BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2010

Parks Mazda

Find a Location

Phone: (336) 886-7889Fax: (336) 886-4130View Additional Phone Numbers2411 N. Main St., High PointNC 27262

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/2010

BBB has determined that Parks Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Parks Mazda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Parks Mazda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
01/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Salesman made a personal, unauthorized promise to repair a broken car stereo and after many excuses, still didn't do it.
Parks Mazda gave us the worst car-buying experience ever, and we've owned dozens of cars. On Dec. 26, 2013, we test-drove a used Mustang and discovered that the radio wasn't working. We also paid Merchant's Tire to run a diagnostic to find out what else was going on with it. When we made the offer to purchase, we presented the salesman with the list of issues. Also listed, but not on the diagnostic, was a decal on the windshield that we wanted removed, and a loose spoiler under the car that needed to be secured. The salesman disappeared several times to talk to "his manager" and came back with an agreement to do 3 things: remove the decal, secure the spoiler, and make the radio work (they were sure it was just a loose wire on the antenna). We agreed to that after failing to negotiate a lower price on the car and leaving and then returning. They kept the car overnight and we were to pick it up the next day, which was Friday.
Friday came and we went to get the car. Halfway home, the radio stopped working again. It was late evening, so the salesman told us to bring it back Saturday and they'd fix it. We took it back Saturday morning and weren't 30 seconds off the lot when he called and said it couldn't be fixed there, they'd have to take it to a place that works on car radios on Monday.
On Monday, we were told that the radio could not be fixed; it would have to be replaced. The salesman said Parks Mazda would charge us their 'cost' of only $200 to replace it. We said no, the agreement was for them to fix the radio. The salesman said, "I'm going to make you happy; I'll pay for it out of my commission." He had told me he didn't GET any commission because they sold the car at a loss. We were okay with that as long as the radio was working and we weren't billed for it.
The next day was New Year's Eve, and he told us we could get it New Year's Day. At 5:00 on New Year's Day, he called and told us the radio place didn't work on New Year's Day, so the car wasn't ready. He said it would be Thursday instead. My husband said it needed to be ready on Thursday.
On Thursday at 5:00, he called us to tell us that the radio was not in the car. THIS time, the story was that the cheapest radio he could find was $150, so he wanted us to give him $75, and he'd pay the other half, and have the radio installed. I told him I didn't understand why we were being charged ANYTHING when Parks had agreed to fix the radio. He THEN told us that Parks never agreed to fix it -- he was going to pay for it himself to make us happy. I told him we had reasonably assumed that he represented Parks Mazda when he said they'd remove the decal (they did), reattach the spoiler (they did), and fix the radio (they didn't). He said no, his manager and service department were never in agreement to make the radio situation right. The bottom line is, as I see it, they weren't going to do anything that cost them. I could have taken that decal off with my fingernails, and the spoiler needed only a clamp and a couple of screws.
We went and got the car and the original radio was still in it, still broken, and we're stuck with a bunch of empty promises and a replacement that we're now apparently responsible for. He met my husband at the door of the dealership and handed him the keys and walked away without so much as a handshake. At no time did a manager ever appear to talk to us.
This is just one complaint -- there were other promises that he didn't make good on, including removing the tint from the headlights. That was the first thing I mentioned wanting, and he said, "It's done." Well, they wanted $75 per headlight so we still have tinted headlights, too. The entire experience was full of overpromise and under-deliver, excuses, tight-fisted greed, and misrepresentation. He had no business promising ANYTHING personally without authorization, but he did. We are anything but happy and are telling everyone to never go there.

Desired Settlement
We want Parks Mazda to reimburse us a reasonable amount for a comparable car stereo, plus what it costs to install it. As we just got the car last night (a whole week after buying it), we haven't priced stereos, but it's not going to be the cheapest thing we can find. The one that isn't working has a 6-disc CD changer, so I think it is reasonable to replace it with one that has that capability.

Business Response
Parks Mazda was unaware of these promises that had been made to the customer by the salesperson.Even with a written doc showing that neither Parks Mazda nor the Customer owed each other anything else in the deal.We called and spoke with the customer on 01/07/2014 and had the car picked up and brought into our dealership. We have ordered a radio for the customer at no cost to them. The car sould be fixed by Friday and we have been in contact with the customer on ETA for the return.

