BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

Remington Arms Company, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (336) 548-8700Fax: (336) 548-7801View Additional Phone Numbers870 Remington Dr., MadisonNC 27025View Additional Email AddressesFacebookTwitter

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/2011

BBB has determined that Remington Arms Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Remington Arms Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 82 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

82 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 31 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Delivery Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues10
Problems with Product / Service60
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 82

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Remington Arms Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (82)
04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

possible loss of firearm sent in for repair under warranty. will not atempt to locate firearm . will not return calls on this issue.
On 12/15/2014 I contacted remington arms to repair a remington XXXX XXgauge shotgun serial #rsXXXXXk under warranty , service order #XXXXXX. they sent ups shipping label it was picked up from my home on 12/16/2014 by ups and sent at there request to ******** in randalman NC one of their authorized repair centers it arrived there on 12/18/2014. After 4wks I call remington to check on repair. customer service rep says it has been evaluated and is in repair process. I call back in 1wk service rep says its being repaired call again in 1wk service rep says protocall has changed its at ******** they cant give me any info on repair call the repair center ********. I called *** left message and somebody named ****** calls back and says he found gun and just took it out of box to look at it. 2wks later I call remington again they said *** ordered parts from them but could not garantee it was for my gun. 1wk later I call remington again I explained to service rep named ***** about all the untrue stories Ive been told about how gun was evaluated and was being repaired when ******** did not even know they had the gun. ***** says I Know the guys that run the repair shop Ill call them and call you back. ***** does call back and says I talked to them and they said they could not repair the gun and that they sent it back to the factory she said give it a few days for it to get there. 1wk later I call remington again they said they do not have gun that ******** has it I explained to them what i was told about it being sent to factory they said they would check and call back. they dont so I call again 1wk later next remington rep says she cant find it they will check into it and call me back. they dont call back so over the next 2 or 3wks I cant remember exactly its been so long and ive talked to so many differnt people and got so many differnt stories I REPEATEDLY CALL REMINGTON and ******** I left sevEral messages even one with the man over customer service ****** **** was his name and no one will call me back from either business . AT this point I DONT KNOW WHO HAS MY GUN OR IF I WILL EVER SEE IT AGAIN. PLEASE HELP , THANKS ***** ****

Desired Settlement
I want my gun back properly repaired shooting at point of aim or I want it replaced with new one of same type remington 1100 sporting 12 model. I also want some one with authority at remington to call me and let me know how they plan to resolve this situation.

Business Response
First let me apologize for the delay. I looked into Mr. ****'s claim and his gun is currently at our Authorized Repair Center. The repair center evaluated the gun and determined that it needs to go to our factory for further evaluation. The gun should be shipping to our factory today or Monday next week. normally once the gun is serviced at the factory we would have to send it back to the repair center for them to return to the consumer but if Mr. **** would like we can send it to a dealer of his choice that has a valid federal firearms license, so he can pick it up.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot understand the terrible customer service from such a large company. I have called and talked to many people at remington and left message after message over the last 14 weeks with no results. Its sad I have to get the BBB involved to get a response when this could have been handled weeks ago by remington. 14 weeks of setting at the repair shop with nothing done but a evaluation is rediculous . the gun should have been back to me 10wks ago 4-6wks on repair I was told when I sent it in. I do not want the gun returned to the factory so it can set there. ample time has passed to repair gun. It seems to me the right thing to do after all this poor service from remington and BB arms would be to send a new gun and be done with it and keep another customer and a good reputation. If you choose this great all is well if not then send my broken gun back to me and I will have it repaired local at my expense. if warranty is voided so be it the warranty has been useless any way. sporting clay events are under way again and I need a functioning gun now so send it back to me and I will expedite repair. Do not send me a waiver to sighn releasing remington from liability over a faulty gun. I will sighn saying I declined repair and warranty is voided, after that I will sale the gun and buy from one of your competitors never returning to remington products again . I will also use social media twitter, face book, you tube etc to explain my BAD experience with remington arms and why they should buy from another gun manufacturer. Im sure in the long run it will cost your company alot more than the $1000 im out for a new gun . one more thing you should hire some one to check on the repair shops after 14 wks of my gun setting on a shelf I WONDER just how long it would have sat there if it wasent for the BBB. someone in authority at remington should evaluate this repair shop. starting work at 2:00 pm and working 4 days a week they sound like bankers instead of gun smiths.

