BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2004

Flow Companies of Greensboro, LLC

Phone: (336) 299-1500Fax: (336) 315-1917

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my 2007 *** ****** in for a oil change and because a red light was on, preventing me from getting the truck state inspection done.
When I drove my truck into the shop it was running find, the sensor light being on did not interfere with the way the truck was riding. When I picked my truck up It cut off at the door. They could not drive the truck into the shop where I was to pick it up from. Something was done to the truck that was causing it to cut off. So I did not take the truck that day. I drove a loaner car. This was on 31 July 2012, PD 26 May 2011, *** ***** ***** Order#XXXXX, Sale Rep. ******** ** ********, $325.26, Visa acct# ***** They took parts off the truck and discarded them and then put something else on my truck. They was trying to sale me a new truck. And charge me for the appraisal on this truck.

Desired Settlement
A partial refund of what I was charged. We had problems with Mr. ******** when I picked the truck up. He requested that I pay before test diving it. I refused to pay first with all the problems I had. So I used my other key to get in the truck and test drive it. When I returned he did not have my original key and claimed that he gave it to me. It cost me $78.00 from *** hardware store to replace my key. The senior was still on in the truck and I took it to another company and paid $1104.00 to fix the damage that was cause by Flow.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: *******@flowauto.com
The customer is mistaken on the dates stated in the complaint.

July 31, 2012
The customer visited our store on July 31, 2012 because the Service Airbag light was illuminated. We performed a diagnostic test, performed a visual inspection of the sensor and wiring, upon testing discovered an open or "short" circuit in the sensor, replaced the sensor and cleared the light. The system passed just fine and there were no further issue with the vehicle at this time. These charges totaled $325.26 - the charges mentioned in the customer's complaint, but not related to the issue of the complaint. See Attachment 1.

June 15, 2013
The customer returned to our store on June 15, 2013 - almost a year later - because the Check Engine light was illuminated. The customer asked us to install a Throttle Position Sensor that they had ordered through our parts department. We requested to diagnose the Check Engine light issue prior to installing a sensor that we were not sure was needed. The customer declined the diagnosis regardless of our concerns. We also performed an oil change and tire rotation at the customer's request and charged the customer $301.05. See Attachment 2.

This is when the vehicle then had issues as described in the complaint. We requested to further diagnose the vehicle, as originally recommended, because the Throttle Position Sensor had obviously not been the issue despite what another shop or auto parts store had attempted to diagnose on the vehicle. The customer agreed to our diagnosis at a cost of $79.95 - our normal diagnosis charge. We provided a courtesy loaner for the customer's convenience even though we had caused no issue with the vehicle.

Upon further diagnosis (June 19, 2013) we discovered that the customer's vehicle needed a new Throttle Body, an EVAP Vent Valve, and also had a broken engine mount on the driver side of the vehicle. Whomever had originally diagnosed the customer's issue, prior to their visit and which resulted in the purchase of the Throttle Position Sensor, was wrong. The total estimate was $1,668 before taxes and shop charges. The customer declined all repairs (leaving the Check Engine light on), paid the diagnostic fee as agreed, and left in the vehicle using the key that was supplied to us at check-in and returned upon check-out. See Attachment 3.

The customer continued to complain to our General Manager about the diagnosis charge - NOT the key. After repeated attempts to explain to the customer that they had agreed to the diagnostic charge, a charge that every customer is required to pay for diagnostic services, the General Manager relented and refunded the customer the diagnostic charge on July 9, 2013. See Attachment 4.

At no point in this interaction did we replace or discard parts or affix new parts to this vehicle other than what was authorized by the customer. Nor did we damage this customer's vehicle as claimed. In fact, we believe this customer took our recommendations, provided on June 19, 2013, to another store for repair as stated in the complaint. We also find it suspect that despite claiming we kept the key, this issue was never raised in the last 12 months - despite further interaction with the General Manager immediately after the service in question.

We hold that we have done nothing wrong in this case and have made every attempt to satisfy the customer in question, even going so far as to refund charges that had been previously agreed.

03/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships, Used Car Dealerships

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.