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

purchased vehicle oct 7,2013,told on 11/21/13 will be at least another 20 business days before I receive paper work
I purchased a 2011 gmc sierra oct 7,2013, at the time finance dept gave me a temporary tag, and the paper work to register the vehicle will be there on or before expiration of temp tag. my temp tag has expired called parks mazda several times finally billing office called me back told me the purchased from a auction house and title was will be another 20 business days before they will get a duplicate title.
according to car fax they parks mazda offered vehicle for sale 8/20-2013..this is a inconvenient to me. this puts a hard ship on me getting to work. if they would have been up front with me about not having the title.i would not have purchased the vehicle

Desired Settlement
I am making a monthly payment of $387.66.FOR A TRUCK I CANNOT USE I should be reimbursed for the first month.

Business Response
***** Mazda purchased this truck from ******* **** ******* in ****** ***** ************ auction has lost the title and has had to apply for a lost title with the DMV. We have been in contact with both the customer and auction to resolve this issue. The DMV will not allow us to issue another 30 temp tag. We agree this is a problem for our customer and have issued a 1st payment check to the customer. We will have the title in a couple of weeks and will complete the tag and title work at that time.

10/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

parks mazda has failed to pay off my loan on my trade in. i have had to make payments on the truck i dont have any longer.
i purchased a used truck on 9-11-2013. i traded in a 99 dodge ram 2500. i still owed **** roughly 3650 dollars on the loan. they gave me 9000 for my truck. they were to pay this vehicle off. i have waited 2 weeks and contacted them 3 times. each time they told me they would get it done. **** says they have not received any monies from parks mazda. i have had to make a payment on the loan and i have another one coming due on october 5th.

Desired Settlement
i would like for parks mazda to pay off my trade in loan amount.

Final Consumer Response
the trade in has been paid off. no action is needed.

08/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I am requesting a refund of 500.00 USD from Parks Mazda High Point. They have not returned my calls nor made an attempt to correct the dispute.
To whom it may concern,
I am requesting a refund of 500.00 USD from Parks Mazda High Point. On Saturday 20 April 2013, I visited Parks Mazda a preferred USAA Dealer to look at a truck that I found through USAA auto circle. Although concerned with the non working AC and Power steering issues I was still considering trading in my vehicle and paying the difference for this truck. I put 500.00 USD on hold for the truck with the understanding that if bought the truck it would go to the balance and if I changed my mind it would be refunded. I signed no documents stating that this was non refundable. With my wife as a witness, we would not have put down 500.00 USD non refundable to hold a truck before the value of my trade-in was even evaluated. The following Monday I called Parks Mazda and spoke to ***** the associate who accompanied my wife and I on the test drive, and explained to him that I was no longer interested in the truck but thanked him for his assistance. This was my only opportunity to make the call because I have little time due to strenuous nature of the Special Operations Combat Medic Course here at Fort Bragg as well as cell phones being restricted due to the security clearance level at the site. **** assured me that he would speak to the manager to process the refund. Immediately afterward I was sent to on TDY assigned to VCU medical center. While I was away my wife, who manages the finances, alerted me that the 500.00 USD was never refunded to my account. Over the last month, I have contacted Parks Mazda on numerous occasions regarding this issue. I attempted to resolve this issue through phone communication because I live over an hour away from High Point, NC. Of the four different employees I've spoken to, I've been told:

"Dispute the charges with my bank.", "There is no record of your transaction.", "The manager will call you back.", "Yes we can refund this! I just have to get a manager to authorize it. When can they call you back?", "Yes, I see the transaction. You took the truck off the market so we won't refund you the money.", "We don't have a written policy for placing a vehicle on hold.", "We have a written policy. My general manager can fax it to you in four days when he gets back.", "It was a non-refundable deposit."

Not once has Parks Mazda returned my calls. They have not made an attempt to correct the issue nor have they given a clear indication on their intentions. This is completely unprofessional and disrespectful. I have informed Parks Mazda of my intention to pursue this matter with multiple agencies to include: United States Automobile Association Federal Savings Bank, Better Business Bureau of Central North Carolina/ Greensboro, and the Consumer Protection Agency. No services have been rendered and I do not feel that it is ethical to keep the 500.00 USD I deposited.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund of 500.00 USD from Parks Mazda High Point

Business' Initial Response
We sent him a check for the 500 USD. Case should be resolved now.

Consumer's Final Response
I am satisfied. They refunded my deposit.