Final Business Response
Mr. ****'s firearm was received from the Authorized Repair Center at our factory for service. The factory has serviced the firearm and returned it to the Repair Center on 4/9/2015. Mr. **** should be receiving his gun shortly.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received gun back today 4/16/15 after 17+ weeks in repair for a 5 minute forend and gas piston replace and it is still broken. forend was replaced but the old busted gas piston that caused the forend to break was still in the gun. This was my first remington firearm but After all the horrible cust service from b&b arms and the factory and a incomplete repair job it will be my last. I called remington and asked for this common part to fix this gun they said they did not have any. After all the time this gun sat collecting dust at the repair shop I will still have to fix it myself . Thanks Remington you just gave Benelli another customer.

04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Sold me a defective and dangerous fire arm.
Remington 1911 R1. 04-01-2015. Defective frame causes slide release to exit the firearm during firing. Very dangerous. Slide release cut in frame made improperly (too deep).

Desired Settlement
Refund my money.

Business Response
We have contacted Mr. ****** and advised him that his gun is being serviced at our Authorized Repair Center and that the repair center is working on replacing the frame for his gun.

Consumer Response
Original Message
From: ****** ****** (mailto:********
Sent: Friday, April 17, 2015 2:51 PM
To: Better Business Bureau
Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#XX-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXXX)

They are replacing the frame on the gun and I am waiting to see what gets delivered. That is if the new frame has the same defect. Thank you, *** ******

04/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

In short, Para has had my 1911 since November of 2014. They have promised a refund in full and keep saying its in the mail but I have nothing.
When I bought my Para-USA 1911 14-45 back 10/2/14 it was my very first 1911. #755.64 is what I spent on it.It was a nice looking gun. I took it to shoot on 10/3 and had a bunch of issues. Fail to feed, Fail to Eject. I called Para and sent the gun in for warranty. A month later and I have a all new gun back. I opened the box and took it out of the packaging and saw VERY upset. The gun looked like ****. It had a BUNCH of "cast skin" all over the gun. It looked like the whole gun had rust and pitting. I called Para again and they told me that, That is how it is suppose to look because the people that finish the gun no longer take the cast skin off. I told them the first one I sent in did not look this way and I was not going to keep a gun that I almost spent $800 on that looks like ****. They told me to send the gun in to have it looked at. So right before my birthday in November I sent this gun back to Para. They were relocating the HQ at the time so the gun went to *********** in Tulsa OK. These people did nothing but lie and lie some more to me about where my gun was and what was happening. They told me it was being refinished then it was being replaced then back to refinished then finally replaced. After 2 months of going back and forth with them I called Para and spoke with ****** ********* He has been "helping" me out since. He spoke with *** ******* who is the top customer service person. He said take care of me and handle this. I told him that this was crazy and would like a little compensation for something I was told would take 2-3 weeks to be fixed and have my gun back. I asked to upgrade my gun. They did not do that for me. ****** told me they would give me a few mags to help me out. Well this was said about 2/1/15. I waited for another month and still had no gun and more excuses. I was told the gun was shipped, then I was told I dont know why the gun was not shipped, then some other store was shipping the gun but didnt. About 3/1/15 I told them just to keep the gun and send me a refund. ****** asked me for a copy of the original receipt. I emailed him that and he said he would get it done. Well it's 4/6/15 now and after being told the check had been mailed for a while I have no refund. They are no longer answering my phone calls and are hardly answering my emails. When emails are answered I get short answers and some times they do not make any sense.

Desired Settlement
I was promised a full refund of the fire arm.

Business Response
I have contacted our accounts payable department and they advised me that the full refund check should be mailed today.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Para contacted me 04/08/15 and the guy stated that the full refund was sent out that morning. If I did not get the refund on 04/08/15 then it would be on 04/09/15. He would be surprised if I didn't get it by then and assured me by 04/10/15 (the date of today date) at the latest. I just got the mail for today and surprise there is NO refund in the mail.

Final Consumer Response
I received my refund today. Please close this case and show it settled. Thank you.

