BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2009

A Way To Go Travel Agency

Phone: (336) 855-0060Fax: (336) 855-0061View Additional Phone Numbers4205 - C W. Wendover Ave., GreensboroNC 27407

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2009

BBB has determined that A Way To Go Travel Agency meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A Way To Go Travel Agency's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A Way To Go Travel Agency

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We did not receive the trip that we were promised. We were promised to be compensated but never were.
We went to A WAY TO GO TRAVEL to book our honeymoon trip on 4/14/13-4/20/13. We told the consultant *** ******* that we wanted to go on a cruise and he talked us out of it and recommended Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic. Our trip was absolutely horrible. We were told that we would get a honeymoon suite and a free gift upon arrival. We of course didn't receive either. We did not get the room that we were promised. We got one of the worst rooms ever with 2 double beds. All we did our whole trip was change rooms and complain to the staff that these were not the correct rooms. We literally complained to the staff all day everyday of our trip and things inside the room, such as the hot tub, didn't even work and the staff never fixed it. When we returned home we went back to A WAY TO GO TRAVEL and spoke to the manager (*****) and he said that they have had several complaints about this trip before and that it is not an ideal trip for a honeymoon or someone who has never been out of the country before. He said that we would be compensated for our horrible time. We have yet to be compensated. They just keep sending us offers for other trips that we can book through them for a lot more money. Paying more money for another trip is not being compensated. I feel we should receive some of our money back or at least receive some free nights for another trip.

Desired Settlement
I would like some of our money back for this horrible trip or at least feel like I should receive 5 nights free to stay somewhere better. I feel like that would be compensation. But paying a bunch of money for another trip is not compensation when I have already paid a ton of money for a trip that I did not receive what I was promised!

Business Response
***** ***** spoke with these clients upon their return. We contacted the tour company that we booked their honeymoon through and they extended a per person credit off of their next vacation. We offered them $150 per person as well and they were working with ***** ******** to help find another destination / package. Here is the response we received from the tour operator. We did everything we could to try to get these clients a credit.
Dear Mr. *****:
Thank you for your patience as we reviewed the concerns regarding ** ******* ********* booking #XXXXXXXXX for your clients, Mr. ******* and Ms. ******

We apologize for the inconveniences your clients encountered at the Grand Palladium Bavaro. The Junior Suite category can have king bedding or two queens. The bedding in this category is not guaranteed, and is subject to availability. A king bed can be guaranteed by booking a category that only has king beds, such as the Romance Suite.

We apologize that your clients also encountered a problem with the hot tub. Please know that their feedback is important and has been forwarded to the appropriate areas as a tool for reviewing where and how improvements can be made that will benefit everyone.

As a gesture of goodwill, a credit has been set up in the amount of $75.00 for each passenger. This credit is to be used towards future travel on a Vacations package.*

Please contact X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and inform our tour sales representative that you have a travel credit on Confirmation #XXXXXXXXX and they will book your new package for you. This credit is non-refundable and travel must be completed by June 13, 2014.*

Thank you for allowing us to be of assistance and for choosing US Airways Vacations.


*** ****
Representative, Customer Relations
** ******* ********* ******

Case: US-13*******-F80I08-M2R

*Excludes ** ******* ****** packages and ** ******* Air only packages.
Credit is non-refundable and non-transferable; cancellation waivers are not permitted on CTFs.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would just like to end this complaint. A Way To Go Travel is obviously not going to do anything to rectify the situation. I am NOT happy with a credit of $300. That is absolutely ridiculous considering how much we paid for the vacation. The only reason we went on this vacation was because A Way To Go Travel recommended this vacation and assured us that we would have a great time. We wanted to go on a cruise and were talked out of that and told that this vacation would be way better. I don't understand what the point of a "Travel Agent" is if they just send you on a crappy vacation and then don't care that it was crappy. I can book a crappy vacation on my own. The whole point of going to a travel agent was because they are supposed to have been to these places and know if it is a good place for us to go or not. I will never use A Way To Go Travel again and will not recommend them to anyone!!!

Final Business Response
As in our previous response, because of our relationship with the ********* ********** they offered a credit. On top of that, we offered an additional credit that can be applied towards another package. We are not blaming ********* ********** the hotel is at fault. A request WAS put in for the upgrade and the hotel WAS notified that they were a honeymoon couple. We cannot control what the hotel does and we cannot control availability of the hotel which was at capacity. That can happen anywhere. We are very sorry that the hotel did not meet their expectations.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/01/1999Business started: 01/01/1995
Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 1995, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles E. Joyce Jr. (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Travel Agencies

Products & Services

A Way To Go Travel Agency offers full service travel agency

Hours of Operation

A Way To Go Travel Agency is open for business from 8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday; and 10 to 3 Saturday.

Refund and Exchange Policy

A Way To Go Travel Agency charges a $25 per person cancellation fee.

Service Area

A Way To Go Travel Agency serves customers nationwide.

Alternate Business Names
C.E.J. Enterprises, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A Way To Go Travel Agency

4205 - C W. Wendover Ave.

Greensboro, NC 27407

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4205 - C W. Wendover Ave. 

    Greensboro, NC 27407

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Way To Go Travel Agency is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 227-7577

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Travel Agencies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.