someone would contact me; it never happened.

Desired Settlement: Explain why this occurred only to our flight Explain why no contact after numerous calls to staff/supervisors Change brochures to reflect possibility of video errors Reduced price based on services not delivered Apology for an event that will never have my family gathered at the same time again Why was there tremendous effort to secure monies (calls/emails) prior to event but no contact after monies paid and complaint surfaced

Business Response:

In response to personal video equipment or cameras not being allowed on board, these types of equipment are permitted. As a courtesy to all guests, we do not allow tablet PCs for use as photographic devices as they can impede the view of other passengers. Smartphones may be used as a camera, but must be in airplane mode during the flight.  We verified that the guests did have Smartphones with them for picture taking and video.

 
We deeply apologize that there was a problem with the inflight video and we would like to send a complimentary ‘******* ** ******’ DVD featuring the best Hawaiian music of today and the finest aerial highlights of each of the major Hawaiian islands. Also, if their travels bring them again to our beautiful Hawaiian Islands we would like to extend our local resident’s rate of 25% off a tour of their choice at any of our five locations in the State of Hawaii.  They may contact me directly to assist with reservations at ************.
 
A voicemail was left for Mr. ******* by our Assistant Base Manager of Oahu Operations however they did not receive a return call.  Our Base Manager then reached out via email at which point they did connect and he was able to apologize for any inconvenience.
 
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you have any questions.
 
Sincerely,
Nadine N*****
 


 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Hawaiian Helicopters
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)