03/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

In 2013 I purchased a new M887 Tactical 12 Gauge Pump Shotgun SN: *********. I initially had no problems with it when I fired Winchester 00 Buckshot and Federal slugs. Later on I tried different brands of ammunition including Remington 00 Buckshot and multiple kinds of birdshot and began to have problems with the ability to cycle the pump after firing a round. The action would completely seize up and it had to be tapped on the ground while trying to cycle the pump in order for it to eject the fired shell. I contacted Remington customer service and it was returned for warranty on 18 July 2014. Service order number:XXXXXX The returned service order stated that it had been fixed and test fired. I test fired it myself. Once again it worked fine with winchester Buckshot and Federal slugs and Winchester target loads. I tried Remington Buckshot and it still completely seized up. I had semi confidence in it using the above mentioned ammunition. When I started using other Winchester birdshot it started seizing up again. I once again contacted Remington Customer service and it was returned for more warranty work. Service Number:********** and returned on 12 Feb 2015. The returned workorder stated:Found: M007 Action BindsS013 Barrel to bolt misalignmentTechnician comments: Replace bbl, Go over gun at bench, function check, test fire On 13 February I test fired it myself straight out of the box. ALL ammunition fired would not eject properly, pump completely seized up, three times the hammer would not fall with trigger pull and the pump had to be forced open even without firing in order to reset trigger and fire. Several times pump was actuated and shell fell out the bottom under the loading lever instead of going to the chamber. The firearm did not function properly once.
Product_Or_Service: M887 Pump Shotgun

Desired Settlement
Not Entered

Business Response
We have been in contact with Mr. ***** and have agreed to reimburse him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept that Remington has agreed to a refund. I have sent them the original receipt. They have not yet told me what they will refund. If the refund amount is not acceptable I will recontact the BBB.

03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Poor/cheap bolt design on Youth Model 770 .243 Caliber making gun inoperable for youth shooter.
I purchased a brand new Model 770 (Youth/Compact) at ******* ****** *** ******** (Pensacola, FL) on 12/30/2014 as a gift for my son. In the store the model has a trigger lock and no bolt, so we were able only to get a look/feel for the weight/length of the gun. Upon returning home and un-boxing I noticed immediately that the bolt mechanism appeared to be of particularly poor quality (certainly less than I expect of Remington). The bolt has a lot of "play" or "wiggle" when extended and does not work smoothly. I lubed it up a bit and we took it to the range to see if it would get a little smoother with use. We've had it out on two occasions in the past 3 days and have now run 40 rounds through it. The bolt continues to be very difficult to work with and my son (12) is really struggling. I can operate the bolt, but it is very rough and you really have to work to lock it back into a closed position.

Upon seeing the poor build quality and difficulty my child was having with the gun I attempted to reach out to Remington Customer Service. They have very limited hours of operation (9-5 Eastern) and long hold times to reach them by phone. I don't know how long as I haven't been able to stay on long enough to connect. On Friday January 2nd I reached out to Remington via the contact form on their website and, as of January 6th I still have not gotten an email or phone call in response.

Remington has a well established bolt quality issue with the Model 770 as indicated by a large number of online written and video reviews. It's shameful that such a well established company would release such a poorly constructed firearm.

Desired Settlement
I would like to return this firearm for a full refund and I would like to speak to a Sr member of the Remington Service / Quality team to discuss my concerns both around the (poor) quality of the product and around the non-existent, disinterested customer service.

Business Response
We are refunding the customer.

Consumer Response
Remington did contact me and offer a refund, but 1.5 month later they still have not sent the refund and have stopped responding to my inquiries. According to their online service portal, I am not scheduled for a refund (as promised by ***** ****** and that the gun is pending my further approval for repair. After expecting the refund several weeks ago, I attempted to re-engaged ***** ***** on 2/19 and as of 2/26 he has not contacted me.

I am simply amazed at the lack of customer service at this organization.

I look forward to some additional response from Sr Mgmt within the Remington organization.

Final Business Response
The refund check should process tomorrow.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This complaint was opened on January 7, 2015. As of March 11, 2015, I still have not received a refund from Remington Arms Company.

