Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aire Conditioner Shoppe

Phone: (808) 676-1455 Fax: (808) 677-1609 View Additional Phone Numbers 94-529 Ukee St Ste 105, Waipahu, HI 96797 http://www.aireconditionershoppe.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers air conditioning systems, repair and service, excluding central air. we specialize in Fujitsu and Mitsubishi split ductless systems and sell and install window and wall a/c's


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aire Conditioner Shoppe meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aire Conditioner Shoppe include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Aire Conditioner Shoppe
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 11, 1988 Business started: 10/28/1981 in HI Business started locally: 10/28/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C-31915.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W00241440-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C-19622.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Neil Wiedemann, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Neil Wiedemann, Owner
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units

Products & Services

Aire Conditioner Shoppe sells the following brand(s): Mitsubishi

Aire Conditioner Shoppe offers the following product(s): Fujitsu

Method(s) of Payment
visa, mastercard, and discover
Alternate Business Names
Wiedemann, Neil
Industry Tips
CONTRACT

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aire Conditioner Shoppe has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 94-529 Ukee St Ste 105

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 676-1455

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted business on Saturday (10.17) to notify them that there appears to be a leak either from the installed split air conditioning unit or through the hole in the wall created by the company to install piping for the unit as evidenced by the apparent water damage on my interior wall and interior shelving and pictures located under the installed unit. The company individual "Neil" that I spoke with was apologetic and said the company would do their best to make arrangements to have an individual sent out to our home either this Tuesday (10.20) or Thursday (10.22). My spouse received a phone call this morning (10.19) indicating that due to scheduling the company could only send out a representative today around 230-3 pm or perhaps next week. I voiced my strong objections for the "take it or leave it" attitude for today as both my spouse and are employed with children in daycare. He made mention to my spouse that I said she was not working which is obviously not accurate - I believe they may have been looking at our old profile as my spouse was out on maternity leave when the unit was installed. I can understand that scheduling changes do arise but I do not understand how from Saturday afternoon to today (2 days) we went from Tuesday or Thursday to this afternoon or "may be" next week. I pressed for a specific date next week and the response that I got was in part "that's life" and "my crew is in another area" and said he would only deal with my wife and hung up. It has been 4 hours since that conversation and my spouse has not yet received any contact from "Neil". I would like to have my issue resolved as soon as possible to prevent further water damage to my home's interior. Not sure what alternatives legal or otherwise I may have aside from contacting a different company to handle my situation on a more professional and serious level.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting for a mutually acceptable specific date and an approximate time to have my issue resolved in a timely manner. I strongly do not wish to deal with "Neil" as I am extremely not satisfied in the manner I was treated with - "that's life" is not an acceptable explanation of why a scheduling change was warranted any why a specific date could not be offered.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

From: ******** **** ******************@gmail.com]
Sent: Tuesday, October 20, 2015 6:53 AM
To: BBB Complaints <*************@hawaii.bbb.org>
Subject: RE: You have a New Message from BBB of Hawaii Regarding Complaint #********

 

My wife was contacted yesterday afternoon by a repairman from the company who came to our home and repaired the leak in our ac. 

 

Business Response: I do not know why he made a complaint it was already fixed on Monday the 19th

9/18/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Aire Conditioner Shoppe in stalled July 20011. Gas leaking since from hole in the evaporator. He will not fix it. The aire Conditioner Shoppe installed the system in my home office July 2011. The system has leaked since. He charged it 3 time that I'm aware adding some leak blocker of some kind.. He has constantly refused to give me any paper work when his techs come out except for the maintenance and cleanings that I pay for. ******* Split Type Model * ******** *** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the entire system replaced. The cost of power and highly worn and stressed the system from running (successive cycling)so many years low on gas has been a strain on the system and will shortened the life of the system. At this point I do not feel that just replacing the indoor unit will repair the system to last as I bought it.

Business Response: I TOLD ***** THAT WE HAD TO ORDER A COIL THAT WAS LEAKING IT CAME IN ON 9/2/2014 I CALLED ***** AND HE HUNG UP ON ME THE WEEK BEFORE THIS HE YELLED AND SAID THIS IS WHAT HE WANTED A NEW A/C THIS IS NOT HOW IT WORKS THE DAY I CALLED HIM WE WERE COMING OVER TO HIS HOUSE TO FIX THE PROBLEM HE MUST PAY FOR THE LABOR BUT THE COIL IS WARRANTED I STILL WILL FIX THE PROBLEM THE A/C IS OVER THREE YEARS OLD. IF HE HAS A PROBLEM WITH THE A/C HE CAN ALSO CALL ******* BUT AS I SAID IT IS OVER THREE YEARS OLD WHAT DOES HE WANT REALLY MAHALO **** OWNER A/C SHOPPE