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My SUV has been in and out of the Service Dept this past 4 months with no satisfaction. It has been one problem after another with the Service Dept.
This SUV has been in and out of the Service Dept for the Oil Light coming on they would do an oil change I would get it back about 1000 miles later light back on. On about November 15th 2014 I brought it in due to the SUV going thru oil left and right. They look at it and tell me now needs new engine gets a newer engine (under warranty) in the SUV and since then it has been brought back to them three times for one thing or another each time the engine light coming on and the SUV not starting would finally get it started and back to Service Dept and they have to keep it to find out whats wrong. First time part that goes on spark plug, second crankshaft position sensor and timing cover gasket which they say is not under warranty got it back on 1/8/2015 went to store got back out put key in ignition nothing for fifteen minutes finally got it started went back to dealership and they say battery but engine light back on (battery was brand new bought from them on 5/23/14) so SUV once again left at dealership now I get a call saying its the starter and a new one would have to be put in once that is done they could then see why engine light back on. On 1/12/2015 I called the warranty people about the 515.83 I had to pay the last time and I was told the dealership never told them about the timing cover gasket which was covered only the sensor which was not covered so I had to fax all the information to ****** the warranty people so I could get my refund. As of this date 1/13/2015 I still don't have my car only a loaner from the dealership and from what I was told today it will be another week before they know why the check engine light is on. *********************************************************************************************************************************************** I am sure I have forgot to tell you a hole lot more that I have been thru with this Service Dept the workmanship has been less than expected and I feel an F rating is what I would give them.

Desired Settlement
I just want my Suv fixed so I can drive it not for just a day then break down again cause it looks like this Service Dept doesn't know what the **** they are doing. Or the Parts Dept manager tells you to your face he will work with you on the 515.83 bill and when the time comes he is nowhere around when you come in to pay. Please help me with this situation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** **** General Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****

**** ***

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hi Sorry it's taken me so long to get back with you but I just received back the response from the Insurance Company ******** Parks Mazda was supposed to let know about the repairs on the SUV. The issue is the $515.83 I payed for the Crankshaft Sensor and the Timing Cover Gasket which Parks Mazda said was not covered by the Insurance. So I called the Insurance Company they had me fax over the paperwork that I got from Parks Mazda after paying the bill. This is their response on letter head due to Parks Mazda not telling them all that was being repaired * Since one or more of these areas of the contract were not met and repair would have been under a parts warranty (engine recently installed), ****** is unable to pay this claim. * So as far as I think I am due back the money that would have been under warranty since they are the ones at fault by not getting a repair authorization number from them before repairs were done and not meeting the requirements of my service contract which they told me they had contacted the Insurance Company. I no long think Parks Mazda is a reliable parts service department after receiving this letter from ****** dated 1/15/2015. If you need me to send you a copy of this letter I will. Thank You for all your help **** *******

Final Business Response
The claim for the replacement of the Crankshaft Position Sensor and Timing
Cover Gasket on Ms. *******'s 2005 Hyundai Santa Fe was originally denied
on December 26, 2014. The contract Ms. ******* purchased was Standard Level
Vehicle Service Contract. A Standard Level Vehicle Service Contract is a
named part vehicle service contract and the timing control unit and sensors
are not listed for coverage. The crankshaft position sensor is one of the
timing control unit sensors. The timing cover gasket which was replaced did
not fail, it was replaced because the timing cover had to be removed to
gain access to the crankshaft position sensor.

Ms. ******* sent a copy of the Repair Order for the replacement of the
crankshaft position sensor and timing cover gasket to the ****** *******
******* ******** ****** ********** to be reviewed for possible coverage.
The claims adjuster whom reviewed the Repair Order for coverage determined
the timing cover casket had not been requested on December 26, and sent Ms.
******* a letter stating the timing cover gasket was not authorized prior
to repairs having been completed and coverage would not apply for the
timing cover gasket. The letter should have also stated the crankshaft
position sensor was not being covered because it is not a part listed for
coverage and the timing cover gasket had not failed it was only being
replaced to access the crankshaft position sensor.