Page 1 of 8
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was offered a 1911 R1 Commander to replace my R51 and I agreed. Now they refuse to honor that.
I purchase a new R51 last year and soon began having problems with it functioning properly. I looked up the company website and found other websites that stated widespread problems with this model and that Remington planned to retool the production line and offer replacements. I called them and was told to send mine to them and it would be replaced when the production line was re-tooled and in operation again. Expected time frame was October 2014. I called the company again in the latter part of October to check on status and was told deliveries were expected to start at the first of the new year.
I called on 1/9/15 to check again and was told that production of the replacements would not resume until probably April as the entire production line was being moved to the Huntsville, Al. facility. At this time I was offered 3 options: 1. Wait until production resumed and receive a new R51, 2. Send them a copy of my receipt for the R51 and be reimbursed, 3. Accept a 1911 R1 as a replacement. I asked the nice lady on the phone about the 1911 and was directed to the company website-to the 1911 category. From there she told me to scroll down to the last model listed as that was being offered. It was the 1911 R1 Commander. I checked out the specs while we were on the phone and agreed. She gave me a fax number to send my FFL info and told me the company would pay the FFL all the fees due in this transaction.
2 weeks after delivering the info to my FFL they called me and said that the fax number had not been answered once. I forwarded them my latest email from Remington and they sent a copy of their FFL to Remington via email. Several days later I called to make sure Remington had received it and was told that that they do not accept them by email. I had my FFL send it by mail. I sent it attention of ***** * (very helpful and pleasant).
Frustration level climbing now.
During this time I had a few email contacts with Remington to verify all details and was told that I would not be receiving a Commander but a standard 1911 R1. I responded that I had purchased the R51 for concealed carry purpose and had only agreed to the Commander model as I thought it might fill that role with it's shorter barrel and overall length. I was denied and only told that they were "so sorry that I was misinformed".
I talked to ***** * today to make sure the FFL was delivered and she confirmed. I asked about the transfer fees and was told that I would have to pay on delivery and send them the receipt and be reimbured.
This is nuts and turning into an ordeal.
I have had to contact Remington to find out anything. Not once have I received an email or phone call to advise of status or change of delivery details. I have been offered one thing and have since been denied that.
My R51 was sent for replacement in July 2014. 6 months later this is still unresolved to my satisfaction.
This is no way to treat a customer.

Desired Settlement
I expect and am entitled to be made whole.
Either deliver a 1911 R1 Commander model #XXXXX with a check for $30 to my FFL (at this point I do not trust this company)
Send a check to me for $495.00. This will cover my initial purchase price of $440, $25 shipping, $20 FFL fee, and $10 background check fee.

Business Response
***Please see below email, which was sent to BBB while BBB staff member was out of the office at a conference. Email added to the record upon return.***

The offer we are making in replacement for the our customers that have an R51 is for a Model 1911 product number 96323. We are not replacing these guns with a 1911 Commander. We have replaced Mr. *****'s gun and it was shipped to his FFL holder *** ***** ***** * ******** tracking number is ******************. According to the tracking number the gun was delivered on 2/4/2014. Mr. *****' should make arrangements to pick us the gun at the FFL.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
From the beginning of the process to replace my R51 Remington Arms has failed to deliver on promises 3 times. They have also failed to notify me of any changes of the replacement program. I have had to contact them after deadlines passed ** find out any info. After the 2nd promised replacement date had passed * called again to be informed that production of the new R51s had been halted because the production line was to be moved to the Huntsville, Al. facility. I was offered 3 options by representative on phone:
1. Wait for production to begin and receive replacement sometime after April 2015.
2. Send receipt for original purchase and be reimbursed.
3. Accept a 1911 R1 Commander as replacement.

I accepted the third option because my original purchase of the R51 was for concealed carry and I thought that the smaller length of the Commander may possibly fill that role. I was later informed that the standard 1911 would be shipped instead of the Commander. I complained and was told that they were "so sorry that I had been misinformed".

I was disappointed that my R51 was flawed due to a production problem but dealt with Remington Arms in good faith to resolve. They did not reciprocate in kind.

I am extremely disappointed that Remington Arms does not have the integrity to honor a promise made to 1 customer by a customer representative even if it was extended by mistake.

