BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2004

Market America|SHOP.COM

Find a Location

Phone: (336) 605-0040Fax: (336) 605-0041View Additional Phone Numbers1302 Pleasant Ridge Rd., GreensboroNC 27409View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Market America, Inc. is a product brokerage and Internet marketing company that specializes in One-to-One Marketing. Its mission is to provide a robust business system for entrepreneurs, while providing consumers a better way to shop. Headquartered

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/01/2004

BBB has determined that Market America|SHOP.COM meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Market America|SHOP.COM include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service13
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Market America|SHOP.COM

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
07/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a subscription to the *********************** website, which I had cancelled on 6/29 a few days prior to the current subscription that I had expiring. I was told that as long as I cancelled prior to my current subscription expiring that they would not renew, and I would not be charged for another month. After I completed the cancellation, it was promptly followed up with an email notification stating that I had cancelled my account and that all information would be deleted. However on 7/2 a $9.95 charge was taken out of my bank account for another months subscription. Needless to say I was livid and I called. The lady was nice, and she asked me to forward her the cancellation email which I did and she said that it should be taken care of right of right after the holiday/first of the week. I was like okay, so I called back on Tuesday 7/8 and it still was not done. They had not received my email and I sent it again. Apparently the company cannot receive email from gmail boxes so I had to send it to this customer service guys personal email address. Ridiculous if you ask me that they cannot receive from gmail, and also that they don't have cancellations on record that the customers have to send them to the company. Needless to say I was told I would receive a refund, a couple weeks later still nothing and I am sure that this shady company will never give it to me. I plan on never doing business with them again and I will never recommend them to anyone. I mean $9.95, you can't refund??? It says in my ******* account that it is cancelled and will not re new without checking a box, I never checked any box. I have a cancellation email. What more do they need?? I called the moment the charge hit my bank account. This is so frustrating!!

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to refund the wrongful charge that was made to my bank account in the amount of $9.95, and remove my financial information from their system. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
They did not contact me, but I received a credit in the amount of $9.95 finally today after all of this hassle. Thank you.

05/17/2016Problems with Product / Service
04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
08/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
03/26/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for overnight shipping, product has not yet been received over a week later. Contacted company for refund of delivery fee.company denied refund.
Company will not refund overnite delivery fee even though items not received by day promised. Company blames weather. I have guest waiting for the makeup to arrive and paid extra so it would come on time. Order placed tuesday feb 11 for over $100 worth of items. Their website says full refund ofor total $ of product within thirty days of ordering. They are not fulfilling the written guarantee on their website motives

Desired Settlement
Refund for products not received and expidited shipping costs I paid

Business Response
***BBB note: Referenced document is attached in the online complaint forum.***

Please find attached our response to the above-referenced case. As always, feel free to contact me with any questions you may have.

P.S.
The product was returned and received here on 2/20/14. Upon receipt we issued the full refund as a credit to her credit card in the amount of $1,450.00.


Consumer Response
From: ******** (mailto:********@gmail.com)
Sent: Friday, February 28, 2014 12:09 PM
To: *******@greensboro.bbb.org
Subject: Refund


I was told a full refund and shipping cost back me but I think they only refund the items only. I think that's not fair cause it's their fault.

Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

06/28/2016Billing / Collection Issues
02/08/2016Delivery Issues
02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service
10/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
01/13/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
12/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Marketing Services, Web Design, Product Brokerage and Internet Marketing

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/27/1992Business started: 05/01/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1993, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shareeda Best (Public Relations Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Jaymi Binkley (Executive Assistant)Mr. Marc Ashley (President & COO)Ms. Tina McDonnell (Adminstrative Assistant)Mr. James H. Ridinger (President/CEO)Mrs. Loren A. Ridinger (Senior Vice President)Mr. Martin L. Weissman (Executive Vice President)
Number of Employees

802

Business Category

Internet Marketing Services, Web Design, Product Brokerage and Internet Marketing

Products & Services

Market America SHOP.COM markets products and services through a system of independent distributors and one-to-one marketing.

Refund and Exchange Policy

SHOP.COM general return policy
Each merchant selling product or services on shop.com will have its own unique return policy. Before you place an order on shop.com, please read the Seller's return policy.

Market America Return Policy (for product sold on shop.com)
Most items purchased from Market America through shop.com may be returned for a full refund, less shipping charges, within 30 calendar days of the date they were shipped to you. Food, custom ordered items and gift cards cannot be returned for a refund for any reason.

If you want to return an item to Market America, please contact our refunds department for a Return Authorization Number (RA#) prior to returning your item. You can contact us by e-mail at refunds@marketamerica.com or call us at (336)-389-6985. Any items you try to return to us without a valid RA# will be shipped back to you at your cost and expense.

In order to receive a refund on an item:
* The item must be unopened, and in new and resalable condition;
* The item must have all original packaging, parts and accessories;
* If an item was in a plastic bag or shrink wrap when sent to you, in must be unopened and still in the plastic bag or shrink wrap;
* The item must not be a food, custom product or gift card
If you used a gift card to pay for all or part of an order, we will apply any refund to the gift card first - up to the gift card amount used to purchase the order. Any remaining balance will be refunded to the credit or debit card you used for the original purchase.

We are not responsible for items lost or damaged during return shipping. If you are concerned about items being lost or damaged during shipping, please insure your package for the value of the items being returned.

You are responsible for the cost of return shipping and insurance.

While we make every effort to ensure the accuracy of each order, occasionally there may be a discrepancy in your order. Please take a minute to inspect your order thoroughly when you receive it. If an error is found please contact us at customerservice@shop.com or (866)-420-1709.

Alternate Business Names
Ma Webcenters, Market America, Inc., SHOP.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Market America|SHOP.COM has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Market America|SHOP.COM

1302 Pleasant Ridge Rd.

Greensboro, NC 27409

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1302 Pleasant Ridge Rd. 

    Greensboro, NC 27409(336) 478-4143
    (336) 605-0040
    Fax: (336) 605-0041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 5113 

    Basking Ridge, NJ 07920

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    308 Lookout Drive 

    Columbia, TN 38401

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Market America|SHOP.COM is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (336) 478-4143
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Marketing Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.