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Mercedes was purchased, less than 18 days later, $400 repair is required. Dealership not apologetic, very rude, accusatory, didn't even listen.
Mercedes was purchased. Less than 3 weeks later, suspension issue has to be repaired for over $400. Dealership manager *** ****** was SO incredibly rude. He literally raised his voice at me when I said there is no way this problem "just started" after we purchased it...he said he wasn't going to have me accusing him of anything. I didn't accuse him...I stated facts. I can't get over how rude he was to me! I wanted him to listen to my issue, and find some sort of solution...instead he was defensive and rude, which makes me think someone did know there was an issue with the car before we purchased it. I originally didn't think that, but now I do think that. When we haven't even made the first payment on the car, it is hard to swallow paying over $400 just to keep the car running. And after perusing their facebook page, Parks Mazda has a lot of customers in my same position. My car was broken, I had to fix it...after only owning it for a few weeks...and 1 1/2 weeks it wasn't even driven because we were out of the country.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $418 we had to pay to repair a car that should have been in perfect working order. Suspension issues take a while to get to be as bad as this was. We even took it to the dealership for repair!!

Business Response
We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with a used vehicle from Parks Mazda. All of our used cars and trucks go through a multi-point inspection, but unfortunately, we can't anticipate unforeseen problems that can appear after the customer buys a used vehicle, especially ones with higher mileage. To protect our customers from surprise repairs, we always recommend purchasing a used vehicle warranty; we feel so strongly about this that when a customer refuses the warranty, we ask them to sign documentation to acknowledge that they are purchasing the vehicle as-is. We want all of our customers to be happy with their new car or truck and to get the lowest price possible, and at times that happens by the refusal of the warranty. Many times, the warranty is never needed on a used Parks Mazda car or truck, but when it is, it's important that it's there. Thank you for your feedback.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bought a vehicle they said was just serviced by Parks and the salesman knew the guy & the guy took great care of truck. Truck is extremely defective

I bought the 2005 ford f250 September 12th & the salesman ***** *********** told me that the truck was just serviced at Parks and everything was great with the truck. The previous owner actually had the truck serviced and then decided to sell for better gas mileage car. The truck also passed inspection with Parks which it shouldn't have as it has no bright lights due to an aftermarket headlight kit which is illegal in NC. Also the truck was advertised as having a sliding back window, which is broken. Also was advertised as having a backup sensor which was also broken. I was promised a key fob that never came and had to go to purchase myself. The biggest issue though is that the truck has both head gaskets blown & is puking/burping antifreeze out the degas bottle under the hood. Also the repair facility where I took the truck said that it has an EGR delete kit installed on it and the computer had 4 codes on it referring to the EGR being in correct, which also would have kept it from passing safety inspection. I paid 20,950 dollars for a working truck, that I did not receive, & now have to pay an additional 4,839 dollars to The repair facility to fix issues that were in the truck that Parks knowingly sold to me. Had Parks done a true safety inspection on the vehicle, I never could have purchased it. I also called to attempt to return the vehicle & was told I should've purchased an extended warranty, which I was in the process of before realizing the issues were pre-existing when I bought the vehicle and everything online says you cant get coverage for them.

Also we were told by ***** that a previous purchaser has bought a car and the engine blew in the first month and Parks will take care of you to help out if something major like that happens.

Desired Settlement
Paying for the repairs of nearly 5,000 dollars for the head gaskets & EGR issues that are having to be fixed in order to have a working vehicle.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** General Manage
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******

Parks Mazda did service and inspect the truck in question that Mr.**** purchased. Mr.**** was offered, while purchasing his 139,000 plus mile truck a warranty. He declined and signed a buyers guide (FTC) form that CLEARLY states the following. AS IN NO WARRANTY YOU WILL PAY ALL COSTS FOR ANY REPAIRS. THE DEALER ASSUMES NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY REPAIRS REGARDLESS OF ANY ORAL STATEMENTS ABOUT THE VEHICLE. After signing this form the customer was then allowed one more time to purchase a warranty and again Mr. **** declined. We have not heard from the customer on any other issues other than the engine work. Noboby every asked could they take the truck to be check out by a outside person, which our dealership would have of course have said yes to. I'm not sure what else we could have done to help the customer make a better deal. We even offered to do the work at our cost, but the customer declined. We strongly suggest that EVERY customer purchase a service plan to protect there investment. We can not force a customer to purchase a warranty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They offered me an inflated overpriced warranty of 3500 dollars for 1 year or 36,000 miles. I got quotes for other warranties not through Parks at 1800 dollars for 4 years or 100,000 miles. However, even if I purchased a warranty, the truck has engine issues and would not have been covered since they were pre-existing issues, warranty companies require a waiting period before coverage begins, and this truck did not even last three weeks. The truck in question had 137,000 plus miles, not 139,000 plus as stated by the company. Had the vehicle been inspected correctly it would not have been able to be sold as it wouldn't have passed the inspection.