I have received the standard 1911 R1 #XXXXX from them. This does not fit my needs and I am now in the position of having to sell it in an attempt to make myself whole in this matter. I have made 3 attempts at 3 different gun dealers to trade it for a suitable concealed carry firearm. All 3 have declined to accept it for trade. 2 of them have stated the reason as a undesirable reputation of the Remington Arms brand due to the R51 and model 700 trigger issues and lack of proper and timely response to these issues by them.

I am relatively new to arming myself for self defense and my next purchase was to be an 870 tactical for home defense. I am now looking elsewhere.

I have found that the concept of customer service by Remington to be an oxymoron. I would suggest that the management of Remington Arms take serious action to restore a positive reputation of the company.

Final Business Response
I again apologize for any misunderstanding Mr. ***** might have experienced. The Model R1 1911 (product #XXXXX) we sent Mr. ***** in replacement from his R51 was an upgrade. It is the same upgrade we have offered all of the customers that sent their R51 in to us. Mr. ***** is in possession of his new 1911 and we feel that we have fulfilled our obligation.

04/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Failure to repair new product defective at purchase. Sent to service center of their choice. Wont supply needed repair parts.
Purchased a new remington shotgun on 2-13-2015 it was defective right out of the box.Contacted Remington which provided pre-paid shipping label to a warranty repair shop ********* *** ***** Darlington S.C. ********* advises me the gun needs a for end tube assembly now after seven weeks at the shop they advise me they have still not received that repair part. I was able to find the part online from ********* a well known repair parts distributor but Remington will not authorize the part purchase today I checked Remingtons own site for repair parts and the assembly is available from their own website. After phone calls and multiple e-mails I have received no assistance. I was informed by Remington customer service that they would at no point authorize the purchase of this repair part from a vendor even though the vendor supplies *** parts. This shotgun was purchased for home protection from a well known company and as a consumer there seems to be no avenue for resolution. This is a Remington model 870 express an extremely common shotgun and parts should be readily available should they be needed for repair. Purchased on 2-13-2015 received at ********* *** ***** for repair on 2-18-2015 at 12:20 pm and is still at the time of this complaint waiting on repair parts from Remington

Desired Settlement
Repair, replace or a full refund in that order in a timely manner

Business Response
According to our records the part in question was on backorder. The part came available on 4/13 and should be shipping out to the Repair Center shortly. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response to me via E-mail is totally different than the above posted response they said via the e-mail that the order for that particular part was made on 3-30-2015 but i had e-mailed the repair shop multiple times and their response is we are waiting for the parts so it appears to me Remington Arms tried to shift blame onto their own repair facility. I was unable to get any satisfactory response from Remington Arms until a complaint was filed with the BBB and suddenly the part has become available. This shotgun is a very common model with at least several hundred thousand in households so parts are readily available from multiple sources. Remington Arms had no concern for me as a customer and had I not contacted the BBB I am certain I would still be waiting. The shotgun arrived at 1220 pm on 2-18-2015 at ********* *** ***** and I don't for a minute believe that the repair shop waited six weeks to order the part because they are an outside vendor for Remington Arms and cannot get paid until the repair is made. I telephoned and e-mailed Remington Arms several time during the time my home defense gun has been in the shop and even gave them suppliers of repair parts but they did nothing until receipt of my complaint via the BBB>

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

bought several guns over xmas , 2 of which still waiting on $100.00 rebaits also recieved the expert 14.45/.45acp 5in ser#******* with a broken hinge
on case. i have emailed them, called them endlessly since i recieved it aprox 12-19-14

Desired Settlement
a replacement case and compensation for this aggervation since 12-14

Business Response
Ms. ******** The consumer was contacted regarding his concern and an offer to resolve has been made. Thanks you! **** ****** Remington Arms.

Thank you and best regards,
Remington Customer Services

Consumer Response

Final Consumer Response
this has not been resolved .have not been able to address this matter as of now im having email trouble and not sure if i have their response or not.i did originally read it and they wanted me to buy one and they said they would reinberse me.after i read that i have not got back to them (not sure i still have a link to address this or not) but i should not have to tie up money to rectify problem.also still waiting on two seperate rebates from them that i have not recieved yet

Final Business Response
The Gentleman was mailed 2 checks for $100.00 each on March 3rd.

Check number XXXXX and XXXXX, neither has been cashed.

