BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2010

1st National Pawn

(336) 434-7296110 E. Fairfield Rd., Suite 122, High PointNC 27260

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2010

BBB has determined that 1st National Pawn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 1st National Pawn's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on 1st National Pawn

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
04/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We bought a ps3 it didn't work took it back they switched it but for another one that didn't work went back to try and get a new one and they won't
February 6 bought a ps3 it didn't work took it back to switch it they gave us a new one that didn't work and now they won't switch it. The manager was really rude and wouldn't give me the corporates name or number our warranty had ran out march 6 but they should still exchange it for giving us 2 broke systems everyone there was nice but the manager he was really rude

Desired Settlement
We tried to get a new one they wouldn't so now I just want my money back instead of getting another broke ps3.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Reg. Super.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@aol.com
The customer was given a replacement for the original playstation purchased on February 6 after complaining that a particular game would stop playing after several hours of play. Later they brought back the replacement, a totally different unit, complaining of the same "problem". Our employee (not the manager. as of today, our manager has not met with the customer. I apologize for any real or perceived rudeness, but it did not come from the store manager.) informed Mr. ***** that is was highly unlikely that two different units would have the same problem with the same game. In these types of cases it is usually the game that has an error. Mr. ***** said that he'd bought several more other games that had the same problem and just wanted his money back. He was told that, as described on the warranty card, that the warranty provides for a replacement and not a refund. The exact language printed on the included warranty card is: "Warranty coverage will guarantee an exchange in the event of product failure in the form of an even item exchange or the granting of an in-store credit that will be valid for up to 1 year from the original date of purchase." That being the case our employee requested that Mr. ***** allow us to test it out to see if it were indeed performing as he described. He refused stating that testing it would be useless and time consuming. He took the unit and wouldn't allow us to inspect it. Mr. ***** continued to keep the unit until after the replacement unit's warranty period elapsed without allowing us the required opportunity to inspect the unit and properly fulfill our warranty benefits and constraints. Had he left it with us and had we found the described deficiency, we would have happily exchanged the unit for another. However, his refusal to comply with the requirements of the warranty has prevented us from being able to responsibly servicing this transaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As sad as it is to say most of the above comment is false. Never once was we offered the chance to leave our game console or we would have happily done so considering that was in fact the whole reason for our trip to begin with. We were told we should not have mailed our original receipt in with our warranty and there was nothing else they could do for us. Also the unit we brought back was the 2nd original unit the pawn shop gave us, so not quite sure where the statement of it not being our original unit came from. All around completely dissatisfied with the customer service and integrity now of this place. The problem with the unit was never our frustration because we understand things mess up and can happen especially being we bought from a pawn shop, our frustration lies with the horrible customer service and now false statements being made and us being stuck with a console that has not worked properly from day one. Also at the end of our conversation with the man in question, we were dissatisfied and requested the owners name,the store employee refused to give that information. Will definitely spread the word.

Final Business Response
It should be noted that we have no motivation to be deceptive about this. We offer the 30 warranty (the type that ******** offers...just for a lower price per unit) so the customer can by a pre-owned item with the assurance that the unit will not just fail immediately and they're stuck. We have dozens of units on hand per store and several stores to draw upon. Our only requirement is that the described conditions be followed. Mr. ***** requested a refund which, as is clearly stated on the warranty card, is not an option offered. We would have been happy to give him an in store credit for him to use. All of the information gathered from all of our employees who either witnessed the interaction or took part in it support that we attempted to resolve this in a manner consistant with our established policy. If Mr. ***** wishes to negatively portray this situation, that is his right. If he wants to, he can take the unit to another of our store, leave it and the game he says he's had problems with, and we'll test it out as we normally would. If it is indeed faulty as he described, we will (even though it is outside of the second warranty period) over another unit or give an in store credit good for any reguluar priced item(s).

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As sad as it is to say most of the above comment is false. Never once was we offered the chance to leave our game console or we would have happily done so considering that was in fact the whole reason for our trip to begin with. We were told we should not have mailed our original receipt in with our warranty and there was nothing else they could do for us. Also the unit we brought back was the 2nd original unit the pawn shop gave us, so not quite sure where the statement of it not being our original unit came from. All around completely dissatisfied with the customer service and integrity now of this place. The problem with the unit was never our frustration because we understand things mess up and can happen especially being we bought from a pawn shop, our frustration lies with the horrible customer service and now false statements being made and us being stuck with a console that has not worked properly from day one. Also at the end of our conversation with the man in question, we were dissatisfied and requested the owners name,the store employee refused to give that information. Will definitely spread the word.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pawnbrokers, Jewelers - Retail, Gold Buyers, Home Electronics, Gun Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/22/2002Business started: 01/01/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1993, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Farson (Supervisor)Ms. Monica Cabrera (Manager)
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

Pawnbrokers, Jewelers - Retail, Gold Buyers, Home Electronics, Gun Dealers

Products & Services

1st National Pawn buys gold and sells new and pre-owned goods.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 1st National Pawn

110 E. Fairfield Rd.

High Point, NC 27260

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 110 E. Fairfield Rd.
    Suite 122 

    High Point, NC 27260(336) 434-7296

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*1st National Pawn is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pawnbrokers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.