Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AMV Air Conditioning Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 845-3149 Fax: (808) 847-3148 2290 Alahao PL Unit 402, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://www.amvair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales/installation/service of commercial and residential air.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AMV Air Conditioning Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AMV Air Conditioning Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AMV Air Conditioning Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 17, 1997 Business started: 02/04/1997 Business started locally: 02/04/1997 Business incorporated 02/04/1997 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20223968-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C21463.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C20975.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aldrin M. Villahermosa, President Kevin Kabei Ryan Miguel Ami Villahermosa Ms. Amibelle D. Villahermosa, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aldrin M. Villahermosa, President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts

Industry Tips
CONTRACT

Additional Locations

  • 2290 Alahao PL Unit 402

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • PO Box 17828

    Honolulu, HI 96817

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a service call scheduled for Aug 11 from 10-11 am. At 11:34 am a tech had not yet arrived. I did not receive any type of call advising me of the delay. I called the office and spoke with Ammy who advised that the techs were held up on a service call in Pearl City and she asked if they could push my service call to 2p-4p. I reluctantly agreed, stressing that the change was ok as long as a technician definitely arrived today. At 3:12 pm I called to check on the status of the technician. No one answered and I left a message. At 3:47 pm I placed yet another call. Yet again, I did not get an answer and I left another message. It is now 10:24 at night, I have yet to receive a phone call, and a technician has yet to show up at my home. To say that I am disappointed in the level of service I have received is an understatement. I HAVE WAITED A WEEK FOR THIS SERVICE CALL. I AM 6 MONTHS PREGNANT, ASHTMATIC, AND I HAVE TWO SMALL CHILDREN. We have been sitting in a 90 degree house day in and day out awaiting a service call. My son has a rash all over his body due to the level of heat he has had to suffer through each day. Opening the windows and running the ceiling fans and standing fans have done little to provide relief from this heat. I even kept my daughter home from preschool today to ensure that I was home and did not miss the arrival of the technician. The level of unprofessionalism exhibited by this company is absolutely ridiculous. There is absolutely no customer service. I have never dealt with a company who did not at least alert the customer when they were unable to perform as scheduled. Please be aware that I am sending this complaint not only to you, but also to the Better Business Bureau, and any other place I can lodge a complaint for poor service. No one else should have to suffer as my family has and I will make sure that I can warn as many people as possible.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like a functioning air conditioning unit. I would like for the company to come out within a reasonable time frame as scheduled and do the repair.

Business Response:

Sharilynn H*****

******* ***** ******

Waianae, Hawaii 96792

Daytime#  502-********

email:  mrsh***** 

 

I sincerely apologize to Mrs. H***** that my wife Ami failed to notify Mrs. H***** that our technician could not fit in this trouble call late in the afternoon.

When our trouble calls are scheduled we have no idea what each tech is up against, oftentimes the AC system can be repaired with minor parts we stock in our service vehicles, it takes extra time to do the repair, but in some cases we need to order parts and reschedule for another day.

Apparently from the looks of things it was one of those days where that service tech assigned to this tenant, Mrs. H***** just ran out of day light hours on the afternoon of 8.11.2015.

AMV contacted her the following morning on 8.12.2015 and sent a service technician first thing in the morning.

 

My wife Ami receives the field tech's invoices the following morning for processing.

On 8.13.2015,  the service tech recommended that the coil and TXV in the air handling unit in the attic be removed and replaced.  

Ami contacted the Rheem AC Equipment local supplier, their sales person Brad Macloves told Ami that it was in stock and will be placed in will call.

We have a a copy of the email on file between Ami and Brad.

 

Ami schedules the repair work on 8.26.2015 for two men, when our techs arrived at the supply house that morning to pickup the coil and TXV, it was nowhere to be found.

 

Ami was then told that it would be in stock in 2-3 weeks, so an order was placed for this job.

 

I would like to remind the General Public that during extreme weather conditions like the “El Nino” summer we are experiencing right this minute, issues with supply and demand is to be expected.

 

Its ok to vent out your frustration but without knowing the facts, your compliant to the BBB of Hawaii has no merit.  

You can't judge a service provider level of professionalism from a one time missed appointment with you.

Your complaint to the BBB would be justified had we moved on to our preset schedule the following morning and never bothered to contact you at all.

 

I am demanding a formal apology from you, Sharilynn H***** for filing this complaint.

If I don’t receive a public apology from you, I will contact the homeowner Leila Garcia in Korea as well as the Property Manager Eric Pagan.

 

Leila Garcia has signed AMV's repair proposal and parts are on the way to our Rheem supply house.

 

Without an apology, AMV will contact Eric Pagan and ask that he contacts another HVAC company to perform this repair work.

 

Respectfully,

Aldrin *. V***********, President and RME

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10762916

I am rejecting this response because:

Please be advised that this message reflects my sole thoughts and opinions and does not necessarily reflect those of Liela Garcia or Eric Pagan, nor should it have any bearing on any agreement that you have entered into with either party. 

First, I appreciate the apology issued by Mr. V***********.  This is the first time that any apology has been given or any remorse has been shown.

As a woman, runner of my household, and customer, I am deeply concerned about the customer service and actual service provided by this company. In this current state of affairs, where my family remains in an unhealthily stifling house and Mr. V*********** loses business as a result of his company’s unprofessionalism, no one wins.   