02/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

i brought in nov.2014 had to send gun in for repairs 2 weeks after i purchase gun. was told the repair would take 2 weeks or a little longer.
i brought in nov.2014 had to send gun in for repairs 2 weeks after i purchase gun. was told the repair would take 2 weeks or a little longer. i called in jan 6, 2015 was told they didn't know when it would be done. so i ask to send another gun or refund my money. remington said they would just refund my money. i ask how long before i receive a refund and was told 30 to 45 days that puts it in feb 20 2015 this is wrong i have paid for gun in nov 6 2014 and it is going to take 4 and a half months to receive a refund after i purchased gun.this is 4 and a half months remington has my money and i have no gun. this is wrong all i am asking is remington refunds my money now so i can go purchase another gun for home protection and home defense.

Desired Settlement
i would like a replacement or a refund i have waited 4 and a half months this is wrong.

Business Response
***Please see below email, which was sent to BBB while BBB staff member was out of the office at a conference. Email added to the record upon return.***

We sent Mr. ****** a replacement check around the end of January. According to our records he cashed the check for $641.99 on 1/29/2015.

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Remington will not repair factory defect of over tolerance chamber inside barrel causing dangerous pressures, customer service ignoring me.
I had purchased a model XXX XXX win mag serial #******** from wal-mart a few years ago for my wall collection and my son. Since I am in construction I am away for years at a time with very little room in between for family. About a year ago, I decided to take my family hunting and grabbed my 770. We headed to the range to sight it in and immediately had issues with extraction of the round from inside the chamber. Every case kept getting stuck inside and took two people to remove the case or even to pull back the bolt. After the 3rd time we benched the rifle as it was not trustworthy to take out. We contacted Remington regarding this and were told over the phone that since it is a brand new firearm it just needs to be worked in and lubed up properly from the factory and that it also could be bad factory ammo. Well I sent it off to have a muzzle break installed since we found the issue. However, I was pulled away by work again for a long while on a job sight and the rifle was again shelved. Now last year (XXXX) I took the rifle out again and did everything requested and it still had serious extraction problems. I took it to a local gunsmith who immediately diagnosed the problem by the casing that he manged to remove from the chamber. The barrel's chamber is way over tolerances and is improperly reamed and is causing excessive pressure and is bulging the casings. He stated this is a very serious issue as it is creating higher than allowed pressure inside the chamber and barrel per SAAMI specs and can cause a blow out or possible death or serious injury given this is a hunting rifle chambered in a big 300 win mag cartridge loaded with factory hunting ammo that is already on the higher end of pressure loads. This rifle has been like this since day one! I then had my gunsmith contact Remington regarding this issue and was told no problem and to send the rifle in to ******* ******** for warranty repair with the casing and that it is covered. A month passes and when my gunsmith called to check in on the progress, he was told that a new barrel is needed since they tried everything and agreed the chamber was the problem so they sent it to Remington for replacement. Another month passed and when my gunsmith contacted Remington, he was told that Remington is wanting to charge me $300 for a new Rifle or they wont repair it! This is unacceptable by all accounts! I contacted the Remington repair facility and spoke with **** who was a gunsmith or repair tech and he kept giving me every excuse to deny the repair, saying "a muzzle device was added so that voids the warranty". To which my gunsmith stated "that has 0 effect on a chamber and nothing anybody can do can add material into a chamber and make it over tolerance like that. **** responded with "why doesn't he ream it out himself". Why would I be charged or pay for something that was the factory's fault to begin with. **** said that "there was scratching inside the chamber". My gunsmith again stated that "That has no affect on the reason why the cases are being stuck, both you and your warranty repair center have all diagnosed it as an over tolerance chamber and therefore is a factory manufacturer defect and nothing else". If there was damage to the chamber is was from either the removal of the stuck case from ******* ******** or from extracting the stuck round that was caused by YOUR FAULTY OVER TOLERANCE BARREL!! **** responded with saying he will ship the rifle back if we deny the cost. So let me get this straight as now this is a legal issue here, Remington is going to send back a DANGEROUS FIREARM THAT THEY CREATED!!!! I told **** that what he was saying is dangerous and he then stated that he will see what he can do and will get in touch with either of us. It has been 1 month now since that call and over 5 months of issues with this situation. A chamber can be shot out, but never can anything happen to over tolerance it. This proves it was manufactured like this originally.

