BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/2000

Flow Volkswagen of Greensboro

Phone: (336) 856-9050Fax: (336) 217-0890

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
10/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a certified pre-owned car 4 months ago. Had 4 technical issues already. Was promised a gift card in June and the dealership ignores me.
Purchased a VW Tiguan on 6/14/2014. The certified pre-owned program guarantees peace of mind and a vehicle that underwent a "fine-tooth comb" inspection. In only 4 months, I have had 4 technical problems with it, which could have been avoided with proper inspection:
1. On dealer lot, check engine light was on. I was advised that the issue was minimal (empty gas tank) but the real issue was carbon build-up in the injectors. The dealership fixed it and delivered the car a few days later. Based on this event, I requested a refund of the dealership fee ($539 on total of $20,190). I was told that I would receive a $200 gift card (by ***** I believe).
2. Upon driving car, noticed a noise in brake pedal. Dealership picked up my car and concluded that the car was in perfect shape. I had to take my car to another VW dealership, where they identified a leaking brake booster immediately ****** ** in Cary). They replaced the part. Although Flow paid for the deductible of my warranty, this was more trouble than necessary.
3. They forgot to include a wheel lock key and were notified by ***** ** that the part was missing. I had to wait for weeks before Flow fixed this problem (by "fixing", they sent me another set of lugs and key, and I had to drive to my dealership in Cary again to get the new kit installed).
4. The window of the back seat passenger (right side) does not open all the way and gets stuck. I just became aware of this issue as I had a passenger on the back seat for the first time. I will need to take my car to my new dealership and get it fixed.

Additionally, I am experiencing terrible customer service:
1- Paid for the license/ registration fee: They mailed my plate to an erroneous address and insisted that I wait on the plate to arrive. My sales rep. ignored my requests to send me a temporary plate for days, told me that his manager would call (but I never received a call back). I called again and someone finally understood the issue and sent me a temporary tag via Fedex (*****). My vehicle was without tags for more than a week. I had to take time off work and go to the DMV to request a new tag, and paid a $20 fee. My sales rep had my correct address.
2- I was promised a full maintenance history of my vehicle. I have asked several people (****, ***** ****) for it and they all promised to send it to me. I have been ignored every time. Certified pre-owned vehicles are supposed to include a full Car-fax.
3- I have sent several emails to my sales rep, to the dealership manager, left voice mails, and have been ignored regarding the $200 gift card. I contacted ***** and was asked if I would prefer a check or gift card, and haven't heard anything back ever since. It has been 4 months. They are not returning my calls or emails at this point.

Overall, an extremely demanding and high-maintenance experience. Lack of care for customers and for their products (careless inspection). I do not believe that the inspection was performed properly. And I do not believe that I was respected as a customer, as I am struggling, 4 months later, to even speak to my sales rep. or his manager.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that:
1. Flow VW refunds the dealership fee, which is not justified considering the amount of trouble that has happened in only 4 months and their lack of customer care
2. Provides me a full maintenance history of the vehicle by mail
3. Covers the repair of the window (the deductible, as it is under warranty)
4. Covers a full inspection and pre-sale maintenance by a dealership of my choice ****** ** in Cary), as would be done on a certified pre-owned vehicle

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *********
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: **********@flowauto.com
We acknowledge that the response our customer has received has been unsatisfactory. Part of that can be attributed to a change in personnel in our sales department. At this point, we want to fulfill our promises. We would like to hand deliver (if okayed by the customer) the promised items. These include a $200 gift card, a check for $152.44 (covers cost to repair window issue,associated shop charges, and the DMV expense), the vehicle maintainance records, a Carfax report, and a copy of the VW Certified Inspection report. Hopefully our customer will understand that no matter how thorough a pre-purchase inspection can be, there is no way to predict when additional service repairs will be required.

02/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
November 2012 my car was taken to dealership to have throttle body replaced. Still ongoing complications and company will not rectify.

