BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2007

Crown BMW

Find a Location

Phone: (336) 323-3900Fax: (336) 323-38503902 W Wendover Ave, GreensboroNC 27407-1903

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/15/2007

BBB has determined that Crown BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crown BMW's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crown BMW

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
10/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CAR WAS SOLD WITH THE INDICATION THAT BMW MECHANICS GAVE IT A THOROUGH INSPECTION. CAR HAD A SEVERE OIL LEAK THAT HAD BEEN GOING ON FOR A LONG TIME.
MY 2007 BMW 335I WAS PURCHASED ON 07/29/2014. THE SALESMAN ASSURED ME THAT THE BMW MECHANICS HAD LOOKED OVER THE CAR AND THAT IT WAS IN GOOD RUNNING ORDER. I RECENTLY BROUGHT MY CAR TO A NEARBY MECHANIC WHO HAS A GREAT REPUTATION WITH BMW'S. THESE ARE THE MECHANICS AT ********** *********** IN WINSTON SALEM. THEY INFORMED ME THAT CROWN BMW OBVIOUSLY CLEANED THE TOP VISIBLE PART OF THE ENGINE BUT NEGLECTED TO CHECK UNDERNEATH FOR LEAKS. THERE WAS A SIGNIFICANT OIL LEAK FROM THE OIL FILTER HOUSING THAT OBVIOUSLY HAD BEEN PROGRESSIVELY GETTING WORSE FOR A LONG TIME. THEY ALSO INFORMED ME THAT THIS IS A FAIRLY COMMON PROBLEM THAT CROWN BMW SHOULD HAVE LOOKED FOR AND FIXED BEFORE SALE. I HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT DOES NOT COVER THIS REPAIR. LISTED BELOW IS THE REST OF THE RELATED INFO.
PROBLEM DATE=PURCHASE DATE-07/29/14
DATE SERVICED BY MOTORSPORT CONNECTIONS-09/24/14
VIN-*****************
SALES REP-***** *******
PAYMENT FOR CAR-FINANCED. PAYMENT FOR REPAIR-CASH
CAR $21,917.70 REPAIR $594.66

Desired Settlement
I WOULD APPRECIATE AN OFFER OF SOME SORT OF COMPENSATION FOR THE REPAIRS.

Business Response
I have looked into the transaction and the customer is correct that the extened service plan does not cover this type of repair. The 2007 BMW 335 that was purchased had over 65,000 miles and priced for conditon that was agreed to by both parties. However, as a gesture of goodwill and customer satisfaction I will reimburse the $594.66 for the mentioned repair upon receipt of the repair bill from ********** *********** that the customer paid. This gesture of goodwill does not imply any suggested verbal or written warranty other than what was transacted at the time of purchase. The customer may forward a copy of the bill to Crown BMW with the attention of *** ********** or they may also email that copy of the bill to ***********@crownauto.com. Once recieved I will mail a check to the customer for reimbursement.

Sincerely

*** **********
General Manager
Crown BMW

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract should be retracted and credit restored due to vehicle unsafe for road use. Vehicle is not in my possession, it remains at the dealership.
The Tahoe I was going to buy in January is not in my possession. It has been determined unsafe for road use and I would like my contract to be retracted. They have had since January to resolve this. I will be out of a vehicle due to this and also money that was in my trade in. I think it's only fair that the contract be canceled and we be considered even. I have lost 3 days of work due to this problem. BMW has my trade in AND the Tahoe. I have tried several times to talk to someone and have gotten nowhere. I have let BMW financial know that I DO NOT have the vehicle in question and will not receive it. This has been going on too long and I am out of patience as I'm sure many of the hard workers at BMW used lot are. They wanted me to make the first payment on the Tahoe contract and I was very uncomfortable doing that as I didn't have the Tahoe in my possession and they were unable to find a replacement before the first payment was due.
Thank you
********* ******

Desired Settlement
I would like the contract to be retracted or bought back for the full amount and my credit to be restored immediately. It has been 3 months now and no word from anyone.

Business Response
Mr. *******

We are responding to your correspondence dated April 1, 2014 regarding Ms. ******'s case #XXXXXXXXX.

To begin, we sold this vehicle to Ms. ****** on January 24, 2014 as she stated. Our first repair order with the vehicle complaint was opened on February 3, 2014. While it is regretful that the vehicle experienced a significant issue within a week of purchase, the failure could not have been predicted as is reasonable with a high mileage automobile. I was made aware of her concerns with an email generated from Dealer.com. I at that time reached out to her requesting an opportunity to meet with her to address her concerns as best we could. She did not respond to that request. It was immediately following that when we received the BBB complaint. While this vehicle was an "As Is" purchase acknowledged in full by Ms. ****** we are willing to assist her in trading the vehicle for another unit we would locate within our inventory.

Unfortunately, there is not a good way to reverse the sale of this vehicle due to other particulars within her purchase arrangements. We would be happy to disclose those details with her express written permission.

It is always our goal to provide excellent customer service and certainly wish to satisfy Ms. ******'s concerns but she must allow us to assist her in that regard.
Sincerely,

*** **********
General Manager
Crown BMW
XXX-XXX-XXXX

02/10/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid a deposit on a BMW in Sept '13, which dealer said won't be delivered till Feb '14 & after some digging around found has really not been ordered.
I am ******* *******, and have recently moved to Thomasville, NC. Before my wife and kids got here, I had gone to Crown BMW in Greensboro to order a BMW X5.

I selected the car and paid a $1000 advance on a BMW X5 XDrive35i on Sept 28th, 2013, knowing that it would be the mid of December to get the car. However, after repeated calls and visits to the showroom, the dealer has not been forthcoming on the status of the delivery.