The events prompting this complaint are as follows:

            It was not until I initiated a call on Aug. 11, after the service window had expired, that I was informed that the technician would arrive in the afternoon rather than in the morning as planned.  When the technician failed to arrive on the 11th at all, I called AMV again on Aug. 12. I was then informed that a technician would be out on that day.

            Two AMV technicians did arrive on Aug. 12 to service the unit. The technicians were very polite and seemed to be knowledgeable of the HVAC system. They advised that parts would be needed to complete the repair.  Mr. V*********** advises that AMV began searching for the part the “next morning”.  When the company was contacted on Aug. 13, it was advised that the work orders from the previous day had not yet been submitted so there was no update at that time. 

            It was not until Aug. 18 – six days later - that it was determined that the part was at the supplier.  Service was then scheduled for August 28, another ten days out with the possibility of a sooner call if a slot became available. 

            Instead, I received a call on Aug. 26 that a technician would be out on that afternoon.  I then received a call an hour later stating that the technician went to pick up the part and they could not locate it in the warehouse. I was advised that I would be contacted with the status of the part.

            On August 31 - five days after the Aug. 26 mishap and three days after the project was supposed to be completed - I called AMV for an update of the part because I had not been contacted. No one answered, so I left a message.  I received a return call that afternoon that it was on a container on the mainland and should arrive in two-three weeks; however they were unable to tell me when that two- to three-week time frame began.  Did they expect it two-three weeks from the date of my additional follow-up call (Aug. 31)?  Or was it two-three weeks from Aug. 26 when they knew they could not find the part that they were supposed to have either on Aug. 26 or on Aug. 28? 

            I inquired about expediting the part. Ami advised that she was attempting to reach a supervisor to see about having the part flown over and that she would call me the following afternoon, Sept. 1.  As of today, Sept. 8, I have not received a return call from AMV.

            Having worked for a very reputable Fortune 500 service company in the mainland for many years, I am very aware of the challenges that can arise when completing a service call. My issue is with the customer service and lack of communication.  When your technician is not going to show up, it is not simply a common courtesy but a required business practice to call the customer and advise them of this. If you are rescheduling for another day, the customer should be contacted and advised so that they can make sure that they are available.

            As the customer, I should never have to assume from what schedule the company is working. It should not be left to assumptions that because the technician did not arrive the day before as scheduled that they would arrive the next day.  If there is a part involved, and additional service calls need to be scheduled, a customer expects to be updated on the status of the part and on the follow up service.  If you are told you will be called back, you expect that call.  Moreover, I provided ample time to receive such return calls.

            I informed Mr. V*********** of my pregnancy, my asthma, and my son’s heat rash that he developed due to the extreme heat.  AMV was on notice that this particular service call was a matter of health, not simply of convenience or comfort. His response that he is “not a female so [he] does not know what pregnant women feel emotionally, but as long as there is no fire in your home [he] doesn’t see it being a problem having to be rescheduled the following day” is both childish and rude.  Moreover, rather than respectfully responding to an issue, he completely dismissed a customer in a condescending manner.  This is exemplary of the customer service I received throughout this transaction. 

            As another example, I advised Mr. V*********** of my intent to open a complaint with the BBB prior to opening this complaint. Rather than addressing my issue, he told me that he would open a complaint against me in response.  He stated that he “sincerely welcome[ed my] complaint to the BBB of Hawaii.  [He would] just copy and paste [his] reply via email and send it to the BBB of Hawaii so [his] reply [could] go public.”  To highlight his point, he added:  “As a matter of fact I'm copying the BBB of Hawaii so they can open a case for you right now.” Finally, he threatened to not complete the much-needed service at all absent an apology from me for addressing my concerns with the BBB. 

            As a customer, I should be able to express any concerns that I have about the service (or lack thereof) that I received without suffering the demeaning, unprofessional comments I received via email and as a result of this complaint from AMV.  As a business owner, Mr. V*********** should receive constructive criticism and make the necessary changes, not threaten to “report” me or to not complete the service.  I appreciate the proper use of this forum as a place to alert potential new customers to the type of service they may receive.    


Sincerely,

Sharilynn H*****

1/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****, the ******** telephone consumer information and referral service, recommended that we write a letter to the owner of AMV Air Conditioning to request a refund for an August 2014 service call that did not resolve the problem we had with our air conditioning system. After email exchanges with the AMV estimator requesting answers to some questions and concerns regarding service issues, we have not been able to get any response back from the company. We have emailed several times and left a message at the office to no avail. We also sent a certified letter to the owner of AMV, which was recently returned to us as unclaimed.

Desired Settlement: Since we did not receive any response from AMV, we decided to do business with another air conditioning company. We are requesting a refund of $463.35 for the service call that did not resolve the problem we had with our air conditioning system.

Business Response:

From: *** ************ *********************
Sent: Wednesday, January 21, 2015 8:23 PM
To: **** ********
Subject: ********

 

Good Evening,

 

I talked to *** ******* daughter, ****** ********* and have settled the complaint.

 

I have sent them a refund check, in the amount of $463.35 ****** * ****.

 

Respectfully,

*** ** ************

Vice - President

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

We have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to us.   We have not received the check yet and will notify you when check is cashed and cleared.

Sincerely,

******* * **** *****

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service