If Parks had offered to do the work at their cost, as they said in their response to you ("We even offered to do the work at our cost, but the customer declined"), I would have accepted. Here is what the General Manager at Parks said via email after my wife's email confirming their phone conversation in which he stated he would not allow us to return the vehicle and would not help with repair:

"We will be glad to have the truck fixed for you at your cost. I have all the signed docs showing your husband declined a warranty and purchase the truck AS IS. This in fact means buyer be ware there's no warranty on the vehicle. This was a option that your husband made not our dealership. I guess we will see you tomorrow."

The email said that they would repair the truck, but that it would be at our cost, meaning we would have to pay for it. The reference to "see you tomorrow" was because my wife's email indicated that absent any response we would picket in front of their dealership the next day, which we did and will continue to do so. If Parks is trying to say they will pay for the fix, I will provide the receipt/invoice to them when i get my truck back in a week as that is the resolution I am seeking. Having Parks repair the truck at no cost is no longer an option, as since we provided this option to the General Manager and it was refused on October 3, we took it to another mechanic for repair.

Any legitimate business would not sell a vehicle that they had inspected and be okay with the issues that are happening with the truck. Since they admit they inspected the truck they are admitting that they let it through with issues that wouldnt allow it to pass inspection?

Doesnt it seem unethical to allow your salesmen to say things that they cant be held accountable for?

Although they say we havent contacted them about any other issues, i spoke with the salesman about the Key fob and he admitted to not mailing it as he had been too busy.

Also you are free to shop warranties around and not forced to buy an inflated warranty from the dealer, but with them selling a truck with engine damage they removed that option from me as the consumer.

09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a 2011 Nissan Rogue from Parks Mazda.The wiper washer doesn't work on the car and they want me to pay for the repair.
I purchased a 2011 Nissan Rouge on 5/31/14 from Parks Mazda.The sales person was *** ********* Recently I tried to use the washer fluid and realized it didn't worked. I took the car in for an oil changed and asked the mechanic to put fluid in and check it. The mechanic did and said that the lines were clear and there was fluid in the tank that I need to bring it back to where I brought the vehicle. So I called Parks Mazda, I talked to a couple of people because my sales person is no longer there, I finally talked to a man named ***** told him what was going on he said bring it in. It was Labor day weekend so I had to wait until Tuesday 9/2/14. I brought the vehicle in spoke with **** again and was told that what ever was wrong was my problem.**** asked if I brought an extended warranty,which I did, but I told him I shouldn't have to pay $100 to fix something that was broken when I got the car.They took the car and confirmed that the motor need to be replaced and it would cost $172. I asked to speak to a manager, **** spoke to him for about 10 minutes behind closed doors then a man came out said the same thing **** said but when I reiterated that unit never worked and that it should not be my responsibility to repair it, the person saying he was a manager said it was my word against theirs. They check all their vehicles.He then said that I should have brought the vehicle back when I first noticed it, I told him I did. I brought the vehicle back when I found out the unit wasn't working,and it was beyond anything I could take care of. The person saying he was a manager said the could fix it for $172. That the repair was my problem.

Desired Settlement
I fell that Parks Mazda has a responsibility to make sure all the cars the sell are in working order before the sell them. And if they should overlook something they need to the repair when a customer brings something to their attention. Not to call the customer a lair. I feel that Parks Mazda should replace the washer motor as it has never worked, without charge to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** General Manage
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******
Parks Mazda does in fact go over all of our pre-owned vechiles we sell. There has been no contact with the dealership in over 3 months of purchase with a problem.Only when the customer found out the the motor was not working did it become Parks Mazda's problem again. After 3 months the customer has to take ownership of their purchase. We would be glad to see if we could maybe get the customer a better deal on the motor if they would like.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unless Mr. ****** did the inspection himself he does not know for sure that the wiper motor was working when I purchased the car. He can only assume that the person filling the fluid checked it. I know for sure that it did not work when I tried to use it. I explained why the lapse in time. The wiper washer is not something that used everyday.
Customer Service use to be part of selling a vehicle as well as making sure that the vehicle was in proper working order. Not insulting customers when they bring up problems with the vehicles sold to them.
I still feel it is Parks Mazda's responsibility to replace the motor without cost to me. I do take responsibility for my vehicle but I feel this repair is Parks Mazda's responsibility.