In November 2012 Flow Volkwsagen indicated that they replaced my throttle body and wires along with other major repairs after my Volkswagen EOS stalled and shut down. Since then, the vehicle has experienced the same symptoms. On several occasions when the engine stalled and the indicator light appeared I took the car to Flow Volkswagen (the first occurrence was within one year of the repair). Each time the dealership has performed diagnostics to claim their tests indicated no problems. I was charged a fee in excess of $60.00 for these tests. This has happened more than once. I took my vehicle to another mechanic who was able to detect a throttle body fault on is machine. He printed the codes for me to take to Flow Volkswagen but Flow said they could not use those codes. I left my car there several days and the company still claimed they test drove and tested the car and found no issues. Each time, they reset the indicator light and released the car with no repairs. I have documentation for each. After contacting Volkswagen of America I was advised to return to the dealership to discuss concerns and attempt to work out the issues. I did so in June 2014 when the car stalled and engine (EPC) lights appeared once again, and again was told no faults were detected and no repairs were needed. Not to mention when I discussed with the Customer Service manager, she continued to mention things I "the customer" could do such as: turn gas cap tightly, use high premium gas, etc.- all of which I do on a routine basis.

Yesterday, the car shut off on me multiple times and slowed to 10 mph while traveling a freeway in another state (scary) and the engine and EPC light remained on. I took the vehicle to a dealership in that state and, using a handheld device, it was detected that the fault may be in the throttle body. This dealership will charge $130 for the full diagnostic but the gentleman is very confident in the fault detected. Either way, I have to get the vehicle fixed to alleviate this issue. However, over the past years I have gone to **** Volkswagen to get this repair/ replacement performed correctly and the dealership has never acknowledged the source of the issues. However, the first time I took my vehicle to two other mechanic shops I received faults indicating the source. ***** at Flow Volkswagen was the customer service representative who received my car and provided me the inforamtion each time. ***** ****** sales manager, even worked with me on getting my appointment scheduled in June 2014 and was extremely attentive, however the service department still fell short in resolving the problems.

This a safety concern, it has been a financial stress and an incovenience. Furthermore, I recently moved to another state away from family. It is a major safety concern to experience car issues or be stranded on the highway without anyone to assist.

Desired Settlement
When the current Volkswagen dealership's diagnostic test supports the faulty throttle body, I am requseting Flow Volkswagen to provide payment for this test and for the replacement/repair. I also feel it is appropriate for the company to take ownership over the faulty work performed in November 2012 when the parts were alledgedly replaced/installed and since the various times I visited the shop and services was denied.

Business Response
***,
Thank you for giving us an opportunity to respond to Ms. ******** concerns. ******** has been a good customer and it unfortunate she is having issues with her car.
I have attached copies of the invoices where Ms. ****** has been in our dealership since the throttle body was replaced under warranty.

November 2, 2012 mileage XXXXX- Ms. ******** driveability issue was conformed and verified. Codes were extracted from car that allowed us to replace throttle body under warranty.
July 25, 2013 mileage XXXXX- Ms. ******** comes in for routine service. No mention of any driveablity issue was discussed or mentioned. If the work performed in November, 2012, was "faulty", it would have shown up after nearly 6,000 miles of driving.
January 1, 2014 mileage XXXXX- Ms. Caper's has concerns of EPC light on and car running sluggish. Could not verify concern-car ran good and no codes stored in car. Ms. ****** was charged $65 for diagnostics.
June 3, 2014 mileage XXXXX- Ms. ****** came in complaining of ETC light being on and car stalling. Could not duplicate concern. Any codes stored in the car were inactive. The throttle body was testing good. I personally drove the car and told Ms. ****** that we would not attempt any repair without verifying a fault.

In closing, while it is unfortunate the Ms. ****** is having a problem with her car, any current concern can not be tied to, or blamed on, repairs we did in November of 2012. I would recommend Ms. ****** pursue any warranty claim issues through the VW dealer she is working with in Texas.

Sincerely,
**** *********
Service Manager, Flow VW Greensboro

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

All relevant concerns were included in my initial communication; which was an accurate account of my experience with Flow Volkswagen. My current auto repair shop has confirmed the throttle body fault. I will, therefore, reemphasize the negligence of the Flow Volkswagen dealership to identify a reoccurring problem and the hardships encountered as a result of this negligence. The poor quality of service is of great concern.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.