Desired Settlement
I wish for Remington to stand behind their product and workmanship, and to fix what has obviously been an overlooked rifle that slipped past QC. This rifle needs to be repaired or replaced for free under a manufacturer defect error. It never operated since first purchase and is against the contract from Remington or any manufacturer that their product will work 100% out of box.

Business Response
We have a few things going on with Mr. *******'s gun. First, we have a two year warranty from the date of purchase on Mr. *******'s gun (here is a link: . His gun was manufactured in 2008. Second, we evaluated Mr. *******'s firearm and have found that he has had unauthorized modifications done (see warranty), our repairman is unable to determine the cause of the damage therefore, we are offering a replacement gun at a discounted price. If Mr. ******* would like to take advantage of it he will need to contact ******* ******** ****** to provide his payment information. if Mr. ******* declines our offer we have no choice but to return his personal property back to him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Remington again declines to address the fact that the chamber is over tolerance as seen from the included casing which was removed from the chamber and included with the rifle and as stated from ******** ******** and numerous gunsmiths. They are again ignoring the fact it is from their shoddy workmanship that is the cause of the problem from the beginning. Any, and I mean ANY gunsmith that is worth their weight in gold can tell just from the case that the barrel was manufactured wrong. Again, nothing anything anybody can do can cause the problems that is happening and to say otherwise is just bogus. A muzzle break cannot and will not have any effect on a chamber. So Remington telling me that they cannot determine the cause is an insult to any gunsmith and me personally by calling me stupid and hoping to pull one over on me thinking I dont know what to look for. No matter how you go about it...2+2 cannot equal anything other than 4. How can you not determine a problem? check chamber dimensions as it clearly showed it was over tolerance at the case, neck, and shoulder of the chamber as the brass was bulging at the case head which means excessive pressure and tight tolerances as the chamber is not allowing the case enough room to expand inside the chamber to allow for proper extraction aka (over tolerance chamber or tight chamber). The fact that there is a problem and the fact that you have to replace the whole darn gun with a brand new one clearly shows there was a factory mess up. I think Remington has a lot of problems on their hands with all the recalls and issues, and now on top of all of this, it comes out that the problem here seems to obviously come from ignorant and ill trained staff, I have had this gun looked at by many professionals that have been working for almost their entire lives and they took one look at the case, then micro-metered the chamber and said "there is your problem, factory messed up". Now I have the factory telling me their "repairman" cant find anything wrong. Sounds like they are just " parts replacers" and not actual gunsmiths that are handling this situation which is where the problem is since they cant find the obvious problem. You cant even fit the proper chamber reamer inside the gun which shows its tight! I do not accept this answer at all as nobody should in this situation. This gun never fulfilled its contract promise of working out of box, and Remington lied to me over the phone when I first brought up the problem to them and they told me to just break it in, in the hopes the warranty would expire before they would have to look at it. I am going to continue to have this investigated as now it is clearly showing that something is going on behind the scenes if their staff cant find anything wrong yet their licensed warranty repair center (******* ********) found the problem and others have as well. This gun needs to be repaired.

Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Manufacturers and Producers, Gunsmiths

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 06/05/1997Business started: 01/01/1816
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alcohol, Tobacco & Firearms, NC Bureau of
(704) 716-1800

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1865, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Loschin (Manager Consumer Experience)Mr Danny Evans (Director of Service Operations)Ms. Laura Watson (Accounting)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Manufacturers and Producers, Gunsmiths

Products & Services

Remington Arms Company, Inc., is a manufacturer of firearms.

Service Area

Remington Arms Company, Inc., serves customers worldwide.

Alternate Business Names
Marlin Firearms, Bushmaster Firearms International, LLC, Harrington & Richardson (H & R 1871), DPMS Firearms, LLC, Barnes Bullets, LLC, Advanced Armament Corp., Mountain Khakis, Dakota Arms, Parker Gun, E-RPC, FGI Freedom Group, Inc., H & R 1871, Para USA Firearms, DMPS / Panther Arms

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Remington Arms Company, Inc.

870 Remington Dr.

Madison, NC 27025

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Remington Arms Company, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 243-9700

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Manufacturers and Producers


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.