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Purchased car 12/9/2013. Major issues from the beginning.
I went to Parks Mazda in Dec.2013 to purchase a Mercedes. They refused to sell it to me because of my credit score but instead recommended a Buick. I didn't want it at all but needed a reliable vehicle which the salesman described it as. The left back passenger door wouldn't lock or unlock with the fob which they fixed (they cracked the panel on the door which I noticed later). I should have known then that I should have gone elsewhere. The next day I got a warning light that my tire needed air and I noticed that I had a slow leak. I called the service dept.& they said they couldn't fix it but could sell me a tire for almost $200. I refused.I have had nothing but problems with this car since I bought it.In Jan 2014, I had a huge chunk of ice in the trunk because the seal is bad. I contacted Parks Mazda and they said the wouldn't fix it. My sensors for my tires are opposite (they wont fix), my fuel pump went out in April 2014..they wouldn't fix, & today 5/30/14 my fuel pump relay and another relay melted. I replaced the relays and now the relay box itself melted and is damaged. This is a very expensive fix. I called and spoke to ******* and asked if they could repair or replace the relay box because it's ridiculous that I purchase a $15,000+ car and I need to make this many major repairs and I haven't even had the car for 6 months. I would expect this if I purchased a cheap car from a buy here pay here lot but not Parks Mazda. He said that I bought a used car and these things happen and I don't have a warranty so it's as is but he offered a discount to repair it. I believe that they knew about the issues before I purchased this car & there is not much I can do about it because North Carolina does not have a used lemon law. I've been having trouble making my car payments on time over the last 3 months because I'm spending so much money on repairs and finding rides back and forth to work and I still have to make an almost $400 payment on a car that is sitting in my yard not running. I actually missed work today. I just want the issues repaired so that I can have transportation to and from work and I feel that they knew of these issues so they should fix them.

Desired Settlement
I want the car to be repaired on their dime or an opportunity to exchange for a comparable, reliable vehicle.

Business Response
Mrs ***** was offered a warranty on her purchase of her Buick, but did not purchase one. She also viewed and signed a FCT Buyers Guide that stated the car was AS-IS. We do not offer any warranty on tires for New or Pre-owned, nor do any other dealers. The truth in the matter is we have not seen this car for any type of service since the day it left our dealership. The dealer can not be held liable for warranty's 6 months after purchase. We offered her a discount and she refused our discounts and help. Maintence comes with a purchase of ALL automobiles, new or used. Parks Mazda feels that we have done all we could do to help this customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Actually I had to return my car a couple days after purchase so the service department could fix a sensor for the front right tire(which later turned out to be a slow leak) and the lock on the rear passenger door and I was given a rental (Mazda 3) for several days so I have brought it back. As a matter of fact you had to gently shut the door from the inside so that the whole panel doesn't pop off in your hand because it wasn't popped all the way back in (I fixed this myself). Last I checked Buicks don't come with built in pools in the trunk, which I called about less than a month after purchase. Who knows where they got this car before putting it on the lot but I found a repair slip in the owners manual with what had to be 10 or more repairs to the car dated a little while before I purchased it. I think they just missed a few things (like a fuel pump,relay box & a seal for the trunk). I understand that I bought a used car, but to avoid getting a piece of **** I decided to purchase from what I thought was a reputable dealership instead of a buy here pay here lot. My mechanic told my that I'm lucky I smelled the relays burning while driving & my gas tank didn't explode...EXPLODE!!! If I would have known I would have had this many issues less than 6 months in,I would have driven past Parks Mazda and continued to drive my older model Nissan (which has only been in the shop twice since I bought it nearly 10 years ago for an alternator & starter). I'll be sure to let everyone I know & anyone who asks to avoid Parks Mazda, Chevrolet and anything else under the name because they don't stand behind their vehicles.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/01/1977Business started: 01/01/1970
Type of Entity


Incorporated: July 1977, NC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adam Parks (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Sharon Worthley (General Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Car Dealerships

Products & Services

Parks Automotive, Inc. offers new and used automobiles.

Alternate Business Names
Parks Automotive, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Parks Mazda

2411 N. Main St.

High Point, NC 27262

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2411 N. Main St. 

    High Point, NC 27262(800) 796-7889
    (888) 413-4057

  • P.O. Box 5366 

    High Point, NC 27262

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Parks Mazda is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 796-7889
  • (888) 413-4057

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Car Dealerships


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.