Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

John Mullen & Co., Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 531-9733 Fax: (808) 531-0053 View Additional Phone Numbers 677 Ala Moana Blvd, #910, Honolulu, HI 96813 http://www.johnmullen.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers insurance, independent adjusting, workers compensation, general liability, catastrophic claims, property, temporary disability, TDI, investigations, 3rd party adminstration., auto appraisals, and telephonic nurse case management services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that John Mullen & Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for John Mullen & Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on John Mullen & Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 08, 1984 Business started: 10/01/1959 Business started locally: 10/01/1959 Business incorporated 07/31/1983 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Insurance Division
335 Merchant St STE 213, Honolulu HI 96813
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/ils/app
Phone Number: (808) 586-2790
insurance@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is 300262.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20277140-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is 102577.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Granata, General Manager Ms. Leona L. Christensen Mr. Terry Mullen, President & CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Granata, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Terry Mullen, President & CEO
Business Category

Adjusters - Public Insurance - Workers Compensation Insurance Claim Processing Services Insurance Services

Industry Tips
PROCESSING MEDICAL INSURANCE CLAIMS

Additional Locations

  • 677 Ala Moana Blvd, #910

    Honolulu, HI 96813 (808) 541-5599

  • PO Box 2096

    Honolulu, HI 96805

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: John Mullen & company delayed their adjustment report causing our claim to drag on for over 4 months forcing us to live in hazardous conditions. John Mullen & Company hired *** ***** as their insurance adjuster & investigator General Adjuster to conduct their service to ******* ********* ***** who is in charge of the ************ AOAO Association insurance of homeowners. In April of 2014 our water heater exploded causing flooding in our unit and downstairs unit triggering the associations insurance to pay for replacement of damaged flooring and drying out of unit. John Mullen & Company employee *** ***** made visit to our residence to adjust and assess the damages but failed to complete a required report to the insurance carrier causing a delay of over 4 months. We made numerous attempts at calling and emailing John Mullen & Company and their Employee *** ***** to get resolution to our insurance claim. The claim number *********** with ***** ******* of ******* ********* ***** phone#***** ******** and contacts with **** ******** of John Mullen & Company on a daily basis have continued with no resolution. John Mullen & Company has continued to keep us out of the loop in communications and have stopped returning our calls and emails as we seek to gain some clarity on the process and when our lives will return to normal. We have been living with our 4 children the youngest of which is 1 year old on dangerous floor boards with exposed rusty nails and staples. This length of time is unacceptable for the claim process with no type of communication or timeline on when we are going to get some action. We have also been told that there is dangerous asbestos in the closet which is now exposed because it has been tampered with. We are forced to live in these conditions with no idea of the long term effect on our health and the health of our children. We are reporting this because no one should have to be put through this type of hardship for an insurance policy that we pay large sums of money for on a monthly basis through the association dues. And, no one should be made to live in hazardous conditions while they wait on John Mullen & Company to provide the service that they have been hired to do without any type of standard to uphold.

Desired Settlement: We want answers which include a timeline on the completion of the claim. We are looking to get what we were promised by *** ***** of John Mullen & Company for the cost of the emergency installation of new water heater $500. We want an additional settlement which the executives of John Mullen & Company would expect if another company would have done this type of unacceptable service. We want our claim check so that we can get our lives back to normal again.

Business Response: This loss occurred on 4/08/14. The carrier for the AOAO assigned the loss to John Mullen & Company on 4/21/14. The assigned Adjuster made contact with the complainant's wife on that same day and scheduled an inspection of their unit the following day, 4/22/14. Contact was also made with the Property Management Company for the AOAO and the remediator on 4/21/14 the day John Mullen & Company received the assignment. It was determined that the AOAO had a deductible of $5000 and that the complainant's carrier, ******** ********* had already issued a payment to the AOAO in the amount of $4000 which accounted for the complainants' personal policy deductible of $1000.
During the inspection at the complainants' unit on 4/22/14 they were advised of the claim process between the AOAO policy (which would provide coverage for the "as built" portions of the unit only and would be paid to the AOAO) and that their personal policy with ******** would provide coverage for any upgrades, their personal contents and any additional living expenses they may have.
On 5/08/14 the adjuster spoke with the complainant's wife advising that she needed to contact her carrier (********) in regards to temporary housing and contents coverage. She was advised that she would need to initiate the contact and that the AOAO policy only covers "as built" with no coverage for Contents or Additional Living Expenses. Additional conversations were held with the complainants' and the adjuster as well as his supervisor regarding what was covered under the AOAO policy and what they would need to present to their personal carrier.
The complainant states that the adjuster failed to complete a required report to the insurance carrier causing a delay of over 4 months. That allegation is not correct as the First Report was completed on 5/16/14 and sent to the AOAO carrier with the initial documents and photographs. A second report was sent on 6/03/14 with the as built estimate. A document then requested by the carrier and needing to be signed by the AOAO was sent to the Property Manager on 6/06/14. The document was returned on 6/24/14 and forwarded to the AOAO carrier on 6/24/14.
John Mullen & Company does not have an employee named **** ******** who the complainants' state they had daily contact with.
The complainant's' had been advised many times that any payments issued on the AOAO policy would be paid to the AOAO. They continued to contact the AOAO's carrier and Property Manager in an attempt to have the funds paid directly to them. We understand that the AOAO's carrier ultimately declined to accept further phone calls from the complainant's' wife regarding that subject.
The complainants' have and have had the opportunity to address any situation they deem to be dangerous to their children by taking precautions as needed. If they feel their living conditions are not suitable they were advised early on to contact their personal carrier to address that portion of their claim.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was mistaken by the name **** ********, it should have been the supervisor of *** ***** whom My Wife has been attempting to reach on a daily basis.

We have received the payment from our homeowners insurance policy to cover the deductible which was paid to us within a few weeks of the incident. However, we still as of today have not received any thing but finger pointing and no resolution to our unit. How long must we wait to begin the work on our house so that we can get back to normal?

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company's adjusters, failed twice to complete document with scope of work to fix damaged roof. No resolution, and poor communication continue YTD My claim started in August, via assistance from *** *******. The first adjuster failed provide scope of work. Hence the signed contract with *** *******, was delayed. *** *******, secured a 2nd adjuster, as the 1st adjuster was apparently no longer working with John Mullen Company. The 2nd adjuster inspected my roof 3-4 weeks ago, yet has failed to communicate with myself or *** ******* with scope of work. John Mullen company, agent has not helped with resolution. Except to email and reference calling the adjuster, rather than following up with the adjuster to facilitate resolution to repair roof damage (replace entire roof with new energy star asphalt shingles, excluding the unaffected flat areas)

Desired Settlement: Resolution: 1. Roof replacement before 2014 2. Completed scope of work. 3. Full payment in advance to Mr. ***** ***** to pay the roofers to start work, and balance due after satisfactory completion of work. 4. Letter of apology 5. Rebate discount for next year's insurance premium

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/12/13) */ This complaint is resolved as of this hour. I have just recieved a check, and will move forward to repair my roof.