Whenever I have called the agent, Mr. ******* ****, he kept promising to call back with an update, but never really came back to me on the status of the delivery. Since I was travelling for a while, I even sent my nephew to go speak to the sales agent to get these updates. However, it was always the same answer that they will revert back to us.

So finally during this trip to Greensboro, we decided to go see the dealership management on the issue and get some answers, since my family was now in town and we needed a car for them to move around in.

At this point, the manager informed us that the car can now only be delivered sometime in February of 2014, which simply outraged me. After pushing him for a reason behind this delay, he said that the order had actually not been placed with BMW so far. They have just been sitting with the deposit and waiting for some allocation or some procedure like that, which I just cannot comprehend. How will a car be allocated when they don't place an order?

Whatever the case it is just mind boggling, that this distributor would just sit idle, without bothering to communicate to me on the issue. If they had called me, even in Oct-Nov, I would have taken my money and bought another car. I kept waiting for this car for more than two & a half months. More than the deposit, it's the nuisance of not having a car and the fact that I have wasted more than two months of my time that is totally bothering me, which is caused the carelessness and negligence on part of this Dealer.

I have just felt like suing them, but thought of going through the BBB to have an amicable solution to this problem.

Desired Settlement
I see this being remedied through a two pronged approach. (a) The order is immediately placed for my car (b) The dealer needs to give me a replacement car of equal value or model, till the time I receive the car I have ordered.

Business Response
Thank you for the opportunity to look into this situation. Due to the limited availablility of the specific vehicle the customer is requesting we will be issuing a refund of the deposit. We appologize we were unable to assist with your purchase.

11/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
09/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
01/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
From the very begining it's been one problem after another and no real explanation from Management as to why.They sold two cars that were for me .
I went to crown BMW and wanted to purchase a car.After looking over the cars I found a 2007 BMW750li and proceeded to get information on the car .I called the dealership and told them I was interested in the car and we proceeded to do a credit application .They told me that the car was for sale and that I would be able to purchase the vehicle but it had not went thru the shop .So I waited a day or two and was told that I was approved thru BMW motor Credit . Then a few days later I was told that the car was for someone else and that they were sorry and would find me another one . Well after a few weeks they get another one and I see pictures and I like the car so I prepare to go to Greensboro with my wife who had to close her business in order to accompany me to the dealership.I texted my salesmen to let him know I was on the way only to hear don't come because my manager said that the car was for another customer who's car was in the shop and we could not fix it.So I had to wait a few more weeks to get a car.Finally I get the car after weeks of the run around only to have to bring it back several times to the dealership for repairs .They told me upon purchase that the car was BMW Certified and that the car was tip top only to find out later they overlooked a few things . Number one the door didn't close properly number two the windshield wipper blades where not replace had basically dry rotted and then if that wasn't enough one of the rims was bent .If all that wasn't enough I take the car end for my first oil change to discover the car has a oil leak and a coolant leak amount various other things .Here is the problem the Gm really wasn't concerned was not considerate to my issues with the dealership he basically said that it could have happened while or since I had the car .Now after speaking to another BMW dealership and various mechanics I was informed that this was something that was overlooked in the certification process and it didn't just happen .I also purchased a warranty that for some reason they were unable to find as well .But I was able to get the info on my own . I have no problem with my salesmen or the service advisors they have been very helpful but the manager/ Gm has been no help!!

Desired Settlement
Fix my car and do a better job treating customer with respect and be sensitive to people or find me another car or give me my money back!!!!

Business Response
mr ********* purchased a car from us in early September. He has since put 9000 miles on this car. It had a BMW certified warranty and BMW maintenance plan that expired jan 2 nd, 2014. On jan 4th he brought the car in for maintenance and the car had developed extensive oil leaks . These oil leaks were covered under his BMW warranty but as I mentioned earlier the warranty had expired. We offered a $500 per labor hour discount to repair his car . I also need to mention that if these oil leaks were present at time of reconditioning / sale we would have been able to file under the warranty as well. There would not have been a reason to pass over this repair In the effort of customer satisfaction we will do the repair to resolve the oil leak issue at no cost and customer is aware he is responsible for maintenance. thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Well since you want to play games I was told by Leith BMW in Raliegh Nc that there is no way the oil leaks just developed if I bought a certified pre owned vehicle from crown there shouldn't have been any problems in three months especially since the ca was bought in a few times to fix other issues like a bent rim that was missed even after crow put new tires on the vehicle as well as wiper blades were not replaed now how did that get missed oh and not to mention being approved for a loan and not getting a car until a month and a few weeks later because the manager gave the car away that was for me come on I spoke with several mechanics who buiild race cars and they said the same thing that the other BMW dealership said these oil leaks were there from the time I bought the car so it don't matter what you say on here my car was fixed at no expense to me because the dealership knows the car wasn't right !!!!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Car Dealerships, Used Car Dealerships

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/26/2007Business started: 05/01/1975
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Annear (General Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Marita Gregory Mr. Jim Newsome
Number of Employees

68

Business Category

Car Dealerships, Used Car Dealerships

Products & Services

Crown BMW offers the sale of new and used automobiles.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crown BMW

3902 W Wendover Ave

Greensboro, NC 27407-1903

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3902 W Wendover Ave 

    Greensboro, NC 27407-1903(336) 323-3900

  • PO Box 8479 

    Greensboro, NC 27419-0479

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central North Carolina/Greensboro. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crown BMW is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 2, 2013. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Car Dealerships

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.