BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2000

Crown Volvo

Phone: (336) 852-0600Fax: (336) 834-7361View Additional Phone Numbers3604 W Wendover Ave, GreensboroNC 27407-1508

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/2000

BBB has determined that Crown Volvo meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crown Volvo's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crown Volvo

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
05/08/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased a used 2012 Toyota Prius on 04/26/14
So far I have had to replace the left front tire & key for the remote.
I purchased a used 2012 Toyota Prius on 04/26/2014 from Crown Volvo Greensboro, North Carolina

So far I have had to replace the left front tire and the battery in the remote. Also I have an auto dimming mirror that is not working. I also had to spend almost 2 hours getting a factory defect fixed.

Also I had an auto-dimming mirror in my old car that I was promised could be installed in the new car, yet after this dealership "installed" my mirror, it was brought to my attention that the mechanics simply "did not know how to hook the mirror up," therefore it has still not been installed properly.

When I purchased a used car from an automobile dealer I should not have had to replace a tire, battery in the remote fixed. Also the recall should have been fixed before the car was sold.

I have emailed the dealership without a reply from the people in charge of the dealership.

Desired Settlement
A working auto dimming mirror and a refund for the tire I had to purchase/

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to investigate. We had an appointment with the customer today to look at the necessary repairs. The vehicle is currently in our service department.

08/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Warranty was changed, but I was not given information about new limited warranty coverage. 22 days after purchase and having electrical problems.
Tire pressure gauge came on 6/15. BAS, Brake, ABS and Traction lights all came on 6/22/14. I was informed by the dealership salesman that only the transmission, engine or axle would be covered. The only documentation given to me is a checked box for limited warranty, but no attached documents explaining what this warranty covered.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to fix this issue without charge along with the other issues: loud/squeaking brakes, passenger window, tire pressure gauge/light, and removable charger.

Business Response
My name is **** ******* sales manager at Crown Volvo. I am writing in regards to your Better Business Bureau compliant regarding a vehicle you purchased from us. I am sorry to hear that you are less than satisfied with the team here at Crown Volvo. We strive to provide excellent customer service during the vehicle purchase transaction and take pride and making our customers happy customers for life.

I have tried to reach out a few times to see what exactly is going and to find out what I can do to help, however I have not been able to reach you on the phone number I have and it states that your voicemail box is full. Please contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX at your earliest convenience so that we can discuss the matter at hand and find the best way possible to resolve the matter. Thank you again for your business and I look forward to assisting any way possible.

05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Crown Volvo failed to repair vehicle. Vehicle has been in shop numerous time but issues still not repaired. Failed to honor written repair promise
Purchase date 6/8/11. Purchase price $27995. At time of purchase, given written "we owe" promise to repair ac. Had vehicle in service department the following week for ac repair and engine noise/pull. Vehicle has been in shop over 12 times. Each time, service department stated that issue was fixed. However, the car continued to have same issues. At each repair, we were told they had it wrong the previous time but now is repaired. We were carried along with repairs on same two issues we have had since time of purchase until warranty expired. They refuse to continue to address issue even though began at time of purchase & while under warranty. We have had transmission replaced and still have major mechanical issues that were present and worked on while under warranty. This is our third purchase from Crown Volvo. The customer service/satisfaction is not what it used to be. They refuse to stand behind the product. The mechanical issues with this vehicle have been ongoing since purchase and repairs were not successful

Desired Settlement
Purchase car at full retail value or repair issues

Business' Initial Response
In response to your letter we have included all of the service records for Ms. **********. Please see the following time line of services performed and complaints addressed.
November 1, 2011 This was the first visit for a complaint that in a lower gear the transmission has a pause then hits hard and also that the vehicle has a musty smell on a cold start with the a/c on. In response to these complaints we upgraded the transmission software and performed a road test. We replaced the pollen filter for the a/c complaint.
January 6, 2012 This visit was for an oil/filter change and complaint that the transmission seems to jerk at times when driving. We contacted a Volvo tech through the hotline and were advised to reset the transmission adaptive as well as perform a transmission fluid flush. No a/c or engine complaints at this visit.
June 20, 2012 This visit was for an intermittent shifting into reverse issue as well as jerky upshifts. We contacted the tech line and were advised to replace the transmission. No a/c or engine complaints at this visit. Performed a courtesy detail.
October 11, 2012 This visit was for an oil/filter change and a complaint that a funny smell was coming from the a/c. Technician noticed no smells coming from the a/c or the heat. We kept the vehicle overnight and tried from a cold start but still no smells were present.
December 8, 2012 This visit was for a complaint that the key would not start the car. We replaced the ignition key at no charge and performed a courtesy detail. No complaints of a/c or engine problems at this visit.
January 21, 2013 This visit was for an oil leak. We replaced the vacuum pump as a courtesy and repaired broken wiper valve. No complaints of a/c problems at this visit. Performed a courtesy detail.
February 28, 2013 This visit was for an oil/filter change and an abnormal popping sound when turning. No complaints of engine problems or a/c problems at this visit. We advised the customer the front axle shaft needs replacing, customer declined repair. Performed courtesy detail.
With exception to the transmission that was replaced at no charge, there are no other mechanical defects that we find to be out of the ordinary due to wear and tear on a vehicle. We kindly reject the customer's request to buy the vehicle back.

Consumer's Final Response
The vehicle was purchased on 6/8/11. We were given a "we owe" certificate to check the ac problems found at time of purchase. The vechicle was in the shop on 6/20/11 to check AC. They performed an AC Deoderizing service on 6/20/11. It did not fix the AC problem. We continued to take it in for filter replacements, etc. Each time we were told that it should fix the problem. The AC still has a foul smell that has been present since the time of purchase. The only months we did not bring it in for repair was in the winter when we did not use the AC.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/17/1999Business started: 10/01/1998
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael S. Kearney (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Marita Gregory Mr. J. L. Dagenhart (CFO) Jim Newsome Ms. Marianne Williams (General Manager)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Car Dealerships

Products & Services

Crown Volvo offers automotive sales and services.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crown Volvo

3604 W Wendover Ave

Greensboro, NC 27407-1508

To | From


1 Locations

  • 3604 W Wendover Ave 

    Greensboro, NC 27407-1508(336) 852-0600
    (336) 851-3500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crown Volvo is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (336) 851-3500

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Car Dealerships


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.