Business Response: well I am sorry he feels this way but we had to find the problem in the a/c we went to his home a coulple of times and we did not charge him anything for the service even though it was past one year which after one year you pay for the labor plus materials we took care of this customer to the fullest he will get a new a/c but if he wants to get if fixed since we know were the problem is now we will do this if not good luck as far as my e-mail address my companys e-mail is on all ads plus the yellow pages I can only help so much as far as the hang up maybe it was by accident and I still will willing to fix the a/c but he will pay for labor plus materials the reason he did not get any paper work when we went to his home was because we charged it up plus one time we added stop leak in it to find the problem then we found were the leak was in the coil I ordered it and called him the day it came in lets get this fixed OK

Consumer Response: Since I have been unable to get a time that Aire Conditioner Shoppe could do this repair. Another company was able to schedule this repair the of the system. Sorry you were not able to. So Aire Conditioner Shoppe will not be doing the repair.

12/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Aire Conditioner Shoppe identified a problem with my A/C system a year ago. Now refusing to use warranty to fix problem I had routine maintenance done on my system on December 14, 2012 by The Aire Conditioner Shoppe. I had at that time mentioned to the lead technician that the bedroom A/C units did not seem to get cold as fast as before. The lead technician checked the refrigerant pressure (part of their routine maintenance checks) and informed me that the pressure was a little low. He contacted the owner of the company, who instructed him to just add more refrigerant. When I inquired about the cause of the low pressure, the lead technician told me that the unit was probably shipped like that from the manufacturer. I have since learned in speaking to others familiar with cooling systems, that manufacturers do not ship units prefilled with refrigerant gas. I had *****'s *** ************ **** come to do routine maintenance on my units on December 12, 2013 since I was not satisfied with the method The Aire Conditioner Shoppe handled my units last year. I again mentioned to the lead technician about the bedroom units not getting cold fast and that last year The Aire Conditioner Shoppe said the refrigerant pressure was low. *****'s technicians checked the system and found that again the pressure was low. These technicians stated that the system either had a leak or needed the expansion valve replaced. Since my units are under warranty, ***** suggested going back to The Aire Conditioner Shoppe to have them repair the unit under warranty. On December 12, 2013, I called the owner of The Aire Conditioner Shop. I explained that I had another air conditioning shop come out to perform routine maintenance on my units. The owner then proceeded to yell at me, that since I had another company come and touch my units, I had voided my warranty and his company would be not touching any of my units. He stated that he does not know what that company had done to my A/C units and he would not help me in any way. This low refrigerant pressure was a problem initially identified by The Aire Conditioner Shoppe back in December 2012. They opted not to troubleshoot my system at that time. *****'s only confirmed that this original problem still existed. I was also never informed by The Aire Conditioner Shoppe that not utilizing their company for all routine maintenance would void my warranty. In the meantime, I am being forced to have these repairs done at my cost despite having a 7 year warranty for my A/C units. These repairs need to be done for the units to function properly.

Desired Settlement: I want my 7 year warranty for my units restored. I also would like to switch my warranty from The Aire Conditioner Shoppe to *****'s *** ************ ****. I have lost all faith and trust in The Aire Conditioner Shoppe and do not wish to deal with them again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ good morning first of all the air conditioners have a 1 year labor 5 years parts and 7 years on the compressor she had another company come to her house for service then she called me and said this other a/c company said something was wrong I told her to let them repair it since it it over 1 year since installed if she would of called me first to do the work no problem I would of did when we had time after another a/c company goes to one of my customer houses I do not want to do any more work there any work done at a home under warranty should call the people that installed it she can call me to see if I could make time to go back to her home but we are booked for 3-4 weeks out I have over 5000 customers on Oahu alone Mahalo **** A/C Shoppe Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response. Again the problem of the low pressure of the refrigerant was first identified by the Aire Conditioner Shoppe in Dec 2012. This company at that time chose to merely put more refrigerant in my ac system - masking the symptom and not troubleshooting for the existing problem. The Aire Conditioner Shoppe then told me when I asked about what caused this low pressure was that this was the way the units were shipped from the manufacturer. I feel this company should have properly troubleshooted my system back in 2012. In Dec 2013 ****** ** came for the first time to do routine cleaning on my units. ****** identified that the low pressure was still a problem. ****** informed me that I may need to replace the expansion valve on tone unit which would be covered under the 5 year warranty. I have lost all trust in the Aire Conditioners Shoppe. I do not want this company repairing my units. I am asking that my 5 year parts warranty and 7 year compressor warranty be transferred to ****** **. Finally I do not think the Aire Conditioner Shoppe owner should be yelling at anyone especially customers. This extremely bad customer service and sets a bad example for his employees.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Aire Conditioner Shoppe
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart